1. This office acknowledges receipt of the following item(s) from the Applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) was considered.
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12165739. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claims as follows:
Claims 1-11 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claims 1-11 of the reference such as a memory circuit comprising: a first latch circuit configured to receive a sleep signal and a first bit line pre-charge signal and to generate a first delayed sleep signal; and first logic circuitry configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal in response to the first delayed sleep signal.
Claims 12-19 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claims 12-19of the reference such as a method comprising: generating, at first logic circuitry, a first bit line pre-charge signal in response to a sleep signal; and generating, at a first latch circuit, a first delayed sleep signal in response to the sleep signal and the first bit line pre-charge signal.
Claim 20 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claim 20 of the reference such as a memory circuit comprising: a latch configured to generate a delayed sleep signal in response to a sleep signal and a first bit line pre-charge signal; a bit line delay tracking element configured to delay operation of the latch; and logic circuitry configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal in response to the delayed sleep signal.
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11763863. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claims as follows:
Claims 1-11 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claims 1-11 of the reference such as a memory circuit comprising: a first latch circuit configured to receive a sleep signal and a first bit line pre-charge signal and to generate a first delayed sleep signal; and first logic circuitry configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal in response to the first delayed sleep signal.
Claims 12-19 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claims 12-19of the reference such as a method comprising: generating, at first logic circuitry, a first bit line pre-charge signal in response to a sleep signal; and generating, at a first latch circuit, a first delayed sleep signal in response to the sleep signal and the first bit line pre-charge signal.
Claim 20 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claim 20 of the reference such as a memory circuit comprising: a latch configured to generate a delayed sleep signal in response to a sleep signal and a first bit line pre-charge signal; a bit line delay tracking element configured to delay operation of the latch; and logic circuitry configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal in response to the delayed sleep signal.
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11309000. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claims as follows:
Claims 1-11 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claims 1-11 of the reference such as a memory circuit comprising: a first latch circuit configured to receive a sleep signal and a first bit line pre-charge signal and to generate a first delayed sleep signal; and first logic circuitry configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal in response to the first delayed sleep signal.
Claims 12-19 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claims 12-19of the reference such as a method comprising: generating, at first logic circuitry, a first bit line pre-charge signal in response to a sleep signal; and generating, at a first latch circuit, a first delayed sleep signal in response to the sleep signal and the first bit line pre-charge signal.
Claim 20 of the examined application are anticipated and the same scope of invention by claim 20 of the reference such as a memory circuit comprising: a latch configured to generate a delayed sleep signal in response to a sleep signal and a first bit line pre-charge signal; a bit line delay tracking element configured to delay operation of the latch; and logic circuitry configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal in response to the delayed sleep signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-9, 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. US Pub. No. 20050286322 (IDS).
As per claims 1 and 12, Figs. 5 and 6 of Choi are directed to a memory circuit (SRAM, par. 49) comprising: a first latch circuit (32) configured to receive a sleep signal (SC, par. 50 or Fig. 6) and a first bit line pre-charge signal (at 38, par. 52) to generate a first delayed sleep signal (SC1) and first logic circuitry (43) configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal (at 38 of the subsequent block, par. 56 or 62), in response to the first delayed sleep signal.
As claims 2, 4, 6, and 8, block 32 in Fig. 5 of Choi discloses wherein the first latch circuit is configured to cause a logic state transition in the first delayed sleep signal to occur after a logic state transition (VDD) in the first bit line pre-charge signal.
As per claims 3, 5, 7, 13, and 16-17, Fig. 5 and paragraphs 49 and 62 of Choi disclose further comprising: second logic circuitry configured to generate the first bit line pre-charge signal in response to the sleep signal; a second latch circuit configured to receive the first delayed sleep signal and the second bit line pre-charge signal and to generate a second delayed sleep signal; and third logic circuitry configured to generate a third bit line pre-charge signal in response to the second delayed sleep signal (a number of blocks 32 for corresponding to a plurality of blocks in SRAM, par. 49).
As per claim 9, Figs. 5-6 and paragraph 62 of Choi disclose further comprising: a second delay circuit (32, par. 62) configured to receive the second delayed sleep signal and to generate a third delayed sleep signal (SC2); and fourth logic circuitry (42) configured to generate a fourth bit line pre-charge signal in response to the third delayed sleep signal (par. 62).
As per claims 15 and 18, Fig. 6 of Choi discloses wherein the first delayed sleep signal, second delayed sleep signal, and third delayed sleep signal are generated sequentially.
As per claim 19, Fig. 5 of Choi discloses further comprising delaying operation of the first latch circuit in generating the first delayed sleep signal by a time delay corresponding to an RC delay of the one or more bit lines (a wire connecting from /BL to Sbit in Fig. 5, par. 52).
As per claim 20, Fig. 5 of Choi is directed to a memory circuit comprising: a latch (32) configured to generate a delayed sleep signal (SC1 at a node 39, Fig. 6) in response to a sleep signal (SC, Fig. 6) and a first bit line pre-charge signal (38, par. 52); a bit line delay tracking element (a wire connecting from /BL to Sbit, par. 52) configured to delay operation of the latch (Fig. 6); and logic circuitry (43) configured to generate a second bit line pre-charge signal (at 38 of the subsequent block, par. 56 or 62) in response to the delayed sleep signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
11. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US Pub. No. 20050286322 (IDS).
Choi discloses all the subject matter except for wherein the first latch circuit includes an SR latch. However, the precharge delay circuit 32 of Choi is used to generate the first delayed sleep signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to use either the SR latch of the invention or the precharge delay circuit 32 of Choi since these two elements were art-recognized equivalents and have the same functions to generate the first delayed sleep signal.
12. When responding to the office action, Applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner to locate the appropriate paragraphs.
13. A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire 3 (three) months and 0 (zero) day from the date of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will cause the application to become abandoned (see MPEP 710.02 (b)).
/HOAI V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827