DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed November 6, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 10-2024-0035058 filed in Korea on March 13, 2024 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted November 6, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (November 6, 2024) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed November 6, 2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed November 6, 2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
8. Claims 1-20 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Use of the words “a control signal generator configured” in claim 1, and “a gate driver configured to, a plurality of gate pads configured to, a timing controller configured to and a control signal generator configured to” in claim 8 and “control signal generator configured to” in claim 15, with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20180284926 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 20090146940 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Kim et al. discloses a timing controller (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432) comprising: a control signal configured to generate a plurality of control signals (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432); an output pad unit including a plurality of output pads for outputting the plurality of control signals to an outside of the timing controller (Kim, see paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers), wherein the plurality of output pads are grouped into a plurality of sub pad groups and each of the plurality of sub pad groups includes P output pads (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and paragraph [0109], where Kim discloses that the touch driving unit 460 may receive a sensing signal output from the touch electrodes 110 through the demultiplexer 200 and the driving pads 310) , and wherein P represents a number of output pads in each of the plurality of sub pad groups and the P output pads are electrically connected with each other (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and Es1 through Esn connected to 321 in figure 3 and Gs1 through Gs4 connected to 322 in figure 3); and a plurality of transmission lines connecting the output pad unit to the control signal (Kim, see ES1 through Esn and Gs1 through Gs4 in figure 3 and paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers), wherein the P output pads are adjacent to each other in a first direction, and the output pad unit is spaced apart from the control signal in a second direction crossing the first direction (Kim, see Es1, Es2, Esn adjacent to each other and control signal in a second direction 101 in figure 3).
Kim differs from the claimed subject matter in that Kim does not explicitly disclose a control signal generator. However in an analogous art, Kang discloses a control signal generator (Kang, see control signal generator 120 in figure 9 and paragraphs [0069] and [0070], where Kang discloses that the data IC 116 further includes a signal controller 120 for interfacing with various control signals from the timing controller 108 and the pixel data VD, and a gamma voltage part 132 for supplying positive and negative gamma voltages required for the DAC 138. The signal controller 120 controls various control signals (i.e., SSP, SSC, SOE, REV and POL, etc.) from the timing controller 108 and the pixel data VD so as to output them to the corresponding elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim with Kang. One would be motivated to modify Kim by disclosing a control signal generator as taught by Kang, and thereby improving the working efficiency of the liquid crystal display device, as well as reducing manufacturing cost (Kang, see paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 2:
Kim in view of Kang discloses that the timing controller according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of output pads included in the output pad unit has a first length in the first direction and a second length in the second direction, and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Kim, see 321 length is longer than the length of 322 in figure 3).
As to Claim 4:
Kim in view of Kang discloses that the timing controller according to claim 1, wherein the output pad unit further includes a plurality of dummy pads that do not output the control signals to the outside (Kang, see paragraph [0096], where Kang discloses that when a value of the first and second channel selection signals Pl and P2 applied to the data IC 216 is '00', by connecting each of the first and second option pins OPl and OP2 to the ground voltage source GND, the data IC 216 outputs pixel data via the first data output channel group 260 having the 1st to 300th output channels. From the 642 data output channels available and the second data output channel group 262 having the 343rd from the 642nd output channels available as shown in FIG.11. The dummy data output channel group 264 has the 301st to 342nd output channels which are treated as dummy lines).
As to Claim 5:
Kim in view of Kang discloses that the timing controller according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sub pad groups is connected to the control signal generator through a corresponding one of the plurality of transmission lines (Kim, see ES1 through Esn and Gs1 through Gs4 in figure 3 and paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers).
As to Claim 6:
Kim in view of Kang discloses that the timing controller according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub pad groups include a first sub pad group and a second sub pad group (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3), wherein the first sub pad group (Kim, see Es1, Es2, Esn in figure 3) and the second sub pad (Kim, see Gs1, Gs2, Gs3, Gs4 in figure 3) group are adjacent to each other in the second direction (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3), wherein the plurality of transmission lines include a first transmission line connected to the first sub pad group and a second transmission line connected to the second sub pad group (Kim, see 321 connected to 322 through M1 and M3 in figure 3), and wherein at least a portion of the first transmission line overlaps the second transmission line in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (Kim, see 321, 322 in a third direction perpendicular through 213, 211 in figure 3).
As to Claim 8:
Kim et al. discloses a display device (Kim, see paragraph [0002], where Kim discloses that the technical field relates to a touch sensor, a driving method of the touch sensor, and a display device including the touch sensor) comprising: a plurality of pixels (Kim, see paragraph [0030], where Kim discloses that a display device that includes the following elements: a substrate including a first region and a second region; pixels located on the first region) connected to a plurality of gate lines (Kim, see Scan lines S1 through Sp in figure 12 and paragraph [0281], where Kim discloses that referring to FIG. 12, the pixels 410 may be connected to data lines Dl, D2, D3, D4 to Dq and the scan lines Sl, S2, S3, S4 to Sp-1, Sp. For example, the pixels 410 may be arranged in a matrix form in intersection portions of the data lines Dl to Dq and the scan lines Sl to Sp); a gate driver (Kim, see Scan Driver 431 in figure 12 and paragraph [0286], where Kim discloses that the scan driver 431 may supply scan signals to the scan lines Sl to Sp in response to a scan driver control signal SCS. For example, the scan driver 431 may sequentially supply scan signals to the scan lines Sl to Sp) configured to supply a plurality of gate signals (Kim, see gate signals S1 through Sp connected to pixels 410 in figure 12) to the plurality of pixels (Kim, see pixels 410 in figure 12) through the plurality of gate lines (Kim, see Scan Driver 431 in figure 12 and paragraph [0286], where Kim discloses that the scan driver 431 may supply scan signals to the scan lines Sl to Sp in response to a scan driver control signal SCS. For example, the scan driver 431 may sequentially supply scan signals to the scan lines Sl to Sp); a plurality of gate pads configured to transmit a plurality of control signals to the gate driver through a plurality of control lines (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432); and a timing controller configured to supply the plurality of control signals (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432) to the plurality of gate pads (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and paragraph [0109], where Kim discloses that the touch driving unit 460 may receive a sensing signal output from the touch electrodes 110 through the demultiplexer 200 and the driving pads 310), wherein the timing controller (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12) comprises: a control signal configured to generate the plurality of control signals (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432); an output pad unit including a plurality of output pads for outputting the plurality of control signals to an outside of the timing controller (Kim, see paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers), wherein the plurality of output pads are grouped into a plurality of sub pad groups and each of the plurality of sub pad groups includes P output pads (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and paragraph [0109], where Kim discloses that the touch driving unit 460 may receive a sensing signal output from the touch electrodes 110 through the demultiplexer 200 and the driving pads 310), and wherein P represents a number of output pads in each of the plurality of sub pad groups and the P output pads are electrically connected with each other (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and Es1 through Esn connected to 321 in figure 3 and Gs1 through Gs4 connected to 322 in figure 3); and a plurality of transmission lines connecting the output pad unit to the control signal (Kim, see ES1 through Esn and Gs1 through Gs4 in figure 3 and paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers), wherein the P output pads are adjacent to each other in a first direction, and the output pad unit is spaced apart from the control signal in a second direction crossing the first direction (Kim, see Es1, Es2, Esn adjacent to each other and control signal in a second direction 101 in figure 3).
Kim differs from the claimed subject matter in that Kim does not explicitly disclose a control signal generator. However in an analogous art, Kang discloses a control signal generator (Kang, see control signal generator 120 in figure 9 and paragraphs [0069] and [0070], where Kang discloses that the data IC 116 further includes a signal controller 120 for interfacing with various control signals from the timing controller 108 and the pixel data VD, and a gamma voltage part 132 for supplying positive and negative gamma voltages required for the DAC 138. The signal controller 120 controls various control signals (i.e., SSP, SSC, SOE, REV and POL, etc.) from the timing controller 108 and the pixel data VD so as to output them to the corresponding elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim with Kang. One would be motivated to modify Kim by disclosing a control signal generator as taught by Kang, and thereby improving the working efficiency of the liquid crystal display device, as well as reducing manufacturing cost (Kang, see paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 9:
Kim in view of Kang discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of output pads included in the output pad unit has a first length in the first direction and a second length in the second direction, and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Kim, see 321 length is longer than the length of 322 in figure 3).
As to Claim 11:
Kim in view of Kang discloses that the display device according to claim 8, wherein the output pad unit further includes a plurality of dummy pads that do not output the control signals to the outside (Kang, see paragraph [0096], where Kang discloses that when a value of the first and second channel selection signals Pl and P2 applied to the data IC 216 is '00', by connecting each of the first and second option pins OPl and OP2 to the ground voltage source GND, the data IC 216 outputs pixel data via the first data output channel group 260 having the 1st to 300th output channels. From the 642 data output channels available and the second data output channel group 262 having the 343rd from the 642nd output channels available as shown in FIG.11. The dummy data output channel group 264 has the 301st to 342nd output channels which are treated as dummy lines).
As to Claim 12:
Kim in view of Kang discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of sub pad groups is connected to the control signal generator through a corresponding one of the plurality of transmission lines (Kim, see ES1 through Esn and Gs1 through Gs4 in figure 3 and paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers).
As to Claim 13:
Kim in view of Kang discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of sub pad groups include a first sub pad group and a second sub pad group (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3), wherein the first sub pad group (Kim, see Es1, Es2, Esn in figure 3) and the second sub pad (Kim, see Gs1, Gs2, Gs3, Gs4 in figure 3) group are adjacent to each other in the second direction (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3), wherein the plurality of transmission lines include a first transmission line connected to the first sub pad group and a second transmission line connected to the second sub pad group (Kim, see 321 connected to 322 through M1 and M3 in figure 3), and wherein at least a portion of the first transmission line overlaps the second transmission line in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (Kim, see 321, 322 in a third direction perpendicular through 213, 211 in figure 3).
As to Claim 15:
Kim et al. discloses a timing controller (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432) comprising: a control signal configured to generate a plurality of control signals (Kim, see timing controller 435 in figure 12 and paragraph [0290], where Kim discloses that the timing controller 435 may generate control signals for controlling the scan driver 431 and the data driver 432); an output pad unit including a plurality of output pads for outputting the plurality of control signals to an outside of the timing controller (Kim, see paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers), wherein the plurality of output pads are grouped into a plurality of sub pad groups arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns and each of the plurality of sub pad groups includes P output pads (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and paragraph [0109], where Kim discloses that the touch driving unit 460 may receive a sensing signal output from the touch electrodes 110 through the demultiplexer 200 and the driving pads 310), and wherein P represents a number of output pads in each of the plurality of sub pad groups and the P output pads are electrically connected with each other (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and Es1 through Esn connected to 321 in figure 3 and Gs1 through Gs4 connected to 322 in figure 3); and a plurality of transmission lines (Kim, see ES1 through Esn and Gs1 through Gs4 in figure 3 and paragraph [0015], where Kim discloses that the touch sensor may further include: first control pads located on the substrate, the first control pads providing the first control signals to the first demultiplexers; and second control pads located on the substrate, the second control pads providing the second control signals to the second demultiplexers), each of the plurality of transmission lines connecting a corresponding one of the plurality of sub pad groups to the control signal (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3 and Es1 through Esn connected to 321 in figure 3 and Gs1 through Gs4 connected to 322 in figure 3), wherein the P output pads are adjacent to each other in a first direction, and the output pad unit is spaced apart from the control signal in a second direction crossing the first direction (Kim, see Es1, Es2, Esn adjacent to each other and control signal in a second direction 101 in figure 3), wherein each of the plurality of rows extends in the first direction (Kim, see 321 in figure 3), and the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Kim, see 322 in figure 3), and wherein each of the plurality of columns extend in the second direction, and the plurality of columns are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Kim, see 321, 322, 101 and 102 in figure 3).
Kim differs from the claimed subject matter in that Kim does not explicitly disclose a control signal generator. However in an analogous art, Kang discloses a control signal generator (Kang, see control signal generator 120 in figure 9 and paragraphs [0069] and [0070], where Kang discloses that the data IC 116 further includes a signal controller 120 for interfacing with various control signals from the timing controller 108 and the pixel data VD, and a gamma voltage part 132 for supplying positive and negative gamma voltages required for the DAC 138. The signal controller 120 controls various control signals (i.e., SSP, SSC, SOE, REV and POL, etc.) from the timing controller 108 and the pixel data VD so as to output them to the corresponding elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim with Kang. One would be motivated to modify Kim by disclosing a control signal generator as taught by Kang, and thereby improving the working efficiency of the liquid crystal display device, as well as reducing manufacturing cost (Kang, see paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 16:
Kim in view of Kang discloses the timing controller of claim 15, wherein the P is three (Kim, see 321 and 322 in figure 3).
As to Claim 19:
Kim in view of Kang discloses that the timing controller of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of output pads included in the output pad unit has a first length in the first direction and a second length in the second direction, and wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Kim, see 321 length is longer than the length of 322 in figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 10, 14, 17, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 3, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of output pads included in the output pad unit are arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, wherein each of the plurality of rows extends in the first direction, and the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the second direction, wherein each of the plurality of columns extends in the second direction, and the plurality of columns are spaced apart from each other in the first direction, wherein output pads in each of the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the first direction by a third length, and wherein output pads in each of the plurality of columns are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a fourth length longer than the third length”.
Referring to claim 7, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the first sub pad group outputs a first control signal among the plurality of control signals to the outside of the timing controller through the first transmission line, wherein the second sub pad group outputs a second control signal among the plurality of control signals to the outside of the timing controller through the second transmission line, and wherein the second control signal is different from the first control signal”.
Referring to claim 10, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of output pads included in the output pad unit are arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, wherein each of the plurality of rows extends in the first direction, and the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the second direction, wherein each of the plurality of columns extends in the second direction, and the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the first direction, wherein output pads in each of the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the first direction by a third length, and wherein output pads in each of the plurality of columns are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a fourth length longer than the third length”.
Referring to claim 14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the first sub pad group outputs a first control signal among the plurality of control signals to the outside of the timing controller through the first transmission line, wherein the second sub pad group outputs a second control signal among the control signals to the outside of the timing controller through the second transmission line, and wherein the second control signal is different from the first control signal”.
Referring to claim 17, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein each of the plurality of sub pad groups is consisted of a first output pad, a second output pad, and a third output pad that are spaced apart from each other in the first direction and connected with each other, and wherein the second output pad is disposed between the first output pad and the third output pad”.
Referring to claim 18, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein each of the plurality of transmission lines includes a first portion connected to a first output pad of a corresponding one of the plurality of sub pad groups, two second portions connecting the first output pad to the second output pad and the third output pad to the second output pad, respectively, and a third portion which is electrically connected to a gate pad of a display panel”.
Referring to claim 20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein output pads in each of the plurality of rows are spaced apart from each other in the first direction by a third length, and wherein output pads in each of the plurality of columns are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a fourth length longer than the third length.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Lee (US 12135850 B2) discloses a touch display device can include a substrate having a display area and a non-display area located outside of the display area; at least one subpixel disposed in the display area including a display anode electrode, an emission layer and a display cathode electrode; and a display driving transistor disposed in the display area and being configured to drive the display anode electrode. Also, the touch display device can include a touch electrode disposed in the display area; a touch driving transistor disposed in the display area and configured to drive the touch electrode, the touch driving transistor including a first active layer, a first source electrode, a first drain electrode and a first gate electrode; and a control transistor configured to control turn-on and turn-off operations of the touch driving transistor, and including a second active layer, a second source electrode, a second drain electrode and a second gate electrode.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624