DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a physical connection configured to couple to a neonatal patch,” in claim 1 and 11, which corresponds to “pins, plugs, or sockets” (see para [0058] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the claim terms “charger” and “battery charger” are ambiguous. It is unclear whether the same charger is being referred to or if these are different chargers. The claim is examined under the former interpretation.
For claims 5 and 15, the claim term “the health” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined a this being a newly introduced claim term.
For claims 7 and 17, the claim term “the alarm” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined a this being a newly introduced claim term.
Dependent claim(s) 2-10 and 16-17 fail to cure the ambiguity of 1 and 15, thus claim(s) 1-10 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0330885 to Xu in view of GB 2 389 535 to Tierney and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0389945 to Burkholz et al. (hereinafter “Burkholz”).
For claim 1, Tierney discloses a system (Abstract) with charger, comprising:
a neonatal patch (“wearable patch,” para [0102] and [0128]) that is configured to measure signals from a patient (para [0102] and [0128]);
a wireless communication interface (“bidirectional wireless communication system,” para [0094]);
a rechargeable battery (“battery,” para [0095] and “rechargeable battery,” claim 20); and
a battery charger that is configured to convert ambient radiation into an electrical current (solar cell,” para [0095]), and charge the rechargeable battery using the electrical current (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
Xu does not expressly disclose that the system is a neonatal pod.
However, Tierney teaches that the system is a neonatal pod (Abstract) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu such that the system is a neonatal pod, in view of the teachings of Tierney, for the obvious advantage of applying the same principles of Xu to a baby in a controlled microclimate after the baby is born.
Xu and Tierney do not expressly disclose a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch.
However, Burkholz teaches a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch (para [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Burkholz, as another medium by which data can be transferred or instructions can be sent to the patch (in addition, or alternate, to a wireless medium).
For claim 2, Xu further discloses wherein the battery charger comprises a solar charger (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
For claim 5, Xu further discloses a processing device (“computer” or “computing apparatus,” para [0151]); and a memory device (“memory,” para [0151]) configured to store instructions executable by the processing device (para [0151]) to use the wireless communication interface to provide the signals over a network (see Fig. 4) to a base station (see “Base station” in Fig. 4) configured to make determinations about the health of the patient based on the signals (see Fig. 16) (also see para [0033], [0039], and [0102]).
For claim 9, Xu further discloses wherein the signals represent a physiological condition of the patient (para [0102] and [0128]).
For claim 10, Xu further discloses wherein the patch is selected from a group consisting of an electrocardiogram patch, a core temperature patch, a peripheral temperature patch, a respiratory rate patch, a pulse rate patch, and a specific percentage of oxygen patch (para [0102] and [0128]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney and Burkholz, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0183711 to Abbate.
For claim 3, Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Tierney wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
For claim 4, Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney and Burkholz, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0373007 to Hall et al. (hereinafter “Hall”).
For claim 6, Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0069]); and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network (para [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of saving the data so that it can be transmitted once connection is restored.
For claim 7, Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate the alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches an alarm device (para [0077]), and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate the alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate the alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of indicating to a user and/or healthcare provider the status of the wireless connection.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney and Burkholz, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0231235 to Jeong et al. (hereinafter “Jeong”).
For claim 8, Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to determine a type of the neonatal patch.
However, Jeong teaches wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to determine a type of the patch (para [0171]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to determine a type of the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Jeong, for the obvious advantage of allowing the patch to determine the biometric information to be measured so that the appropriate analyses can be applied and displays be presented to the user.
Claim(s) 11-12, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney.
For claim 11, Xu discloses a system (Abstract), comprising:
a processing device (“computer” or “computing apparatus,” para [0151]); and
a memory device (“memory,” para [0151]) configured to store instructions executable by the processing device (para [0151]);
a neonatal patch (“wearable patch,” para [0102] and [0128]) that is configured to measure signals from a patient (para [0102] and [0128]);
a wireless communication interface (“bidirectional wireless communication system,” para [0094]);
a rechargeable battery (“battery,” para [0095] and “rechargeable battery,” claim 20); and
a battery charger that is configured to convert ambient radiation into an electrical current (solar cell,” para [0095]), and charge the rechargeable battery using the electrical current (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
Xu does not expressly disclose a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch.
However, Burkholz teaches a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch (para [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Burkholz, as another medium by which data can be transferred or instructions can be sent to the patch (in addition, or alternate, to a wireless medium).
For claim 12, Xu further discloses wherein the battery charger comprises a solar charger (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
For claim 15, Xu further discloses wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to use the wireless communication interface to provide the signals over a network (see Fig. 4) to a base station (see “Base station” in Fig. 4) configured to make determinations about the health of the patient based on the signals (see Fig. 16) (also see para [0033], [0039], and [0102]).
For claim 19, Xu further discloses wherein the signals represent a physiological condition of the patient (para [0102] and [0128]).
For claim 20, Xu further discloses wherein the patch is selected from a group consisting of an electrocardiogram patch, a core temperature patch, a peripheral temperature patch, a respiratory rate patch, a pulse rate patch, and a specific percentage of oxygen patch (para [0102] and [0128]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney, and further in view of Abbate.
For claim 13, Xu and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Tierney wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
For claim 14, Xu and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Burkholz, and further in view of Hall.
For claim 16, Xu and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0069]); and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network (para [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of saving the data so that it can be transmitted once connection is restored.
For claim 17, Xu, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate the alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches an alarm device (para [0077]), and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate the alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate the alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of indicating to a user and/or healthcare provider the status of the wireless connection.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Burkholz, and further in view of Jeong.
For claim 18, Xu and Burkholz do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to determine a type of the neonatal patch.
However, Jeong teaches wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to determine a type of the patch (para [0171]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to determine a type of the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Jeong, for the obvious advantage of allowing the patch to determine the biometric information to be measured so that the appropriate analyses can be applied and displays be presented to the user.
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791