DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to correspondence
This office action is in response to correspondence filed on 11/04/2024 and preliminary amendment filed on 11/17/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS was filed.
Abstract
The abstract filed 11/04/2024 appears to be acceptable.
Claim Objections
Following claim(s) are objected to because of antecedent basis and informalities, and for accuracy of the claim languages have been suggested as follows:
Claim 1 lines 7-8 recites “detect a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles during operation of a variable-speed fan motor”, this should be read as “detect a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles once the variable-speed fan motor is operated”;
Claim 15 lines 3-4 recites “detecting a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles during operation of a variable-speed fan motor”, this should be read as “detecting a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles once the variable-speed fan motor is operated”;
Claim 27 lines 8-9 recites “detect a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles during operation of the variable-speed fan motor”, this should be read as “detect a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles once the variable-speed fan motor is operated”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 14, 15, 27, 34, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication number 2005/0163615 A1 to CHHEDA et al. (CHHEDA) in view of U.S Patent number 4361069 to PETERSON et al. (PETERSON).
Re: Claim 1:
CHHEDA discloses:
A system for controlling supplying power to a variable-speed fan motor (See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: discloses a variable-speed fan motor with a control system for power supply to the variable-speed fan motor see claims 11-16 ) , the system comprising:
at least a first sensor (See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: at least first sensor 208), and
a controller (See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: a control system 200 for variable-speed fan motor 201/202 as shown in figure 2),
the sensor senses (See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: sensors 208, 209, which measures fan motor current consumption for each fan motor) at least one characteristic from which voltage can be monitored, and further discloses a variable-speed fan motor,
CHHEDA is silent regarding:
the controller is configured to:
detect a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles during operation of a variable-speed fan motor,
compare the detected magnitude of imbalance to a pre-selected threshold value, and if the detected magnitude of imbalance exceeds the pre-selected threshold value, automatically alter one or more characteristics of supplying power to the variable-speed motor.
However, PETERSON teaches:
controller is configured to:
detect a magnitude of imbalance between positive voltage and negative voltage during cycles (See Figs. 3A-3C: col. 6 lines 41-68-col. 7 lines 1- 49: if there is either a positive or a negative imbalance between the cam position sensor voltage and the swell shoe potentiometer voltage, and if the imbalance is greater than the off-set dead-band adjustment voltage, then one or the other of the comparators 106 or 118 will produce a positive voltage at its output) during operation of a variable-speed motor (claim 8 discloses a variable- speed motor),
compare the detected magnitude of imbalance to a pre-selected threshold value, and if the detected magnitude of imbalance exceeds the pre-selected threshold value, automatically alter one or more characteristics of supplying power to the variable-speed fan motor (See Figs. 3A-3C: col. 6 lines 41-68-col. 7 lines 1- 49: …..if there is either a positive or a negative imbalance between the cam position sensor voltage and the swell shoe potentiometer voltage, and if the imbalance is greater than the off-set dead-band adjustment voltage, then one or the other of the comparators 106 or 118 will produce a positive voltage at its output….. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure control system disclosed by CHHEDA as explicitly taught by PETERSON, because PETERSON teaches the electronic logic circuitry responds to the two input voltages and decides what action to take in the event of an imbalance between the voltages which is beneficial and would have yielded similar advantages in the system of CHHEDA.
Regarding method claim 15: CHHEDA in view of PETERSON discloses all the limitations of method claim 15
Regarding a fan system as claimed in claim 27: CHHEDA in view of PETERSON discloses all the limitations of method claim 27.
Re: Claims 9, 34:
CHHEDA modified by PETERSON discloses:
The system recited in claims 1 and 34, modified CHHEDA discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 27, and wherein:
the controller comprises a processor (CHHEDA: See Figs. 1-4: ¶0013, ¶0028: typically, controllers/control logics comprise a processor), and
the processor is configured to perform said detecting, said comparing and said automatically altering one or more characteristics of supplying power to the variable-speed fan motor if the detected magnitude of imbalance exceeds the pre-selected threshold value (PETERSON: See Fig. 3 col. 6 lines 41-68-col. 7 lines 1- 49: as explained in rejection of claim 1 above).
Re: Claims 14, 39:
CHHEDA modified by PETERSON discloses:
The system recited in claims 1 and 27, modified CHHEDAR discloses all the limitation of claims 1 and 27, and wherein the first sensor is selected from among voltage sensors, current sensors and power sensors (CHHEDAR: See Fis.1-4: ¶0018: current measuring device 205 with sensors 208, 209).
Claim(s) 4, 18 , 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication number 2005/0163615 A1 to CHHEDA et al. (CHHEDA) in view of U.S Patent number 4361069 to PETERSON et al. (PETERSON) as applied to claim 1, 15 and 27 above, and further in view of U.S Publication number 2023/0032000 A1 to YANG et a. (YANG).
Re: Claims 4, 18, 40:
CHHEDA modified by PETERSON discloses:
The system recited in claim 1, modified CHHEDA discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and method claim 15, and further teaches wherein:
the system further comprises a variable-speed fan motor (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025 and claims 11-16) , a fan (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan motors 201/202, 309/310) and a condenser (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: heat sink 305),
the controller controls power (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan motors 201 and 202 are controlled by varying the voltage made available to them by the power control subsystem 203) supplied to the variable-speed fan motor (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan motors 201/202, 319/310),
the variable-speed fan motor (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan motors 201/202, 319/310) causes the fan (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan 311/312) to rotate upon power being supplied to the variable-speed fan motor (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan motors 201/202, 319/310),
the fan (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan 311/312) is positioned and oriented to blow air toward the condenser (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: condenser 305) coils upon the fan rotating (CHHEDA: See Figs. 2-4: ¶0017-¶0025: fan motors 201/202, 319/310).
Although modified CHHEDA is silent regarding coiled condenser, however employing coiled condensers are well known in the art , such a coiled heat sink/condenser is explicitly taught by U.S Publication number 2023/0032000 A1 to YANG et a. (YANG: See Fig. 1: ¶0050), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ a heat sink/condenser in a coil shape to reduce the temperature of air which would have yielded predictable results in the system of modified CHHEDAR.
Regarding claim 40, the modified CHHEDA discloses all the limitations of base claim 27 and dependent claim 40 as explained in rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 13 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication number 2005/0163615 A1 to CHHEDA et al. (CHHEDA) in view of U.S Patent number 4361069 to PETERSON et al. (PETERSON) as applied to claim 1 and 27 above, and further in view of U.S Publication number 2012/0086382 A1 to PETO (PETO).
Re: Claims 13, 38:
CHHEDA modified by PETERSON discloses:
The system recited in claims 1 and 27, modified CHHEDA discloses all the limitation of claim 1, the modified CHHEDA is silent regarding wherein said automatically altering one or more characteristics of supplying power to the variable-speed fan motor comprises altering a shape of the waveform.
However, PETO teaches:
wherein said automatically altering one or more characteristics of supplying power to the variable-speed fan motor comprises altering a shape of the waveform (PETO: See Figs.1-2: ¶0054: a motor controller which modifies an input current ,and the motor and a control circuit arranged to control the variable voltage circuit and to provide time varying waveforms to the output circuit) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure control system disclosed by the modified CHHEDA as explicitly taught by PETO, because PETO teaches that altering voltage/current supply to a motor and control circuit modulates the waveform which is an art known subject matter and would have yielded predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter and Prior Art
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 16-17, 19, 21, 28-30, 32, 35-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/SHAFIQ MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
December 5, 2025