DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2024, 12/11/2024 and 06/16/2026 are being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS form is attached with the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asao (JP2013247872A).
Asao teaches a jelly food is obtained by packaging a gelatinous liquid and olive fruits (which reads on claim 5) in a container, wherein the gelatinous liquid contains a liquid sugar including D-psicose and D-allose, an olive fruit juice, an acidulant, and an olive tea (See e.g. abstract). Asao teaches the sugar is, 0 to sugar content. 5-17.0% of D-psicose and 0. 2-10.0% of D-amylose mucopolysaccharidosis containing the liquid sugar, olive jelly is used in a range of % 5-20 pts. wt., sweetener in combination with the other (see e.g. page 14, which reads on the ratio of the sugar to the composition/sweetener composition and this combination does not require sucrose).
The applicant recites that the plant of the present application may include parts of the plant (e.g., fruits, leaves, stems, and roots of the plant). The applicant also recites a "soaked solution" is a food prepared by mixing a raw material for soaking for a certain period of time as to extract a certain component present in the raw material into the saccharide. The soaked material is ingested as it is, or diluted and drunk as a drink, or used for a marinade or a sauce” (see lines 9-12, page 1).
Therefore, the reference anticipates the instantly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asao (JP2013247872A), in view of Ryu Chung Ho et. al. (KR20110076202A)
The teachings of Asao are set forth and applied as before.
Asao does not teach Prunus mume.
Ho’s general disclosure is to a process for the preparation of sugaring Prunus mume and sugaring Prunus mume prepared therefrom (title, abstract and page 2 at top).
Ho teaches producing sugar-preserved Japanese apricot Prunus mume by separating the seeds of the plum and mixing the flesh and sugar in a weight ratio of 4: 6 to 6: 4 and aged at a low temperature of 0 to 25 ℃ for 7 months or more (see page 3, 3rd para.).
Ho teaches that “in particular, it is known that plum is an alkaline food, which prevents adult diseases such as diabetes and hypertension caused by oxidation of the human body, promotes secretion of gastric juice, and is effective in gastrointestinal diseases and constipation” (see 4th para. of description). Ho also teaches “the domestic researches of plums reported so far are the development of new materials using the by-products of plums and the basic data, the antioxidant properties of plums” (see page 1, 6th para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a solution for soaking fruit containing allulose and using this solution for Prunus mume because at the time the invention was made, it was known that olive fruits could be soaked in an allulose containing sugar solution to produce an olive jelly as clearly taught by Asao and that Prunus mume could also be made into a plant-soaked composition as clearly taught by Ho. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood to use allulose with Prunus mume because it was known that allulose could be part of a fruit soak sugar solution and could be used to make a fruit jelly or food composition as clearly taught by the above references. It would have been obvious to substitute Prunus mume for the olive to provide a jelly or fruit soaked in sugar, since the Asao reference teaches that sugar solution can be used with olive fruit to provide a jelly and soaked fruit. Ho teaches that Prunus mume can be combined with sugar and is useful for preventing diseases such as diabetes and hypertension, thus substituting Prunus mume would be a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results. The skilled artisan in the art would have understood to combine Prunus mume with allulose in a sugar soak with expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood to use Prunus mume in the instantly claimed amount of allulose in the sugar soak based upon the beneficial teachings of Asao and Ho. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute Prunus mume for olive and soak the fruit in a sugar containing allulose to provide a more effective fruit-sugar soak based upon the beneficial teachings of Asao and Ho. It would have also been obvious to add more of the plant and more of the allulose after the step of adding allulose to the plant as this would create more of the composition. It would have also been obvious to remove the plant whenever it was finished soaking.
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 9-14, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asao (JP2013247872A) and D. Woodyer et. al. (From IDS filed on 12/11/2024, WO2015075473A1).
The teachings of Asao are set forth and applied as before.
Woodyer teaches “a food or beverage product comprising allulose” (see claim 1).
Woodyer also teaches “a food or beverage product according to Claim 1 or 2, which is a sweet filling comprising allulose in an amount of from about 5% by weight to about 50% by weight relative to the total weight of the uncooked sweet filling” (see claim 40)
Woodyer teaches “such sweet fillings may also comprise at least one plant-derived component (such as a fruit, vegetable, legume, nut or coconut component, for example). Such plant-derived component may be present in an amount of from around 1 % by weight to about 60% by weight relative to the total weight of the uncooked sweet filling”.
The applicant recites that the plant of the present application may include parts of the plant (e.g., fruits, leaves, stems, and roots of the plant). The applicant also recites a "soaked solution" is a food prepared by mixing a raw material for soaking for a certain period of time as to extract a certain component present in the raw material into the saccharide. The soaked material is ingested as it is, or diluted and drunk as a drink, or used for a marinade or a sauce” (see lines 9-12, page 1).
Woodyer teaches that allulose may typically be provided in crystalline form (i.e. pure allulose) or in the form of a syrup comprising allulose (see page 16 lines 31-32).
Woodyer teaches creating lemon poppy seed cake with allulose (see example 6, page 66) and using lemon zest and juice (see page 67, table 11) and this would be a plant which comprises of lemon.
Therefore it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a solution for soaking fruit containing allulose and using this solution for lemons because Woodyer teaches creating such food allulose soaked compositions as can be appreciated from Woodyer’s disclosure. For instance Woodyer teaches creating lemon poppy seed cakes with other ingredients that would include water which would indeed create a plant (lemon) soaked solution with allulose. It would have also been obvious to add more of the plant and more of the allulose after the step of adding allulose to the plant as this would create more of the composition. It would have also been obvious to remove the plant whenever it was finished soaking.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655