DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “set of insulation layers and the set of conductive circuit traces collectively define an additional cross-sectional shape of the FC; and the additional cross-sectional shape is different than the waveform cross-sectional shape, claim 14 and the set of insulation layers and the set of conductive circuit traces collectively define a third cross-sectional shape of the FC disposed between the additional cross-sectional shape and the waveform cross-sectional shape, claim 15” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, the phrase of “wherein the second insulation layer is disposed between the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer” is not understood. Does applicant mean “wherein the second insulation layer is disposed between the first insulation layer and the third insulation layer”? Please, clarify.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase of “the set of insulation layers and the set of conductive circuit traces collectively define an additional cross-sectional shape of the FC; and the additional cross-sectional shape is different than the waveform cross-sectional shape” is not understood because none of the figures that shows the different shape in between the additional and waveform cross section. Please, verify.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase of “the set of insulation layers and the set of conductive circuit traces collectively define a third cross-sectional shape of the FC disposed between the additional cross-sectional shape and the waveform cross-sectional shape” is not understood because none of the figures that shows a third cross-sectional shape of the FC disposed between the additional cross-sectional shape and the waveform cross-sectional shape. Please, verify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipate by Hayashibe et al. (U.S. 2013/0003181).
As to claim 1, Hayashibe discloses a flexible circuit (FC-1, para-0091) as shown in figures 1-3 comprising:
a set of insulation layers (3, 5, 8); and
a set of conductive circuit traces (6) connected to the set of insulation layers (3, 5, 8),
the set of insulation layers (3, 5, and 8) and the set of conductive circuit traces (6) collectively defining a waveform cross-sectional shape of the FC (1), the waveform cross-sectional shape (1B) providing a desired alteration in the flexibility/rigidity of the FC (1) along an axis of the FC.
As to claim 2, Hayashibe discloses in figures 2-3 the waveform cross-sectional shape is a triangular waveform shape, and wherein the triangular waveform shape increases
Flexibility, figure 3, or bendability of the FC (1) perpendicular to a length of the FC.
As to claim 3, Hayashibe discloses in figures 1-3 the waveform cross-sectional shape is a sinusoidal waveform shape (figures 1-2), and wherein the sinusoidal waveform shape increases rigidity or stiffness of the FC (1) along a length of the FC.
As to claim 4, Hayashibe discloses the waveform cross-sectional shape defines a plurality of peaks (Sw) and valleys (the depth of the structures or Lamda, figure 1C).
As to claim 5, Hayashibe discloses a portion of a first insulation layer (5) of the set of insulation layers is removed defining a slit (the cut or the depth of the structures) therethrough.
As to claim 6, Hayashibe discloses a portion of a second insulation layer (8) of the set of insulation layers is removed, the removed portion (the depth of the structure 4) of the first insulation layer (5) and the removed portion of the second insulation layer defining the slit (see figure 2).
As to claim 7, Hayashibe discloses the slit (the cut or the depth of the structures) does not extend through an entire thickness of the second insulation layer.
As best understood to claim 8, Hayashibe discloses the set of insulation layers includes a first insulation layer (3), a second insulation layer (5), and a third insulation layer (8), and wherein the second insulation layer (5) is disposed between the first and the [[second]] third insulation layer.
As to claim 9, Hayashibe discloses the set of conductive circuit traces (6) is disposed within the second insulation layer (5).
As to claim 10, Hayashibe discloses the set of insulation layers includes a first layer (i.e. element 3 with a cross hatching, plastic material, para-0104) and a second layer (i.e. element 5 with another cross hatching or curable resin, para-0092); the first layer comprises a first material; and the second layer comprises a second material that is different than the first material.
As to claim 11, Hayashibe discloses the set of insulation layers includes a first layer (3 or 8) and a second layer (5); the first layer includes a first material property (PLASTIC material); and the second layer includes a second material property (curable resin) that is different than the first material property.
As to claims 12-13, Hayashibe discloses the set of conductive circuit traces (6) is disposed within or between the set of insulation layers.
As to claim 16, Hayashibe discloses a portion of the set of insulation layers (5) is
removed defining a slit (the cut or the depth of the structures) extending partially through the set of insulation layers.
As best understood to claims 14-15, Hayashibe discloses in figures 11 and 21 that the set of insulation layers (52) and the set of conductive circuit traces (6) collectively define an additional cross-sectional shape (figure 21 shows the additional cross-sectional shape on the upper side) of the FC; and the additional cross-sectional shape is different than or the same the waveform cross-sectional shape (the right side shape having Sw), and the set of insulation layers and the set of conductive circuit traces collectively define a third cross-sectional shape (141, figure 21) of the FC disposed between the additional cross-sectional shape (upper shape) and the waveform cross-sectional shape (lower shape).
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847