DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “The domain controller of any one of claims 1” that has typos. Should be “The domain controller of claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1 and 4 are anticipated by Co-pending Application claim.
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
1. A domain controller for an energy storage system,
1. A domain controller for an energy storage system, wherein
wherein the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit and a non-energy storage unit, the non-energy storage unit being configured to assist the energy storage unit; and
the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit and a non-energy storage unit, the non-energy storage unit comprises a heat management unit and a fire-fighting unit, and the non-energy storage unit is configured to assist the energy storage unit; and
wherein the domain controller is configured to integrate a management module of the energy storage unit and a management module of the non-energy storage unit for managing the energy storage unit and the non-energy storage unit.
the domain controller integrates an energy storage unit management module and a non-energy storage unit management module and is configured to manage the non-energy storage unit according to state information of the energy storage unit.
Claim 1 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 1 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
4. The domain controller of any one of claims 1, wherein the non-energy storage unit comprises a thermal management unit or a fire fighting unit.
1. the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit and a non-energy storage unit, the non-energy storage unit comprises a heat management unit and a fire-fighting unit, and the non-energy storage unit is configured to assist the energy storage unit;
Claim 4 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 1 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262, in view of LUO CN 114583335 A.
Regarding instant claim 2, claim 3 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
2. The domain controller according to claim 1, wherein the management module of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of:
3. The domain controller according to claim 1,
a battery management system (BMS),
an energy management system (EMS),
wherein the energy storage unit management module comprises a battery management system (BMS) and/or an energy management system (EMS).
a power conversion system (PCS)
Claim 3 of Co-pending Application does not further teach the management module of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a power conversion system (PCS).
LUO explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the management module of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a power conversion system (PCS) (page 2 paragraphs 1-2 from the bottom, the liquid-cooled energy storage converter), as stated in the following 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262, in view of LUO CN 114583335 A.
Regarding instant claim 5, claim 1 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
5. The domain controller according to claim 4, wherein the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of the energy storage unit and a thermal management unit of a power conversion system (PCS).
1. the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit and a non-energy storage unit, the non-energy storage unit comprises a heat management unit and a fire-fighting unit, and the non-energy storage unit is configured to assist the energy storage unit
Claim 1 of Co-pending Application does not further teach the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of a power conversion system (PCS).
LUO explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of a power conversion system (PCS) (page 2 paragraphs 1-2 from the bottom, the liquid-cooled energy storage converter), as stated in the following 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Claims 6, 8 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 6, 8 and 13 are anticipated by Co-pending Application claim.
Regarding instant claim 6, claim 5 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
6. The domain controller according to claim 1, wherein the domain controller is further configured to:
5. The domain controller according to claim 4, configured
to:
manage the non-energy storage unit according to status information of the energy storage unit.
determine an operating mode of the heat management unit according to the temperature rise rate of the energy
storage unit.
Claim 6 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 5 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Regarding instant claim 8, claim 5 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
8. The domain controller according to claim 6, wherein the domain controller is further configured to:
5. The domain controller according to claim 4, configured
to:
acquire an intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit according to the status information of the energy storage unit; and manage the non-energy storage unit according to the intelligent management strategy.
determine an operating mode of the heat management unit according to the temperature rise rate of the energy
storage unit.
Claim 8 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 5 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Regarding instant claim 13, claim 5 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
13. The domain controller according to claim 8, wherein the domain controller is further configured to:
5. The domain controller according to claim 4, configured
to:
determine the intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit according to the status information of the energy storage unit.
determine an operating mode of the heat management unit according to the temperature rise rate of the energy
storage unit.
Claim 13 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 5 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262, in view of XU CN 215934480 U.
Regarding instant claim 7, claim 2 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
7. The domain controller according to claim 6, wherein the status information of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of:
2. The domain controller according to claim 1, wherein
the state information comprises at least one of
a temperature,
a voltage,
a state of charge (SOC),
a state of health (SOH), and
Temperature information, voltage, insulation resistance value, state of charge (SOC) and state of health (SOH) of the energy storage unit of the energy storage system.
a state of charging and discharging
Claim 2 of Co-pending Application does not further teach the status information of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a state of charging and discharging.
XU explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the status information of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a state of charging and discharging (page 3 paragraph 2 from the bottom, charging time and discharging time), as stated in the following 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 15 is anticipated by Co-pending Application claim.
Regarding instant claim 15, claim 10 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 teaches the claim limitations, as shown in the following table:
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application No 18957262
15. An energy storage system, comprising:
10. An energy storage system, comprising:
an energy storage unit;
an energy storage unit;
a non-energy storage unit configured to assist the energy storage unit; and
a non-energy storage unit comprising a heat management unit and a fire-fighting unit, and the non-energy storage unit is configured to assist the energy storage unit; and
a domain controller integrating a management module of the energy storage unit and a management module of the non-energy storage unit for managing the energy storage unit and the non-energy storage unit.
domain controller which integrates an energy storage unit management module and a non-energy storage unit management module and is configured to manage the non-energy storage unit according to state information of the energy storage unit.
Claim 15 is generic to the species of invention covered by claim 10 of the Co-pending Application. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the Co-pending Application invention.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 based on obviousness analysis.
Regarding claim 16, it is directed to a method of carrying out the system as set forth in claim 14 of Co-pending Application. Since claim 14 of Co-pending Application teaches the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system. Therefore claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of Co-pending Application No. 18957262 based on obviousness analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU CN 215934480 U.
Regarding claim 1, XU teaches a domain controller for an energy storage system (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraph 4 from the bottom, control module 10 for energy storage system),
wherein the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit and a non-energy storage unit, the non-energy storage unit being configured to assist the energy storage unit (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraph 4 from the bottom – page 4 paragraph 6, the energy storage system comprises multiple battery cabins, each battery cabin includes battery, air conditioner and fire internal machine); and
wherein the domain controller is configured to integrate a management module of the energy storage unit and a management module of the non-energy storage unit for managing the energy storage unit and the non-energy storage unit (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraph 4 from the bottom – page 4 paragraph 6, the control module 10 is configured to integrate control 11 to control BMS of each battery cabin and PCS, air conditioner host to control the air conditioner in each battery cabin, and fire-fighting host to control fire internal machine in each battery cabin).
Regarding claim 2, XU further teaches the management module of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of:
a battery management system (BMS), a power conversion system (PCS), and an energy management system (EMS) (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraphs 2-4 from the bottom, the BMS213 i.e. “BMS”, PCS 31 i.e. “PCS”, and controller 11 i.e. “EMS”).
Regarding claim 3, XU further teaches the management module of the energy storage unit comprises a plurality of control nodes, and the domain controller is configured to integrate the plurality of control nodes (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraphs 2-4 from the bottom, the energy storage unit comprises a plurality of battery cabins, each cabin has a BMS that is controlled by the controller 11 in the control module 10 i.e. “the domain controller is configured to integrate the plurality of control nodes”).
Regarding claim 4, XU further teaches the non-energy storage unit comprises a thermal management unit or a fire fighting unit (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraph 4 from the bottom – page 4 paragraph 6, the energy storage system comprises multiple battery cabins, each battery cabin includes battery, air conditioner and fire internal machine).
Regarding claim 6, XU further teaches manage the non-energy storage unit according to status information of the energy storage unit (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraph 4 from the bottom – page 4 paragraph 6, detection unit 212 in battery cabin collecting temperature and other environment parameters of the battery, and control the air conditioner in the battery cabin based on the collected information).
Regarding claim 7, XU further teaches the status information of the energy storage unit comprises at least one of:
a temperature (page 3 paragraph 2 from the bottom, temperature),
a voltage (page 3 paragraph 2 from the bottom, voltage),
a state of charge (SOC) (page 3 paragraph 2 from the bottom, SOC),
a state of health (SOH) (page 3 paragraph 2 from the bottom, SOH), and
a state of charging and discharging (page 3 paragraph 2 from the bottom, charging time and discharging time).
Regarding claim 8, XU further teaches acquire an intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit according to the status information of the energy storage unit; and
manage the non-energy storage unit according to the intelligent management strategy (page 3 last paragraph to page 4 paragraph 1, the air conditioner host generates the air conditioner control instruction according to the temperature information and the humidity information, to manage the environment in the battery compartment).
Regarding claim 13, XU further teaches determine the intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit according to the status information of the energy storage unit (page 3 last paragraph to page 4 paragraph 1, the air conditioner host generates the air conditioner control instruction according to the temperature information and the humidity information, to manage the environment in the battery compartment).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, 13 and 15-16 above, in view of LUO CN 114583335 A.
Regarding claim 5, XU further teaches the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of the energy storage unit (Fig. 1 page 3 paragraph 4 from the bottom – page 4 paragraph 6, the energy storage system comprises multiple battery cabins, each battery cabin includes battery, air conditioner)
XU does not explicitly teach the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of a power conversion system (PCS).
LUO explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of a power conversion system (PCS) (page 2 paragraphs 1-2 from the bottom, the liquid-cooled energy storage converter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of LUO because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the controller wherein the thermal management unit is configured to integrate a thermal management unit of a power conversion system (PCS). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to charge/discharge the battery, as LUO teaches in page 2 paragraphs 1-2 from the bottom.
Claims 9-11, 14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, 13 and 15-16 above, in view of MAKI JP 2020178509 A.
Regarding claim 9, XU does not explicitly teach the intelligent management strategy is a management strategy associated with a user usage behavior of the energy storage unit.
MAKI explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the intelligent management strategy is a management strategy associated with a user usage behavior of the energy storage unit (Fig. 2 page 2 paragraphs 1-7 from the bottom, based on user’s behavioral status, the cloud server estimates the expected current usage time i.e. “a management strategy associated with a user usage behavior of the energy storage unit”, the expected turn-on time for battery temperature rise control is determined according to the expected usage time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the controller wherein the intelligent management strategy is a management strategy associated with a user usage behavior of the energy storage unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to start temperature rise control to bring the battery to desired temperature, as MAKI teaches in page 4 paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 10, XU in view of MAKI further teaches acquire the intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit from an energy storage cloud server according to the status information of the energy storage unit (Fig. 2 page 2 paragraphs 1-7 from the bottom, based on user’s behavioral status, the cloud server receives vehicle 200 location, and estimates the expected current usage time based on the vehicle 200 location i.e. “status information of the energy storage unit” and the user behavioral status, the expected turn-on time for battery temperature rise control is determined according to the expected usage time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the controller wherein acquire the intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit from an energy storage cloud server according to the status information of the energy storage unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to start temperature rise control to bring the battery to desired temperature, as MAKI teaches in page 4 paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 11, XU in view of MAKI further teaches acquire the status information of the energy storage unit and send the status information to the energy storage cloud server; and receive the intelligent management strategy sent by the energy storage cloud server (Fig. 2 page 2 paragraphs 1-7 from the bottom, based on user’s behavioral status, the cloud server receives vehicle 200 location i.e. “acquire the status information of the energy storage unit and send the status information to the energy storage cloud server”, and estimates the expected current usage time based on the vehicle 200 location and the user behavioral status, the control device performs temperature rise control based on the information provided by the control server. In addition, page 7 paragraph 2 from the bottom, the cloud server can perform all functions the control device providing, such as, page 7 paragraphs 4-5 from the bottom, receiving the temperature information of battery not reaching the first target, the temperature rise control is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the controller wherein acquire the status information of the energy storage unit and send the status information to the energy storage cloud server; and receive the intelligent management strategy sent by the energy storage cloud server. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to start temperature rise control to bring the battery to desired temperature, as MAKI teaches in page 4 paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 14, XU in view of MAKI further teaches starting the non-energy storage unit to adjust an operating condition of the energy storage unit before the energy storage unit starts an operating mode, so that the energy storage unit is in a preset operating condition when the operating mode is started (page 4 paragraphs 2-8, the temperature rising control is started to control the battery to reach desired temperature before the power button is pressed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the controller wherein starting the non-energy storage unit to adjust an operating condition of the energy storage unit before the energy storage unit starts an operating mode, so that the energy storage unit is in a preset operating condition when the operating mode is started. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to start temperature rise control to bring the battery to desired temperature, as MAKI teaches in page 4 paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites similar limitations to that of claim 10 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 18, XU in view of MAKI further teaches acquiring the status information of the energy storage unit; and sending the status information to the energy storage cloud server, so that the energy storage cloud server determines the intelligent management strategy according to the status information and sends the intelligent management strategy to the domain controller (Fig. 2 page 2 paragraphs 1-7 from the bottom, based on user’s behavioral status, the cloud server receives vehicle 200 location i.e. “acquire the status information of the energy storage unit and send the status information to the energy storage cloud server”, and estimates the expected current usage time based on the vehicle 200 location and the user behavioral status, the control device performs temperature rise control based on the information provided by the control server. In addition, page 7 paragraph 2 from the bottom, the cloud sever can perform all functions the control device providing, such as, page 7 paragraphs 4-5 from the bottom, receiving the temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the method wherein acquiring the status information of the energy storage unit; and sending the status information to the energy storage cloud server, so that the energy storage cloud server determines the intelligent management strategy according to the status information and sends the intelligent management strategy to the domain controller. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to start temperature rise control to bring the battery to desired temperature, as MAKI teaches in page 4 paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 20, XU further teaches determining the intelligent management strategy of the non-energy storage unit according to the status information of the energy storage unit (page 3 last paragraph to page 4 paragraph 1, the air conditioner host generates the air conditioner control instruction according to the temperature information and the humidity information, to manage the environment in the battery compartment);
XU in view of MAKI further teaches starting the non-energy storage unit to adjust an operating condition of the energy storage unit before the energy storage unit starts an operating mode, so that the energy storage unit is in a preset operating condition when the operating mode is started (page 4 paragraphs 2-8, the temperature rising control is started to control the battery to reach desired temperature before the power button is pressed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the method wherein starting the non-energy storage unit to adjust an operating condition of the energy storage unit before the energy storage unit starts an operating mode, so that the energy storage unit is in a preset operating condition when the operating mode is started. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to start temperature rise control to bring the battery to desired temperature, as MAKI teaches in page 4 paragraph 6.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of MAKI as applied to claims 9-11, 14, 17-18 and 20 above, further in view of Wiese US 20230099486 A1.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, XU in view of MAKI further teaches acquire first status information of the energy storage unit, and send the first status information to the energy storage cloud server; receive a first instruction sent by the energy storage cloud server (Fig. 2 page 2 paragraphs 1-7 from the bottom, based on user’s behavioral status, the cloud server receives vehicle 200 location i.e. “acquire the status information of the energy storage unit and send the status information to the energy storage cloud server”, and estimates the expected current usage time based on the vehicle 200 location and the user behavioral status, the control device performs temperature rise control based on the information provided by the control server).
Neither XU nor MAKI explicitly further teaches acquire second status information of the energy storage unit according to the first instruction; send the second status information to the energy storage cloud server, wherein the second status information comprises more information than the first status information, and the second status information is operable by the energy storage cloud server to determine the intelligent management strategy; and receive the intelligent management strategy sent by the energy storage cloud server.
Wiese explicitly teaches in an analogous art that acquire second status information of the energy storage unit according to the first instruction; send the second status information to the energy storage cloud server, wherein the second status information comprises more information than the first status information, and the second status information is operable by the energy storage cloud server to determine the intelligent management strategy; and receive the intelligent management strategy sent by the energy storage cloud server (Fig. 3 [0048] [0057] battery temperature prediction is estimated using data from cloud network, an observation is acquired i.e. “acquire second status information of the energy storage unit according to the first instruction”, and is compared to the temperature prediction, when the difference exceeds a threshold, providing data such as battery temperature, battery SOC et.al., to could network and requests updated predictions from the cloud network; the cloud network provide a plurality of data including updated route information and updated prediction models taking current observation data into consideration i.e. “the second status information comprises more information than the first status information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XU to incorporate the teachings of MAKI because they all directed to energy storage control, to make the controller/method wherein acquire second status information of the energy storage unit according to the first instruction; send the second status information to the energy storage cloud server, wherein the second status information comprises more information than the first status information, and the second status information is operable by the energy storage cloud server to determine the intelligent management strategy; and receive the intelligent management strategy sent by the energy storage cloud server. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to update a battery thermal management strategy, as Wiese teaches in [0014].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHEN CN 111725889 A teaches controller integrating energy storage control and energy storage temperature control.
WU CN 112744125 A teaches cloud sending heating flag to thermal management module.
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115