DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are allowed.
Claims 3, 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witt (US Pub No. 2019/0326012 A1).
As per claim 1, Witt discloses a connection state determination method for determining a connection state between a plurality of medical devices (paragraph [0113], lines 1-16) each including a connection portion having a unique identifier (Fig. 4, Tag/Carrier 408: RFID chip), the connection state determination method comprising:
detecting the connection portions of the respective medical devices (Fig. 4, Medical Connector 410, Tracking Device 400);
determining whether the identifiers of the detected connection portions are in a predetermined state (paragraph [0012]: physical connection state; paragraph [0159], lines 3-8); and
determining the connection state between the plurality of medical devices based on whether the identifiers are in the predetermined state (paragraph [0159], lines 3-8).
As per claim 2, Witt discloses the connection state determination method according to claim 1, comprising:
determining that the plurality of medical devices are connected in a case in which the identifiers are in the predetermined state (paragraph [0012]: physical connection state; paragraph [0159], lines 3-8).
As per claim 7, Witt discloses the connection state determination method according to claim 1, comprising:
outputting a warning in a case of determining that the plurality of medical devices are not connected or in a case in which a first predetermined period elapses from a date and time of a determination that the plurality of medical devices are connected (paragraph [0167], lines 1-7: devices not connected).
As per claim 12, Witt discloses a connection state determination system for determining a connection state between a plurality of medical devices (paragraph [0113], lines 1-16) each including a connection portion having a unique identifier (Fig. 4, Tag/Carrier 408: RFID chip), the connection state determination system comprising:
a detection unit configured to detect the connection portions of the respective medical devices (Fig. 4, Medical Connector 410, Tracking Device 400);
a control unit (paragraph [0124]) configured to:
determine whether the identifiers of the detected connection portions are in a predetermined state (paragraph [0012]: physical connection state; paragraph [0159], lines 3-8); and
determine the connection state between the plurality of medical devices based on whether the identifiers are in the predetermined state (paragraph [0159], lines 3-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witt in view of Pierson et al. (Pierson; US Pub No. 2021/0074417 A1).
As per claim 4, Witt teaches the connection state determination method according to claim 1, comprising:
… time of a determination that the plurality of medical devices are connected (paragraph [0162], lines 1-14).
Witt does not expressly teach recording a date and time.
Pierson teaches recording a date and time (paragraph [0047], lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement recording the time and date of an event as taught by Pierson, since Pierson states in paragraph [0047] that such a modification would result in determining when to next test or inspect the medical equipment.
As per claim 5, Witt teaches the connection state determination method according to claim 1.
Witt does not expressly teach comprising:
determining whether a predetermined operation is performed on the connection portions by a medical worker; and
recording a date and time of a determination that the predetermined operation is performed.
Pierson teaches comprising:
determining whether a predetermined operation is performed on the connection portions by a medical worker (paragraph [0047], lines 1-11; paragraph [0066]); and
recording a date and time of a determination that the predetermined operation is performed (paragraph [0047], lines 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement recording the time and date of an operation performed by a user as taught by Pierson, since Pierson states in paragraph [0047] that such a modification would result in determining when to next test or inspect the medical equipment.
As per claim 6, Witt in view of Pierson further teaches the connection state determination method according to claim 5, comprising:
recording, in a case of determining that the predetermined operation is performed and then determining that the plurality of medical devices are connected, a date and time of a determination that the plurality of medical devices are connected (Pierson, paragraph [0047], lines 1-11; paragraph [0066]).
As per claim 9, Witt teaches the connection state determination method according to claim 1.
Witt does not expressly teach comprising:
outputting a warning in a case of determining that a predetermined operation is not performed on the connection portions within a second predetermined period from a date and time of a determination that the predetermined operation is performed on the connection portions.
Pierson teaches comprising:
outputting a warning in a case of determining that a predetermined operation is not performed on the connection portions within a second predetermined period from a date and time of a determination that the predetermined operation is performed on the connection portions (paragraph [0047], lines 1-17: replacement date).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the replacement date notification as taught by Pierson, in order to endure proper operation of the medical devices.
As per claim 10, Witt teaches the connection state determination method according to claim 1.
Witt does not expressly teach wherein:
the identifiers each comprise a barcode.
Pierson teaches wherein:
the identifiers each comprise a barcode (paragraph [0037], lines 9-12).
Since Witt teaches the use of an RFID tag for providing unique identification, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the asset tag as a barcode as taught by Pierson, since Pierson states in paragraph [0047] that both barcodes and RFID tag provide the same identification functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arrizza (US Pub No. 2022/0321660 A1): similar inventive concept
Gerder-Kallisch et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0157463 A1): similar inventive concept
Jones et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0034713 A1): similar inventive concept
/NAOMI J SMALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685