DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
DISPLAY DEVICE COMPRISING DAM STRUCTURE
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0173], lines 2-3: “a first node electrode which are gate electrodes” should read --- “a first node electrode which is at least one gate electrode” or “a first node electrode which is one or more gate electrodes”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following grammatical informalities:
Claim 3, line 3: “a first node electrode which are gate electrodes” should read --- “a first node electrode which is at least one gate electrode” or “a first node electrode which is one or more gate electrodes”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a portion of an upper surface of the dam” in line 4. There is already “an upper surface” of the dam introduced in lines 1-2 of claim 8, rendering it unclear if “a portion of an upper of the dam” in line 4 refers to a portion of the same “upper surface” or a different “upper surface” of the dam. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “a portion of an upper surface of the dam” in claim 8 as --- a portion of the upper surface of the dam ---, however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0202631A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] comprising:
a substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113];
a first metal (UE) fig. 4A [0128, 0134] (formed of ‘second conductive layer’ metal material such as molybdenum [0134]) on (supported by) the substrate (SUB);
a passivation layer (PAS) fig. 4A [0135] on the first metal (UE);
a dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0152] (walls of LA1 acting as DAM to retain LD material in VIA1) fig. 4A [0139-0141, 0152]) on the passivation layer (PAS); and
a contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0129, 0141] extending (at least partially) through the dam (LA1) and the passivation layer (PAS).
Regarding claim 2, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising a color filter layer (CF) fig. 4A [0137-0138] disposed on the passivation layer (PAS) fig. 4A [0138], wherein the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0152] is disposed to be (horizontally) spaced apart from the color filter layer (CF).
Regarding claim 3, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising a driving transistor (DT) fig. 4A [0116-0121] disposed on the substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113], wherein the driving transistor (DT) includes a first node electrode (GE2) fig. 4A [0130] (see also fig. 3B) which is at least one gate electrode (GE2), a second node electrode (DE2) fig. 4A [0141], and a third node electrode (SE2) fig, 3B [0121], and wherein the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0152] is disposed on (supported by) the first metal (UE2) fig. 4A [0129] (first molybdenum layer of UE2) electrically connected [0129] to the second node electrode (DE2) (molybdenum metal layer of UE2 electrically connected to aluminum-neodynium metal layer of DE2) [0129] of the driving transistor (DT).
Regarding claim 4, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising:
a light blocking layer (LS) fig. 4A [0117-0118] disposed on the substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113];
a buffer layer (BUF) fig. 4A [0123] disposed on the light blocking layer (LS);
an active layer (CH3) fig. 4A [0124-0125] disposed on the buffer layer (BUF); and
a second insulating layer (GI) fig. 4A [0126] disposed (horizontally) between the first metal (UE) fig. 4A [0128, 0134] and the active layer (CH3).
Regarding claim 5, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising:
a pixel electrode (AE) fig. 4A [0133, 0139-0142] disposed in the contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0141] and in (direct) contact with the first metal (UE) fig. 4A [0128, 0134];
a bank disposed (OC) fig. 4A [0138-0141] (OC acting as bank/ridge against sidewalls of LD element) on the (supported by sidewall of) pixel electrode (AE);
an emission layer (EML) fig. 4A [0139] disposed on (supported by) the bank (OC); and
a common electrode (CE) fig. 4A [0139-0140] disposed on (supported by) the emission layer (EML).
Regarding claim 6, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising:
a pixel electrode (AE) fig. 4A [0133, 0139-0142] disposed in the contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0141] and in contact with the first metal (UE) fig. 4A [0128, 0134];
an emission layer (EML) fig. 4A [0139] disposed on the pixel electrode (AE) corresponding to the contact hole (VIA1); and
a common electrode (CE) fig. 4A [0139-0140] disposed on the emission layer (EML).
Regarding claim 7, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising an overcoat layer (OC with LA2) fig. 4A [0138-0141] disposed to cover the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0150-0152], wherein the dam (LA1) includes a different material from the overcoat layer (OC with LA2) (LA1 and LA2 comprise different pigment materials [0151-0152] with distinct colors [0151-0152]).
Regarding claim 8, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 7. Jo also teaches wherein the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0150-0152] includes a side surface (sidewall of LA1 bordering VIA1) and an upper surface (top surface of LA1), and wherein the display device further comprises a pixel electrode (AE) fig. 4A [0133, 0139] disposed in (thermal) contact with at least a portion of the upper surface (top) of the dam (LA1) (entirety of LA1 considered in thermal contact with entirety of AE through adjoined material).
Regarding claim 9, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 7. Jo also teaches wherein the pixel electrode (AE) fig. 4A [0133, 0139] is disposed to cover the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0150-0152].
Regarding claim 10, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising an overcoat layer disposed to cover the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0150-0152], wherein at least one material included in the dam (LA1) is included in the overcoat layer (OC with LA2 with CF) fig. 4A [0138-0141] (each of CF and LA1 may be composed of same material(s) [0158], such as same photosensitive resin [0137, 0158]).
Regarding claim 11, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 10. Jo also teaches wherein the contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0129, 0141] includes (is included with) an area (sidewall surface area of OC [0141]) extending from a side surface (sidewall bordering OC) of the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0152] to a side surface (sidewall bordering OC) of the passivation layer (PAS) fig. 4A [0135].
Regarding claim 14, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches wherein the substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113] includes a first subpixel (PXij comprising LD(PXij)) fig. 4A [0063] and a second subpixel (PX(i+1)j comprising LD(PX(i+1)j) fig. 4A [0106-0108], wherein the first subpixel (PXij) includes a first contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0102], and the second subpixel (PX(i+1)j) includes a second contact hole (VIA2) fig. 4A [0107], and wherein the dam (collective LA1 material) fig. 4A [0152] is disposed to (laterally) surround the first contact hole (VIA1) and the second contact hole (VIA2) (see also plurality of VIA1-2 holes in fig. 3A [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 14. Jo also teaches further comprising a color filter layer (LA2) fig. 4A [0137, 0151-0152] (acting as a pigmented color filter) disposed to cover at least a portion of the dam (LA1) fig. 4A [0152], wherein the color filter (collective LA2 material) layer is disposed to (laterally) surround the first contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0102] and the second contact hole (VIA2) fig. 4A [0107] on (supported by) the dam (LA1).
Claims 1, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0202631A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] comprising:
a substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113];
a first metal (UE) fig. 4A [0128, 0134] (formed of ‘second conductive layer’ metal material such as molybdenum [0134]) on (supported by) the substrate (SUB);
a passivation layer (PAS) fig. 4A [0135] on the first metal (UE);
a dam (OC) fig. 4A [0152] (walls of OC acting as DAM to retain LD material in VIA1) fig. 4A [0139-0141, 0152]) on the passivation layer (PAS); and
a contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0129, 0141] extending (at least partially) through the dam (OC) and the passivation layer (PAS) [0141].
Regarding claim 12, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches further comprising a color filter layer (LA) fig. 4A [0137, 0151-0152] (LA formed with pigmented color filter material) disposed (laterally) around the dam (OC portion beside VIA1) fig. 4A [0141].
Regarding claim 13, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 12. Jo also teaches wherein the substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113-0114] includes an opening area (comprising entire area of display overlapping VIA1) fig. 4A [0141] and a circuit area (comprising entire area of display overlapping LS connective circuitry) fig. 4A [0117-0118] which is (positionally) different from the opening area (area of display overlapping VIA1), and wherein the color filter layer (LA) fig. 4A [0137, 0151-0152] is disposed in (part of) the circuit area (area of display overlapping LS connective circuitry).
Regarding claim 14, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 1. Jo also teaches wherein the substrate (SUB) fig. 4A [0113] includes a first subpixel (PXij comprising LD(PXij)) fig. 4A [0063] and a second subpixel (PX(i+1)j comprising LD(PX(i+1)j) fig. 4A [0106-0108], wherein the first subpixel (PXij) includes a first contact hole (VIA1) fig. 4A [0102], and the second subpixel (PX(i+1)j) includes a second contact hole (VIA2) fig. 4A [0107], and wherein the dam (OC) fig. 4A [0152] is disposed to (laterally) surround the first contact hole (VIA1) and the second contact hole (VIA2) (see also plurality of VIA1-2 holes in fig. 3A [0073]).
Regarding claim 16, Jo teaches the display device [see fig. 3B, fig. 4A, 0112] of claim 14. Jo also teaches wherein the dam (OC) fig. 4A [0152] includes a plurality of sub-contact holes (apparent holes/gaps in OC to left and right of VIA1 in OC, partially filled by LA2), and wherein the display device further comprises a color filter layer (LA2) fig. 4A [0137, 0151-0152] (LA2 formed with pigmented color filter material) disposed (laterally) within the plurality of sub-contact holes (apparent holes/gaps in OC to left and right of VIA1 in OC, partially filled by LA2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature displays with dam-like structures beside contact holes hosting light emitting elements.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 10/29/2026