DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on March 30, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 2018/0269181; hereinafter Yang; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses an electronic device (see figure 3g), the electronic device (see figure 3g) comprising: a substrate having metal traces (176), the substrate (170) having a length and a width (see figure 8d), wherein the length is longer than the width (se figure 8d); one or more dies (171) disposed on a first surface of the substrate and connected to the metal traces (176); an encapsulant (210; see figure 3g) at least partially surrounding the first surface and a second surface of the substrate (see figure 3g), the second surface opposite the first surface; and a first slotted aperture (180a; see figure 8d) disposed in proximity to a first end of the substrate and a second slotted aperture (180d) disposed in proximity to a second end of the substrate opposite the first end, the encapsulant (20) extending through the first slotted aperture and the second slotted aperture (see figure 3g; paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), wherein the substrate (170) comprises a flexible substrate (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising a plurality of bond pads (186) disposed on the second surface of the substrate, and a plurality of conductive connectors (see figure 3g) connected to the bond pads (186), wherein the plurality of conductive connectors comprise a first plurality and a second plurality of conductive connectors and a creepage distance measured between the first plurality and the second plurality of conductive connectors (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising at least one side of the substrate (170) protruding from the encapsulant (see figure 3g; substrate 170 protrudes from the left and right).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising a first end side of the substrate protruding from the encapsulant (see figure 3g), a second end side of the substrate protruding from the encapsulant (see figure 3g), wherein the second end is opposite the first end side (see figure 3g), wherein the substrate (170) comprises a first aperture through the first end side and a second aperture through a second end side exposed through the encapsulant (210; see figure 8d).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising lateral sides of the substrate (170) extending along a portion of the length, wherein a first lateral side protrudes from the encapsulant (210), and a second lateral side protruding from the encapsulant (210), wherein the second lateral side is opposite the first lateral side (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising a plurality of wells (see figure 3g) formed in the encapsulant on the second surface of the substrate (170) and conductive connectors positioned within the plurality of wells (see figure 3g), wherein a first profile of the plurality of wells in relation to a second profile of the conductive connectors provide a standoff height between the substrate and another surface (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses an electronic device (see figure 3g, the electronic device (see figure 3g) comprising: a substrate (170) having metal traces (176), the substrate (170) having a length and a width (see figure 8d), wherein the length is longer than the width (see figure 8d); one or more dies (171) disposed on a first surface of the substrate and connected to the metal traces (176), and; an encapsulant (20) at least partially surrounding the first surface and a second surface of the substrate (170), the second surface opposite the first surface; and at least one side of the substrate protruding from the encapsulant (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), wherein the substrate (170) comprises a flexible substrate (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising a plurality of bond pads (186) disposed on the second surface of the substrate, and a plurality of conductive connectors (see figure 3g) connected to the bond pads (186),
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising a first end side of the substrate protruding from the encapsulant (see figure 3g), a second end side of the substrate protruding from the encapsulant (see figure 3g), wherein the second end is opposite the first end side (see figure 3g), wherein the substrate comprises a first aperture through the first end side and a second aperture through a second end side exposed through the encapsulant (210; see figure 8d).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising lateral sides of the substrate (170) extending along a portion of the length, wherein a first lateral side protrudes from the encapsulant (210), and a second lateral side protruding from the encapsulant (210), wherein the second lateral side is opposite the first lateral side (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the electronic device (see figure 3g), further comprising a plurality of wells (see figure 3g) formed in the encapsulant on the second surface of the substrate and conductive connectors positioned within the plurality of wells, wherein a first profile of the plurality of wells in relation to a second profile of the conductive connectors provide a standoff height between the substrate and another surface (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the electrical device further comprising a first slotted aperture (180a; see figure 8d) disposed in proximity to a first end of the substrate and a second slotted aperture (180d) disposed in proximity to a second end of the substrate opposite the first end, the encapsulant (20) extending through the first slotted aperture and the second slotted aperture (see figure 3g; paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses a method for forming an electronic device (see figure 3g), the method comprising: providing a substrate (170) having a first surface and a second surface, the second surface opposite the first surface (see figure 3g), and a length and a width, the length longer than the width (see figure 8d); forming metal traces (176) on the first surface of the substrate (170) and mounting one or more dies (171) on the first surface of the substrate and electrically connecting the one more dies (171) to the metal traces (176); injecting an encapsulant (20) to surround the first and second surfaces of the substrate; and forming a first slotted aperture (180a) disposed in proximity to a first end and a second slotted aperture (180b) disposed in proximity a second end of the substrate (see figure 8d), the second end opposite the first end, the encapsulant extending through the first slotted aperture and the second slotted aperture (see figure 8d).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the method, further comprising patterning a perimeter trace (see figures 3g and 8a-8d) on the first surface of the substrate which increases tension and reduces deformation of the substrate (see figures 3g and 8a-8d).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses the method, further comprising protruding at least one side of the substrate (170) from the encapsulant (20, see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses the method, further comprising protruding a first end side of the substrate (170) from the encapsulant (20), protruding a second end side of the substrate (170) protruding from the encapsulant (20), wherein the second end is opposite the first end side, and forming a first aperture through the first end side and a second aperture through the second end side exposed through the encapsulant (see figure 8d).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses the method, further comprising protruding a first lateral side of lateral sides extending along the length of the substrate (see figure 3g) from the encapsulant (20), and protruding a second lateral side from the encapsulant, wherein the second lateral side is opposite the first lateral side (see figure 3g).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses the method, further comprising forming a plurality of wells (see figure 3g) in the encapsulant on the second surface of the substrate (170) by applying a force on the substrate to form depressions for fitting conductive connectors in the plurality of wells (see figure 3g), wherein forming the wells further comprises forming a first plurality of wells on the first end and forming a second plurality of wells on a second end of the substrate (see figure 3g), and mounting a first plurality of conductive connectors in the first plurality of wells and a second plurality of conductive connectors in the second plurality of wells (see figure 3g), wherein a first profile of the plurality of wells in relation to a second profile of the conductive connectors provide a standoff height between the substrate and another surface (see figure 3g).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luan (US 9,466,550), Zanma et al (US 9,215,805), Sutardja (US 8,400,774), Gallagher et al (US 5,948,533), Kang et al (US 11,638,346) and Baek et al (US 10,297,553) discloses an electronic device.
June 22, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841