DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final First Office Action on the Merits is in reply to the application filed on 12/06/2024.
a. Claim 1 is cancelled
b. Claims 2-21 are new
Overall, Claims 2-21 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to continuation application 15/239,500, filed on 08/17/2016. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, such IDS is being considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lahoz (US 9251372 B1) in view of Chawla (US 10318941 B2).
Regarding Claims 2, 9, 16. Lahoz discloses:
A service provider server associated with a service provider, the service provider server comprising: [see at least (3/5-6) The user interface is configured to engage the service whenever sensitive information is to be exchanged.]
a non-transitory memory storing instructions; and [see at least (4/39-45) a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions for executing a service for receiving sensitive information, is disclosed. A user interface is configured for using the service. The computer-readable medium includes program instructions for receiving a request from the user interface hosted by a server outside a secure zone.]
one or more hardware processors coupled to the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the instructions from the non-transitory memory to cause the service provider server to: [see at least (4/39-45) a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions for executing a service for receiving sensitive information, is disclosed. A user interface is configured for using the service. The computer-readable medium includes program instructions for receiving a request from the user interface hosted by a server outside a secure zone.]
receive, from a computing device, a communication associated with generating a frame within a user interface application of the computing device based on one or more user parameters associated with a user of the computing device, [see at least (3/3-7) a user interface is provided by an application, and the user interface includes an inline frame (iframe) that is provided by a service. The user interface is configured to engage the service whenever sensitive information is to be exchanged.]
wherein the communication is initiated via a programming code executed by the computing device, wherein the communication is associated with a transaction between the user and a merchant of the merchant server, and [see at least Fig. 1, (3/7-11) he service provides additional iframe architecture, including a complex iframe that includes at least two additional iframes nested inside a first iframe. Using the nested iframes, users can, for example, enter payment card details to complete an online transaction]
facilitate, via the frame rendered on the computing device, an exchange of information between the service provider server and the computing device for the transaction. [see at least (8/25-28) . Thus, the outer iframe on the property page creates a conduit through the middle iframe, permitting exchange of sensitive information with servers in the secure zone]
Lahoz discloses generating iframe and exchange of information, however, Lahoz does not disclose:
wherein the one or more user parameters represent one or more user credentials usable for authenticating the user for the transaction;
in response to receiving the communication, provide a plurality of responses to the computing device to cause the computing device to generate and render the frame incrementally based on each response in the plurality of responses; and
Chawla discloses:
wherein the one or more user parameters represent one or more user credentials usable for authenticating the user for the transaction; [see at least Fig. 9E (48/45-54) When the checkout widget is clicked or selected, an overlay similar to overlay 930 may be displayed where the consumer may enter their wallet login credentials. The consumer provided login credentials may be authenticated by the wallet server, and upon successful authentication, an overlay 930 may be displayed. As shown, the overlay 930 may display the consumer's shipping address 930 a on file, shipping type preference 930 b on file, payment information on file 930 c, purchase summary 930 d, total amount 930 e, and/or the like.]
in response to receiving the communication, provide a plurality of responses to the computing device to cause the computing device to generate and render the frame incrementally based on each response in the plurality of responses; and [see at least (49/42-53) When the checkout widget is selected, a wallet checkout window or iframe 1012 b may be displayed where the user may enter wallet credentials, payment and/or shipping information, view purchase details and place order. In an alternate implementation, the landing page may be embedded within a wallet native mobile application 1014 a, thereby allowing the consumer to install one wallet mobile application to enable checkout from any merchant accepting mobile checkout. In some implementations, the checkout experience may be optimized for speed, for embedded security, and for a standardized user experience across all merchants on the platform]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Lahoz to include the features of Chawla. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seamless and frictionless acquisition of a merchant using the iframes of Lahoz and the mechanism of Chawla. Lahoz discloses generating iframes. Chawla teaches performing seamless transaction. Because both Lahoz as well as Chawla are implemented through field of completing transaction and both references addresses authenticating user and performing seamless transaction. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Lahoz as well as Chawla would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Lahoz/Chawla.
Regarding Claims 3, 15, 17. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claims 2, 9, 16: Lahoz further discloses:
providing a first response from the plurality of responses to the computing device, wherein the providing the first response causes the computing device to generate and render a first portion of the frame based on first data included in the first response without waiting for other responses in the plurality of responses. [see at least (19/25-33) the API-Tool server may semi-autonomously obtain the merchant pricing information without a dedicated merchant item/pricing API interface. In so doing, the API-Tool may for example query a publically available merchant web page (e.g., merchant ecommerce pages) and extract information such as items available, item inventory levels, pricing, description, user reviews, and/or the like. (reads on: rendering the merchant information without manually requesting the data)]
Regarding Claims 4, 18. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claims 3, 17: Lahoz further discloses:
wherein the providing the plurality of responses further comprises: subsequent to providing the first response, providing a second response from the plurality of responses to the computing device, wherein the providing the second response causes the computing device to generate and render a second portion of the frame based on second data included in the second response without waiting for further responses in the plurality of responses. [see at least Fig. 8 (7/43-55) the first iframe is rendered on the property page. In this embodiment, the third and the second iframes include rendering attributes that are configured to keep the third and the second iframes hidden from view on the property page while the first iframe includes rendering attributes (for example, in the form of fields for obtaining the payment card information) that are configured to render the fields of a user interface form on the user interface on the property page.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer that attributes reads on second response. The applicant’s specification recites “ portions of the checkout frame 202, such as portion 214 may also be color coded, shaded, textured, etc. to be associated with a service provider of website 114. For example, service provider may specify parameters that may be provided to checkout frame 202 (as will be discussed below) that cause portion 214 to include the service provider selected color, shade, etc.” (see paragraph 0043). One in the ordinary skill in the art would conclude color coded, shaded texture are attributes of the webpage. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
Regarding Claims 5, 19. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claims 3, 17: Lahoz further discloses:
wherein the first portion of the frame includes a plurality of options associated with a user account of the user, and wherein executing the instructions further causes the service provider server to: receive a selection of one of the plurality of options from the user via the frame independent of providing any remaining responses in the plurality of responses to the computing device. [see at least (8/5-9) For example, when a cardholder selects to enter the payment card and other private information using the iframe on the property page, the cardholder data entered on the property page is being channeled to the servers in the vaulted secure zone.]
Regarding Claims 6, 20. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claims 2, 16: Chawla further discloses:
wherein executing the instructions further causes the service provider server to: query a transaction processing system for credential data based on the user credentials; and determine that the credential data is not obtained within a time threshold, wherein providing the plurality of responses is performed in response to determining that the credential data is not obtained within the time threshold. [see at least (30/17-31) Authentication information may be in the form of a clear text username/password, a hashed username/password, a cryptographic key, and/or the like. In one embodiment, the API-Tool server may query a widget designer authentication and permissions table for authorized widget designer users, e.g., 376. If the user is not found, e.g., 377, the API-Tool server may generate an invalid user error response and transmit the error response to the user device 301. The user device may render the error response and request revised user credentials, e.g., 379.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Lahoz, Chawla to include the additional features of Chawla. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seamless and frictionless acquisition of a merchant using the iframes of Lahoz and the mechanism of Chawla. Lahoz, Chawla discloses generating iframes. Chawla teaches performing seamless transaction. Because both Lahoz, Chawla as well as Chawla are implemented through field of completing transaction and both references addresses authenticating user and performing seamless transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Note: The above combination of Lahoz, Chawla does not expressly disclose credential data is not obtained within a time threshold. However this limitation represents non-functional descriptive material and does not affect how the claimed method functions (i.e., the descriptive material does not have any claim function in the claimed method; see MPEP 2106.01). A “wherein” clause does not function to actively limit the claim language. Therefore, the claim element is considered, but given no patentable weight. (MPEP 2111.05). The reference is provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Regarding Claims 7, 21. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claims 2, 16: Chawla further discloses:
wherein executing the instructions further causes the service provider server to: provide a first response in the plurality of responses to the computing device; [see at least (30/17-21) In one embodiment, user device 301 may transmit a widget designer request input, e.g., 374, to an API-Tool server 310. The API-Tool server may receive the widget designer request and extract user authentication information, e.g., 375.]
subsequent to providing the first response, obtain the credential data from the transaction processing system; [see at least (30/21-26) Authentication information may be in the form of a clear text username/password, a hashed username/password, a cryptographic key, and/or the like. In one embodiment, the API-Tool server may query a widget designer authentication and permissions table for authorized widget designer users, e.g., 376.]
generate a second response in the plurality of responses based on the credential data; and provide the second response to the computing device. [see at least (30/26-31) If the user is not found, e.g., 377, the API-Tool server may generate an invalid user error response and transmit the error response to the user device 301. The user device may render the error response and request revised user credentials, e.g., 379. (reads on: sending an error response to the user device because the authentication failed)]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Lahoz, Chawla to include the additional features of Chawla. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seamless and frictionless acquisition of a merchant using the iframes of Lahoz and the mechanism of Chawla. Lahoz, Chawla discloses generating iframes. Chawla teaches performing seamless transaction. Because both Lahoz, Chawla as well as Chawla are implemented through field of completing transaction and both references addresses authenticating user and performing seamless transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 8. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claim 2: Chawla further discloses:
wherein executing the instructions further causes the service provider server to: receive an asynchronous call from the computing device via the frame, the asynchronous call indicating a change of a user preference associated with the transaction, wherein the change of the user preference changes a presentation of the frame without waiting for a confirmation from the service provider server; and [see at least (48/55-61) the overlay may include an option to change any of the information displayed prior to placing the order. In a further implementation, any change of information provided on the overlay may be linked to the information on file at the wallet server, thereby allowing the consumer to update information on the fly. The overlay may also include a pay button 93 of to place order]
transmitting the confirmation to the computing device. [see at least (48/60-64) The overlay may also include a pay button 93 of to place order. Upon placing the order, a confirmation message may be displayed in the same overlay. The consumer may then return to their TWITTER page by clicking on the link 928.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to that the selection is made on the computing device as the user would require the computing device to place the order. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Lahoz, Chawla to include the additional features of Chawla. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seamless and frictionless acquisition of a merchant using the iframes of Lahoz and the mechanism of Chawla. Lahoz, Chawla discloses generating iframes. Chawla teaches performing seamless transaction. Because both Lahoz, Chawla as well as Chawla are implemented through field of completing transaction and both references addresses authenticating user and performing seamless transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 10. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claim 9: Lahoz further discloses:
wherein one of the plurality of response messages includes a set of merchant parameters associated with the merchant server. [see at least (9/54-60) The billing page 102 is an extension of the merchant's property page 100 and is therefore provided by a host system (or simply a host) outside the secure zone. However, the iframe that provides the user interface 110 on the billing page 102 provides a secure access channel to the secure zone to allow the user to either enter payment method details or select from previously entered payment method details.]
Regarding Claim 11. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claim 9: Lahoz further discloses:
wherein the providing the plurality of response messages comprises: providing a first response message to the computing device, wherein the first response message includes payment data associated with a plurality of payment instruments associated with the user, and wherein the providing the first response messages causes the computing device to present the plurality of payment instruments on the frame without waiting for further response messages of the plurality of response messages. [see at least Fig. 2A (9/18-21) FIG. 2A illustrates an example of a merchant billing page 102 that is invoked from a property page 100 rendered on a client device when a user needs to enter payment card information while conducting a transaction using the client device.]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer the payment instrument would be the cards the user would use to perform the transaction. And, therefore one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
Regarding Claim 12. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claim 11: Lahoz further discloses:
receiving, via the frame rendered on the computing device, a selection of one of the plurality of payment instruments for use in the transaction before providing a second response message from the plurality of response messages to the computing device. [see at least Fig. 2A (9/18-21) FIG. 2A illustrates an example of a merchant billing page 102 that is invoked from a property page 100 rendered on a client device when a user needs to enter payment card information while conducting a transaction using the client device. The property page 100 and the merchant billings page 102 are provided by a host system (e.g., a server) for rendering on the client device. (reads on: rendering the page on the device)]
Regarding Claim 13. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claim 9: Chawla further discloses:
wherein the request message comprises user credentials obtained from a memory of the computing device. [see at least Fig. 9E (48/45-54) When the checkout widget is clicked or selected, an overlay similar to overlay 930 may be displayed where the consumer may enter their wallet login credentials. The consumer provided login credentials may be authenticated by the wallet server, and upon successful authentication, an overlay 930 may be displayed. As shown, the overlay 930 may display the consumer's shipping address 930 a on file, shipping type preference 930 b on file, payment information on file 930 c, purchase summary 930 d, total amount 930 e, and/or the like.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Lahoz, Chawla to include the additional features of Chawla. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seamless and frictionless acquisition of a merchant using the iframes of Lahoz and the mechanism of Chawla. Lahoz, Chawla discloses generating iframes. Chawla teaches performing seamless transaction. Because both Lahoz, Chawla as well as Chawla are implemented through field of completing transaction and both references addresses authenticating user and performing seamless transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 14. Lahoz, Chawla discloses the claim limitations of claim 13: Lahoz further discloses:
authenticating the user for the transaction based on the user credentials. [see at least Fig. 9E (48/45-54) When the checkout widget is clicked or selected, an overlay similar to overlay 930 may be displayed where the consumer may enter their wallet login credentials. The consumer provided login credentials may be authenticated by the wallet server, and upon successful authentication, an overlay 930 may be displayed. As shown, the overlay 930 may display the consumer's shipping address 930 a on file, shipping type preference 930 b on file, payment information on file 930 c, purchase summary 930 d, total amount 930 e, and/or the like.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Lahoz, Chawla to include the additional features of Chawla. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seamless and frictionless acquisition of a merchant using the iframes of Lahoz and the mechanism of Chawla. Lahoz, Chawla discloses generating iframes. Chawla teaches performing seamless transaction. Because both Lahoz, Chawla as well as Chawla are implemented through field of completing transaction and both references addresses authenticating user and performing seamless transaction. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old features, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which, however, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200051374 A1 Solaja; Zenja et al. GAMING MACHINES AND METHODS OF GAMING WITH RANDOM NUMBER GENERATION - The gaming machine comprises: a memory component, a display screen, input components and at least one processor. The memory component stores: executable program code, virtual object data relating to a predetermined set of virtual objects, wherein each virtual object has at least one identifier, and a pay table defining a set of winning combinations of virtual objects. The at least one processor is configured to execute the program code to: receive start input from one of the input components to start play of a game of chance; in response to receiving the start input, generate a main subset of virtual objects by random selection from the predetermined set of virtual objects; generate and display a revealing animation of the at least one identifier for each of the virtual objects from the main subset in an array on the display screen; and determine whether one or more combinations of virtual objects from the main subset correspond to a winning combination based on the identifiers of the virtual objects. In response to determining that no combination from the main subset corresponds to a winning combination, the at least one processor executes the program code to: determine a near miss event when predetermined criteria are met, generate a bonus object by random selection from a subset of the predetermined set of virtual objects that excludes the main subset, and generate and display a bonus animation that reveals the identifier of the bonus object in the array; replace a virtual object in the main subset that contributed to the near miss event with the bonus object; and determine whether replacing the virtual object from the main subset with the bonus object results in one or more new combinations corresponding to a winning combination.
US 20160104130 A1 GREENBERG; Eric H. et al. ACTIVE RECEIPT WRAPPED PACKAGES ACCOMPANYING THE SALE OF PRODUCTS AND/OR SERVICES - A wrap package of cards including an “active receipt” accompanying the sale of a product and/or service. The active receipt wrap package includes a receipt detailing the purchase of a product and/or service, web and/or application like functionality for facilitating e-commerce related to the purchased product and/or service while the wrap package is being consumed and media content related to the purchased product and/or service, the media content conveying a story-book like experience related to the purchased product and/or service that unfolds as the cards are browsed by a viewer in the one or more linear sequences respectively.
US 20120191575 A1 Vilke; Stephen D. et al. Methods and System for Enabling Communication of Identity Information During Online Transaction - Methods and system for enabling communication of identity information for an online transaction includes detecting a request to enter the identity information. In response, a first and a second image with a detectable trait are identified for displaying on a receiver device. A first and second delta-based analyzers are executed to monitor changes of the first and the second images. The changes of the images are combined. The changes of the images are adjustable to respective first and second display settings. The combined changes of the images are transmitted to a receiver device for display. A query regarding the detectable trait is transmitted to the receiver device and a response from a user is received. User input of the identity information is enabled at the receiver device when the response to the query is determined to be successful.
US 20140201126 A1 Zadeh; Lotfi A. et al. Methods and Systems for Applications for Z-numbers - Specification covers new algorithms, methods, and systems for artificial intelligence, soft computing, and deep learning/recognition, e.g., image recognition (e.g., for action, gesture, emotion, expression, biometrics, fingerprint, facial, OCR (text), background, relationship, position, pattern, and object), Big Data analytics, machine learning, training schemes, crowd-sourcing (experts), feature space, clustering, classification, SVM, similarity measures, modified Boltzmann Machines, optimization, search engine, ranking, question-answering system, soft (fuzzy or unsharp) boundaries/impreciseness/ambiguities/fuzziness in language, Natural Language Processing (NLP), Computing-with-Words (CWW), parsing, machine translation, sound and speech recognition, video search and analysis (e.g. tracking), image annotation, geometrical abstraction, image correction, semantic web, context analysis, data reliability, Z-number, Z-Web, Z-factor, rules engine, control system, autonomous vehicle, self-diagnosis and self-repair robots, system diagnosis, medical diagnosis, biomedicine, data mining, event prediction, financial forecasting, economics, risk assessment, e-mail management, database management, indexing and join operation, memory management, data compression, event-centric social network, Image Ad Network.
US 20200380503 A1 Prokop; Bartlomiej Piotr et al. System, Method, and Apparatus for Securely Transmitting Data via a Third-Party Webpage - Provided is a computer-implemented method for securely receiving data via a third-party webpage, including: generating configuration data in response to a request from a first system, the configuration data including a public key of a first key pair; digitally signing the configuration data based on a private key of a second key pair; transmitting the configuration data to the first system, the configuration data including code configured to facilitate the first system to embed a plurality of frames in a webpage, wherein the plurality of frames loads content from a domain that is independent from a domain that hosts the webpage; and verifying the configuration data based on a public key of the second key pair. The computer-implemented method may also include receiving, from a master frame of the plurality of frames, encrypted data. Systems and computer program products are also provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698