DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Remarks
Claims 1-3 and 8-12 are amended.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GU (CN 104103703 A, see English Machine Translation) in view of SEIKE (US 20120211083 A1) and JIN (US 20180138324 A1).
Regarding claim 1, GU teaches a solar cell (see the thin-film solar cell module, see Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a plurality of subcells sequentially arranged in series in a first direction (see the plurality of solar cell units sequentially arranged in series in left to right direction) (see Fig. 1), wherein the plurality of subcells comprise first electrodes (see the transparent conductive layers 600), and each of the subcells comprises a substrate (see the substrate 100), a second electrode (see the back electrode layer 200), a first charge transport layer disposed on a surface of the second electrode facing away from the substrate (Regarding the claimed “a first charge transport layer disposed on a surface of the second electrode facing away from the substrate”, SEIKE teaches a thin film solar cell wherein Fig. 9 shows that the first charge transport layer is disposed on the surface of the bottom electrode facing away from the substrate (see Fig. 9), and the first charge transport layer is the hole transport layer when the bottom electrode is an anode [0153]. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the hole transport layer pulls positive holes and keeps negative electrons from reaching the anode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the first charge transport layer (hole transport layer) disposed on the surface of the bottom electrode facing away from the substrate in the device of GU as taught by SEIKE, because the first charge transport layer (hole transport layer) provides pulling positive holes and keeping negative electrons from reaching the anode.), a light absorption layer disposed on a surface of the first charge transport layer facing away from the substrate (see the light absorption layer 300 disposed on the surface of the first charge transport layer (hole transport layer) facing away from the substrate 100), a second charge transport layer disposed on a surface of the light absorption layer facing away from the substrate (see the high-resistivity layer 500, which has a charge transport property, disposed on the surface of the light absorption layer 300 facing away from the substrate 100), and a first electrode disposed on a surface of the second charge transport layer facing away from the substrate (see the transparent conductive layer 600 disposed on the surface of the high-resistivity layer 500 facing away from the substrate 100) (see Fig. 1); and
a plurality of grid lines (see the plurality of spaced-apart branches 830), disposed on the first electrodes of the subcells in a one-to-one correspondence mode (see Fig. 1);
wherein the plurality of subcells comprise two first subcells and at least one second subcell, and the at least one second subcell is located between the two first subcells (Fig. 5 shows the method for preparing the thin-film solar cell module, wherein multiple first strip grooves 210 that cut off the back electrode layer 200 are formed at intervals on the back electrode layer 200, and the light absorption layer 300, buffer layer 400, high-resistivity layer 500 and transparent conductive layer 600 are cut by laser scribing or mechanical scribing, exposing part of the back electrode layer 200 to form multiple second strip grooves 700, see [0068]-[0085]; Based on preparing “multiple first strip grooves 210” and “multiple second strip grooves 700”, the plurality of solar cell units are formed on the substrate; The first and last solar cell units are correspond to the claimed “two first subcells” and the middle solar cell units located between the first solar cell unit and the last solar cell unit correspond to the claimed “at least one second subcell is located between the two first subcells”) (see Fig. 1, 5); and the first direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the solar cell (the left to right direction is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the thin-film solar cell module) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding the claimed “wherein an area of orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the first subcells on the two first subcells is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the grid line corresponding to the at least one second subcell on the at least one second subcell”, JIN discloses a solar cell, wherein the area of the finger lines (corresponding to the claimed “grid lines”) at the first and last portions (W2) of the solar cell is greater than the area of the finger lines at the middle portions (W1) of the solar cell (see Fig. 7), or the number of the finger lines (corresponding to the claimed “grid lines”) at the first and last portions (W2) of the solar cell is greater than the number of the finger lines at the middle portions (W1) of the solar cell (see Fig. 9) (which correspond to the claimed “wherein an area of orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the first subcells on the first subcells is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the grid line corresponding to the second subcell on the second subcell”). And, JIN teaches the carriers can be effectively collected in the first and last portions and the output loss can be reduced because of the greater area of the finger lines or the greater number of the finger lines [0087]-[0122]. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the area of the spaced-apart branches or the number of the spaced-apart branches for the first and last solar cell units so as to be greater than those of the spaced-apart branches for the middle solar cell units in GU as taught by Fig. 7 and Fig. 9 of JIN, because the carriers can be effectively collected the first and last solar cell units and the output loss can be reduced and because the change in configuration in an element is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
GU teaches the plurality of grid lines comprise: two first grid lines, wherein the two first grid lines are disposed on the first electrodes of the two first subcells (see the plurality of spaced-apart branches 830 disposed on the transparent conductive layers 600 of the first and last solar cell units) (see the rejection of claim 1 and Figs. 1, 5); and each of the two first grid lines comprises a first bus (see the main bar 810 of the first and last solar cell units) and a plurality of first branch lines (see the plurality of the branch lines of the plurality of spaced-apart branches 830) connected to the first bus (see the rejection of claim 1 and Figs. 1, 5), and the first branch lines are arranged on one side of the first bus at intervals (see Fig. 1); and at least one second grid line, wherein the at least one second grid line is disposed on the first electrode of the at least one second subcell (see the plurality of spaced-apart branches 830 disposed on the transparent conductive layer 600 of the middle solar cell units) (see the rejection of claim 1 and Figs. 1, 5); and the at least one second grid line comprises a second bus (see the main bar 810 of the middle solar cell units) and a plurality of second branch lines (see the plurality of the branch lines of the plurality of spaced-apart branches 830) connected to the second bus (see the rejection of claim 1 and Figs. 1, 5), and the second branch lines are arranged on one side of the second bus at intervals (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified GU teaches the number of the two first branch lines in the first grid lines is greater than the number of the second branch lines in the at least one second grid line (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 9 of JIN); and a distance between any two adjacent first branch lines in the two first grid lines is less than a distance between any two adjacent second branch lines in the at least one second grid line (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 9 of JIN).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified GU teaches an area of an orthographic projection of each of the first branch lines on the corresponding first subcell is equal to an area of an orthographic projection of each of the second branch lines on the corresponding second subcell (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 9 of JIN).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified GU teaches an area of an orthographic projection of each of the first branch lines on the corresponding first subcell is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of each of the second branch lines on the corresponding second subcell (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 7 of JIN).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 4.
Modified GU teaches in the thickness direction of the solar cell, a thickness of each of the first branch lines is equal to a thickness of each of the second branch lines (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 9 of JIN; The shape of the finger lines in the first and last portion are the same as the shape of the finger lines in the middle portion).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Regarding the claimed “wherein thicknesses of the first branch lines and thicknesses of the second branch lines are greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 200 nm; and widths of the first branch lines and widths of the second branch lines are greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 100 μm”, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that when the thicknesses and the widths of the branch lines increase, the shadowing increases, and when the thicknesses and the widths of the branch lines decrease, the resistivity increases. As the shadowing and the resistivity are variables that can be modified by adjusting said thicknesses and widths of the branch lines, the thicknesses and widths would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thicknesses and widths cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thicknesses and widths of the branch lines in mundified GU to obtain the desired balance between the shadowing and the resistivity (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
GU teaches the plurality of subcells further comprise two third subcells (see the second to the first and second to the last solar cell units) (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1), the two third subcells are located between the two first subcells (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1), and each of the at least one second subcell is located between the two third subcells (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1). Regarding the claimed “an area of orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the two third subcells on the two third subcells is greater than the area of the orthographic projection of the grid line corresponding to the at least one second subcell on the at least one second subcell and less than the area of the orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the two first subcells on the two first subcells”, JIN discloses a solar cell, wherein the area of the finger lines (corresponding to the claimed “grid lines”) at the second to the first and the second to the last portions (W1) of the solar cell is greater than the area of the finger lines at the middle portions (W1) of the solar cell and less than the area of the finger lines at the first and last portions (W2) of the solar cell (see Fig. 12) (which correspond to the claimed “an area of orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the third subcells on the third subcells is greater than the area of the orthographic projection of the grid line corresponding to the second subcell on the second subcell and less than the area of the orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the first subcells on the first subcells”). And, JIN teaches the carriers can be effectively collected in the first and last portions and in the second to the first and the second to the last portions and the output loss can be reduced because of the greater area of the finger lines [0087]-[0122]. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the area of the spaced-apart branches for the second to the first and the second to the last solar cell units so as to be greater than the area of the spaced-apart branches for the middle solar cell units and to be less than the area of the spaced-apart branches for the first and last solar cell units in GU as taught by Fig. 12 of JIN, because the carriers can be effectively collected in the first and last solar cell units and in the second to the first and the second to the last solar cell units and the output loss can be reduced, and because the change in configuration in an element is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
GU teaches the corresponding grid line is disposed on a side of the first electrode facing away from the substrate (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
GU teaches extension lines (see the main bars 810) are disposed in the subcells (see Fig. 1); and one end of each of the extension lines (see the top end of each of the main bars 810) is connected to the grid line on the corresponding subcell (see Fig. 1), and the other end of each of the extension lines (see the bottom end of each of the main bars 810) is connected to the second electrode of an adjacent subcell (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, GU teaches a preparation method for a solar cell (see the preparation method for the thin-film solar cell module, see Figs. 1-5), comprising:
forming a first electrode (see the transparent conductive layer 600) on a substrate (see the substrate 100) (see Fig. 1, 5);
forming a plurality of grid lines (see the plurality of spaced-apart branches 830) on the first electrode (see Fig. 1, 5); and
forming a plurality of subcells (see the plurality of solar cell units) (see Fig. 1, 5); wherein
the plurality of subcells are sequentially arranged in series in a first direction (see the plurality of solar cell units sequentially arranged in series in left to right direction) (see Fig. 1);
the plurality of subcells comprise two first subcells and at least one second subcell, and the at least one second subcell is located between the two first subcells (Fig. 5 shows the method for preparing the thin-film solar cell module, wherein multiple first strip grooves 210 that cut off the back electrode layer 200 are formed at intervals on the back electrode layer 200, and the light absorption layer 300, buffer layer 400, high-resistivity layer 500 and transparent conductive layer 600 are cut by laser scribing or mechanical scribing, exposing part of the back electrode layer 200 to form multiple second strip grooves 700, see [0068]-[0085]; Based on preparing “multiple first strip grooves 210” and “multiple second strip grooves 700”, the plurality of solar cell units are formed on the substrate; The first and last solar cell units are correspond to the claimed “two first subcells” and the middle solar cell units located between the first solar cell unit and the last solar cell unit correspond to the claimed “at least one second subcell is located between the two first subcells”) (see Fig. 1, 5);
the grid lines correspond to the subcells one to one (see Fig. 1),
the first direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the solar cell (the left to right direction is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the thin-film solar cell module) (see Fig. 1); and
before the first electrode is formed on the substrate, a second electrode is formed on the substrate (The back electrode layer 200 is formed on the substrate 100), a first charge transport layer is formed on the second electrode (Regarding the claimed “a first charge transport layer is formed on the second electrode”, SEIKE teaches a thin film solar cell wherein Fig. 9 shows that the first charge transport layer is formed on the bottom electrode (see Fig. 9), and the first charge transport layer is the hole transport layer when the bottom electrode is an anode [0153]. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the hole transport layer pulls positive holes and keeps negative electrons from reaching the anode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the first charge transport layer (hole transport layer) on the back electrode layer in the device of GU as taught by SEIKE, because the first charge transport layer (hole transport layer) provides pulling positive holes and keeping negative electrons from reaching the anode.), a light absorption layer is formed on the first charge transport layer (The light absorption layer 300 is formed on the first charge transport layer (hole transport layer)), and a second charge transport layer is formed on the light absorption layer (The transparent conductive layer 600 is formed on the light absorption layer 300) (see Fig. 1, [0046]-[0055]).
Regarding the claimed “an area of orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the two first subcells on the two first subcells is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the grid line corresponding to the at least one second subcell on the at least one second subcell”, JIN discloses a solar cell, wherein the area of the finger lines (corresponding to the claimed “grid lines”) at the first and last portions (W2) of the solar cell is greater than the area of the finger lines at the middle portions (W1) of the solar cell (see Fig. 7), or the number of the finger lines (corresponding to the claimed “grid lines”) at the first and last portions (W2) of the solar cell is greater than the number of the finger lines at the middle portions (W1) of the solar cell (see Fig. 9) (which correspond to the claimed “an area of orthographic projections of the grid lines corresponding to the first subcells on the first subcells is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the grid line corresponding to the second subcell on the second subcell”). And, JIN teaches the carriers can be effectively collected in the first and last portions and the output loss can be reduced because of the greater area of the finger lines or the greater number of the finger lines [0087]-[0122]. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the greater area of the spaced-apart branches or the greater number of the spaced-apart branches for the first and last solar cell units than those of the spaced-apart branches for the middle solar cell units in GU as taught by Fig. 7 and Fig. 9 of JIN, because the carriers can be effectively collected the first and last solar cell units and the output loss can be reduced and because the change in configuration in an element is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GU (CN 104103703 A, see English Machine Translation) in view of SEIKE (US 20120211083 A1) and JIN (US 20180138324 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of YANG (CN 108666426 A, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the light absorption layer comprises a perovskite layers”, YANG discloses a perovskite solar cell module, wherein the perovskite solar cell module comprises multiple single-segment perovskite solar cell units and connection units (see Abstract), the perovskite solar cell module comprises perovskite layers for the light absorption layers (see Figs. 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the perovskite material for the light absorption layers in the device of GU as taught by YANG, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/11/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Applicant’s argument regarding that the prior art does not teach or suggest the new limitation in the amended claims 1 and 12 in P7-P10, is not persuasive.
Modified GU in view of SEIKE teaches “wherein the plurality of subcells comprise first electrodes, and each of the subcells comprises a substrate, a second electrode, a first charge transport layer disposed on a surface of the second electrode facing away from the substrate, a light absorption layer disposed on a surface of the first charge transport layer facing away from the substrate, a second charge transport layer disposed on a surface of the light absorption layer facing away from the substrate, and a first electrode disposed on a surface of the second charge transport layer facing away from the substrate” in claim 1, and “before the first electrode is formed on the substrate, a second electrode is formed on the substrate, a first charge transport layer is formed on the second electrode, a light absorption layer is formed on the first charge transport layer, and a second charge transport layer is formed on the light absorption layer” in claim 12 (see the full rejections of the claims 1 and 12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the modified and/or new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728