DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on November 04, 2024 for application number 18/935,849. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 04, 2024 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024-012660 filed on January 31, 2024.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-4 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“higher-level electronic control unit” and “lower-level electronic control unit” in claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (OYA – US 2018/0099690 A1).
Regarding claim 1, OYA discloses:
A mobile object control system (vehicle steering device 1: Fig. 1) comprising:
a higher-level electronic control unit (higher-level ECU 20: Fig. 1) configured to
calculate a requested physical quantity that is a requested value of a physical quantity related to a driving operation of a mobile object (Vehicle as shown in Fig. 1) according to each of a first higher-level application and a second higher-level application that are switchable ([0024]: “The higher-level ECU 20 calculates, in each predetermined calculation period, a right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and a left target steered angle δ.sub.L* based on the steering angle θh detected by the steering angle sensor 8 and the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 11. The right target steered angle δ.sub.R* is a target value of the steered angle of the tight steered wheel 3R, and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L* is a target value of the steered angle of the left steered wheel 3L. The higher-level ECU 20 calculates the right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L* so that, of the right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L*, the absolute value of the target steered angle for the inner wheel of the vehicle making a turn becomes larger than the absolute value of the target steered angle for the outer wheel of the vehicle making a turn”);
a lower-level electronic control unit (reactive-force ECU 21, left steering ECU 22 and right steering ECU 23: Fig. 1) configured to
receive the requested physical quantity from the higher-level electronic control unit (higher-level ECU 20: Fig. 1), and calculate an actuator command value for causing a detected physical quantity that is a detected value of the physical quantity to follow the requested physical quantity according to a first lower-level application or a second lower-level application while performing switching between the first lower-level application and the second lower-level application in conjunction with switching between the first higher-level application and the second higher-level application ([0054, 0057]: “When the left steering ECU 22 is powered on, the switching control unit 59L sets the control mode to the first control mode (step S1). Specifically, the switching control unit 59L controls the switching unit 58L so that the switching unit 58L selects the first left target motor current I.sub.L1* input to its first input terminal. The switching control unit 59L determines if abnormal communication has occurred between the left steering ECU 22 and the higher-level ECU 20 (step S2)” and “If it is determined in step S5 that the absolute value |δ.sub.L−δ.sub.L*| is smaller than the predetermined value B (step S5: YES), the routine returns to step S1. FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating operation of the switching control unit 59R in the right steering motor control unit 41R. When the right steering ECU 23 is powered on, the switching control unit 59R sets the control mode to the third control mode (step S11). Specifically, the switching control unit 59R controls the switching unit 58R so that the switching unit 58R selects the first right target motor current I.sub.R1* input to its first input terminal. The switching control unit 59R determines if abnormal communication has occurred between the right steering ECU 23 and the higher-level ECU 20 (step S12)”); and
an actuator (reactive-force motor 7, right steering motor 4R and left steering motor 4L: Fig. 1) to be controlled according to the actuator command value ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]),
wherein
the first lower-level application and the second lower-level application are configured to
implement control operations different in terms of followability of the detected physical quantity with respect to the requested physical quantity ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]), and
the lower-level electronic control unit (reactive-force ECU 21, left steering ECU 22 and right steering ECU 23: Fig. 1) is configured to
perform a change amount suppression process for achieving a gentler change from a previous value to a current value of the requested physical quantity than in a case where the requested physical quantity is changed stepwise from the previous value to the current value ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]), and
substitute the detected physical quantity into the previous value in the change amount suppression process in response to the switching between the first higher-level application and the second higher-level application ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030-0035, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]: “The target torque T.sub.L* is set to zero when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is zero (neutral position). The target torque T.sub.L* is negative when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is positive, and is positive when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is negative. The target torque T.sub.L* is set so that the absolute value of the target torque T.sub.L* increases as the absolute value of the left steered angle δ.sub.L increases. The target torque setting unit 56L may set the target torque T.sub.L* in a manner shown in the example of FIG. 4B. In the example of FIG. 4B, A (A>0) is a predetermined value. The target torque T.sub.L* is set to zero when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is a very small value in the range of −A to A (left steered angle dead zone). In the case where the left steered angle δ.sub.L is out of the range of −A to A, the target torque T.sub.L* is negative when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is positive, and is positive when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is negative. In the case where the left steered angle δ.sub.L is out of the range of −A to A, the target torque T.sub.L* is set so that the absolute value of the target torque T.sub.L* increases as the absolute value of the left steered angle δ.sub.L increases”).
Regarding claim 2, OYA discloses:
A mobile object control system (vehicle steering device 1: Fig. 1) comprising:
a higher-level electronic control unit (higher-level ECU 20: Fig. 1) configured to
calculate a requested physical quantity that is a requested value of a physical quantity related to a driving operation of a mobile object according to each of a first higher-level application and a second higher-level application that are switchable ([0024]: “The higher-level ECU 20 calculates, in each predetermined calculation period, a right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and a left target steered angle δ.sub.L* based on the steering angle θh detected by the steering angle sensor 8 and the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 11. The right target steered angle δ.sub.R* is a target value of the steered angle of the tight steered wheel 3R, and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L* is a target value of the steered angle of the left steered wheel 3L. The higher-level ECU 20 calculates the right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L* so that, of the right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L*, the absolute value of the target steered angle for the inner wheel of the vehicle making a turn becomes larger than the absolute value of the target steered angle for the outer wheel of the vehicle making a turn”);
a lower-level electronic control unit (reactive-force ECU 21, left steering ECU 22 and right steering ECU 23: Fig. 1) configured to
receive the requested physical quantity from the higher-level electronic control unit (higher-level ECU 20: Fig. 1), and calculate an actuator command value for causing a detected physical quantity that is a detected value of the physical quantity to follow the requested physical quantity according to a first lower-level application or a second lower-level application while performing switching between the first lower-level application and the second lower-level application in conjunction with switching between the first higher-level application and the second higher-level application ([0054, 0057]: “When the left steering ECU 22 is powered on, the switching control unit 59L sets the control mode to the first control mode (step S1). Specifically, the switching control unit 59L controls the switching unit 58L so that the switching unit 58L selects the first left target motor current I.sub.L1* input to its first input terminal. The switching control unit 59L determines if abnormal communication has occurred between the left steering ECU 22 and the higher-level ECU 20 (step S2)” and “If it is determined in step S5 that the absolute value |δ.sub.L−δ.sub.L*| is smaller than the predetermined value B (step S5: YES), the routine returns to step S1. FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating operation of the switching control unit 59R in the right steering motor control unit 41R. When the right steering ECU 23 is powered on, the switching control unit 59R sets the control mode to the third control mode (step S11). Specifically, the switching control unit 59R controls the switching unit 58R so that the switching unit 58R selects the first right target motor current I.sub.R1* input to its first input terminal. The switching control unit 59R determines if abnormal communication has occurred between the right steering ECU 23 and the higher-level ECU 20 (step S12)”); and
an actuator (reactive-force motor 7, right steering motor 4R and left steering motor 4L: Fig. 1) to be controlled according to the actuator command value ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]),
wherein
the first lower-level application and the second lower-level application are configured to
implement control operations different in terms of followability of the detected physical quantity with respect to the requested physical quantity ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]), and
the lower-level electronic control unit (reactive-force ECU 21, left steering ECU 22 and right steering ECU 23: Fig. 1) is configured to
perform a change amount suppression process for achieving a gentler change from a previous value to a current value of the requested physical quantity than in a case where the requested physical quantity is changed stepwise from the previous value to the current value ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]), and
substitute, into the previous value in the change amount suppression process, an estimated physical quantity that is an estimated value of the physical quantity based on one or more parameters indicating behavior of the mobile object in response to the switching between the first higher-level application and the second higher-level application ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030-0035, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]: “The target torque T.sub.L* is set to zero when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is zero (neutral position). The target torque T.sub.L* is negative when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is positive, and is positive when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is negative. The target torque T.sub.L* is set so that the absolute value of the target torque T.sub.L* increases as the absolute value of the left steered angle δ.sub.L increases. The target torque setting unit 56L may set the target torque T.sub.L* in a manner shown in the example of FIG. 4B. In the example of FIG. 4B, A (A>0) is a predetermined value. The target torque T.sub.L* is set to zero when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is a very small value in the range of −A to A (left steered angle dead zone). In the case where the left steered angle δ.sub.L is out of the range of −A to A, the target torque T.sub.L* is negative when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is positive, and is positive when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is negative. In the case where the left steered angle δ.sub.L is out of the range of −A to A, the target torque T.sub.L* is set so that the absolute value of the target torque T.sub.L* increases as the absolute value of the left steered angle δ.sub.L increases”).
Regarding claim 3, OYA discloses:
A mobile object control system (vehicle steering device 1: Fig. 1) comprising:
a higher-level electronic control unit (higher-level ECU 20: Fig. 1) configured to
calculate a requested physical quantity that is a requested value of a physical quantity related to a driving operation of a mobile object according to each of a first higher-level application and a second higher-level application that are switchable ([0024]: “The higher-level ECU 20 calculates, in each predetermined calculation period, a right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and a left target steered angle δ.sub.L* based on the steering angle θh detected by the steering angle sensor 8 and the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 11. The right target steered angle δ.sub.R* is a target value of the steered angle of the tight steered wheel 3R, and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L* is a target value of the steered angle of the left steered wheel 3L. The higher-level ECU 20 calculates the right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L* so that, of the right target steered angle δ.sub.R* and the left target steered angle δ.sub.L*, the absolute value of the target steered angle for the inner wheel of the vehicle making a turn becomes larger than the absolute value of the target steered angle for the outer wheel of the vehicle making a turn”);
a lower-level electronic control unit (reactive-force ECU 21, left steering ECU 22 and right steering ECU 23: Fig. 1) configured to
receive the requested physical quantity from the higher-level electronic control unit (higher-level ECU 20: Fig. 1), and calculate an actuator command value for causing a detected physical quantity that is a detected value of the physical quantity to follow the requested physical quantity according to a first lower-level application or a second lower-level application while performing switching between the first lower-level application and the second lower-level application in conjunction with switching between the first higher-level application and the second higher-level application ([0054, 0057]: “When the left steering ECU 22 is powered on, the switching control unit 59L sets the control mode to the first control mode (step S1). Specifically, the switching control unit 59L controls the switching unit 58L so that the switching unit 58L selects the first left target motor current I.sub.L1* input to its first input terminal. The switching control unit 59L determines if abnormal communication has occurred between the left steering ECU 22 and the higher-level ECU 20 (step S2)” and “If it is determined in step S5 that the absolute value |δ.sub.L−δ.sub.L*| is smaller than the predetermined value B (step S5: YES), the routine returns to step S1. FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating operation of the switching control unit 59R in the right steering motor control unit 41R. When the right steering ECU 23 is powered on, the switching control unit 59R sets the control mode to the third control mode (step S11). Specifically, the switching control unit 59R controls the switching unit 58R so that the switching unit 58R selects the first right target motor current I.sub.R1* input to its first input terminal. The switching control unit 59R determines if abnormal communication has occurred between the right steering ECU 23 and the higher-level ECU 20 (step S12)”); and
an actuator (reactive-force motor 7, right steering motor 4R and left steering motor 4L: Fig. 1) to be controlled according to the actuator command value ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]),
wherein
the first lower-level application and the second lower-level application are configured to
implement control operations different in terms of followability of the detected physical quantity with respect to the requested physical quantity ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]), and
the lower-level electronic control unit (reactive-force ECU 21, left steering ECU 22 and right steering ECU 23: Fig. 1) is configured to
perform a change amount suppression process for achieving a gentler change from a previous value to a current value of the requested physical quantity than in a case where the requested physical quantity is changed stepwise from the previous value to the current value ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]), and
substitute zero into the previous value in the change amount suppression process in response to the switching between the first higher-level application and the second higher-level application ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030-0035, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]: “The target torque T.sub.L* is set to zero when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is zero (neutral position). The target torque T.sub.L* is negative when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is positive, and is positive when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is negative. The target torque T.sub.L* is set so that the absolute value of the target torque T.sub.L* increases as the absolute value of the left steered angle δ.sub.L increases. The target torque setting unit 56L may set the target torque T.sub.L* in a manner shown in the example of FIG. 4B. In the example of FIG. 4B, A (A>0) is a predetermined value. The target torque T.sub.L* is set to zero when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is a very small value in the range of −A to A (left steered angle dead zone). In the case where the left steered angle δ.sub.L is out of the range of −A to A, the target torque T.sub.L* is negative when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is positive, and is positive when the left steered angle δ.sub.L is negative. In the case where the left steered angle δ.sub.L is out of the range of −A to A, the target torque T.sub.L* is set so that the absolute value of the target torque T.sub.L* increases as the absolute value of the left steered angle δ.sub.L increases”).
Regarding claim 4, OYA disclose the mobile object control system according to claim 1, and further on OYA also discloses:
wherein: the mobile object is a vehicle (Vehicle as shown in Fig. 1);
the physical quantity is a steering angle (steering angle θh) of a wheel (steering wheel 2: Fig. 1) of the vehicle (Vehicle as shown in Fig. 1);
the actuator (reactive-force motor 7, right steering motor 4R and left steering motor 4L: Fig. 1) is an electric motor configured to generate a torque for changing the steering angle (steering angle θh); and
the actuator (reactive-force motor 7, right steering motor 4R and left steering motor 4L: Fig. 1) command value is a torque command value for causing a detected steering angle serving as the detected physical quantity to follow a requested steering angle (steering angle θh) serving as the requested physical quantity ([0017-0019, 0022, 0028-0030, 0041-0044, 0047-0048, 0060-0061, 0063, 0065, 0067]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2008/0015755 A1 - Kuwahara
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747