Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10, 11, 17, 19, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In particular, no single prior art reference has been found to anticipate the limitations of the claims or combination of prior art references to render the limitations obvious, when viewed in the context of the limitations to which the claims depends. As such, these claims would be allowable if incorporated into independent form including each and every intervening limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jehle (US 20250002000).
In regards to claim 1, Jehle teaches a torque control system for a drive system of an electric vehicle, the torque control system comprising: (Fig 1, 2, [0032] vehicle may be purely electric vehicle.)
a controller that generates a front-wheel torque command and a rear-wheel torque command including torque values distributed from a required torque for vehicle driving; ([0030], [0036], [0037] control unit can operate torque sources for front axle and rear axle to generate torque according to a driver demand, where the sum of the wheel torque distributed as desired of each axle gives the total wheel torque that corresponds to the driver demand.)
a front-wheel motor operatively connected to the controller, wherein operation of the front-wheel motor is controlled according to the front-wheel torque command generated and output by the controller; ([0019], [0030], [0032], [0037] first torque source may be electric motor which provides torque to front axle of vehicle controlled by control unit.) and
a rear-wheel motor operatively connected to the controller, wherein operation of the front-wheel motor is controlled according to the rear-wheel torque command generated and output by the controller, ([0030], [0036], [0037] second torque source for rear axle is a traction motor that is adjusted based on control from control unit along with front wheel torque to reach the driver demand torque which is a sum of the front and rear wheel torques.)
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether there is a change request of a direction of the required torque for the vehicle driving, to determine, in response that the controller concludes that there is the change request of the direction of the required torque, the front-wheel torque command and the rear-wheel torque command determined from the required torque as values for sequential zero-crossing while the required torque determined in real time changes while performing zero-crossing of passing through 0 torque for direction change, and to determine a time point at which the front-wheel torque command performs the zero-crossing and a time point at which the rear-wheel torque command performs the zero-crossing based on the required torque determined in real time. (Fig 3, [0030], [0032], [0034], [0037] controller performs torque command for front and rear wheels according to driver demand torque, including controlling the vehicle when a load change occurs causing torque to be switched between positive and negative torque. Front and rear wheel torques are adjusted by adjusting corresponding motors such that they exhibit zero crossings at different times, which occur sequentially at determined times, and such that the driver demand torque is still met by summing the front and rear wheel torques. This determines that there is a change request of direction of required torque by the controller as a load change, including sequential timings of zero crossing torque determined in real time.)
In regards to claim 2, Jehle teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine the front-wheel torque command and the rear-wheel torque command determined from the required torque while the required torque changes, as values so that a torque sum of the front-wheel torque command and the rear-wheel torque command satisfies the required torque. ([0034], [0036], [0037] the sum of the wheel torque contributions from the front and rear wheels gives the total wheel torque that corresponds to the driver demand, which is maintained while the torque changes.)
In regards to claim 3, Jehle teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to perform torque correction for limiting a change rate of the front-wheel torque command to a preset first maximum allowable change rate in the zero-crossing of the front-wheel torque command, and to perform torque correction for limiting a change rate of the rear-wheel torque command to a preset second maximum allowable change rate in the zero-crossing of the rear-wheel torque command. ([0037], [0038] first torque is reduced with a specified first gradient which is then adjusted as the second torque changes and the second torque is adjusted with a specified second gradient which is particularly chosen to align with the first torque. This limits a change rate of the front wheel torque to a maximum allowable specified first gradient and limits the change rate of the rear wheel torque to a maximum allowable specified second gradient, which occurs with the zero crossing torque commands of the wheels.)
In regards to claim 4, Jehle teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to perform, while performing the torque correction for limiting the change rate of the front-wheel torque command to the preset first maximum allowable change rate, torque compensation for the rear-wheel torque command distributed from the required torque so that a sum of the front-wheel torque command, the change rate of which is limited, and the rear-wheel torque command distributed from the required torque satisfies the required torque. ([0034], [0036], [0037] the sum of the wheel torque contributions from the front and rear wheels gives the total wheel torque that corresponds to the driver demand, which is maintained while the torque changes, including each individual torque changes.)
In regards to claim 5, Jehle teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to perform, while performing the torque correction for limiting the change rate of the rear-wheel torque command to the preset second maximum allowable change rate, torque compensation for the front-wheel torque command distributed from the required torque so that a sum of the rear-wheel torque command, the change rate of which is limited, and the front-wheel torque command distributed from the required torque satisfies the required torque. ([0034], [0036], [0037] the sum of the wheel torque contributions from the front and rear wheels gives the total wheel torque that corresponds to the driver demand, which is maintained while the torque changes, including each individual torque changes.)
In regards to claim 6, Jehle teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the controller is further configured to set a front-wheel torque distribution rate and a rear-wheel torque distribution rate as values that vary depending on the required torque, ([0030], [0034], [0037], [0038] distribution rate between front and rear wheels is set as desired, which includes varying depending on the required torque when the torque changes over different rates.) and
wherein, in response that the front-wheel torque distribution rate corresponding to the required torque determined in real time is 0, a torque value of the front-wheel torque command becomes 0 and the zero-crossing of passing through 0 torque is performed in the front-wheel torque command, and in response that the rear-wheel torque distribution rate corresponding to the required torque determined in real time is 0, a torque value of the rear-wheel torque command becomes 0 and the zero-crossing passing through 0 torque is performed in the rear-wheel torque command. ([0030], [0034], [0037], [0038] based on driver demand torque, the torque of the front and rear wheels is operated to change torque including zero crossing at different points in real time, which is further performed based upon any and all distribution ratios, including when torque distribution ratio of a particular motor is zero, the motor torque becomes zero, which applies to both the front and rear wheels.)
In regards to claim 12, Jehle teaches a torque control method for a drive system of an electric vehicle, the torque control method comprising: ([0032] vehicle may be purely electric vehicle. [0037], [0038] method operated to control wheel torque.)
determining, by a controller, whether there is a change request of a direction of a required torque for vehicle driving, (Fig 3, [0034], [0037] controller performs torque command for front and rear wheels according to driver demand torque, including controlling the vehicle when a load change occurs causing torque to be switched between positive and negative torque. This determines that there is a change request of direction of required torque by the controller as a load change.)
determining, by the controller, in response that the controller concludes that there is the change request of the direction of the required torque, a front-wheel torque command and a rear-wheel torque command including torque values distributed from the required torque determined in real time while the required torque determined in real time changes while performing zero-crossing of passing through 0 torque to change the direction, (Fig 3, [0030], [0032], [0034], [0037] controller performs torque command for front and rear wheels according to driver demand torque, including controlling the vehicle when a load change occurs causing torque to be switched between positive and negative torque. Front and rear wheel torques are adjusted by adjusting corresponding motors such that they exhibit zero crossings at different times, which occur sequentially at determined times, and such that the driver demand torque is still met by summing the front and rear wheel torques. This determines that there is a change request of direction of required torque by the controller as a load change, including sequential timings of zero crossing torque determined in real time, and operates the motors based on the determined change.) and
controlling, by the controller, operations of a front-wheel motor and a rear-wheel motor operatively connected to the controller, according to the determined front-wheel torque command and rear-wheel torque command, ([0019], [0030], [0032], [0036] [0037] first torque source may be electric motor which provides torque to front axle of vehicle controlled by control unit and traction motor may be controlled to supply second torque for rear axle of vehicle controlled by control unit, both based upon respective torque commands.)
wherein the controller is further configured to determine the front-wheel torque command and the rear-wheel torque command determined from the required torque as values for sequential zero-crossing while the required torque changes while performing the zero-crossing for direction change, and is configured to determine a time point at which the front-wheel torque command performs the zero-crossing and a time point at which the rear-wheel torque command performs the zero-crossing based on the required torque determined in real time. (Fig 3, [0030], [0032], [0034], [0037] controller performs torque command for front and rear wheels according to driver demand torque, including controlling the vehicle when a load change occurs causing torque to be switched between positive and negative torque. Front and rear wheel torques are adjusted by adjusting corresponding motors such that they exhibit zero crossings at different times, which occur sequentially at determined times, and such that the driver demand torque is still met by summing the front and rear wheel torques. This determines that there is a change request of direction of required torque by the controller as a load change, including sequential timings of zero crossing torque determined in real time.)
In regards to claim 13, Jehle teaches the method of claim 12.
Claim 13 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
In regards to claim 14, Jehle teaches the method of claim 12.
Claim 14 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 15, Jehle teaches the method of claim 12.
Claim 15 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jehle in view of Ravichandran et al. (US 20230241983).
In regards to claim 7, Jehle teaches the system of claim 1.
Jehle does not teach: wherein, in response that the required torque determined in real time increases from torque in a vehicle deceleration direction and switches to torque in a vehicle acceleration direction, the controller is further configured to perform the zero-crossing of the rear-wheel torque command, and then to perform the zero-crossing of the front-wheel torque command.
However, Ravichandran teaches selectively controlling torque applied to front and rear wheels including the particular case of increasing torque from a deceleration direction to an acceleration direction, such that first the rear wheel torque performs zero crossing at a time t3 and then the front wheel torque performs zero crossing at a time t4 after time t3 (Fig 10, [0083], [0098], [0102], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle torque control system of Jehle, by incorporating the teachings of Ravichandran, such that the torque of the wheels is particularly controlled when setting the torque of each axle, including a particular case in which while the torque switches from a deceleration direction to an acceleration direction, the rear wheel torque performs zero crossing before the front wheel torque performs zero crossing.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Ravichandran, this allows for improved clunk and shuffle of the vehicle ([0002], [0007]), which one of ordinary skill would have recognized improves comfort of the vehicle.
In regards to claim 9, Jehle teaches the system of claim 1.
Jehle does not teach: wherein, in response that the required torque determined in real time decreases from torque in a vehicle acceleration direction and switches to torque in a vehicle deceleration direction, the controller is further configured to perform the zero-crossing of the front-wheel torque command, and then to perform the zero-crossing of the rear-wheel torque command.
However, Ravichandran teaches selectively controlling torque applied to front and rear wheels including the particular case of increasing torque from an acceleration direction to a deceleration direction, such that first the front wheel torque performs zero crossing and then the rear wheel torque performs zero crossing as in the annotated figure below, where in between times t1 and t2, first the front motor torque crosses zero, then the rear motor torque crosses zero at very close times (Fig 10, [0083], [0098], [0102], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle torque control system of Jehle, by incorporating the teachings of Ravichandran, such that the torque of the wheels is particularly controlled when setting the torque of each axle, including a particular case in which while the torque switches from an acceleration direction to a deceleration direction, the front wheel torque performs zero crossing before the rear wheel torque performs zero crossing.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Ravichandran in regards to claim 7.
In regards to claim 16, Jehle teaches the method of claim 12.
Claim 16 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 7 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
In regards to claim 18, Jehle teaches the method of claim 12.
Claim 18 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 9 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukudome (US 20170028871) teaches controlling torque to adjust for zero crossing of a vehicle.
Takebayashi et al. (US 20240317051) teaches controlling torque of wheels to arrive at zero at different times.
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661