DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on January 7, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haraguchi et al. (US 2017/0064162) in view of Sekido of Olympus Medical Systems Corp. (WO 2022/254659), translation provided herewith, hereinafter “Olympus”.
Regarding claim 1, Haraguchi discloses an imaging unit (Figs. 3-4) comprising:
a lens (LNZ, 35) obtained by a plurality of lenses (L1-L3) in an optical axis direction (Figs. 3-4); and
a metal film (39; para. [0081]) formed on a side circumferential surface of the lens (Figs. 3-4),
wherein the lenses (L1-L3) constituting the lens include at least one resin lens (para. [0078]), and
the metal film (39) is formed to cover at least a bonding portion side surface of the resin lens and another lens adjacent to the resin lens (i.e., L2 and L3, Figs. 3-4).
Regarding the product-by-process limitation of “laminating a plurality of lenses,” it has been recognized that “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113.
Haraguchi fails to explicitly disclose a laminated lens.
However, Olympus discloses an imaging unit (1, Figs. 1-4) comprising a laminated lens (30; para. [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a laminated lens, as in Olympus, into the imaging unit of Haraguchi to securely stack the lenses together for stability.
Regarding claim 2, Haraguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the resin lens is bonded to the other adjacent lens with an adhesive.
However, Olympus discloses wherein the resin lens (31B, 32B, or 32C) is bonded to the other adjacent lens (31A or 32A) with an adhesive (Figs. 2-3; para. [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the resin lens is bonded to the other adjacent lens with an adhesive, as in Olympus, into the imaging unit of Haraguchi to securely stack the lenses together for stability.
Regarding claim 3, Haraguchi discloses wherein, among the lenses constituting the laminated lens, the lens located on a side closest to an object is a glass lens (L1; para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Haraguchi discloses wherein an insulating resin (17; paras. [0081-0082]) is formed on a side circumferential surface of the glass lens (L1).
Regarding claim 5, Haraguchi discloses a resin frame (61 and/or 65) covering an outer circumference of the laminated lens (LNZ, 35) around which the metal film (39) is formed (paras. [0110, 0122, 0124]).
Regarding claim 6, Haraguchi discloses further comprising:
an image sensor (33) provided on an imaging surface side of the laminated lens (LNZ, 35) (Figs. 3-4); and
a conductive member (39, 59 and/or 65) provided to connect the metal film (39) and a GND terminal of the image sensor (Fig. 3; paras. [0101, 0119]).
Regarding claim 7, Haraguchi discloses a conductive member (39 and/or 65) provided to connect the metal film (39) and a metal frame (69) provided around the laminated lens (LNZ, 35) (Figs. 3-4; para. [0127]).
Regarding claim 8, Haraguchi discloses wherein the metal film (39) is formed by sputtering.
Regarding the product-by-process limitation of “formed by sputtering,” it has been recognized that “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 9, Haraguchi discloses an endoscope (11) configured by mounting the imaging unit according to any one of claims 1 to 8 on a tip of a scope (15) (Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871