DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (“High-performance alkaline hydrogen evolution of NiMoP2 nanowire boosted by bimetallic synergic effect,” 2019, International Journal of Hydrogen Energy 44, pp. 23066-23073).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9 and 10: He teaches a molybdenum-doped nickel phosphate catalyst for hydrogen evolution reaction (Abst.), comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2a, pp. 23068:Col. 2 through 23069:Col. 1); and a plurality of molybdenum-doped nickel phosphate nanowires aligned vertically on the substrate (Fig. 2a), wherein the whole nanowire is doped with molybdenum (pp. 23068:Col. 2 through 23069:Col. 1).
Claim 4: He teaches an interplanar distance of 0.28 nm (p. 23069:1).
Claim 8: He teaches that the nanowires have a diameter of 100 nm (23069:1).
Claim 11: He teaches an electrode comprising the catalyst (pp. 23069:2-23070:1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in light of Hu et al. (“Nickel Phosphide Electrocatalysts for Hydrogen Evolution Reaction,” 2020, Catalysts 10, p. 188).
Claim 2: He fails to teach a nickel foil substrate. He teaches a hydrogen evolution reaction catalyst comprising nickel phosphides and explains that nickel foam is a suitable substrate for their formation (p. 7) The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected nickel foam as the substrate in Hu with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 3: He teaches NiP2, but fails to teach NiP or Ni2P as the nickel phosphate. He teaches a hydrogen evolution reaction catalyst comprising nickel phosphides and explains that NiP or Ni2P can be used in place of NiP2 (p. 4). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected NiP or Ni2P in Hu with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in light of Lee et al. (“Transition metal-doped nickel phosphide nanoparticles as electro- and photocatalysts for hydrogen generation reactions,” 2018, Appl. Catalysis B: Environmental 242, pp. 186-193).
Claim 6: He is not clear concerning the amount of dopant included. Lee teaches a transition metal doped nickel phosphide used for hydrogen evolution reactions (Abst.) and explains that the amount of dopant can be adjusted depending on the desired hydrogen production rates (p. 190:2). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a doping concentration of 1-20 wt% depending on the desired hydrogen production rate.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in light of Wang et al. (US 2018/0087163).
Claim 12: While He teaches that the nickel phosphate catalyst is used in an electrode for a hydrogen evolution reaction (Abst.; pp. 23069:2-23070:1), He fails to clearly discuss the structure of the entire hydrogen evolution reaction device. Wang teaches a device for hydrogen evolution reactions and explains that such a device comprises the catalyst-containing electrode, a counter electrode and an electrolyte (¶ 0082). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included a counter electrode and an electrolyte in order to have provided a functional hydrogen evolution reaction device.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712