DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to US application 63/342,520, filed on May 16, 2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is drawn to a viral vector comprising a densovirus (DNV) capsid and a nucleic acid molecule comprising a transgene and recites an intended use of delivery of a transgene into a mammalian cell. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art has the claimed structure, it is capable of performing the intended use, therefore it meets the claim. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81; and MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim 1 is drawn to a viral vector comprised of a DNV capsid and a nucleic acid molecule comprising a transgene—not a method for delivery of a transgene into a mammalian cell. Accordingly, absent evidence to the contrary, any viral vector having the recited structural components was understood to be capable of carrying out the recited function of delivering a transgene to a mammalian cell. Therefore, a prior art reference that teaches a viral vector comprised of DNV capsid and a nucleic acid molecule comprising a transgene would anticipate the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 21 – 24, 26, 27, 29, 30, and 49, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 26 recite, inter alia, “engineered CRISPR-Cas system.” Claims 21 and 24 recite, inter alia, “engineered replicase.”
It is unclear how—or if—the recitation of “engineered CRISPR-Cas system” and “engineered replicase” result, e.g., in a CRISPR-Cas system or replicase that is different than an equivalent CRISPR-Cas system or replicase found in nature with an identical amino/nucleic acid sequence. For purposes of compact prosecution and applying prior art, “engineered” systems or proteins was broadly interpreted to mean a naturally occurring replicase or protein of a CRISPR-Cas system. It is noted that any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to this rejection. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bossin et al (J Virol, 2003, 10.1128/JVI.77.20.11060-11071.2003, hereinafter, “Bossin”).
Bossin discloses a DNV comprising a DNV capsid and a nucleic acid molecule comprising a transgene. Bossin discloses a Junonia coenia densovirus (JcDNV) modified to include a green fluorescent protein (GFP) and a simian virus 40 (SV40) polyadenylation signal fused in frame into ORF1 (Abstract; Section: Plasmid construction). Bossin discloses that the GFP is driven by the P9 capsid protein promoter (Abstract). Bossin also discloses that the NS genes are important for integration (Abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Bossin discloses a viral vector comprising a densovirus capsid and a nucleic acid molecule comprising a transgene (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Bossin discloses the DNV capsid is derived from JcDNV (Abstract; Section: Plasmid construction).
Regarding claim 4, Bossin discloses JcDNV has a 6kb genome (¶2).
Regarding claim 5, Bossin discloses the GFP is operably linked to the regulatory SV40 polyadenylation signal (Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Bossin discloses the viral vector genome comprises a DNV ITR (Figure 1, reproduced below).
Regarding claim 21, Bossin discloses a vector system comprising a DNV cap gene, a rep gene, and a transgene linked to an ITR sequence (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Bossin discloses the DNV cap gene is derived from JcDNV (Abstract; Section: Plasmid construction).
Regarding claim 24, Bossin discloses NS-1 interacts with the JcDNV ITR (Section: Analysis of JcDNV sequences in GFP-fluorescent Sf9 clones ¶2).
Regarding claim 27, Bossin discloses the transgene is linked to a DNV ITR sequence (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 29, Bossin discloses JcDNV has a 6kb genome (¶2).
Regarding claim 30, Bossin discloses the GFP is operably linked to the regulatory SV40 polyadenylation signal (Abstract).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was anticipated by Bossin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, 23, 48, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Bossin as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 above, and further view of Kurstak (Advances in Virus Research, 1972, 10.1016/S0065-3527(08)60751-4, hereinafter, “Kurstak”).
As discussed above, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 were anticipated by the teachings of Bossin.
Bossin does not teach a viral vector derived from Gm DNV.
However, Kurstak teaches the characterization of densovirus capable of infecting Galleria mellonella (Section: Classification and Nomenclature). Kurstak teaches Galleria mellonella densovirus (GmDNV) has similarities to AAV such as both being members of the Parvoviridae family (Section: Antigenic Structure ¶1, 2; Table II). Kurstak teaches the host range of GmDNV is Galleria mellonella and Bombyx mori (Section: Host Range). Furthermore, Kurstak teaches GmDNV has been adapted to infect mammalian cells such as the L cells of mice (Section: Host Range; Section: Infection and Transformation of Mouse L cells; Figure 17). Kurstak also teaches rat embryo fibroblasts were infected by GmDNV (Section: Cotransformation Effect in Rat Embryo Fibroblasts; Figure 20).
Regarding claims 3, 23, 48, and 49, Kurstak teaches a GmDNV can infect mammalian cells (Section: Host Range; Section: Infection and Transformation of Mouse L cells; Figure 17).
Regarding claim 11, Kurstak teaches a method of contacting GmDNV on to mammalian cells (Section: Host Range; Section: Infection and Transformation of Mouse L cells; Figure 17).
Bossin and Kurstak are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they teach the structure and function of DNV. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a GmDNV with a transgene, in the method taught by Bossin, to deliver transgenes to mammalian cells because doing so would allow the expression of transgenes into specific cell types. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying a GmDNV to carry a transgene given that the inclusion of transgenes in DNV is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Bossin as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 above, and further view of Chew et al (Nature methods, 2016, 10.1038/nmeth.3993, hereinafter, “Chew”).
As discussed above, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 were anticipated by the teachings of Bossin.
Bossin does not teach a viral vector for delivery of a CRISPR-Cas system.
However, Chew teaches the use of parvovirus to deliver CRISPR-Cas system components to mammalian cells (Abstract). Chew teaches the use of AAVs to deliver Cas9 is common but the viral vector’s effectiveness is limited by its packaging capacity (Section: Main ¶1). Chew teaches that there is a need to overcome the 4.7 kb payload limit of AAV (Section: Main ¶1). Chew also teaches using a split SpCas9 system to attempt to overcome payload limits of AAV (Section: Split-Cas9 enables AAV delivery of Cas9 fusion proteins).
Regarding claims 7 and 26, Chew teaches the use of a parvovirus to deliver CRISPR-Cas system components to mammalian cells (Abstract). Chew also teaches the need to overcome the 4.7 kb payload limit of AAV (Section: Main ¶1).
Bossin and Chew are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they teach the engineering and use of Parvoviridae. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to load a JcDNV with SpCas9 to target mammalian cells because doing so would overcome the packaging capacity of AAV as JcDNV has a higher packaging capacity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in loading a JcDNV with SpCas9 given that the inclusion of transgenes and carrying capacity of JcDNV are well known, have been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Bossin as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 above, and further view of Kotin et al (US20030148506A1, hereinafter, “Kotin”) and Maghodia et al (US20230084036A1, hereinafter, “Maghodia”).
As discussed above, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 21, 22, 24, 27, 29, and 30 were anticipated by the teachings of Bossin.
Bossin does not teach a nucleic acid molecule comprising an AAV ITR sequence.
However, regarding claim 8, Kotin teaches modifying a species-specific virus to expand host range (Abstract). Kotin teaches a method of producing AAV in insect cells (Abstract). Kotin teaches NS-1 is a DNV equivalent of a AAV Rep protein (¶0052). Kotin teaches that NS-1 has binding/nicking and ATP-dependent helicase activities that closely match other parvoviruses (¶0052). Furthermore, Kotin teaches the construction of a AAV2/JcDNV ITR that includes a NS-1 and AAV Rep protein binind and nick sites (¶0052).
Maghodia teaches the optimization of Factor VIII codons (Abstract). Importantly, Maghodia teaches gene cassettes can be comprised of ITRs of multiple Parvoviridae species (¶0022). Maghodia teaches that a viral genome can be constructed to be comprised of at least one DNV ITR (¶0156).
Bossin, Kotin, and Maghodia are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they teach the engineering and use of Parvoviridae. Together, the prior art teaches parvovirus viral vectors can be comprised of non-homologous ITRs. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a JcDNV with at least one AAV ITR because doing so would increase the viral genome replication efficiency of JcDNV in different hosts such as mammals. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in constructing a JcDNV with at least one AAV ITR given that the construction of parvoviruses with non-homologous ITRs are well known, have been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/DANYAL HASSAN ALAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/THOMAS J. VISONE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672