DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US 6,830,225).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses a wire protector (1), comprising: a clip (6) mounted on a wire (7 or,5); a housing (2) configured to receive the clip (6), fixed to a vehicle body and having both longitudinal ends open for the wire to pass therethrough (see figure 1); and a stopper (29; see figure 2a) provided on either longitudinal end of an inner surface of the housing (2) to limit a longitudinal movement of the clip (6) inside the housing (see figures 2a and 2b).
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein the clip (6) comprises: a ball portion having a through-hole (see figures 1, 2a, 2b and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein the ball portion (see figure 4) comprises: at least two segmented ball portions (37,38) comprising a first segmented ball portion and a second segmented ball portion (see figure 4), wherein the first segmented ball portion has a plurality of first hook holes (40), and the second segmented ball portion has a plurality of first hooks (39) configured to be coupled to the plurality of first hook holes (column 8 lines 46-53).
Regarding claim 4, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein, when the plurality of first hooks (39) is coupled to the plurality of first hook holes (40), the first segmented ball portion and the second segmented ball portion are coupled while enclosing an outer surface of the wire (see figure 4; column 8 lines 46-53)
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein the first segmented ball portion (37) and the second segmented ball portion (38) each further comprises: a corrugated groove (see figure 2a, 2b and 4) formed on an inner surface of the through-hole, wherein the corrugated groove (see figure 4) is configured to be coupled between corrugations of the wire when the first segmented ball portion and the second segmented ball portion are coupled to each other, each enclosing half the outer surface of the wire (see figures 2a, 2b and 4).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein the housing (2) comprises: a housing body (3) having a plurality of second hook holes (24) formed on an outer surface thereof (see figure 3); and a housing cover (10) configured to cover the housing body (3) and comprising a plurality of second hooks (23) configured to be coupled to the plurality of second hook holes (24), wherein the stopper (29) is formed on the housing body (3, see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein the stopper (29) comprises: a pair of first stoppers (29) provided on one longitudinal end of the housing body (see figure 2a); and a pair of second stoppers (29) provided on another longitudinal end of the housing body (see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 8, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein the pair of first stoppers (29) and the pair of second stoppers (29) each further comprises: protrusions protruding from an inner surface of the housing body to face each other (see figures 2a and 2b).
Regarding claim 9, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein a width between the protrusions is less than a diameter of the ball portion (see figures 2a and 2b).
Regarding claim 10, Kato discloses the wire protector (1), wherein an inner width of the housing (2) is equal to a diameter of the ball portion (6), and a longitudinal spacing between the pair of first stoppers (29) and the pair of second stoppers (29) is equal to a length of the through-hole (see figures 2a and 2b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 6,830,225) in view of Irons et al (US 9,438,017; hereinafter Irons).
Regarding claim 11, Kogure discloses the claimed invention except for a protective pad is provided on the inner surface of the housing to enclose the clip. Iron teaches a protector (500) comprising a protective pad (910) is provided on the inner surface of the housing (915; 905; see figure 9) to enclose the clip (525). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Kogure with a protective pad on the inner surface of the housing to enclose the clip as taught by Irons to provide protection against the ingress of dust or foreign objects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamashita et al (US 10,632,940), Serizawa et al (US 8,944,474), Tokunga et al (US 8,847,073), Sakata et al (US 8,013,248), Koruge et al (US 7,645,938), and Thompson (US 7,534,965) disclose a wire protector.
August 21, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841