DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Applicant is advised that this Double Patenting rejection will not be held in abeyance. See MPEP § 804(I)(B)(1); 37 CFR § 1.111(b).
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,135,974. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the features of the instant claims can be found in the conflicting claims, and thus are anticipated by those claims.
Instant Claims
Claims of U.S. Patent Number 12,135,974
1. A method for generating custom system templates to define new system types, the method comprising: for a particular system type, defining at least a manifest file that specifies a set of properties of the particular system type; compressing the defined manifest file to create a custom system template package for the particular system type; and uploading the custom system template package to an authorization service in order to instantiate a new system of the particular system type.
1. A method for generating custom system templates to define new system types, the method comprising: for a particular system type, defining at least a manifest file that specifies a set of properties of the particular system type; compressing the defined manifest file to create a custom system template package for the particular system type; and uploading the custom system template package to an authorization service in order to instantiate a new system of the particular system type; and before compressing the defined manifest file, defining (i) a system-type logo associated with the particular system type, (ii) a first policies folder comprising a plurality of default policies associated with the particular system type, (iii) a second policies folder comprising a plurality of policies specified for the particular system type and not included in the plurality of default policies, and (iv) an assets folder comprising a set of files required for install and uninstall instructions.
2. The method of claim 1 further comprising before compressing the defined manifest file, defining (i) a plurality of default policies associated with the particular system type, and (ii) a plurality of policies specified for the particular system type and not included in the plurality of default policies.
1. A method for generating custom system templates to define new system types, the method comprising: for a particular system type, defining at least a manifest file that specifies a set of properties of the particular system type; compressing the defined manifest file to create a custom system template package for the particular system type; and uploading the custom system template package to an authorization service in order to instantiate a new system of the particular system type; and before compressing the defined manifest file, defining (i) a system-type logo associated with the particular system type, (ii) a first policies folder comprising a plurality of default policies associated with the particular system type, (iii) a second policies folder comprising a plurality of policies specified for the particular system type and not included in the plurality of default policies, and (iv) an assets folder comprising a set of files required for install and uninstall instructions.
3. The method of claim 2 further comprising specifying logic that is used to combine policies.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the second policies folder comprises logic that is used to combine policies for the particular system type with one or more stack policies.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein compressing the defined manifest file further comprises: archiving the manifest file; and compressing the archived manifest file.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein compressing the defined manifest file further comprises: archiving the manifest file, system-type logo, first policies folder, second policies folder, and assets folder; and compressing the archived manifest file, system-type logo, first policies folder, second policies folder, and assets folder to create the custom system template package.
5. The method of claim 4 further comprising rendering and validating each file and folder in the compressed, archived custom system template package.
5. The method of claim 4 further comprising rendering and validating each file and folder in the compressed, archived custom system template package.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lockhart et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0081862).
Regarding Claim 1, Lockhart discloses a method for generating custom system templates to define new system types, the method comprising:
for a particular system type, defining at least a manifest file (paragraph 0024; i.e., a configuration file) that specifies a set of properties (paragraphs 0002-0003; i.e., a configuration of a particular type of server) of the particular system type (i.e., the configuration file can either be updates to a particular server 340 [Figure 3] [paragraph 0039], or an entirely new configuration for the server 340 [paragraph 0059]);
compressing the defined manifest file to create a custom system template package for the particular system type (paragraph 0062; i.e., the compressed configuration file being equivalent to the claimed “custom system template package”); and
uploading (Figure 3, paragraphs 0039 and 0042; i.e., the configuration files 315 are pushed to the appropriate servers 330 from master repository 310) the custom system template package to an authorization service (Figure 6, item 620, paragraphs 0037, 0044, and 0063; i.e., the compressed configuration file is authorized before it is installed by verifying keys, signatures, and/or hashes) in order to instantiate a new system of the particular system type (paragraph 0059; i.e., the newly-configured server being created/instantiated is equivalent to the claimed “new system”).
Regarding Claim 2, Lockhart discloses before compressing the defined manifest file, defining (i) a plurality of default policies associated with the particular system type (paragraph 0002; i.e., a common set of configurations), and (ii) a plurality of policies specified for the particular system type and not included in the plurality of default policies (paragraph 0002; i.e., certain policies such as caching, purging, access restrictions, etc. that are different than the common/default settings can be modified for a particular server).
Regarding Claim 3, Lockhart discloses specifying logic that is used to combine policies (paragraph 0049; i.e., the updated configuration, which can include new policies, can be merged/combined with the existing configuration, which has currently enabled policies).
Regarding Claim 4, Lockhart discloses wherein compressing the defined manifest file further comprises:
archiving the manifest file (paragraph 0037; i.e., storing the updated configuration file); and
compressing the archived manifest file (paragraph 0059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockhart as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Avery et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0186125).
Regarding Claim 5, Lockhart does not expressly disclose rendering and validating each file and folder in the compressed, archived custom system template package.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., configuration updating techniques), Avery teaches rendering and validating each file and folder in the custom system template package (paragraphs 0029-0030; i.e., files and folders for the software package are created/rendered and validated).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Avery’s teachings of configuration updating techniques with the teachings of Lockhart, for the purpose of ensuring that the new software package is compatible with the particular server and that it will not cause the server to fail due to improper files being included in the package.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses methods for generating custom system templates for a new system.
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175