DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2025 was filed after the filing date of the application on November 5, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 5, 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5 and 19 similarly recite, “…updating one or more of the one or more properties…” but should recite, “…updating one or more of the one or more spatial anchor properties…”
Claim 12 recites, “…utilising the object as a spatial anchor…” but should recite, “…utilizing the mobile object as the spatial anchor…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AL HASSANAT et al. (US 2019/0243864).
As to claim 1, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose an apparatus (Figure 1, system 10) comprising: at least one processor (computer processor); and at least one memory storing instructions (electronic memory storing a series of computer instructions) which, when executed by the at least one processor ([0125]-[0127]), cause the apparatus to perform (methods of Figures 2-4): receiving, from a service provider, a request to initiate a spatial anchor associated with a mobile object (step 210, [0108] notes receiving a user input requesting that a virtual anchor is to be created, step 220, [0108] further notes receiving or obtaining the geographic coordinates of the mobile computing device being used to create the virtual anchor at the specific location to be associated with the virtual anchor, where [0102] notes servers, e.g. servers 50, operate to receive requests to create, delete, and add media content to a virtual anchor as well as any requests to change the status of a virtual anchor, where it may be considered the user creating the virtual anchor further in communication with servers and databases of Figure 1 as the “service provider”); generating the spatial anchor associated with the mobile object based on the request to initiate (step 230, [0109] notes once the geographic coordinates of the specific location to be used for the virtual anchor has been obtained, creating the virtual anchor data structure, step 240, [0109] notes completing/populating the fields in the data structure, and step 250, [0109] notes uploading the virtual anchor data structure upon completion, e.g. to servers 50); receiving, from the service provider or a user equipment, a request for retrieval of the spatial anchor associated with the mobile object; retrieving information identifying a location of the mobile object (step 330, [0110] notes receiving/determining the geographic coordinates of the mobile computing device used by the user, step 320, [0110] notes checking the geographic coordinates against the geographic coordinates associated with at least one virtual anchor, where steps 330 and 340 may be combined with checking whether the user mobile device is within a proximity of a virtual anchor, where “matching the geographic coordinates of the virtual anchor” may further be considered “retrieving information identifying a location” of the mobile computing device that created the virtual anchor as noted above, and if there is a match between the geographic coordinates of the mobile computing device and the geographic coordinates of the virtual anchor, step 340, [0111] notes alerting the user to the presence of the virtual anchor and the availability of media content associated with the virtual anchor, and step 350, [0111] notes receiving user input regarding the virtual anchor, e.g. step 360, [0112] notes checking to see if the user input indicates a desire to ignore the virtual anchor, where it may be considered the user subsequently requesting the retrieval of the virtual anchor to be from “user equipment”); updating, after the retrieving, the spatial anchor with the information identifying the location of the mobile object (step 370, [0112] notes if the user wishes to access the media content associated with the virtual anchor, then step 400, [0113] notes checking to see if the user wants to add media content to the virtual anchor, if so, step 410, [0113] notes generating or pointing to the media content of the user’s mobile computing device, and step 420, [0114] notes one the relevant media content has been generated and/or tagged, this media content is then associated with the virtual anchor, e.g. adjusting or editing the virtual anchor’s data structure, thus may be considered “updating,” [0067] notes various fields of the virtual anchor’s data structure may be edited, e.g. “updated,” which includes the location identifying the location of the mobile computing device, e.g. [0071] specific location associated with the virtual anchor in latitude, longitude, and altitude, or physical address); and providing, after the updating, to the service provider or the user equipment, the spatial anchor (step 430, [0114] notes uploading the media content to the relevant media content database as well as uploading any edited virtual anchor data structure or any virtual anchor data to the virtual anchor database, which then may be accessible to the user that originally created the virtual anchor, e.g. “service provider,” as well as other users including the user that just edited, e.g. updated, the virtual anchor, “user equipment,” [0105]).
As noted above, AL HASSANAT describe a method of a user creating virtual anchors that may accessible and editable by one or more authorized users, where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention at the time of the invention to recognize that the creator may be considered a “service provider” to the authorized users, allowing access to the virtual anchor, yielding predictable results, without changing the scope of the invention.
As to claim 2, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the generating the spatial anchor associated with the mobile object comprises: generating a digital asset representative of the spatial anchor, the digital asset comprising one or more spatial anchor properties (e.g. as noted above, creating the virtual anchor includes creating or adding media content and a virtual anchor data structure, where [0067]-[0089] notes the various fields associated with the virtual anchor data structure, thus may be considered “one or more spatial anchor properties”); and storing the digital asset in a Digital Asset Container (e.g. as noted in claim 1, after the virtual anchor data structure has been completed, it can be uploaded, with the media content to be associated with it to the various servers, where [0059] further notes uploading to media content database, e.g. media repository 20, and virtual anchor database, e.g. anchor database 30).
As to claim 3, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the one or more spatial anchor properties comprise: a spatial anchor ID uniquely identifying the mobile object; service information identifying one or more services associated with the spatial anchor; and spatial location information (e.g. as noted in claim 2, one or more of the fields of the virtual anchor data structure may be considered “one or more spatial anchor properties,” where at least [0068] notes a virtual anchor identification/identifier, e.g. “spatial anchor ID,” at least [0071] notes specific location associated with the virtual anchor in latitude, longitude, and altitude, or physical, e.g. “spatial location information,” and at least [0072] notes virtual anchor owner/creator, [0088] notes media content list, [0089] notes media type list, e.g. “service information”).
As to claim 4, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the service information comprises, for a service of the one or more services, one or more of the following: a service description; a service URL; media content information; or configuration data for the service (e.g. as noted in claim 3, one or more fields of the virtual anchor data structure, e.g. at least [0072] notes virtual anchor owner/creator, [0088] notes media content list, [0089] notes media type list, e.g. “service information”).
As to claim 5, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: receiving, from the service provider, an update request for the spatial anchor (e.g. as noted in claim 1, the user of mobile computing device, e.g. considered the “user equipment,” may desire to add media content, e.g. adjust or edit the virtual anchor data structure, e.g. “update request,” where it may render obvious that the creator, “service provider” may also desire to add media content, e.g. adjust or edit the virtual anchor data structure, thus the updated request may be received from the “service provider”); and updating one or more of the one or more properties of the spatial anchor based on the update request (e.g. as noted in claims 2-4, the virtual anchor data structure may comprise various fields, where [0067] notes fields may be edited by the user who created the virtual anchor, and other fields, depending on the settings, may be editable by those users given authority to do so).
As to claim 6, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the update request for the spatial anchor comprises an identifier of the user equipment from which the update request originated (e.g. as noted in claim 1, the geographic coordinates, e.g. location, of the mobile computing device may be determined to be checked against the geographic coordinates of the virtual anchor, and only proceeding with the additional steps of the method if the geographic coordinates match (as well if it is determined they are an authorized user), thus must be satisfied in order request to add media content, e.g. adjust or edit the virtual anchor data structure, e.g. as the “update request”).
As to claim 7, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the one or more spatial anchor properties comprise one or more timestamps (e.g. as noted in claim 2, the one or more of the fields of the virtual anchor data structure may be considered “one or more spatial anchor properties”), the one or more timestamps indicating one or more of the following: a spatial anchor creation time; a spatial anchor property update time; or a spatial anchor location update time (e.g. at least [0073] notes virtual anchor date of creation, [0074] notes a lifetime (expiry) for the virtual anchor (the duration after which the virtual anchor will be removed)).
As to claim 10, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: preventing access to the spatial anchor based at least in part on an identity of the service provider or the user equipment (e.g. as noted in claim 2, the one or more of the fields of the virtual anchor data structure may be considered “one or more spatial anchor properties,” where at least [0078] notes list of users or groups that can view of access the media content associated with the virtual anchor, where [0081]-[0086] further notes virtual anchor subfields from indicating user accessibility, where [0110] further notes steps 310-330 notes only performed assuming the user is authorized to access or interact with the relevant virtual anchor, where if the user is not authorized to access this virtual anchor, then the mobile computing device’s geographic coordinates are not checked for a match with the geographic coordinates of the virtual anchor, thus prevented from accessing the media content of the virtual anchor).
As to claim 11, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: restricting access to the spatial anchor based at least in part on an identity of the service provider or the user equipment (e.g. see claim 10).
As to claim 12, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose an apparatus (Figure 1, system 10) comprising: at least one processor (computer processor); and at least one memory storing instructions (electronic memory storing a series of computer instructions) which, when executed by the at least one processor ([0125]-[0127]), cause the apparatus to perform (methods of Figures 2-4): requesting, from a network, initiation of a spatial anchor associated with a mobile object (step 210, [0108] notes receiving a user input requesting that a virtual anchor is to be created, step 220, [0108] further notes receiving or obtaining the geographic coordinates of the mobile computing device being used to create the virtual anchor at the specific location to be associated with the virtual anchor, where [0102] notes servers, e.g. servers 50, operate to receive requests to create, delete, and add media content to a virtual anchor as well as any requests to change the status of a virtual anchor, e.g. “network,” step 230, [0109] notes once the geographic coordinates of the specific location to be used for the virtual anchor has been obtained, creating the virtual anchor data structure, step 240, [0109] notes completing/populating the fields in the data structure, and step 250, [0109] notes uploading the virtual anchor data structure upon completion, e.g. to servers 50); receiving, from a user equipment, a request for a service utilising the object as a spatial anchor (step 330, [0110] notes receiving/determining the geographic coordinates of the mobile computing device used by the user, step 320, [0110] notes checking the geographic coordinates against the geographic coordinates associated with at least one virtual anchor, where steps 330 and 340 may be combined with checking whether the user mobile device is within a proximity of a virtual anchor, where “matching the geographic coordinates of the virtual anchor” may further be considered “retrieving information identifying a location” of the mobile computing device that created the virtual anchor as noted above, and if there is a match between the geographic coordinates of the mobile computing device and the geographic coordinates of the virtual anchor, step 340, [0111] notes alerting the user to the presence of the virtual anchor and the availability of media content associated with the virtual anchor, and step 350, [0111] notes receiving user input regarding the virtual anchor, e.g. step 360, [0112] notes checking to see if the user input indicates a desire to ignore the virtual anchor, where it may be considered the user subsequently requesting the retrieval of the virtual anchor to be from “user equipment”); requesting the network to update one or more properties of the spatial anchor based on the request for the service (step 370, [0112] notes if the user wishes to access the media content associated with the virtual anchor, then step 400, [0113] notes checking to see if the user wants to add media content to the virtual anchor, if so, step 410, [0113] notes generating or pointing to the media content of the user’s mobile computing device, and step 420, [0114] notes one the relevant media content has been generated and/or tagged, this media content is then associated with the virtual anchor, e.g. adjusting or editing the virtual anchor’s data structure, which are performed via system 10, e.g. servers in communication with databases, e.g. “network,” where [0067]-[0089] notes the various fields associated with the virtual anchor data structure, thus may be considered “one or more properties of the spatial anchor,” [0067] notes fields may be edited by the user who created the virtual anchor, and other fields, depending on the settings, may be editable by those users given authority to do so, and step 430, [0114] notes uploading the media content to the relevant media content database as well as uploading any edited virtual anchor data structure or any virtual anchor data to the virtual anchor database, which then may be accessible to the user that originally created the virtual anchor as well as other users including the user that just edited, e.g. updated, the virtual anchor, [0105]); receiving, from the network, an updated spatial anchor (e.g. where the process may be repeated to access the updated media content at step 370, [0112] notes if the user wishes to access the media content, step 380, retrieving the relevant media content, e.g. the updated media content just added, edited, or adjusted, the updated media content retrieved via servers from anchor database); and causing transmission of the updated spatial anchor to the user equipment (step 390, [0112] notes presenting the media content to the user, e.g. the updated media content just added, edited, or adjusted).
As noted above, AL HASSANAT describe a method of a user creating virtual anchors that may accessible, editable, and/or viewable by one or more authorized users, where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize that an authorized user may edit, e.g. update, the virtual anchor then later view the edited virtual anchor by repeating the process of Figure 3, yielding predictable results, without changing the scope of the invention.
As to claim 13, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the updated spatial anchor comprises information identifying a current location of the mobile object (e.g. as noted in claim 12, step 310, determining the geographic coordinates, e.g. location, of the mobile computing device).
As to claim 14, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose the updated spatial anchor comprises a warning message indicating that a current location of the mobile object is within a restricted area (e.g. as noted in claim 12, the one or more of the fields of the virtual anchor data structure may be considered “one or more spatial anchor properties,” where at least [0071] notes specific location associated with the virtual anchor latitude, longitude, and altitude, or physical address, [0075] notes predetermined distance from the specific location before the user is alerted to the virtual anchor presence (e.g. a sensitivity setting), [0076] notes optionally, an address field may also be used with the closest physical address to the virtual anchor specific location being entered in this optional field, thus would indicate the current location is “within a restricted zone,” e.g. outside of the predetermined distance specified).
As to claim 15, AL HASSANAT et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions ([0125]-[0127] notes the embodiments of the present invention may be executed by a computer processor or similar device or an electronic system, comprising computer readable medium storing a series of computer instructions embodying the functionality of the present invention) that, when executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform the steps as performed by the apparatus of claim 1. Please see the rejection and rationale of claim 1.
Claims 16-20 are similar in scope to claims 2-6, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 8, the prior art of record (including the pertinent art cited below) fails to teach or suggest, singly or combined, the limitations of the claim as recited as a whole. Dependent claim 9 is indicated allowable for depending upon indicated allowable claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kolan (US 2024/0365175) disclose a system and method of requesting Metaverse service, the method comprising identifying one or more spatial anchors associated with (i) a field of view of a user and (ii) preferences of the user, selecting a service anchor from the one or more service anchors based on a condition, determining one or more edge networks and one or more network slices based on (i) the request and (ii) the service anchor, and provisioning the Metaverse service using the one or more network slices and one or more edge networks.
/JACINTA M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617