DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Alessandro et al. (PGPUB 2026/0017635), hereinafter referenced D’Alessandro.
Regarding claim 1, D’Alessandro discloses a method, comprising:
detecting, via one or more electronic communication channels of an electronic platform, a request from a user to interact with the electronic platform (interact with the web; p. 0052-0053, 0059);
predicting, at least in part via a Natural Language Processing (NLP) model, an intent of the user behind the request to interact with the electronic platform (predict intent; p. 0041, 0077-0078, 0113-0121);
determining, at least in part via an Explainable Artificial Intelligence (XAI) model (AI model that has right to explanation for line of credit; p. 0085, 0122, 0145), one or more features associated with the user that contributed to the predicted intent (predict intent; p. 0041, 0077-0078, 0113-0121);
generating, at least in part via a Large Language Model (LLM), a personalized message for the user, wherein the personalized message refers to the intent predicted by the NLP model or the one or more features associated with the user determined by the XAI model that contributed to the predicted intent (predict intent; p. 0041, 0077-0078, 0113-0121); and
providing the personalized message to the user via the one or more electronic communication channels (message to user; p. 0032, 0042, 0059).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, D’Alessandro discloses a method further comprising:
detecting a user action after the personalized message has been provided to the user (message to user; p. 0032, 0042, 0059);
updating, at least in part based on the detected user action and at least in part via one or more of the NLP model, the XAI model, or the LLM, the personalized message for the user (update/train; p. 0029); and
providing the updated personalized message to the user via the one or more electronic communication channels (message to user; p. 0032, 0042, 0059).
Regarding claim 3, D’Alessandro discloses a method wherein:
the personalized message is provided to the user via a first electronic communication channel of the one or more electronic communication channels (message to user; p. 0032, 0042, 0059); and
the updated personalized message is provided to the user via a second electronic communication channel of the one or more electronic communication channels (message to user; p. 0032, 0042, 0059).
Regarding claim 4, D’Alessandro discloses a method wherein the personalized message contains an issue that pertains to the predicted intent and a recommended action for resolving the issue (recommendation; p. 0041-0049).
Regarding claim 5, D’Alessandro discloses a method wherein the one or more electronic communication channels comprise a webpage, an Interactive Voice Response (IVR), a computer chatbot, or an email (interact with the web; p. 0052-0053, 0059).
Regarding claim 7, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, D’Alessandro discloses a system, comprising:
one or more processors (p. 0208-0209); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to cause a machine to perform operations (p. 0208-0209) comprising:
accessing one or more machine learning models that are trained based at least in part on user data associated with one or more user activities of the user on the electronic platform (activities; p. 0170-0175).
Regarding claim 8, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein the experience is generated at least in part by including a reference to a first user activity of the one or more user activities (activities; p. 0170-0175).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein:
the one or more machine learning models comprise a Natural Language Processing (NLP) model (p. 0071, 0113) and an Explainable Artificial Intelligence (XAI) model (AI model that has right to explanation for line of credit; p. 0085, 0122, 0145);
the user intent is determined at least in part via the NLP model (VPA; p. 0038, 0059); and
the experience is determined at least in part via the XAI model (AI model that has right to explanation for line of credit; p. 0085, 0122, 0145).
Regarding claim 10, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein the experience is a first experience, and wherein the operations further comprises:
receiving, from the user, a response to the first experience (transactions; p. 0057);
generating, via the one or more machine learning models and based on the response, a second experience that is personalized to the user (personalized rules; p. 0034, 0064); and
providing the second experience to the user via the user interface (system provide interface tailored to user; p. 0174-0176).
Regarding claim 11, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein:
the one or more machine learning models comprise a Large Language Model (LLM; p. 0058-0059); and
the first experience or the second experience is generated at least in part via the LLM (transactions; p. 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 12, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein:
the first experience comprises a message pertaining to the determined user intent (intent; p. 0029); and
the response comprises a confirmation or a rejection from the user with respect to the determined user intent (receive feedback from the user regarding the intent; p. 0029, 0046-0047).
Regarding claim 13, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein the experience comprises a textual message, a voice message, or a list of menu options (text message; p. 0087).
Regarding claim 14, D’Alessandro discloses a system wherein the experience is provided at least in part by reconfiguring at least one portion of the user interface (system provide interface tailored to user; p. 0174-0176).
Regarding claim 15, D’Alessandro discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon machine-readable instructions executable to cause performance of operations comprising:
generating, based on the predicted intent of the user and via the one or more machine learning models, an experience that is customized to the user (personalized rules; p. 0034, 0064).
Regarding claim 16, D’Alessandro it is interpreted and rejected for the combination of claims 3 and 5.
Regarding claim 17, D’Alessandro discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the experience is communicated at least in part by prompting the user to confirm whether the predicted intent is accurate (receive feedback from the user regarding the intent; p. 0029, 0046-0047).
Regarding claim 18, D’Alessandro discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the experience contains a reference to one or more of the historical interactions of the user with the electronic platform (historical information; p. 0029, 0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Alessandro in view of Venkataraman et al. (USPN 12,183,344), hereinafter referenced as Venkataraman.
Regarding claim 6, D’Alessandro discloses a method as described above, but does not specifically teach a method further comprising:
determining, at least in via the XAI model, one or more attribution scores associated with the one or more features, respectively, wherein each of the one or more attribution scores indicates a degree of contribution of the feature associated therewith to the predicted intent, ranking the one or more features based on their respective attribution scores, identifying a top feature of the one or more features based on the top feature having a highest attribution score, wherein the personalized message refers to the top feature.
Venkataraman discloses a method comprising:
determining one or more attribution scores associated with the one or more features (score), respectively, wherein each of the one or more attribution scores indicates a degree of contribution of the feature associated therewith to the predicted intent (intent prediction; column 16, line 25 – column 17, line 23 and column 19, lines 31-53);
ranking the one or more features based on their respective attribution scores (rank; column 16, lines 25-57 and column 19, lines 31-53); and
identifying a top feature of the one or more features based on the top feature having a highest attribution score, wherein the personalized message refers to the top feature (highest rank; column 16, lines 25-57 and column 19, lines 31-53), to assist with determining the next best action.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to assist with handling a particular intent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Mulligan et al. discloses a chatbot for interactive platforms.
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657