DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Claim 9 , in particular ‘soft cylinder body 381’.
Claim 9 lines 2-3 limitation of "and a plurality of conductive particles which are spaced distributed within the soft cylinder body.", in particular ‘conductive particles 382’
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 & 10 in line 11 & line 15 recites the limitation "and a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted". “respectively” means ‘with regard to a specified ordering’, but the claim doesn’t make clear that there is an ordering of the conductive pillars. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as “and a plurality of elastic conductive pillars are inserted”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding “Failure to particularly point out & distinctly claim [indefinite]”:
Claims 1 & 10 in lines 5-7 (both claims) recites the limitation "a conductive pad, comprising: a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure ". It is not clear how a structure such as “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure” can be “received” within “the receiving groove” at least because the “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure” & “the receiving groove” are apparently part of the same structure. For the purposes of examination it is assumed that “the receiving groove” has a “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure”.
Claims 1 in lines 7-8 recites the limitation "provided with a plurality of annular steps which are arranged as concentric rectangles in sequence". The word “annular” means ring shaped, but rectangles are not ring shaped; this is a contradiction and therefore unclear as to what is meant. For the purposes of examination (and based on Fig. 1) this limitation is interpreted as ‘the concentric rectangles have steps’.
Claim 1 & 10 in lines 5-6 with lines 11-14 & lines 5-6 with lines 15-19 recites the limitation "a conductive pad, comprising: a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure" & "a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted into the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure so as to be arranged separately on the annular steps, and each of the elastic conductive pillars electrically connected to one of the packaged modules and one of the contacts". This seems to state that the “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure” is part of a conductive pad, but this would mean that the conductive pillars would be in electrical contact with each other rather than “connected to one of the packaged modules and one of the contacts”. For the purposes of examination, it is assumed that “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure” is not a conductive element.
Claim 1 in lines 8-10 recites the limitation "wherein heights of the annular steps are sequentially modified according to a direction from a center point of the concentric rectangles towards the socket". This limitation means that the heights are different depending on the direction from the center point, but this is contrary to “steps which are arranged as concentric triangles” as well as the Drawings’ Fig. 1. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as that there are concentric levels.
Claims 6 in line recites the limitation "an insulated body formed with a plurality of first through holes which are spaced distributed" with "an internal bracket embedded in the insulated body and provided with a plurality of second through holes which are ". Both “spaced” and “distributed” are past tense verbs; it is not clear what “spaced distributed” means. For the purposes of examination, this is interpreted as ‘spatially distributed’.
Claims 6 & 15 in lines 1-3 (both claims) recites the limitation "wherein the conductive pad further comprises: an insulated body". If an element (conductive pad) comprises something (insulated body) then that something must be conductive, however the limitation then states “an insulated body”. This is a contradiction. Additionally, if the “insulated body” were conductive then all the conductive pillars would be electrically connected. For the purposes of examination, it is assumed that “insulated body” is not a conductive element and is therefore a separate part from the conductive pad.
Claim 7 in lines 3-11 recites the limitation "the first rectangular block is formed with a first opening… an area of the third rectangular block is equal to an area of the second opening". It is unclear what the relation of the blocks to each other is. For instance, how can “one part of the second rectangular block is embedded within the first opening” and “an area of the second rectangular block is smaller than the area of the first rectangular block” both be true? The second block must be bigger than the first block in order for only part of it to be embedded in the first opening. For the purposes of examination, it is assumed that the structure of Fig. 1 & Fig. 6 is being described.
Claim 8 in lines 2-6 recites the limitation "the at least one second elastic conductive pillar and the at least one first elastic conductive pillar are ". It is not clear how the “elastic conductive pillar” are different from each other, other than in their placement. So it is not clear what sort of sequence is being applied to them. For the purposes of examination these limitations is interpreted as the conductive pillars are arranged as shown in Fig. 1
Claims 9 & 18 in lines 2-3 (both claims) recites the limitation "a plurality of conductive particles which are spaced distributed within the soft cylinder body". Both “spaced” and “distributed” are past tense verbs; it is not clear what “spaced distributed” means. For the purposes of examination, this is interpreted as ‘spatially distributed’.
Claims 10 in lines 15-16 recites the limitation "a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted into the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure so as to be spaced distributed". Both “spaced” and “distributed” are past tense verbs; it is not clear what “spaced distributed” means. For the purposes of examination, this is interpreted as ‘spatially distributed’.
Claims 15 in lines 3-4 with lines 5-6 recites the limitation "an insulated body formed with a plurality of first through holes which are spaced distributed" with "an internal bracket embedded in the insulated body and provided with a plurality of second through holes which are ". Both “spaced” and “distributed” are past tense verbs; it is not clear what “spaced distributed” means. For the purposes of examination, this is interpreted as ‘spatially distributed’.
Claim 19 in lines 8-10 recites the limitation "first elastic conductive pillars inserted within the first rectangular block are respectively contacted with a first part of the contacts" with "second elastic conductive pillars inserted within the second rectangular block are respectively contacted with a second part of the contacts" and with "plurality of third elastic conductive pillars inserted within the third rectangular block are respectively contacted with a third part of the contacts". It is not clear what the “a first part of the contacts”, “a second part of the contacts”, & “a third part of the contacts” are. Additionally, “conductive pillars inserted within the first rectangular block are respectively contacted with a first part of the contacts” and similarly for “second part of the contacts” & “a third part of the contacts” would mean “first elastic conductive pillars”, “second elastic conductive pillars”, & “third elastic conductive pillars” would all be electrically connected. For the purposes of examination, this is interpreted as ‘the elastic conductive pillars complete electrical circuits’.
Claim 19 in lines 19-20 recites the limitation "wherein a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure having a plurality of annular steps which are arranged as concentric rectangles in sequence". The word “annular” means ring shaped, but rectangles are not ring shaped; this is a contradiction and therefore unclear as to what is meant. For the purposes of examination (and based on Fig. 1) this limitation is interpreted as ‘the concentric rectangles have steps’.
Regarding ‘rejected for inheriting the rejected limitation(s) of a parent claim without rectifying the issue(s) for which the parent claim(s) were rejected’:
Claims 2-9, & 11-18 in line 1 (each claim) recites the limitation "The testing apparatus of claim 1[10]".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9696344 B2 (Lee) in view of US 10634717 B2(Chiu).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a testing apparatus for packaged modules, comprising: a circuit board (Fig. 6-140: “the device to be inspected”, column 5 lines 45-49: “The conductive parts 121 are disposed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140, and include an insulating elastic material a plurality of conductive particles 121a that are aligned in the thickness direction in the insulating elastic material.”, circuit board/(“device to be tested”)) provided with a plurality of contacts (column 6 lines 50-53: “The terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140 may be guided through the guide holes to contact the conductive parts 121.”); a socket mounted on the circuit board and provided with a receiving groove thereon (Fig. 6-111: “through-holes”, column 6 lines 59-62: “First, the alignment member 110 is first attached to the inspection apparatus 150, and then the elastic conductive sheet 120 is received in the through-holes 111 of the alignment member 110.”, receiving groove/(“received in the through-holes”)); a conductive pad (Fig. 1-120: “profile of the socket”, profile of the socket has a “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure”, “conductive pad” is a three-dimensional structure),
Lee does not as explicitly teach comprising: a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure received within the receiving groove, and provided with a plurality of annular steps which are arranged as concentric rectangles in sequence, wherein heights of the annular steps are sequentially modified according to a direction from a center point of the concentric rectangles towards the socket; and a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted into the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure so as to be arranged separately on the annular steps, and each of the elastic conductive pillars electrically connected to one of the packaged modules and one of the contacts, respectively
Chiu teaches comprising: a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure received within the receiving groove (Fig. 1-120: “socket”, the socket is in a stepped stage structure), and provided with a plurality of annular steps which are arranged as concentric rectangles in sequence, wherein heights of the annular steps are sequentially modified according to a direction from a center point of the concentric rectangles towards the socket (Fig. 1-122: column 4 lines 61-62: “the bended portion 122 is arch over the base 110 in a stepped form as shown in FIG. 1”); and a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted into the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure so as to be arranged separately on the annular steps (Fig.1-140: “conductive pillars”, “The conductive pillars 140 are disposed on the base 110 and connected to the first portion 122 of the socket 120”), and each of the elastic conductive pillars electrically connected to one of the packaged modules and one of the contacts, respectively (Fig.1-126, column 2 lines 53-55: “The integrated circuit package 200 has a plurality of electrical terminals 210 disposed on a contact surface 220 of the integrated circuit package 200”, packaged modules/(“integrated circuit package”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Lee with the teachings of Chiu. One would have added to the “Test Socket Which Allows For Ease Of Alignment” of Lee the “Testing Apparatus And Testing Method” with warped arches or valleys (stepped-stage structure) of Chiu. The motivation for combining would have been that the warped structure of Chiu would enable successful electrical contact of more probe pins, and thereby enabling correct determination of good packages (see Chiu column 1 lines 37-41: “The warpage in the package may cause good packages being misjudged as bad package since some of the solder balls of the DUTs may not be able to be in contact with some of the probe pins during the probing.”)
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure is in a bulged shape (Fig. 1-200: “integrated circuit package”, column 4 lines 58-59: “In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the integrated circuit package 200 is warped in an arched form.”, bulged/(“arched”)), and the heights of the annular steps are gradually decreased along the direction from the center point of the concentric rectangles towards the socket (Fig. 1, height of contact surface 220 relative to base 110 decreases the closer to the socket 120).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure is in a sunken shape (Fig. 2-200a: “integrated circuit package”, column 6 lines 15-16: “In the embodiment of FIG. 2, the integrated circuit package 200a is warped in a valley form”, sunken/(“valley”)), and the heights of the annular steps are gradually increased along the direction from the center point of the concentric rectangles towards the socket (Fig. 2, height of contact surface 220 relative to base 110 increases the closer to the socket 120a).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein a bottom side of the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure facing away from the annular steps is a plane facing the circuit board (column 3 lines 61-62: “The base 110 may further be secured onto a printed circuit board,”, base 110 is and therefore the circuit board is facing away from “the annular steps”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein one end of each of the elastic conductive pillars extends outwards from a bottom side of the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure and electrically contacted with the one of the contacts(Fig.1-140: “conductive pillars”, “The conductive pillars 140 are disposed on the base 110 and connected to the first portion 122 of the socket 120”), one end surface of the other end of each of the elastic conductive pillars is flush with one surface of one of the annular steps for contacting with one soldering ball of the packaged module (Fig.1-210: “electrical terminals” & Fig. 1-112: “electrical contacts”, pillars are flush with the socket 120 which is in the form of steps).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein the conductive pad further comprises: an insulated body formed with a plurality of first through holes which are spaced distributed (column 3 lines 27-29: “The socket 120 is disposed on the base 110 and includes a plurality of through holes 126 distributed in the socket 120.”, socket 120 must be an insulated body or all the pins would be electrically connected);
Lee further teaches and an internal bracket embedded in the insulated body and provided with a plurality of second through holes which are spaced distributed, and each of the second through holes that is coaxially aligned and connected to one of the first through holes, wherein each of the elastic conductive pillars is located within one of the first through holes and one of the second through holes together (column 5 lines 38-42: “The elastic conductive sheet 120 includes conductive parts 121 that are disposed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140, insulating support parts 122 that support and insulate the conductive parts 121,”, internal bracket/(“insulating support parts”)).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure comprises a first rectangular block, a second rectangular block and a third rectangular block, the first rectangular block is formed with a first opening, the second rectangular block is formed with a second opening, one part of the second rectangular block is embedded within the first opening, one part of the third rectangular block is embedded within the second opening, wherein an area of the first rectangular block is equal to an area of the receiving groove, an area of the second rectangular block is smaller than the area of the first rectangular block, larger than an area of the third rectangular block, and equal to an area of the first opening, an area of the third rectangular block is equal to an area of the second opening, and a thickness of the second rectangular block is greater than a thickness of the first rectangular block and less than a thickness of the third rectangular block (see Chiu Fig. 1, describes stepped structure).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Chiu further teaches wherein the elastic conductive pillars comprise at least one first elastic conductive pillar, at least one second elastic conductive pillar and at least one third elastic conductive pillar, the at least one third elastic conductive pillar, the at least one second elastic conductive pillar and the at least one first elastic conductive pillar are sequentially arranged along the direction from the center point of the concentric rectangles towards the socket, and the at least one first elastic conductive pillar is located at an outermost one of the annular steps, and the at least one third elastic conductive pillar is located at an innermost one of the annular steps, wherein a length of the at least one second elastic conductive pillar is between a length of the at least one first elastic conductive pillar and a length of the at least one third elastic conductive pillar (see Chiu Fig. 1-132: “a plurality of conductive pins”, conductive pillar/(“conductive pin”)).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 1,
Lee further teaches wherein each of the elastic conductive pillars comprises a soft cylinder body and a plurality of conductive particles which are spaced distributed within the soft cylinder body (Fig. 6-121: “conductive parts”, column 5 lines 58-60: “When the conductive parts 121 are formed of a cured product of a liquid silicon rubber (hereinafter, referred to as a ‘silicon rubber cured product’)”, the conductive parts are conductive because there are conductive particles within).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches a testing apparatus for packaged modules, comprising: a circuit board(Fig. 6-140: “the device to be inspected”, column 5 lines 45-49: “The conductive parts 121 are disposed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140, and include an insulating elastic material a plurality of conductive particles 121a that are aligned in the thickness direction in the insulating elastic material.”, circuit board/(“device to be tested”)) provided with a plurality of contacts (column 6 lines 50-53: “The terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140 may be guided through the guide holes to contact the conductive parts 121.”); a socket mounted on the circuit board and provided with a receiving groove thereon (Fig. 6-111: “through-holes”, column 6 lines 59-62: “First, the alignment member 110 is first attached to the inspection apparatus 150, and then the elastic conductive sheet 120 is received in the through-holes 111 of the alignment member 110.”, receiving groove/(“received in the through-holes”)); a conductive pad (Fig. 1-120: “profile of the socket”, profile of the socket has a “three-dimensional stepped-stage structure”, “conductive pad” is a three-dimensional structure),
Lee does not as explicitly teach comprising: a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure comprising a first rectangular block received within the receiving groove, located above the circuit board and formed with a first rectangular opening, a second rectangular block partially embedded within the first rectangular opening, located above the circuit board and formed with a second rectangular opening, and a third rectangular block partially embedded within the second rectangular opening and located above the circuit board, wherein a thickness of the second rectangular block is between a thickness of the first rectangular block and a thickness of the third rectangular block; and a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted into the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure so as to be spaced distributed on the first rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the third rectangular block, respectively, and each of the elastic conductive pillars electrically connected to one of the contacts for being in contact with one of the packaged modules.
Chiu teaches comprising: a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure comprising a first rectangular block received within the receiving groove (Fig. 1-120: “socket”, the socket is in a stepped stage structure), located above the circuit board and formed with a first rectangular opening, a second rectangular block partially embedded within the first rectangular opening, located above the circuit board and formed with a second rectangular opening, and a third rectangular block partially embedded within the second rectangular opening and located above the circuit board, wherein a thickness of the second rectangular block is between a thickness of the first rectangular block and a thickness of the third rectangular block (describes the stepped structure as seen in Fig. 1-120); and a plurality of elastic conductive pillars respectively inserted into the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure so as to be spaced distributed on the first rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the third rectangular block, respectively (Fig.1-140: “conductive pillars”, “The conductive pillars 140 are disposed on the base 110 and connected to the first portion 122 of the socket 120”), and each of the elastic conductive pillars electrically connected to one of the contacts for being in contact with one of the packaged modules (Fig.1-126, column 2 lines 53-55: “The integrated circuit package 200 has a plurality of electrical terminals 210 disposed on a contact surface 220 of the integrated circuit package 200”, packaged modules/(“integrated circuit package”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Lee with the teachings of Chiu. One would have added to the “Test Socket Which Allows For Ease Of Alignment” of Lee the “Testing Apparatus And Testing Method” with warped arches or valleys (stepped-stage structure) of Chiu. The motivation for combining would have been that the warped structure of Chiu would enable successful electrical contact of more probe pins, and thereby enabling correct determination of good packages (see Chiu column 1 lines 37-41: “The warpage in the package may cause good packages being misjudged as bad package since some of the solder balls of the DUTs may not be able to be in contact with some of the probe pins during the probing.”)
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure is in a bulged shape (Fig. 1-200: “integrated circuit package”, column 4 lines 58-59: “In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the integrated circuit package 200 is warped in an arched form.”, bulged/(“arched”)), and the third rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the first rectangular block are sequentially decreased in height (Fig. 1, height of contact surface 220 relative to base 110 decreases the closer to the socket 120).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure is in a sunken shape (Fig. 2-200a: “integrated circuit package”, column 6 lines 15-16: “In the embodiment of FIG. 2, the integrated circuit package 200a is warped in a valley form”, sunken/(“valley”)), and the third rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the first rectangular block are sequentially increased in height (Fig. 2, height of contact surface 220 relative to base 110 increases the closer to the socket 120a).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein a bottom of the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure is a plane facing the circuit board (column 3 lines 61-62: “The base 110 may further be secured onto a printed circuit board,”, base 110 is and therefore the circuit board is facing away from “the annular steps”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein one end of each of the elastic conductive pillars extends outwards from a bottom of the three-dimensional stepped-stage structure to be electrically contacted with the one of the contacts (Fig.1-140: “conductive pillars”, “The conductive pillars 140 are disposed on the base 110 and connected to the first portion 122 of the socket 120”), and the other end of each of the elastic conductive pillars is flush with one surface of one of the third rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the first rectangular block for being in contact with one soldering ball of the packaged module (Fig.1-210: “electrical terminals” & Fig. 1-112: “electrical contacts”, pillars are flush with the socket 120 which is in the form of steps).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein the conductive pad further comprises: an insulated body formed with a plurality of first through holes which are spaced distributed (column 3 lines 27-29: “The socket 120 is disposed on the base 110 and includes a plurality of through holes 126 distributed in the socket 120.”, socket 120 must be an insulated body or all the pins would be electrically connected);
Lee further teaches and an internal bracket embedded in the insulated body and provided with a plurality of second through holes which are spaced distributed, and each of the second through holes that is coaxially aligned and connected to one of the first through holes, wherein each of the elastic conductive pillars is located within one of the first through holes and one of the second through holes together (column 5 lines 38-42: “The elastic conductive sheet 120 includes conductive parts 121 that are disposed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140, insulating support parts 122 that support and insulate the conductive parts 121,”, internal bracket/(“insulating support parts”)).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein an area of the first rectangular block is equal to an area of the receiving groove, an area of the second rectangular block is smaller than the area of the first rectangular block, larger than an area of the third rectangular block, and equal to an area of the first rectangular opening, an area of the third rectangular block is equal to an area of the second rectangular opening (see Chiu Fig. 1, describes stepped structure).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Chiu further teaches wherein the elastic conductive pillars comprise at least one first elastic conductive pillar inserted into the first rectangular block, at least one second elastic conductive pillar inserted into the second rectangular block, and at least one third elastic conductive pillar inserted into the third rectangular block, wherein a length of the at least one second elastic conductive pillar is between a length of the at least one first elastic conductive pillar and a length of the at least one third elastic conductive pillar (see Chiu Fig. 1, describes stepped structure with conductive pillars).
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Chiu teaches the testing apparatus of claim 10,
Lee further teaches wherein each of the elastic conductive pillars comprises a soft cylinder body and a plurality of conductive particles which are spaced distributed within the soft cylinder body (Fig. 6-121: “conductive parts”, column 5 lines 58-60: “When the conductive parts 121 are formed of a cured product of a liquid silicon rubber (hereinafter, referred to as a ‘silicon rubber cured product’)”, the conductive parts are conductive because there are conductive particles within).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches a manufacturing method of a testing apparatus, comprising: providing a circuit board (Fig. 6-140: “the device to be inspected”, column 5 lines 45-49: “The conductive parts 121 are disposed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140, and include an insulating elastic material a plurality of conductive particles 121a that are aligned in the thickness direction in the insulating elastic material.”, circuit board/(“device to be tested”)),
Lee does not as explicitly teach a socket, a first rectangular block, a second rectangular block and a third rectangular block, wherein a thickness of the second rectangular block is between a thickness of the first rectangular block and a thickness of the third rectangular block; mounting the socket on the circuit board so that the socket surrounds a plurality of contacts of the circuit board; inserting the first rectangular block into a receiving groove of the socket so that a plurality of first elastic conductive pillars inserted within the first rectangular block are respectively contacted with a first part of the contacts; inserting the second rectangular block into a first opening of the first rectangular block so that a plurality of second elastic conductive pillars inserted within the second rectangular block are respectively contacted with a second part of the contacts; and inserting the third rectangular block into a second opening of the second rectangular block so that a plurality of third elastic conductive pillars inserted within the third rectangular block are respectively contacted with a third part of the contacts, wherein a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure having a plurality of annular steps which are arranged as concentric rectangles in sequence is formed by the first rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the third rectangular block together
Chiu teaches a socket, a first rectangular block, a second rectangular block and a third rectangular block, wherein a thickness of the second rectangular block is between a thickness of the first rectangular block and a thickness of the third rectangular block(describes the stepped structure as seen in Fig. 1-120); mounting the socket on the circuit board so that the socket surrounds a plurality of contacts of the circuit board (Fig. 1-112: “electrical contacts”, socket surrounds a plurality of contacts); inserting the first rectangular block into a receiving groove of the socket so that a plurality of first elastic conductive pillars inserted within the first rectangular block are respectively contacted with a first part of the contacts (Fig. 1, has blocks and stepped structure); inserting the second rectangular block into a first opening of the first rectangular block so that a plurality of second elastic conductive pillars inserted within the second rectangular block are respectively contacted with a second part of the contacts(Fig. 1, has at least a second step); and inserting the third rectangular block into a second opening of the second rectangular block so that a plurality of third elastic conductive pillars inserted within the third rectangular block are respectively contacted with a third part of the contacts(Fig. 1, has at least a third step), wherein a three-dimensional stepped-stage structure having a plurality of annular steps which are arranged as concentric rectangles in sequence is formed by the first rectangular block, the second rectangular block and the third rectangular block together(Fig. 1-122: column 4 lines 61-62: “the bended portion 122 is arch over the base 110 in a stepped form as shown in FIG. 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Lee with the teachings of Chiu. One would have added to the “Test Socket Which Allows For Ease Of Alignment” of Lee the “Testing Apparatus And Testing Method” with warped arches or valleys (stepped-stage structure) of Chiu. The motivation for combining would have been that the warped structure of Chiu would enable successful electrical contact of more probe pins, and thereby enabling correct determination of good packages (see Chiu column 1 lines 37-41: “The warpage in the package may cause good packages being misjudged as bad package since some of the solder balls of the DUTs may not be able to be in contact with some of the probe pins during the probing.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6953348 B2 "IC Socket" (Yanagisawa) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1A & Fig. 9A.
US 10078101 B2 "Wafer Level Integrated Circuit Probe Array And Method Of Construction" (Edwards) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 2 & Fig. 33 & Fig. 46 .
US 12568850 B2 "Quantum Device" (Watanabe) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 24B.
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858