DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabot et al. (US 2011/0284381) in view of Curran et al. (US 2017/0009364).
Considering claim 1, Cabot teaches metal alloys with an anodic coating (abstract) for electronic housings, aerospace parts, etc. (Paragraph 38). The article comprises an aluminum substrate with an anodized oxide layer (Paragraph 20). The coating comprises at least one of microcrystalline aluminum oxide and aluminum hydroxide (Paragraph 38) and where the anodized coating is sealed and forms boehmite (Paragraph 46) which is aluminum oxy-hydroxide (Paragraph 8). The pores of the coating are filled with a metal hydroxide material such that the interior and exterior portions of the pores are filled (Paragraph 43) of one or more of Ni, Fe, etc. (Paragraph 41) (e.g. a corrosion inhibitor). However, Cabot does not teach the claimed concentration differential.
In a related field of endeavor, Curran teaches sealed anodic coatings (abstract) where the anodic oxide film contains nickel ions from the sealing process (Paragraph 19). The article comprises a metal of Al, etc. which is anodized (Paragraph 24) for housings of electronic devices (Paragraph 25). The coating is subjected to a post-sealing treatment to repair minor damage (Paragraph 22) and to at least partially remove Ni ions and other unwanted constituents from the coating (Paragraphs 23 and 36) such that the exterior of the coating contains less Ni than the interior portion (Paragraph 34; Fig. 2). The removal of Ni from the exterior makes a device better suited for wearables (Paragraphs 4 and 20).
As both Cabot and Curran teach anodized coatings they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the coating of Cabot with the partial removal of Ni from the exterior (e.g. having an exterior portion distal from the interior with a smaller concentration of corrosion inhibitor) as this is known to make for the device to be better suited for a wearable electronic and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 2, Curran teaches where the sealing solution comprises chromates of aluminum oxidichromate and aluminum oxichromate (Paragraph 30).
Considering claim 3, Cabot teaches trivalent chromium for the sealing material (Paragraph 6).
Considering claim 4, Cabot teaches anodized aluminum (Paragraph 20).
Considering claims 5-6, Cabot teaches where the article may be an aerospace component or a housing (Paragraph 38) encompassing the claimed case.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Simmons (US 2007/0256591) teaches anodized coatings with materials similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784