DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2025 and 05/14/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyghambarian et al. (US. Pub. No. 2006/0164593, hereinafter “Peyghambarian”) in view of Chung et al. (US. Pub. No. 2004/0008179, hereinafter “Chung”).
As to claim 1, Peyghambarian discloses an electro-active lens [figure 4, abstract, electroactive lens] comprising:
a first plastic substrate [figure 4, first substate 410 (top), paragraph 51, The substrate can be any material that can provide desired optical transmission and can function in the devices and methods described herein, such as quartz, glass or plastic];
a second plastic substrate [figure 4, second substrate 410 (bottom), paragraph 51, The substrate can be any material that can provide desired optical transmission and can function in the devices and methods described herein, such as quartz, glass or plastic];
liquid crystal material [figure 4, liquid crystal material 440 disposed between substrates 410] disposed between the first plastic substrate and the second plastic substrate;
first electrodes disposed on the first plastic substrate and separated from each other by first gaps [figures 4 and 5B, first electrodes 420/542 disposed on first plastic substrate and separated from each other by first gaps];
an insulating layer disposed on the first electrodes [figure 5B an insulating layer 550 disposed on first electrode 542, paragraph 66, a layer of insulator 550]; and
second electrodes disposed on the insulating layer, separated from each other by second gaps, and staggered with respect to the first electrodes [figure 5B, second electrodes 544 disposed on 550, separated from each other by gaps and staggered with respect to 542].
Peyghambarian does not disclose first electrodes separated from each other by first gaps of 5 microns;
second electrodes separated from each other by second gaps of 5 microns.
Chung teaches first electrodes separated from each other by first gaps of 5 microns; second electrode separated from each other by second gaps of 5 microns [paragraph 46, the gap between the electrodes may be in the range of about 5 to about 500 microns, preferably about 5 to about 100 microns].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electro-active lens of Peyghambarian to have first electrodes separated from each other by first gaps of 5 microns; second electrodes separated from each other by second gaps of 5 micros, as taught by Chung, in order to be more reliable and easier to install and maintain (Chung, paragraph 15).
As to claim 2, Peyghambarian, as modified by Chung, discloses the electro-active lens of claim 1, wherein the first electrodes are first concentric ring electrodes and the second electrodes are second concentric ring electrodes [Peyghambarian, figures 5A-B, 542 and 544 are first and second concentric ring electrodes].
As to claim 3, Peyghambarian, as modified by Chung, discloses the electro-active lens of claim 2, wherein, when viewed along an optical axis of the electro-active lens, the first concentric ring electrodes appear to occupy the second gaps and the second concentric ring electrodes appear to occupy the first gaps [Peyghambarian, figures 5A-B, when viewed along an optical axis, 542 appear to occupy second gaps and 544 appear to occupy first gaps].
As to claim 4, Peyghambarian, as modified by Chung, discloses the electro-active lens of claim 2, wherein one of the first concentric ring electrodes has a first inner radius and a first outer radius and one of the second concentric ring electrodes has a second inner radius greater than the first inner radius and less than the first outer radius [Peyghambarian, figure 5A, first concentric ring electrodes has a first inner radius and a first outer radius and second concentric ring electrodes has a second inner radius greater than the first inner radius and less than the first outer radius].
As to claim 5, Peyghambarian, as modified by Chung, discloses the electro-active lens of claim 4, wherein the insulating layer is a first insulating layer comprising first insulating material disposed on the first concentric ring electrodes and in the first gaps and electrically isolate the first concentric ring electrodes from each other and from the second concentric ring electrodes [Peyghambarian, paragraph 61, the odd numbered rings may be placed in one electrode layer, and the even numbered rings may be placed in a separate second electrode layer. These two distinct electrode layers may be separated by an insulating layer such as SiO.sub.2].
Claim(s) 9-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyghambarian in view of Karino et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0181089, hereinafter “Karino”).
As to claim 9, Peyghambarian discloses an electro-active lens [figure 4, abstract, electroactive lens] comprising:
a first substantially transparent substrate [figure 4, first substate 410 (top), paragraph 51, The substrate can be any material that can provide desired optical transmission and can function in the devices and methods described herein, such as quartz, glass or plastic, paragraph 67, the transparent substrate];
first electrodes disposed on the first substantially transparent substrate [figures 4 and 5B, first electrodes 420/542 disposed on first substrate];
a first insulating layer disposed on the first electrodes [figure 5B an insulating layer 550 disposed on first electrode 542, paragraph 66, a layer of insulator 550];
second electrodes disposed on the first insulating layer [figure 5B, second electrodes 544 disposed on 550].
Peyghambarian does not disclose a second insulating layer disposed on the second electrodes; and
a resistive bridge connecting one of the first electrodes with one of the second electrodes via a hole patterned in the first insulating layer.
Karino teaches a second insulating layer disposed on second electrodes [figure 4, second insulating layer 4 (section of insulating layer 4 right above 3a) disposed on second electrodes 3a]; and
a resistive bridge connecting one of first electrodes with one of the second electrodes via a hole patterned in a first insulating layer [figure 4, a resistive bridge 6a connecting one of first electrodes 5a with one of second electrodes 3a via a hole patterned in a first insulating layer (section of insulating layer 4 on both sides of 3a)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electro-active lens of Peyghambarian to have a second insulating layer disposed on second electrodes; and a resistive bridge connecting one of first electrodes with one of the second electrodes via a hole patterned in a first insulating layer, as taught by Karino, in order to provide a method of manufacturing the resistive element (Karino, paragraph 5).
As to claim 10, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 9, wherein the first electrodes are staggered radially with respect to the second electrodes [Peyghambarian, figures 5A-B, first electrodes 542 are staggered radially with respect to second electrodes 544].
As to claim 11, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 9, wherein the first electrodes comprise a first ring electrode and the second electrodes comprise a second ring electrode concentric with the first ring electrode [Peyghambarian, figures 5A-B, 542 and 544 are first and second concentric ring electrodes].
As to claim 12, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 11, wherein, when viewed along an optical axis of the electro-active lens, no gap is apparent between the first ring electrode and the second ring electrode concentric [Peyghambarian, figures 5A-B, when viewed along an optical axis of the lens, no gap is apparent between first ring electrode and second ring electrode concentric].
As to claim 13, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 11, wherein the first ring electrode has an outer radius at least equal to an inner radius of the second ring electrode [Peyghambarian, figure 5B, first ring electrode has an outer radius at least equal to an inner radius of second ring electrode].
As to claim 15, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 9, further comprising:
gaps between adjacent pairs of the first electrodes and gaps between adjacent pairs of the second electrodes [Peyghambarian, figures 5A-B, gaps between adjacent pairs of first electrodes and gaps between adjacent pairs of the second electrodes].
As to claim 17, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 15, further comprising:
insulating material disposed in the gaps between the adjacent pairs of the first electrodes and in the gaps between the adjacent pairs of the second electrodes [Karino, figure 4, insulating material 4 disposed in gaps between the adjacent pairs of the first electrodes and in the gaps between the adjacent pairs of the second electrodes]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 9.
As to claim 18, Peyghambarian, as modified by Karino, disclose the electro-active lens of claim 9, further comprising:
a second substantially transparent substrate [Peyghambarian, figure 4, second substrate 410 (bottom), paragraph 51, The substrate can be any material that can provide desired optical transmission and can function in the devices and methods described herein, such as quartz, glass or plastic]; and
liquid crystal material, sandwiched between the first substantially transparent substrate [Peyghambarian, figure 4, liquid crystal material 440 disposed between substrates 410] and the second substantially transparent substrate, to change a focus of the electro-active lens in response to actuation by the first electrodes and/or the second electrodes [Peyghambarian, paragraph 14, "adjustable focusing" means the focal length of the lens is not fixed at one distance as in a conventional optical lens. The focal length of an adjustable focusing lens is adjusted by changing the voltage applied to electrodes by means known in the art, paragraph 17, having lenses that adjust focusing strength based on distance from the object viewed].
As to claim 19, see the above discussion of claim 9.
Claim(s) 16 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyghambarian in view of Karino, further in view of Chung.
As to claim 16, see the above discussion of claim 1.
As to claim 20, see the above discussion of claim 1.
As to claim 21, see the above discussion of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 14 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests the features presented in the combination limitations of dependent claims 6, such as “second insulating material disposed on the second concentric ring electrodes and in the second gaps and electrically isolating the second concentric ring electrodes from each other”, recited by claim 6; “wherein the resistive bridge is a first resistive arc formed in a plane of the first electrodes, the hole is a first hole, and further comprising: a second resistive arc formed in a plane of the second electrodes and connecting another one of the first electrodes with another one of the second electrodes via a second hole patterned in the first insulating layer”, recited by claim 14; and “wherein forming the resistive bridge comprises forming a resistive arc in a plane of the first electrodes”, recited by claim 22.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Towler et al. (US. Pub. No. 2001/0052961, hereinafter “Towler”) is considered as pertinent art to claim 1 regarding liquid crystal is sandwiched between two substrates as seen in figure 4.
/NAN-YING YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629