DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 5 November 2024.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 16 November 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 20250121712) in view of Lee (US 20210194275).
As to claim 1, Feng discloses A power converter, comprising: a first power conversion module (Fig. 3, 1010), comprising a first bridge arm (Fig. 4, 10100) and a second bridge arm (Fig. 4, 10101), wherein a first terminal of the first power conversion module is configured to be capable of being electrically connected to a mains supply (Fig. 3, 11) and/or a rechargeable battery, and a second terminal of the first power conversion module is configured to be capable of being electrically connected to a direct current bus (Fig. 3, bus 1011 + terminal, - terminal); a second power conversion module (Fig. 3, 1012),
Feng does not teach second power conversion module, comprising a third bridge arm and a fourth bridge arm, and a switch module, configured to enable the first terminal of the first power conversion module and the first terminal of the second power conversion module to be selectively electrically connected to the mains supply and/or the rechargeable battery, wherein the first power conversion module, the second power conversion module, and the switch module are configured to charge the rechargeable battery from the direct current bus through the first bridge arm and the fourth bridge arm.
Lee teaches a power converter, comprising: a first power conversion module (Fig. 3, 120), wherein a first terminal of the first power conversion module is configured to be capable of being electrically connected to a mains supply (Fig. 3, 110) and/or a rechargeable battery, and a second terminal of the first power conversion module is configured to be capable of being electrically connected to a direct current bus (Fig. 3, N1l); a second power conversion module (Fig. 3, 125), comprising a third bridge arm and a fourth bridge arm, wherein a first terminal of the second power conversion module is configured to be capable of being electrically connected to the mains supply (Fig. 3, 110) and/or the rechargeable battery, and a second terminal of the second power conversion module is configured to be capable of being electrically connected to a direct current bus (Fig. 3, N1); and a switch module (ACCBs 1-3, DCCBs 1-4), configured to enable the first terminal of the first power conversion module and the first terminal of the second power conversion module to be selectively electrically connected to the mains supply and/or the rechargeable battery, wherein the first power conversion module, the second power conversion module, and the switch module are configured to charge the rechargeable battery (Fig. 5, Charge mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use parallel rectifiers as disclosed in Feng to increase power throughput.
As to the limitation regarding, “second power conversion module comprising a third bridge arm and a fourth bridge arm” this would be taught by the combination, with the parallel rectifier providing the third and fourth bridge arm.
As to claim 2, Feng in view of Lee teaches wherein the first power conversion module, the second power conversion module, and the switch module are configured to convert a first phase of the mains supply into a direct current through the second bridge arm and provide the direct current to the direct current bus, and convert a second phase of the mains supply into a direct current through the third bridge arm and provide the direct current to the direct current bus (this would correspond to phases A/B).
As to claim 11, Feng in view of Lee teaches An uninterruptible power supply, comprising: the power converter according to claim 1; an inverter (Feng, Fig. 4A, 1013), electrically connected to the direct current bus of the power converter; a rechargeable battery (Feng, 12), whose charging terminal is electrically connected to the switch module (Lee, ACCBs 1-3, DCCBs 1-4) of the power converter; and a DC-DC converter (Feng, 1012), configured to convert an output voltage of the rechargeable battery and then provide a converted voltage to the inverter.
As to claim 12, Feng in view of Lee teaches further comprising a charger (Feng, 1015) electrically connected to the charging terminal of the rechargeable battery.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 20250121712) in view of Lee (US 20210194275) and Ding (US 20250119055).
As to claim 6, Feng in view of Lee does not disclose wherein two capacitors connected in series with each other are separately disposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the direct current bus, and a node between the two capacitors is grounded.
Ding teaches wherein two capacitors connected in series with each other are separately disposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the direct current bus, and a node between the two capacitors is grounded (Fig. 4, C211, C212, GND).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use a grounded midpoint in order to reduce steady state losses.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent 12418194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented document has more limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 8 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose: “wherein the switch module comprises a first switch assembly, a second switch assembly, a third switch assembly, and a fourth switch assembly that respectively correspond to the first bridge arm, the second bridge arm, the third bridge arm, and the fourth bridge arm and are separately configured to enable first terminals of the first bridge arm, the second bridge arm, the third bridge arm, and the fourth bridge arm to be selectively connected to the mains supply or the rechargeable battery.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, new claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839