DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 8/19/26, amended claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, 15, and 17, and canceled claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a mechanical connection configured to couple the neonatal pod to a neonatal patch,” in claim 1, which corresponds to “pins, plugs, or sockets” (see para [0058] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed); and “a mechanical connection between a neonatal pod and the neonatal patch; the mechanical connection, which is configured to couple to the neonatal pod to the neonatal patch,” in claim 11, which corresponds to “pins, plugs, or sockets” (see para [0058] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the claim terms “charger” (line 1) and “a charger” (line 6) are ambiguous. It is unclear whether the same charger is being referred to or if these are different chargers. The claim is examined under the former interpretation.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7 and 9-10 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9-12, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0330885 to Xu in view of GB 2 389 535 to Tierney, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0389945 to Burkholz et al. (hereinafter “Burkholz”), and U.S. Patent No. 6,740,033 to Olejniczak et al. (hereinafter “Olejniczak”).
For claim 1, Tierney discloses a system (Abstract) with charger, comprising:
a neonatal patch (“wearable patch,” para [0102] and [0128]) that is configured to measure signals from a patient (para [0102] and [0128]);
a wireless communication interface (“bidirectional wireless communication system,” para [0094]);
a rechargeable battery (“battery,” para [0095] and “rechargeable battery,” claim 20); and
a charger that is configured to convert ambient radiation into an electrical current (solar cell,” para [0095]), and charge the rechargeable battery using the electrical current (“solar cell,” para [0095]);
a processing device (“computer” or “computing apparatus,” para [0151]); and
a memory device (“memory,” para [0151]) configured to store instructions executable by the processing device to use the wireless communication interface (para [0151]).
Xu does not expressly disclose that the system is a neonatal pod.
However, Tierney teaches that the system is a neonatal pod (Abstract) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu such that the system is a neonatal pod, in view of the teachings of Tierney, for the obvious advantage of applying the same principles of Xu to a baby in a controlled microclimate after the baby is born.
Xu and Tierney do not expressly disclose a mechanical connection configured to couple the neonatal pod to the neonatal patch.
However, Burkholz teaches a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal pod to the neonatal patch (para [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include a mechanical connection configured to couple the neonatal pod to the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Burkholz, as another medium by which data can be transferred or instructions can be sent to the patch (in addition, or alternate, to a wireless medium).
Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose determining a type of neonatal patch based on the mechanical connection between the neonatal pod and the neonatal patch.
However, Olejniczak teaches determining a type of patch (Examiner’s Note: construed in view of para [0050] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed) based on the mechanical connection between two structures (col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 3) (see col. 5, lines 57-67 for a list of parameters that can be monitored).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include determining a type of neonatal patch based on the mechanical connection between the neonatal pod and the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Olejniczak, for the obvious advantage of automating parameter selection so that a user of the device doesn’t have to manually input what parameter is being measured.
For claim 2, Xu further discloses wherein the battery charger comprises a solar charger (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
For claim 5, Xu further discloses a processing device (“computer” or “computing apparatus,” para [0151]); and a memory device (“memory,” para [0151]) configured to store instructions executable by the processing device (para [0151]) to use the wireless communication interface to provide the signals over a network (see Fig. 4) to a base station (see “Base station” in Fig. 4) configured to make determinations about a health of the patient based on the signals (see Fig. 16) (also see para [0033], [0039], and [0102]).
For claim 9, Xu further discloses wherein the signals represent a physiological condition of the patient (para [0102] and [0128]).
For claim 10, Xu further discloses wherein the patch is selected from a group consisting of an electrocardiogram patch, a core temperature patch, a peripheral temperature patch, a respiratory rate patch, a pulse rate patch, and a specific percentage of oxygen patch (para [0102] and [0128]).
For claim 11, Xu discloses a system (Abstract), comprising:
a processing device (“computer” or “computing apparatus,” para [0151]); and
a memory device (“memory,” para [0151]) configured to store instructions executable by the processing device (para [0151]) to use a wireless communication interface (“bidirectional wireless communication system,” para [0094]);
a neonatal patch (“wearable patch,” para [0102] and [0128]) that is configured to measure signals from a patient (para [0102] and [0128]);
the wireless communication interface (“bidirectional wireless communication system,” para [0094]);
a rechargeable battery (“battery,” para [0095] and “rechargeable battery,” claim 20); and
a battery charger that is configured to convert ambient radiation into an electrical current (solar cell,” para [0095]), and charge the rechargeable battery using the electrical current (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
Xu does not expressly disclose a neonatal pod.
However, Tierney teaches a neonatal pod (Abstract) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include a neonatal pod, in view of the teachings of Tierney, for the obvious advantage of applying the same principles of Xu to a baby in a controlled microclimate after the baby is born.
Xu and Tierney do not expressly disclose a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch.
However, Burkholz teaches a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch (para [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include a physical connection configured to couple to the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Burkholz, as another medium by which data can be transferred or instructions can be sent to the patch (in addition, or alternate, to a wireless medium).
Xu, Tierney, and Burkholz do not expressly disclose determining a type of neonatal patch based on the mechanical connection between a neonatal pod and the neonatal patch.
However, Olejniczak teaches determining a type of patch (Examiner’s Note: construed in view of para [0050] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed) based on the mechanical connection between two structures (col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 3) (see col. 5, lines 57-67 for a list of parameters that can be monitored).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include determining a type of neonatal patch based on the mechanical connection between a neonatal pod and the neonatal patch, in view of the teachings of Olejniczak, for the obvious advantage of automating parameter selection so that a user of the device doesn’t have to manually input what parameter is being measured.
For claim 12, Xu further discloses wherein the battery charger comprises a solar charger (“solar cell,” para [0095]).
For claim 15, Xu further discloses wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to use the wireless communication interface to provide the signals over a network (see Fig. 4) to a base station (see “Base station” in Fig. 4) configured to make determinations about a health of the patient based on the signals (see Fig. 16) (also see para [0033], [0039], and [0102]).
For claim 19, Xu further discloses wherein the signals represent a physiological condition of the patient (para [0102] and [0128]).
For claim 20, Xu further discloses wherein the patch is selected from a group consisting of an electrocardiogram patch, a core temperature patch, a peripheral temperature patch, a respiratory rate patch, a pulse rate patch, and a specific percentage of oxygen patch (para [0102] and [0128]).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney, Burkholz, and Olejniczak, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0183711 to Abbate.
For claim 3, Xu, Tierney, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Tierney wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
For claim 4, Xu, Tierney, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
For claim 13, Xu, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Tierney wherein the battery charger comprises a thermal charger, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
For claim 14, Xu, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current.
However, Abbate teaches wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current (para [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the thermal charger converts thermal energy from a body of the patient to electrical current, in view of the teachings of Abbate, just as another way to generate electrical current from an environment.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tierney, Burkholz, and Olejniczak, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0373007 to Hall et al. (hereinafter “Hall”).
For claim 6, Xu, Tierney, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0069]); and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network (para [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of saving the data so that it can be transmitted once connection is restored.
For claim 7, Xu, Tierney, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate an alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches an alarm device (para [0077]), and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate an alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate an alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of indicating to a user and/or healthcare provider the status of the wireless connection.
For claim 16, Xu, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0069]); and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network (para [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to: determine that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network; and store the signals in the memory device until the wireless communication interface is re-connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of saving the data so that it can be transmitted once connection is restored.
For claim 17, Xu, Burkholz, and Olejniczak do not expressly disclose an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate an alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network.
However, Hall teaches an alarm device (para [0077]), and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate an alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network (para [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Xu to include an alarm device, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processing device to activate an alarm in response to determining that the wireless communication interface is not connected to the network, in view of the teachings of Hall, for the obvious advantage of indicating to a user and/or healthcare provider the status of the wireless connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not address the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments presented in the response filed 8/19/26.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791