DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandev et al. (US 2016/0141193 A1) (hereinafter Pandev) in view of Stehle et al. (Multi-pass spectroscopic ellipsometry, 14 June 2013) (hereinafter Stehle) and Arnold et al. (US 2021/0231500 A1) (hereinafter Arnold).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 18, Pandev teaches a method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs for executing the method (see Claims 1, 16, and 17) comprising:
measuring a workpiece using spectroscopic ellipsometry thereby generating first optical measurements [first set of signals may be raw data collected by a first metrology tool for each desired parameter of the training component; first metrology tool may be a Spectroscopic ellipsometer (SE)] (Para [0050-0052], see Claims 1 and 9);
measuring the workpiece using Raman spectroscopy thereby generating second optical measurements [second set of signals may be raw data collected by a second metrology tool for each desired parameter of the training component; second metrology tool may be a Raman spectroscopy device] (Para [0050-0052], see Claims 1 and 9);
combining, using a processor in electronic communication to the spectroscopic ellipsometry unit and Raman spectroscopy unit [processor of a computer in communication with the metrology tools] (Para [0044, 0067]), the first optical measurements and the second optical measurements to form combined measured data [combining the first and second set of signals] (Para [0054], see Fig. 2), and
determining, using the processor, a stress measurement of the workpiece using the combined measured data [measuring parametric values for the target component, such as stress] (Para [0040, 0058, see Figs. 1-2).
Pandev teaches wherein the metrology tools utilized may be a SE and a Raman spectroscopy device, but fails to teach the usage of multiple-pass spectroscopic ellipsometry (MPSE) and multi-wavelength Raman spectroscopy. Stehle teaches the usage of multiple-pass spectroscopic ellipsometry for enhanced sensitivity in measurement of thin films (see Section 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Pandev with Stehle such that the first metrology tool is a multi-pass spectroscopic ellipsometer, in order to enhance measurement sensitivity.
Pandev in view of Stehle fails to teach whereby the second optical measurements are generated by multi-wavelength Raman spectroscopy. Arnold teaches the usage of multi-wavelength Raman spectroscopy that allows several excitation wavelengths to be used simultaneously (Para [0087]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Pandev in view of Stehle with Arnold such that the second optical measurements are generated by multi-wavelength Raman spectroscopy, in order to further increase measurement sensitivity.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claims 1 and 10 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising determining, using the processor, a critical dimension of the workpiece using the combined measured data [geometric parameter is a critical dimension] (Pandev Para [0032, 0046], see Claim 7)
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claims 2 and 11 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising determining, using the processor, a shape of a feature on the workpiece using the combined measured data [measurement of shape] (Pandev Para [0040]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claims 3 and 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising determining, using the processor, electrical parametric performance of a device on the workpiece using the stress measurement, the critical dimension, and the shape of the feature [measurement of CD, SWA, shape, stress, composition, films, band-gap, electrical properties, focus/dose, overlay, generating process parameters (e.g., resist state, partial pressure, temperature, focusing model), and/or any combination thereof] (Pandev Para [0040]).
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 19, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claims 1, 10, and 18 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the stress determination uses a model [unified dataset can be used for creating multiple training models that map the signals to each corresponding parameter; models could be linear models, neural networks, SVMs, or other machine learning models] (Pandev Para [0056]).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 20, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claims 1, 10, and 18 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the stress determination uses a machine learning algorithm [unified dataset can be used for creating multiple training models that map the signals to each corresponding parameter; models could be linear models, neural networks, SVMs, or other machine learning models] (Pandev Para [0056]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claims 1 and 10 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising determining a thickness, a strain, or a composition of the workpiece [thickness, composition] (Pandev Para [0040, 0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the stress measurement is of a transistor channel on the workpiece. Pandev additionally teaches wherein the method can be used to characterize source/drain regions of finFET devices, and that the method can determine stress measurements of the workpiece (Para [0040, 0060]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modiofy Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold such that the stress measurement is of a transistor channel on the workpiece, in order to monitor a finFET device during a manufacturing process.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Suresh et al. (US 6,600,565 B1) (hereinafter Suresh).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the stress measurement includes a stressed volume and directional components. Suresh teaches wherein curvature information obtained optically can allow for stress computations including a stressed volume and directional components (Col 3, lines 1-43, see Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Pandev in view of Stehle and Arnold with Suresh such that the stress measurement includes a stressed volume and directional components, in order to further characterize stress in the workpiece.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855