DETAILED ACTION
The following is a response to the amendment filed 2/24/2026 which has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/20/26 has been considered.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4-10 are pending in the application. Claims 2 and 3 are cancelled.
-The 103 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant amending claim 1 with limitations not disclosed by the prior art of record used in the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 209008377 (IDS cited with machine translation) in view of DE 102021106381 (previously cited with machine translation). As to claim 1, CN discloses a power transmission device for a hybrid vehicle comprising: an engine (11) configured to generate power; an input (via 13) connected with the engine and configured to provide two-speed power with different gear ratios (via 15a, 15b); a first motor generator (17) driven when power is applied; a first transmission (172, 132) connected with the first motor generator, positioned parallel to the input, and configured to transmit power to the input; an output (16) engaged with the input; a second motor generator (18) driven when power is applied; a second transmission (182, 161) connected with the second motor generator, positioned parallel to the output, and configured to transmit power to the output; and a differential (19) engaged with the output and configured to provide power to wheels; wherein the input comprises an input shaft (13) connected with the engine; a constant input gear (132) constantly connected with the input shaft and engaged with the first transmission (via gear engaged to 172); and an optional input gear (15a) optionally connected (via 14b) with the input shaft and engaged with the output (via 161); wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the constant input gear (15a is closer to 11 than 132), wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the first transmission (15a is closer to 11 than 132/172); wherein the optional input gear comprises a first optional gear (15a) concentrically positioned with the input shaft and engaged with the output (via 161); a second optional gear (15b) concentrically positioned with the input shaft, engaged with the output (via 163), and configured to have a different gear ratio than the first optional gear; and an optional shift (14b, 14c) provided on the input shaft and optionally engaged with the first optional gear and the second optional gear and wherein the output comprises: an output shaft (16) positioned between the input and the second transmission; and an output differential gear (162) provided on the output shaft and connected with the differential (via 191). However, CN doesn’t disclose wherein the input comprises an input shaft directly connected with the engine and wherein the input shaft is free from any clutch connecting engine power to the input shaft.
DE discloses a power transmission device for a hybrid vehicle comprising: an engine (3) configured to generate power; an input (via 11, 19, 21) connected with the engine and configured to provide two-speed power with different gear ratios (via 16 and 17); a first motor generator (4) driven when power is applied; a first transmission (9, 12) connected with the first motor generator, positioned parallel to the input, and configured to transmit power to the input; an output (9, 10, 18, 20, 24) engaged with the input; a second motor generator (7) driven when power is applied; a second transmission (13, 23) connected with the second motor generator, positioned parallel to the output, and configured to transmit power to the output; and a differential (5) engaged with the output and configured to provide power to wheels; and shows that it is well known in the art to have the input comprise an input shaft (11) directly connected with the engine and wherein the input shaft is free from any clutch (as shown in Figure 2); a constant input gear (19) constantly connected with the input shaft and engaged with the first transmission (via 9); and an optional input gear (21) optionally connected (via 16) with the input shaft and engaged with the output (via 18); wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the constant input gear (Figure 3 shows 21 is closer to 3 than 19), wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the first transmission (Figure 3 shows 21 is closer to 3 than 9, 12); and an optional shift (16) provided on the input shaft and optionally engaged with the first optional gear.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the engine connecting clutch on input shaft in CN in view of DE to reduce number of components needed for operation of transmission which also reduces associated weight and assembly cost of transmission.
As to claim 4, CN discloses wherein the first transmission comprises a first transmission shaft (171) connected with the first motor generator and positioned parallel to the input shaft; and a first transmission gear (172) provided on the first transmission shaft and engaged with the constant input gear (132).
As to claim 5, CN discloses a power transmission device for a hybrid vehicle comprising: an engine (11) configured to generate power; an input (via 13) connected with the engine and configured to provide two-speed power with different gear ratios (via 15a, 15b); a first motor generator (17) driven when power is applied; a first transmission (172, 132) connected with the first motor generator, positioned parallel to the input, and configured to transmit power to the input; an output (16) engaged with the input; a second motor generator (18) driven when power is applied; a second transmission (182, 161) connected with the second motor generator, positioned parallel to the output, and configured to transmit power to the output; and a differential (19) engaged with the output and configured to provide power to wheels; wherein the input comprises an input shaft (13) connected with the engine; a constant input gear (132) constantly connected with the input shaft and engaged with the first transmission (via gear engaged to 172); and an optional input gear (15a) optionally connected (via 14b) with the input shaft and engaged with the output (via 161); wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the constant input gear (15a is closer to 11 than 132), wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the first transmission (15a is closer to 11 than 132/172); wherein the optional input gear comprises a first optional gear (15a) concentrically positioned with the input shaft and engaged with the output (via 161); a second optional gear (15b) concentrically positioned with the input shaft, engaged with the output (via 163), and configured to have a different gear ratio than the first optional gear; and an optional shift (14b, 14c) provided on the input shaft and optionally engaged with the first optional gear and the second optional gear, wherein the output comprises: an output shaft (16) positioned between the input and the second transmission; a first output transmission gear (161) provided on the output shaft and configured to connect the second transmission with one of the first optional gear and the second optional gear; a second output transmission gear (163) provided on the output shaft and connected with the other one of the first optional gear and the second optional gear; and an output differential gear (162) provided on the output shaft and connected with the differential (via 191). However, CN doesn’t disclose wherein the input comprises an input shaft directly connected with the engine and wherein the input shaft is free from any clutch connecting engine power to the input shaft.
DE discloses a power transmission device for a hybrid vehicle comprising: an engine (3) configured to generate power; an input (via 11, 19, 21) connected with the engine and configured to provide two-speed power with different gear ratios (via 16 and 17); a first motor generator (4) driven when power is applied; a first transmission (9, 12) connected with the first motor generator, positioned parallel to the input, and configured to transmit power to the input; an output (9, 10, 18, 20, 24) engaged with the input; a second motor generator (7) driven when power is applied; a second transmission (13, 23) connected with the second motor generator, positioned parallel to the output, and configured to transmit power to the output; and a differential (5) engaged with the output and configured to provide power to wheels; and shows that it is well known in the art to have the input comprise an input shaft (11) directly connected with the engine and wherein the input shaft is free from any clutch (as shown in Figure 2); a constant input gear (19) constantly connected with the input shaft and engaged with the first transmission (via 9); and an optional input gear (21) optionally connected (via 16) with the input shaft and engaged with the output (via 18); wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the constant input gear (Figure 3 shows 21 is closer to 3 than 19), wherein the optional input gear is disposed closer to the engine than is the first transmission (Figure 3 shows 21 is closer to 3 than 9, 12); and an optional shift (16) provided on the input shaft and optionally engaged with the first optional gear.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the engine connecting clutch on input shaft in CN in view of DE to reduce number of components needed for operation of transmission which also reduces associated weight and assembly cost of transmission.
As to claim 6, CN discloses wherein the second transmission comprises: a second transmission shaft (181) connected with the second motor generator (18) and positioned parallel to the input shaft; and a second transmission gear (182) provided on the second transmission shaft and engaged with the first output transmission gear.
As to claim 7, CN discloses wherein the differential comprises: a differential gear (191) configured to provide power to the wheels; and a differential (19) connection provided on the differential gear and engaged with the output differential gear (162).
As to claim 8, CN discloses wherein the first transmission comprises: a first transmission shaft (171) connected with the first motor generator (17) and positioned parallel to the input shaft; and a first transmission gear (172) provided on the first transmission shaft and engaged with the constant input gear (132).
As to claim 9, CN discloses wherein the output further comprises a first output transmission gear (161) provided on the output shaft (16) and configured to connect the second transmission with one of the first optional gear and the second optional gear, and wherein the second transmission comprises: a second transmission shaft (181) connected with the second motor generator (18) and positioned parallel to the input shaft; and a second transmission gear (182) provided on the second transmission shaft and engaged with the first output transmission gear (161).
As to claim 10, CN discloses wherein the differential comprises: a differential gear (191) configured to provide power to the wheels; and a differential (19) connection provided on the differential gear and engaged with the output differential gear (162).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 2/20/26 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 March 20, 2026