DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiba Tec KK (EP 3,789,201 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 9,205,691 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Toshiba teaches:
a three-dimensional (3D) printing system for manufacturing a 3D article comprising:
a build plate coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (implicitly disclosed; see Figs. 1); a drop on demand piezo (DODP) printhead (see Fig. 1), the DODP printhead including an array of piezoelectric (piezo) actuators (Fig. 1 item 6; [0011]); a horizontal movement mechanism configured to impart relative lateral motion between the DODP printhead and the build plate (implicitly discloses);
a supply coupled to the DODP printhead and containing a phase change ink (Fig. 1 item 3); a controller (“printing control” [0021]) programmed to: operate the supply and the DODP printhead to maintain a liquid state of the phase change ink ([0021]-[0022]);
operate the vertical movement mechanism to position an upper surface at a build plane (implicitly disclosed); operate the horizontal movement mechanism to impart a scanning motion of the printhead with respect to the upper surface; concurrent with operating the horizontal movement mechanism, operate the array of piezo actuators to deliver ink drops to pixel locations upon the upper surface, for individual ones of the array of piezo actuators and individual ones of the ink drops (see [0023]-[0025]):
apply a secondary waveform to the piezo actuator including a secondary positive voltage (W22, see Fig. 6) pulse having a maximum magnitude (VSP) (between V2 and V3; see Fig. 6); apply a primary waveform to the piezo actuator including a primary positive voltage (W11) pulse having a maximum magnitude (VPP) (see Fig. 6, item V3), and V3>V2 and further operate the vertical movement mechanism, the horizontal movement mechanism, the supply, and the printhead to complete fabrication of the 3D article in a layer-by-layer manner (implicitly disclosed).
However, Toshiba fails to teach the secondary waveform includes a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (Vsn); the primary waveform includes by a primary negative voltage having a maximum magnitude (VPN); where VPN> VSN.
In the same field of endeavor, Jones et al. teach the term “peak voltage level” refers to a maximum amplitude level of an electrical firing signal… some firing signals include a waveform with both positive and negative peak voltage levels. The positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a firing signal waveform may have the same amplitude or different amplitudes. In some inkjet embodiments, the peak voltage level of the firing signal affects the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet in response to the firing signal. For example, higher peak voltage levels for the firing signal increase the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet, while lower peak voltage levels decrease the mass and velocity of the ejected ink drop. Since the image receiving surface moves in a process direction relative to the inkjet at a substantially constant rate and typically remains at a fixed distance from the inkjet, changes in the velocity of the ejected ink drops affect the relative locations of where the ink drops land on the image receiving surface in the process direction (see col 3 lines 15-40).
Jones et al. further teach the term “peak voltage duration” refers to a time duration of the peak voltage level during a firing signal. The peak voltage duration can refer to the duration of both a positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a signal. Different electrical firing signal waveforms include positive peak voltage durations and negative peak voltage durations that are either equally long or of different durations. In one embodiment, an increase in the duration of the peak voltage level in the firing signal increases the ejection velocity of the ink drop while a decrease in the duration of the peak voltage level decreases the ejection velocity of the ink drop. These velocity changes reduce the variation in the ink drop velocities ejected by the printhead. When the ink drop velocity variation is reduced, the accuracy of the ink drop placement is increased (see col 3. Lines 35-55; also see throughout Jones where it teaches 3D printing using controlled build platform and printhead, similar to instant claim invention).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the instant application to modify the printing system control as taught by Toshiba with optimized primary and secondary waveform negative voltages pulses, as suggested by Jones et al., for the benefit of efficiently controlling the mass velocity and/or volume of the materials jetted, for efficiently controlling the 3D printing process. Therefore, claimed relationship, the secondary waveform includes a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (Vsn); the primary waveform includes by a primary negative voltage having a maximum magnitude (VPN); where VPN> VSN, would have been obvious optimization and control based on the above general teachings provided by Jones et al., in firing signal that increase/decrease the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet.
As for claim 11, Toshiba teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing method for manufacturing a 3D article comprising:
a build plate coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (implicitly disclosed; see Figs. 1); a drop on demand piezo (DODP) printhead (see Fig. 1), the DODP printhead including an array of piezoelectric (piezo) actuators (Fig. 1 item 6; [0011]); a horizontal movement mechanism configured to impart relative lateral motion between the DODP printhead and the build plate (implicitly discloses);
a supply coupled to the DODP printhead and containing a phase change ink (Fig. 1 item 3); a controller (“printing control” [0021]) programmed to: operate the supply and the DODP printhead to maintain a liquid state of the phase change ink ([0021]-[0022]);
operate the vertical movement mechanism to position an upper surface at a build plane (implicitly disclosed); operate the horizontal movement mechanism to impart a scanning motion of the printhead with respect to the upper surface; concurrent with operating the horizontal movement mechanism, operate the array of piezo actuators to deliver ink drops to pixel locations upon the upper surface, for individual ones of the array of piezo actuators and individual ones of the ink drops (see [0023]-[0025]):
apply a secondary waveform to the piezo actuator including a secondary positive voltage (W22, see Fig. 6) pulse having a maximum magnitude (VSP) (between V2 and V3; see Fig. 6); apply a primary waveform to the piezo actuator including a primary positive voltage (W11) pulse having a maximum magnitude (VPP) (see Fig. 6, item V3), and V3>V2 and further operate the vertical movement mechanism, the horizontal movement mechanism, the supply, and the printhead to complete fabrication of the 3D article in a layer-by-layer manner (implicitly disclosed).
However, Toshiba fails to teach the secondary waveform includes a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (Vsn); the primary waveform includes by a primary negative voltage having a maximum magnitude (VPN); where VPN> VSN.
In the same field of endeavor, Jones et al. teach the term “peak voltage level” refers to a maximum amplitude level of an electrical firing signal… some firing signals include a waveform with both positive and negative peak voltage levels. The positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a firing signal waveform may have the same amplitude or different amplitudes. In some inkjet embodiments, the peak voltage level of the firing signal affects the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet in response to the firing signal. For example, higher peak voltage levels for the firing signal increase the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet, while lower peak voltage levels decrease the mass and velocity of the ejected ink drop. Since the image receiving surface moves in a process direction relative to the inkjet at a substantially constant rate and typically remains at a fixed distance from the inkjet, changes in the velocity of the ejected ink drops affect the relative locations of where the ink drops land on the image receiving surface in the process direction (see col 3 lines 15-40).
Jones et al. further teaches the term “peak voltage duration” refers to a time duration of the peak voltage level during a firing signal. The peak voltage duration can refer to the duration of both a positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a signal. Different electrical firing signal waveforms include positive peak voltage durations and negative peak voltage durations that are either equally long or of different durations. In one embodiment, an increase in the duration of the peak voltage level in the firing signal increases the ejection velocity of the ink drop while a decrease in the duration of the peak voltage level decreases the ejection velocity of the ink drop. These velocity changes reduce the variation in the ink drop velocities ejected by the printhead. When the ink drop velocity variation is reduced, the accuracy of the ink drop placement is increased (see col 3. Lines 35-55; also see throughout Jones where it teaches 3D printing using controlled build platform and printhead, similar to instant claim invention).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the instant application to modify the printing system control as taught by Toshiba with optimized primary and secondary waveform negative voltages pulses, as suggested by Jones et al., for the benefit of efficiently controlling the mass velocity and/or volume of the materials jetted, for efficiently controlling the 3D printing process. Therefore, claimed relationship, the secondary waveform includes a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (Vsn); the primary waveform includes by a primary negative voltage having a maximum magnitude (VPN); where VPN> VSN, would have been obvious optimization and control based on the above general teachings provided by Jones et al., in firing signal that increase/decrease the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiba Tec KK (EP 3,789,201 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 9,205,691 B1) in further view of Chopra et al. (US 2017/0121547 A1).
Regarding claim 2-3 and 12-13, Toshiba and Jones et al. teach all the limitation to the claim invention as discussed above, however, fail to teach wherein the phase change ink is a solid at 25 degrees Celsius and has a melting point within a range of 60 to 140 degrees Celsius; wherein the phase change ink contains a phase change component that includes one or more of a hydrocarbon wax, a fatty alcohol wax, a fatty acid wax, a fatty acid ester wax, an aldehyde wax, an amide wax, and a ketone wax.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to inkjets, Chopra et al. teach curable solid inks which are solid at room temperature and molten at an elevated temperature at which the molten ink is applied to a substrate. In particular, the curable solid inks comprise low molecular weight amide gellants that impart self-leveling capabilities to the inks. Also disclosed are methods for making the amide gellant and the inks comprising the amide gellants (see [0007]-[0008], [0047], [0050]-[0060]);
In one specific embodiment, the inks are jetted at low temperatures, in particular at temperatures below about 110° C., in one embodiment from about 40° C. to about 110° C., in another embodiment from about 50° C. to about 110° C., and in yet another embodiment from about 60° C. to about 90° C., although the jetting temperature can be outside of these ranges (see Chopra et al. [0064])
and further Chopra et al. teach in an embodiment, the ink comprises at least one monomer, oligomer, or prepolymer. In specific embodiments, the ink disclosed herein can comprise any suitable curable monomer, oligomer, or prepolymer. Examples of suitable materials include radiation curable monomer compounds, such as acrylate and methacrylate monomer compounds, which are suitable for use as phase change ink carriers. Specific examples of relatively nonpolar acrylate and methacrylate monomers include (but are not limited to) isobornyl acrylate (available from Sartomer Co. Inc. as SR506A), 4-acryolylmorpholine (available from Aldrich Chemical Co.), isobornyl methacrylate, lauryl acrylate, lauryl methacrylate, isodecylacrylate, isodecylmethacrylate, caprolactone acrylate, 2-phenoxyethyl acrylate, isooctylacrylate, isooctylmethacrylate, butyl acrylate, and the like, as well as mixtures and combinations thereof. In addition, multifunctional acrylate and methacrylate monomers and oligomers can be included in the phase change ink carrier as reactive diluents and as materials that can increase the cros slink density of the cured image, thereby enhancing the toughness of the cured images. Different monomer and oligomers can also be added to tune the plasticity or elasticity of the cured objects. Examples of suitable multifunctional acrylate and methacrylate monomers and oligomers include (but are not limited to) pentaerythritol tetraacrylate, pentaerythritol tetramethacrylate, 1,2-ethylene glycol diacrylate, 1,2-ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, 1,6-hexanediol dimethacrylate, 1,12-dodecanol diacrylate, 1,12-dodecanol dimethacrylate, tris(2-hydroxy ethyl) isocyanurate triacrylate, propoxylated neopentyl glycol diacrylate (available from Sartomer Co. Inc. as SR 9003), hexanediol diacrylate, tripropylene glycol diacrylate, dipropylene glycol diacrylate, amine modified polyether acrylates (available as PO 83 F, LR 8869, and/or LR 8889 (all available from BASF Corporation), trimethylolpropane triacrylate, glycerol propoxylate triacrylate, dipentaerythritol pentaacrylate, dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate, ethoxylated pentaerythritol tetraacrylate (available from Sartomer Co. Inc. as SR 494), and the like, as well as mixtures and combinations thereof (see Chopra, [0047]). Chopra et al. teach that by having phase change inks, with improved composition, and suitable for 3D printing, and such that provides printing with clear object or colored object, and that do not yellow with age (see [0009], [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the instant application further combine above ink jetting, with using phase changing inks, as taught by Chopra et al., for efficient 3D printing with improved composition and reduced discoloration of the inks (see [0009], [0022],[0024]).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiba Tec KK (EP 3,789,201 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 9,205,691 B1) in view of Chopra et al. (US 2017/0121547 A1) and in further view of Thomson et al. (US 2022/0193980 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Toshiba and Jones et al. teach all the limitation to the claim invention as discussed above, however, fail to teach wherein the phase change ink one or more of an oligomer and a monomer and also contains an ultraviolet activated catalyst. It is noted that Chopra et al. teach including wherein the phase change ink one or more of an oligomer and a monomer, as applied above ([0047]-[0049]), however, fail to teach using UV-activated catalyst.
It is noted that though applicant claims UV-catalyst in the claim, the specification is silent to specific type of catalyst used. Thomson et al. teach wherein the phase change ink one or more of an oligomer and a monomer and also contains an ultraviolet activated catalyst (see [0039] includes catalyst; [0032] discloses printing ink from ink jet which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention), for the benefit of curing the ink with the help of UV, for efficiently forming 3D printed object on to a build platform.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to modify the printing composition as taught above with including UV-activated catalyst as suggested by Thomson et al, for the benefit of forming a desired 3D printed object having desired stiffness (see [0126]), and other improved material properties ([0127]-[0129]).
5. Claim(s) 5-6, 8-10, 15-16, 18-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiba Tec KK (EP 3,789,201 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 9,205,691 B1) in further view of Fricke et al. (US 2017/0043584 A1).
As for claim 5-6, 8, 15, 16, and 18, Jones discloses the peak voltage duration can refer to the duration of both a positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a signal. Different electrical firing signal waveforms include positive peak voltage durations and negative peak voltage durations that are either equally long or of different durations. In one embodiment, an increase in the duration of the peak voltage level in the firing signal increases the ejection velocity of the ink drop while a decrease in the duration of the peak voltage level decreases the ejection velocity of the ink drop. These velocity changes reduce the variation in the ink drop velocities ejected by the printhead. When the ink drop velocity variation is reduced, the accuracy of the ink drop placement is increased (see col 3. Lines 35-55; also see throughout Jones where it teaches 3D printing using controlled build platform and printhead, similar to instant claim invention), however, fails to explicitly teach wherein a temporal pulse width of the primary positive pulse has a magnitude that is at least twice a magnitude of a temporal pulse width of the primary negative pulse; wherein the secondary wave form forms a secondary ink drop having a secondary drop velocity magnitude (VELS), the primary waveform forms a primary ink drop having a primary drop velocity magnitude (VELP), VELP> VELS, wherein the secondary ink drop has a secondary drop volume magnitude (VOLS), the primary ink drop has a primary drop volume magnitude (VOLP), VOLP> VOLS.
Fricke et al. teach the ejection of fluid from a nozzle can be influenced by a drive waveform that is used to deflect the piezoelectric material corresponding to that nozzle. Drive waveforms can have different voltages, widths, and/or shapes that can be varied to provide different drop characteristics, such as drop weight and velocity, among others. Different drive waveforms, e.g., digital streams generated by different arbitrary waveform data generators 483-1, 483-2, . . . , 483-M, may each correspond to a unique combination of voltage, pulse width, time delay, and/or shape ([0029]);
the piezoelectric printhead assemblies disclosed herein can eject multiple drops per pixel. As such, generated drive waveforms, e.g., corresponding to a voltage, can include a number of pulses where each pulse corresponds to the ejection of a single drop of fluid from a respective nozzle. For example, a drive waveform having four pulses per pixel will eject four drops for that pixel. As an example, a pulse can have a pulse width of approximately 1 microsecond ([0040]); each pulse can include a falling portion and a rising portion. For the falling portion of a pulse, current can be supplied from a low voltage supply, e.g., a low voltage supply coupled to a respective driver amplifier to provide a transient current. For the rising portion of the pulse, current can be supplied from a high voltage supply, e.g., a high voltage supply coupled to the respective driver amplifier to provide a transient current. Some examples of the present disclosure provide that the low voltage supply is a five volt supply and the high voltage supply is a thirty volt supply (see [0041]-[0043]).
It is noted that one skilled in the art working in the same field of endeavor, could easily derive the claim invention based on suggestion provided by Jones and Fricke et al., such as temporal pulse width of the primary positive pulse has a magnitude that is at least twice a magnitude of a temporal pulse width of the primary negative pulse; wherein the secondary wave form forms a secondary ink drop having a secondary drop velocity magnitude (VELS), the primary waveform forms a primary ink drop having a primary drop velocity magnitude …as claimed.
Regarding claim 9-10 and 19-20, Toshiba and Jones et al. teach all the limitation to the claim invention as claimed, however, fail to teach wherein a temporal delay d1 having a temporal duration of 0.25 to 5 microseconds separates the secondary waveform from the first waveform; wherein a trailing voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (VT) follows the secondary waveform, VT has a is less than 0.3 times VPN and may be of either positive or negative polarity; wherein a temporal delay d1 having a temporal duration of 0.25 to 5 microseconds separates the secondary waveform from the first waveform.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to inkjet, Fricke et al. teach the ejection of fluid from a nozzle can be influenced by a drive waveform that is used to deflect the piezoelectric material corresponding to that nozzle. Drive waveforms can have different voltages, widths, and/or shapes that can be varied to provide different drop characteristics, such as drop weight and velocity, among others. Different drive waveforms, e.g., digital streams generated by different arbitrary waveform data generators 483-1, 483-2, . . . , 483-M, may each correspond to a unique combination of voltage, pulse width, time delay, and/or shape (see [0029]),
that the temporal delay can correspond to completion of the falling portion of a pulse of a preceding drive waveform. For instance, a first plurality of drive waveform data can be utilized for ejecting a first number of respective ink drops from a MEMS die and a second plurality of drive waveform data can be utilized for ejecting a second number of respective ink drops from the MEMS die. The second plurality of drive waveform data can be temporally delayed until the falling portion, e.g., the portion of the pulse where current is supplied from a low voltage supply, of the pulse of the first plurality of drive waveform data is complete. This temporal delay can help provide that the first plurality of generated drive waveforms and the second plurality of generated drive waveforms are not drawing current from the low voltage supply simultaneously. Similarly, because the falling portion of the second plurality of drive waveform data is temporally delayed, e.g., offset from, relative to the falling portion of the first plurality of drive waveform data, the rising portion of the second plurality of drive waveform data is also temporally delayed relative to the rising portion of the first plurality of drive waveform data. Therefore the temporal delay can also help provide that the first plurality of generated drive waveforms and the second plurality of generated drive waveforms are not drawing current from the high voltage supply simultaneously. Advantageously, because there is a reduced draw of power from the low voltage source and/or the high voltage source, piezoelectric printhead assemblies according to the present disclosure and printing systems having such assemblies may utilized a reduced bulk capacitor load, a reduced power supply, and/or circuitry to handle a reduced power demand, as compared to other printhead assemblies and/or printing systems (see [0043]-[0044]).
It is implicit that one ordinary skill in the art working in the same field of endeavor, controlling driving waveform, taking into consideration of time, voltage, temporal delay, as suggested by Fricke et al., could easily derive at the claimed subject matter, for the purpose of achieving desired drop volume/size.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiba Tec KK (EP 3,789,201 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 9,205,691 B1) in further view of Fricke et al. (US 2017/0043584 A1) in further view of Banerjee et al. (US 8,353,567 B1).
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Toshiba and Jones et al. disclose all the limitation except, wherein the primary ink drop merges in flight with the secondary ink drop to form a composite ink drop before reaching one of the pixel locations upon the upper surface.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to inkjet and controls, Banerjee et al. teach applying positive pulse followed by negative pulse causes a first drop to be ejected. Subsequent pulses and cause a second drop to also be ejected. Other waveforms 212 may apply more or fewer pulses to cause more or fewer drops to be ejected, consistent with nozzle data 524. The timing, duration, voltage, and slew rate of the pulses, along with any residual energy in the ejection element 210 from a previous pulse or pulses, determines the drop weight, velocity, and direction of each ejected drop, at least in part. Typically, the parametric data for each pulse is specified such that the ejected drops of liquid merge in flight into a combined drop that contacts an intended location on the print medium. By varying the number of drops that merge into the combined drop, the size of the combined drop can be modulated to represent multiple levels of a grayscale nozzle data value (see col 8 lines 5-40).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to modify above further with controlling via applying different pulses, which causes drops to be ejected at specific rate, and controlling the timing, duration, voltage, along with other parameters, to control, ejected drops of liquid to merge in flight, as suggested by Banerjee et al, for the benefit of efficiently controlling the droplet, thereby improving image quality, with reduced time (see col 1 lines 5-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 - 24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art Toshiba Tec KK (EP 3,789,201 A1, as provided by the applicant’s IDS) and Jones et al. (US 9,205,691 B1). Regarding claim 21, Toshiba teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing system for manufacturing a 3D article comprising:
a build plate coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (implicitly disclosed; see Figs. 1); a drop on demand piezo (DODP) printhead (see Fig. 1), the DODP printhead including an array of piezoelectric (piezo) actuators (Fig. 1 item 6; [0011]); a horizontal movement mechanism configured to impart relative lateral motion between the DODP printhead and the build plate (implicitly discloses);
a supply coupled to the DODP printhead and containing a phase change ink (Fig. 1 item 3); a controller (“printing control” [0021]) programmed to: operate the supply and the DODP printhead to maintain a liquid state of the phase change ink ([0021]-[0022]);
operate the vertical movement mechanism to position an upper surface at a build plane (implicitly disclosed); operate the horizontal movement mechanism to impart a scanning motion of the printhead with respect to the upper surface; concurrent with operating the horizontal movement mechanism, operate the array of piezo actuators to deliver ink drops to pixel locations upon the upper surface, for individual ones of the array of piezo actuators and individual ones of the ink drops (see [0023]-[0025]):
apply a secondary waveform to the piezo actuator including a secondary positive voltage (W22, see Fig. 6) pulse having a maximum magnitude (VSP) (between V2 and V3; see Fig. 6); apply a primary waveform to the piezo actuator including a primary positive voltage (W11) pulse having a maximum magnitude (VPP) (see Fig. 6, item V3), and V3>V2 and further operate the vertical movement mechanism, the horizontal movement mechanism, the supply, and the printhead to complete fabrication of the 3D article in a layer-by-layer manner (implicitly disclosed).
However, Toshiba fails to teach the secondary waveform includes a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (Vsn); the primary waveform includes by a primary negative voltage having a maximum magnitude (VPN); where VPN> VSN.
In the same field of endeavor, Jones et al. teach the term “peak voltage level” refers to a maximum amplitude level of an electrical firing signal… some firing signals include a waveform with both positive and negative peak voltage levels. The positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a firing signal waveform may have the same amplitude or different amplitudes. In some inkjet embodiments, the peak voltage level of the firing signal affects the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet in response to the firing signal. For example, higher peak voltage levels for the firing signal increase the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet, while lower peak voltage levels decrease the mass and velocity of the ejected ink drop. Since the image receiving surface moves in a process direction relative to the inkjet at a substantially constant rate and typically remains at a fixed distance from the inkjet, changes in the velocity of the ejected ink drops affect the relative locations of where the ink drops land on the image receiving surface in the process direction (see col 3 lines 15-40).
Jones et al. further teaches the term “peak voltage duration” refers to a time duration of the peak voltage level during a firing signal. The peak voltage duration can refer to the duration of both a positive peak voltage level and negative peak voltage level in a signal. Different electrical firing signal waveforms include positive peak voltage durations and negative peak voltage durations that are either equally long or of different durations. In one embodiment, an increase in the duration of the peak voltage level in the firing signal increases the ejection velocity of the ink drop while a decrease in the duration of the peak voltage level decreases the ejection velocity of the ink drop. These velocity changes reduce the variation in the ink drop velocities ejected by the printhead. When the ink drop velocity variation is reduced, the accuracy of the ink drop placement is increased (see col 3. Lines 35-55; also see throughout Jones where it teaches 3D printing using controlled build platform and printhead, similar to instant claim invention).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the instant application to modify the printing system control as taught by Toshiba with optimized primary and secondary waveform negative voltages pulses, as suggested by Jones et al., for the benefit of efficiently controlling the mass velocity and/or volume of the materials jetted, for efficiently controlling the 3D printing process. Therefore, claimed relationship, the secondary waveform includes a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (Vsn); the primary waveform includes by a primary negative voltage having a maximum magnitude (VPN); where VPN> VSN, would have been obvious optimization and control based on the above general teachings provided by Jones et al., in firing signal that increase/decrease the mass and velocity of the ink drop that is ejected from the inkjet.
However, both Toshiba and Jones et al. fail to teach composite ejection mode in which a composite waveform is applied to the piezo actuator including a secondary waveform followed by a primary waveform, the secondary waveform including a secondary positive voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (VSP) followed by a negative voltage pulse having a maximum magnitude (VSN), the composite waveform ejecting a secondary ink drop having a secondary drop volume magnitude (VOLS) followed by the primary ink drop to form a composite ink drop having a composite ink drop volume magnitude that is at least at least 150% of the primary drop volume magnitude (VOLP); VPP> VSP and VPN> VSN; further operating the vertical movement mechanism, the horizontal movement mechanism, the supply, and the printhead to complete fabrication of the 3D article in a layer-by-layer manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2020/0156369 A1; US 2017/0165965 A1; US 2014/0063104 A1; US 2013/0063508 A1; Okuda et al. US 6,705,696 B1/
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743