DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 04/13/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected. Claims 4 and 14 are objected to.
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
This application is a continuation of 17/984,347 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,169,475) and of 16/817,535 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,550,579).
Statutory Review under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are directed toward a system and have been reviewed.
Claims 1-10 initially appear to be statutory, as the system includes hardware (processing circuitry); “circuitry” is considered to be hardware.
The system also includes memory, considered to be hardware as disclosed in ¶ 0069-0070 of the applicant’s specification, “Shared memory hardware encompasses a single memory device that stores some or all code from multiple modules. Group memory hardware encompasses a memory device that, in combination with other memory devices, stores some or all code from one or more modules. The term memory hardware is a subset of the term computer-readable medium. The term computer-readable medium, as used herein, does not encompass transitory electrical or electromagnetic signals propagating through a medium (such as on a carrier wave); the term computer-readable medium is therefore considered tangible and non-transitory.”
Claims 1-10 also appear to be patent-eligible as the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to nesting acquired singular entries corresponding to an extracted information request type, performing a centralized nesting and construction of query results before transmission to an operating device, which shows improved query result display.
These additional claim elements improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Claims 11-20 are directed towards a method and have been reviewed.
Claims 11-20 initially appear to be patent-eligible as the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to nesting acquired singular entries corresponding to an extracted information request type, performing a centralized nesting and construction of query results before transmission to an operating device, which shows improved query result display.
These additional claim elements improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p11, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive.
A terminal disclaimer was electronically filed on 04/11/2026.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp11-12, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made of at least claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 with newly incorporated reference Yazicioglu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2; and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelsen, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0286552 (hereinafter Michelsen) in view of Yazicioglu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 9,946,776 (published April 17, 2018; hereinafter Yazicioglu) in further view of Tatavu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0021913 (hereinafter Tatavu).
Regarding claim 1, Michelsen teaches:
A centralized content transmission system, comprising: a memory configured to store computer executable instructions; and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer executable instructions to configure the centralized content transmission system to, (Michelsen FIG. 4, ¶ 0064-0066: Computing device 100(1) can be a personal computer, server, personal digital assistant, cell phone, laptop, workstation, or the like. Computing device 100(1) includes one or more processors 402 ... program instructions and data implementing spreadsheet DTO module 160, which includes spreadsheet template generator 162 and DTO generator 164, are stored in memory 406 of computing device 100(1) and executed by processor 402)
iteratively receive different ones of a plurality of information requests from an operating device… (Michelsen ¶ 0020: A user can select one or more options [relevant to plurality of information requests] corresponding to the functionality provided by spreadsheet DTO module 160 in order to interact with spreadsheet DTO module 160. For example, a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated)
…after the operating device creates sets of instructions containing transformation logic and stores the sets of instructions in an instruction database, each of the plurality of information requests including … an request information type, (Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: Inspection module 152 is configured to inspect a module within software system under test 185 in order to obtain the structural requirements of that module. Such structural requirements can specify or otherwise indicate the properties that should be included in a DTO that is input to that module [relevant to transformation logic] ... inspection module 152 uses introspection to obtain the structural requirements of a module to be tested. In general, introspection is the capability of a program to explicitly reveal, see, understand, and/or modify its own structure [relevant to creating sets of instructions] ... the reflection capabilities of the Java™ programming language make it possible to query a Java™ Virtual Machine (JVM) for the structure of an object within the JVM. In response to such a query, the JVM returns an object that is an instance of a meta class named Class, and this object fully describes the type of the object with structures)
extract the information request type from a respective one of the plurality of information requests, (Michelsen ¶ 0020: A user can select one or more options corresponding to the functionality provided by spreadsheet DTO module 160 in order to interact with spreadsheet DTO module 160. For example, a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated)
retrieve a set of collected information corresponding to the information request type from among collected information… (Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0060-0061, see first 'corresponding to the information request type' in ¶ 0060: a user selects to create a spreadsheet template for a particular DTO [shown in ¶ 0012 to be 'data transfer object']. The user can select the DTO by selecting to test a particular module (e.g., an object or service) that consumes the DTO. The user can select the module by selecting, for example, a class name of the class from which the module is instantiated; see then Michelsen ¶ 0061: At 310, the spreadsheet template generator obtains the properties of the selected DTO. The spreadsheet template generator can obtain these properties from the structural requirements of the module that consumes the DTO (e.g., as obtained by an inspection module as described above). Such structural requirements can be obtained by instantiating the module and/or by otherwise inspecting the module and/or related modules (e.g., by parsing code and/or text implementing and/or describing such a module))
select a set of instructions corresponding to the information request type from among the sets of instructions stored in the instructions database, (Michelsen ¶ 0020: a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated, as well as information needed to locate the module, such as host name, IP address, or port number, if the module is located remotely from test process 150); see Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: the reflection capabilities of the Java™ programming language make it possible to query a Java™ Virtual Machine (JVM) for the structure of an object within the JVM. In response to such a query, the JVM returns an object that is an instance of a meta class named Class, and this object fully describes the type of the object with structures... inspection module 152 can obtain the class of a target module (e.g., as specified by a user via user interface 156) and then construct an instance of that class (or cause an instance to be constructed) and use introspection of that class in order to obtain the class's structural requirements)
the set of instructions selectively including an instruction to create a nested entry from a plurality of singular entries included in the set of collected information, the nested entry including information indicating a relationship between the plurality of singular entries, (Michelsen FIGs. 2A-2D, ¶ 0056-0057: For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet ... The tab is formatted such that a user can enter information (e.g., a primary key used to identify a data object in a higher-level tab) correlating a data object within the lower-level tab with another data object in the higher-level tab. The data object in the higher-level tab includes the correlated data object in the lower-level tab; see also Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0062-0063: At 320, the spreadsheet template generator creates a spreadsheet template with fields corresponding to the properties of the DTO. If any of the DTO's properties are hierarchical properties that cannot be represented in a single tab of the spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator creates a tab within the spreadsheet for each such property, as shown at 330 and 340. Such a tab includes a field that can be used to link data objects specified in that tab with data objects specified in another tab ... The spreadsheet template generator can also obtain metadata or other human-readable documentation describing the DTO's properties... This information can be inserted into the spreadsheet template in the form of instructions, definitions, and/or comments, as shown at 360. Such information can include information specifying the data type of each property value, as well as the identity of each property value)
execute the set of instructions to apply the transformation logic contained in the set of instructions to construct a result… (Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: depending on the type of module being inspected, inspection module 152 can access multiple objects (e.g., additional modules can be identified in response to the target module containing a reference to one of the other objects, and so on) in order to extract the module's structural requirements. Inspection module 152 can then provide information indicating those structural requirements to spreadsheet template generator 162 [shows use of the set of instructions]; Michelsen FIGs. 2A-2D, ¶ 0056-0057: For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet; see also Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0062-0063: At 320, the spreadsheet template generator creates a spreadsheet template with fields corresponding to the properties of the DTO. If any of the DTO's properties are hierarchical properties that cannot be represented in a single tab of the spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator creates a tab within the spreadsheet for each such property, as shown at 330 and 340)
transform a display of the operating device to complete a set of fields displayed on the display with corresponding entries of the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests… (Michelsen FIG. 2B, ¶ 0044-0047: FIG. 2B illustrates how a user can enter information into the tab shown in FIG. 2A to create multiple test cases, where each test case represents a particular version of the Customer DTO. Each test case can be converted into a DTO by a DTO generator; see Michelsen FIG. 2D, ¶ 0051-0057: given a list of properties for a DTO such as those shown above, a spreadsheet template generator can create a new spreadsheet for the DTO. Within that spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator can generate a first tab or worksheet that represents all of the non-hierarchical properties of the DTO ... For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet. This tab can include some of the same information (e.g., identifying the overall DTO to which the spreadsheet corresponds) as the top-level tab)
Michelsen does not expressly disclose an operating device that is architecturally separate from the centralized content transmission system.
Michelsen does not expressly disclose transformation logic for transforming collected information into a result consumable by the operating device.
Michelsen does not expressly disclose an instruction database accessible by the centralized content transmission system.
Michelsen does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of information requests including a user identification.
Michelsen further does not expressly disclose collected information associated with the user identifier stored in a collected information database.
Michelsen further does not expressly disclose constructing a result prior to transmitting the result to the operating device, doing so “by executing each instruction of the set of instructions to conditionally construct a corresponding entry of the result based on the transformation logic indicated by the respective instruction before adding the entry to the result.”
Michelsen further does not expressly disclose transforming a display of the operating device, “by transmitting the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests to the operating device such that the result includes the information indicating the relationship between the plurality of singular entries.”
However, Yazicioglu addresses this by teaching a plurality of information requests from an operating device that is architecturally separate from the centralized content transmission system. (Yazicioglu FIG. 4, col. 21, lines 25-40: aspects of method 400 may be implemented by a data importation system [centralized content transmission system] (e.g., data importer 130 of FIG. 2A-2D having one or more processors executing one or more computer programs stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium); see FIG. 2C, col. 13, lines 31-46: data updater 226 may receive requests from users [relevant to operating device] to update electronic data files via the interactive GUI. In some embodiments, a user may provide instructions to data updater 226 (e.g., in the form of input via I/O 204) to modify, update, or change source electronic data files stored source file database 212; FIG. 1A, col. 5, lines 31-35: client 110, 120 [operating device] may also be configured to receive information from data importer 130 through network 150)
Yazicioglu also teaches sets of instructions containing transformation logic for transforming collected information into a result consumable by the operating device and stores the sets of instructions in an instruction database accessible by the centralized content transmission system. (Yazicioglu col. 10, lines 17-43: Detector/transformer plugins may be maintained in detector/transformer plugin database 214 by one or more users (e.g., using I/O 204 and the importer GUI). Users may upload detector/transformer plugins to detector/transformer plugin database 214 [shows the operating device creating sets of instructions]; col. 3, lines 16-43: The disclosed data importation systems and methods may transform the data included in received electronic data files so that the data is compatible for importing into one or more data analysis systems, databases, or any combination thereof [shows being consumable by the operating device]; see Yazicioglu FIG. 2A, col. 8, line 65-col. 9, line 9: data detector 210 may obtain a source electronic data file from source file database 212 and loads or executes one or more detectors in the detector/transformer plugins from detector/transformer plugin database 214 [shows an instruction database being accessible by the centralized content transmission system])
Yazicioglu further teaches to execute the set of instructions to apply the transformation logic contained in the set of instructions to the set of collected information to construct a result prior to transmitting the result to the operating device by executing each instruction of the set of instructions to conditionally construct a corresponding entry of the result based on the transformation logic indicated by the respective instruction before adding the entry to the result, and (Yazicioglu FIG. 5, col. 22, line 49-col. 23, line 18: receiving a source electronic data file at 510 [relevant to set of collected information] and loading one or more detector/transformer plugins at 520 [relevant to transformation logic contained in a set of instructions] ... transforming the data included in the received source electronic data file at 560 and importing the transformed data at 570 similar to example method 400; see Yazicioglu FIG. 4, col. 22, lines 27-33: example method 400 may include importing the transformed data at 460. For example, the data importation system may include a data analysis system I/F (e.g., a data analysis system I/F 220 of FIG. 2A-2D) that provides transformed data to one or more data analysis systems and/or databases [shows construction prior to transmission]; Yazicioglu FIGs. 8A-8D, col. 25, line 21-col. 26, line 17: The dashboard view may display the status of various source electronic data files [relevant to result] managed by the data importation system (e.g., data importer 130 of FIG. 2B). The status of each source electronic data file may include a file name 802, transformation status 804, transformation date 808, and the template mapping 810 that is used to transform the source electronic data file ... any number of files may be displayed ... Template mapping 810 may list the transformation template that was used to transform the data in a given file)
Yazicioglu further teaches to transform a display of the operating device to complete a set of fields displayed on the display with corresponding entries of the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests by transmitting the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests to the operating device… (Yazicioglu FIGs. 8A-8D, col. 25, lines 21-67: The status of each source electronic data file may include a file name 802, transformation status 804, transformation date 808, and the template mapping 810 that is used to transform the source electronic data file ... the transformation status 804 of each file may include an indicator 806 that indicates whether the data included in each file has been successfully transformed (i.e., transformed into a transformed source electronic data file); see Yazicioglu FIGs. 8C-8D, col. 27, lines 13-22: Content 824 may include content included in the selected source electronic data file. While content 824 is shown in FIG. 8C as being embedded in the file type mapper view of mapper GUI 800, content 720 may instead be displayed in a native document viewer associated with selected source electronic data file (e.g., a spreadsheet viewer if the file is a spreadsheet) or in a separate a web page; see Yazicioglu col. 7, line 52-col. 8, line 6: The importer GUI may display the source electronic data files stored in file database 212, real-time status updates associated with the stored files (e.g., file type detected, file type not detected, file transformation pending, file transformation in process, file transformation complete, transformed file provided to one or more data analysis systems or databases, etc.), and any metadata associated with the stored source electronic data files)
Yazicioglu further teaches doing so, “such that the result includes the information indicating the … plurality of singular entries.” (Yazicioglu FIGs. 8A-8B, col. 25, line 48-col. 26, line 45: indicator 806 may be an interactive indicator that includes a hyperlink. The data mapper may display a file type profile generator view in response to the user interacting with the hyperlink ... FIG. 8B, illustrates a file type profile generator view of mapper GUI 800. In some embodiments, the file type profile generator view may be displayed in response to the user interacting with an underlying hyperlink of an indicator 806. The file type profiler generator view may display the file name 814 of the selected source electronic data file, a file format selector 816, content 818 included in the selected source electronic data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data aggregation of Michelsen with the data transformation of Yazicioglu.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen and Yazicioglu) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen managing scripts to operate over and display data based on a request with the similar functioning in Yazicioglu also managing transformers to operate over and subsequently display data but with the added functionality of transformer templates and template mappings.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement improved methods and systems for importing data from electronic data files as seen in Yazicioglu col. 3, lines 16-60.
Another embodiment of Yazicioglu teaches information indicating the relationship between the plurality of singular entries. (Yazicioglu col. 19, line 29-col. 20, line 5: One mapping option may be the option to combine data fields or columns. Accordingly, the user may provide instructions to file type mapper 304 for combining the “Date” and “Time” data fields by selecting the mapping option to combine data fields via I/O 204 ... each file type profile includes ... file type mappings for transforming the data fields and data included in source electronic data files of the file type to conform or match the canonical format of the transformation template)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data display of Michelsen as modified with the user mapping of Yazicioglu.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen as modified by Yazicioglu displaying file type profile information (Yazicioglu col. 26, line 35-45) with the functioning in Yazicioglu also involving file type profile information but with its diverse mapping options (Yazicioglu col. 19, lines 29-59).
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of information requests including a user identification.
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu further does not expressly disclose collected information associated with the user identifier stored in a collected information database.
However, Tatavu addresses this by teaching the following:
Tatavu teaches each of the plurality of information requests including a user identification. (Tatavu FIG. 5, ¶ 0070: User 510 requests results for a query from relational database system 500. A query from a user can include a request for a list of members of a group of objects, a request to add a member to a group in a relational database, and/or deletes a member from a group in a relational database, via user interface 515; Tatavu FIG. 8, ¶ 0097: Record 820 is a variable of type integer for a variable "Member_ID." Record 820 "Member_ID" variable identifies a member in a given group of members, such as member name field 742 in FIG. 7)
Tatavu further teaches collected information associated with the user identifier stored in a collected information database. (Tatavu FIG. 4, ¶ 0056-0059: A membership table is a database table including information corresponding to the members of each group represented in the group table ... Record 430 is a variable for a member identifier "Member_ID" to uniquely identify each member of a given group. The "Member_ID" definition in record 430 is a definition for a variable of type integer; Tatavu FIG. 8, ¶ 0097: Record 820 is a variable of type integer for a variable "Member_ID." Record 820 "Member_ID" variable identifies a member in a given group of members, such as member name field 742 in FIG. 7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data aggregation of Michelsen as modified with the display of aggregated data as in Tatavu.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen as modified and Tatavu) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying accumulated or aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen as modified retrieving information to dictate data organization with similar reference Tatavu retrieving information to dictate data organization but with added data transmission functionality.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide improved data display providing information regarding both indirect members of a group and direct members of a group as seen in Tatavu ¶ 0063, ¶ 0083, ¶ 0146.
Regarding claim 11, Michelsen teaches:
A method of operating a centralized content transmission system, the method comprising: (Michelsen FIG. 4, ¶ 0064-0066: Computing device 100(1) can be a personal computer, server, personal digital assistant, cell phone, laptop, workstation, or the like. Computing device 100(1) includes one or more processors 402 ... program instructions and data implementing spreadsheet DTO module 160, which includes spreadsheet template generator 162 and DTO generator 164, are stored in memory 406 of computing device 100(1) and executed by processor 402)
iteratively receiving different ones of a plurality of information requests from an operating device… (Michelsen ¶ 0020: A user can select one or more options [relevant to plurality of information requests] corresponding to the functionality provided by spreadsheet DTO module 160 in order to interact with spreadsheet DTO module 160. For example, a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated)
…after the operating device creates sets of instructions containing transformation logic and stores the sets of instructions in an instruction database, each of the plurality of information requests including … an request information type, (Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: Inspection module 152 is configured to inspect a module within software system under test 185 in order to obtain the structural requirements of that module. Such structural requirements can specify or otherwise indicate the properties that should be included in a DTO that is input to that module [relevant to transformation logic] ... inspection module 152 uses introspection to obtain the structural requirements of a module to be tested. In general, introspection is the capability of a program to explicitly reveal, see, understand, and/or modify its own structure [relevant to creating sets of instructions] ... the reflection capabilities of the Java™ programming language make it possible to query a Java™ Virtual Machine (JVM) for the structure of an object within the JVM. In response to such a query, the JVM returns an object that is an instance of a meta class named Class, and this object fully describes the type of the object with structures)
extracting the information request type from a respective one of the plurality of information requests, (Michelsen ¶ 0020: A user can select one or more options corresponding to the functionality provided by spreadsheet DTO module 160 in order to interact with spreadsheet DTO module 160. For example, a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated)
retrieving a set of collected information corresponding to the information request type from among collected information… (Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0060-0061, see first 'corresponding to the information request type' in ¶ 0060: a user selects to create a spreadsheet template for a particular DTO [shown in ¶ 0012 to be 'data transfer object']. The user can select the DTO by selecting to test a particular module (e.g., an object or service) that consumes the DTO. The user can select the module by selecting, for example, a class name of the class from which the module is instantiated; see then Michelsen ¶ 0061: At 310, the spreadsheet template generator obtains the properties of the selected DTO. The spreadsheet template generator can obtain these properties from the structural requirements of the module that consumes the DTO (e.g., as obtained by an inspection module as described above). Such structural requirements can be obtained by instantiating the module and/or by otherwise inspecting the module and/or related modules (e.g., by parsing code and/or text implementing and/or describing such a module))
selecting a set of instructions corresponding to the information request type from among the sets of instructions stored in the instructions database, (Michelsen ¶ 0020: a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated, as well as information needed to locate the module, such as host name, IP address, or port number, if the module is located remotely from test process 150); see Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: the reflection capabilities of the Java™ programming language make it possible to query a Java™ Virtual Machine (JVM) for the structure of an object within the JVM. In response to such a query, the JVM returns an object that is an instance of a meta class named Class, and this object fully describes the type of the object with structures... inspection module 152 can obtain the class of a target module (e.g., as specified by a user via user interface 156) and then construct an instance of that class (or cause an instance to be constructed) and use introspection of that class in order to obtain the class's structural requirements)
the set of instructions selectively including an instruction to create a nested entry from a plurality of singular entries included in the set of collected information, the nested entry including information indicating a relationship between the plurality of singular entries, (Michelsen FIGs. 2A-2D, ¶ 0056-0057: For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet ... The tab is formatted such that a user can enter information (e.g., a primary key used to identify a data object in a higher-level tab) correlating a data object within the lower-level tab with another data object in the higher-level tab. The data object in the higher-level tab includes the correlated data object in the lower-level tab; see also Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0062-0063: At 320, the spreadsheet template generator creates a spreadsheet template with fields corresponding to the properties of the DTO. If any of the DTO's properties are hierarchical properties that cannot be represented in a single tab of the spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator creates a tab within the spreadsheet for each such property, as shown at 330 and 340. Such a tab includes a field that can be used to link data objects specified in that tab with data objects specified in another tab ... The spreadsheet template generator can also obtain metadata or other human-readable documentation describing the DTO's properties... This information can be inserted into the spreadsheet template in the form of instructions, definitions, and/or comments, as shown at 360. Such information can include information specifying the data type of each property value, as well as the identity of each property value)
executing the set of instructions to apply the transformation logic contained in the set of instructions to construct a result… (Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: depending on the type of module being inspected, inspection module 152 can access multiple objects (e.g., additional modules can be identified in response to the target module containing a reference to one of the other objects, and so on) in order to extract the module's structural requirements. Inspection module 152 can then provide information indicating those structural requirements to spreadsheet template generator 162 [shows use of the set of instructions]; Michelsen FIGs. 2A-2D, ¶ 0056-0057: For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet; see also Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0062-0063: At 320, the spreadsheet template generator creates a spreadsheet template with fields corresponding to the properties of the DTO. If any of the DTO's properties are hierarchical properties that cannot be represented in a single tab of the spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator creates a tab within the spreadsheet for each such property, as shown at 330 and 340)
transforming a display of the operating device to complete a set of fields displayed on the display with corresponding entries of the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests… (Michelsen FIG. 2B, ¶ 0044-0047: FIG. 2B illustrates how a user can enter information into the tab shown in FIG. 2A to create multiple test cases, where each test case represents a particular version of the Customer DTO. Each test case can be converted into a DTO by a DTO generator; see Michelsen FIG. 2D, ¶ 0051-0057: given a list of properties for a DTO such as those shown above, a spreadsheet template generator can create a new spreadsheet for the DTO. Within that spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator can generate a first tab or worksheet that represents all of the non-hierarchical properties of the DTO ... For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet. This tab can include some of the same information (e.g., identifying the overall DTO to which the spreadsheet corresponds) as the top-level tab)
Michelsen does not expressly disclose an operating device that is architecturally separate from the centralized content transmission system.
Michelsen does not expressly disclose transformation logic for transforming collected information into a result consumable by the operating device.
Michelsen does not expressly disclose an instruction database accessible by the centralized content transmission system.
Michelsen does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of information requests including a user identification.
Michelsen further does not expressly disclose collected information associated with the user identifier stored in a collected information database.
Michelsen further does not expressly disclose constructing a result prior to transmitting the result to the operating device, doing so “by executing each instruction of the set of instructions to conditionally construct a corresponding entry of the result based on the transformation logic indicated by the respective instruction before adding the entry to the result.”
Michelsen further does not expressly disclose transforming a display of the operating device, “by transmitting the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests to the operating device such that the result includes the information indicating the relationship between the plurality of singular entries.”
However, Yazicioglu addresses this by teaching a plurality of information requests from an operating device that is architecturally separate from the centralized content transmission system. (Yazicioglu FIG. 4, col. 21, lines 25-40: aspects of method 400 may be implemented by a data importation system [centralized content transmission system] (e.g., data importer 130 of FIG. 2A-2D having one or more processors executing one or more computer programs stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium); see FIG. 2C, col. 13, lines 31-46: data updater 226 may receive requests from users [relevant to operating device] to update electronic data files via the interactive GUI. In some embodiments, a user may provide instructions to data updater 226 (e.g., in the form of input via I/O 204) to modify, update, or change source electronic data files stored source file database 212; FIG. 1A, col. 5, lines 31-35: client 110, 120 [operating device] may also be configured to receive information from data importer 130 through network 150)
Yazicioglu also teaches sets of instructions containing transformation logic for transforming collected information into a result consumable by the operating device and stores the sets of instructions in an instruction database accessible by the centralized content transmission system. (Yazicioglu col. 10, lines 17-43: Detector/transformer plugins may be maintained in detector/transformer plugin database 214 by one or more users (e.g., using I/O 204 and the importer GUI). Users may upload detector/transformer plugins to detector/transformer plugin database 214 [shows the operating device creating sets of instructions]; col. 3, lines 16-43: The disclosed data importation systems and methods may transform the data included in received electronic data files so that the data is compatible for importing into one or more data analysis systems, databases, or any combination thereof [shows being consumable by the operating device]; see Yazicioglu FIG. 2A, col. 8, line 65-col. 9, line 9: data detector 210 may obtain a source electronic data file from source file database 212 and loads or executes one or more detectors in the detector/transformer plugins from detector/transformer plugin database 214 [shows an instruction database being accessible by the centralized content transmission system])
Yazicioglu further teaches executing the set of instructions to apply the transformation logic contained in the set of instructions to the set of collected information to construct a result prior to transmitting the result to the operating device by executing each instruction of the set of instructions to conditionally construct a corresponding entry of the result based on the transformation logic indicated by the respective instruction before adding the entry to the result, and (Yazicioglu FIG. 5, col. 22, line 49-col. 23, line 18: receiving a source electronic data file at 510 [relevant to set of collected information] and loading one or more detector/transformer plugins at 520 [relevant to transformation logic contained in a set of instructions] ... transforming the data included in the received source electronic data file at 560 and importing the transformed data at 570 similar to example method 400; see Yazicioglu FIG. 4, col. 22, lines 27-33: example method 400 may include importing the transformed data at 460. For example, the data importation system may include a data analysis system I/F (e.g., a data analysis system I/F 220 of FIG. 2A-2D) that provides transformed data to one or more data analysis systems and/or databases [shows construction prior to transmission]; Yazicioglu FIGs. 8A-8D, col. 25, line 21-col. 26, line 17: The dashboard view may display the status of various source electronic data files [relevant to result] managed by the data importation system (e.g., data importer 130 of FIG. 2B). The status of each source electronic data file may include a file name 802, transformation status 804, transformation date 808, and the template mapping 810 that is used to transform the source electronic data file ... any number of files may be displayed ... Template mapping 810 may list the transformation template that was used to transform the data in a given file)
Yazicioglu further teaches transforming a display of the operating device to complete a set of fields displayed on the display with corresponding entries of the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests by transmitting the result corresponding to the respective one of the plurality of information requests to the operating device… (Yazicioglu FIGs. 8A-8D, col. 25, lines 21-67: The status of each source electronic data file may include a file name 802, transformation status 804, transformation date 808, and the template mapping 810 that is used to transform the source electronic data file ... the transformation status 804 of each file may include an indicator 806 that indicates whether the data included in each file has been successfully transformed (i.e., transformed into a transformed source electronic data file); see Yazicioglu FIGs. 8C-8D, col. 27, lines 13-22: Content 824 may include content included in the selected source electronic data file. While content 824 is shown in FIG. 8C as being embedded in the file type mapper view of mapper GUI 800, content 720 may instead be displayed in a native document viewer associated with selected source electronic data file (e.g., a spreadsheet viewer if the file is a spreadsheet) or in a separate a web page; see Yazicioglu col. 7, line 52-col. 8, line 6: The importer GUI may display the source electronic data files stored in file database 212, real-time status updates associated with the stored files (e.g., file type detected, file type not detected, file transformation pending, file transformation in process, file transformation complete, transformed file provided to one or more data analysis systems or databases, etc.), and any metadata associated with the stored source electronic data files)
Yazicioglu further teaches doing so, “such that the result includes the information indicating the … plurality of singular entries.” (Yazicioglu FIGs. 8A-8B, col. 25, line 48-col. 26, line 45: indicator 806 may be an interactive indicator that includes a hyperlink. The data mapper may display a file type profile generator view in response to the user interacting with the hyperlink ... FIG. 8B, illustrates a file type profile generator view of mapper GUI 800. In some embodiments, the file type profile generator view may be displayed in response to the user interacting with an underlying hyperlink of an indicator 806. The file type profiler generator view may display the file name 814 of the selected source electronic data file, a file format selector 816, content 818 included in the selected source electronic data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data aggregation of Michelsen with the data transformation of Yazicioglu.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen and Yazicioglu) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen managing scripts to operate over and display data based on a request with the similar functioning in Yazicioglu also managing transformers to operate over and subsequently display data but with the added functionality of transformer templates and template mappings.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement improved methods and systems for importing data from electronic data files as seen in Yazicioglu col. 3, lines 16-60.
Another embodiment of Yazicioglu teaches information indicating the relationship between the plurality of singular entries. (Yazicioglu col. 19, line 29-col. 20, line 5: One mapping option may be the option to combine data fields or columns. Accordingly, the user may provide instructions to file type mapper 304 for combining the “Date” and “Time” data fields by selecting the mapping option to combine data fields via I/O 204 ... each file type profile includes ... file type mappings for transforming the data fields and data included in source electronic data files of the file type to conform or match the canonical format of the transformation template)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data display of Michelsen as modified with the user mapping of Yazicioglu.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen as modified by Yazicioglu displaying file type profile information (Yazicioglu col. 26, line 35-45) with the functioning in Yazicioglu also involving file type profile information but with its diverse mapping options (Yazicioglu col. 19, lines 29-59).
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of information requests including a user identification.
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu further does not expressly disclose collected information associated with the user identifier stored in a collected information database.
However, Tatavu addresses this by teaching the following:
Tatavu teaches each of the plurality of information requests including a user identification. (Tatavu FIG. 5, ¶ 0070: User 510 requests results for a query from relational database system 500. A query from a user can include a request for a list of members of a group of objects, a request to add a member to a group in a relational database, and/or deletes a member from a group in a relational database, via user interface 515; Tatavu FIG. 8, ¶ 0097: Record 820 is a variable of type integer for a variable "Member_ID." Record 820 "Member_ID" variable identifies a member in a given group of members, such as member name field 742 in FIG. 7)
Tatavu further teaches collected information associated with the user identifier stored in a collected information database. (Tatavu FIG. 4, ¶ 0056-0059: A membership table is a database table including information corresponding to the members of each group represented in the group table ... Record 430 is a variable for a member identifier "Member_ID" to uniquely identify each member of a given group. The "Member_ID" definition in record 430 is a definition for a variable of type integer; Tatavu FIG. 8, ¶ 0097: Record 820 is a variable of type integer for a variable "Member_ID." Record 820 "Member_ID" variable identifies a member in a given group of members, such as member name field 742 in FIG. 7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data aggregation of Michelsen as modified with the display of aggregated data as in Tatavu.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen as modified and Tatavu) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying accumulated or aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen as modified retrieving information to dictate data organization with similar reference Tatavu retrieving information to dictate data organization but with added data transmission functionality.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide improved data display providing information regarding both indirect members of a group and direct members of a group as seen in Tatavu ¶ 0063, ¶ 0083, ¶ 0146.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11 above including:
wherein the centralized content transmission system is configured to receive a first information request from the operating device requesting that the centralized content transmission system execute a first set of instructions to construct a first result. (Michelsen shows receiving a first information request in at least ¶ 0020: A user can select one or more options corresponding to the functionality provided by spreadsheet DTO module 160 in order to interact with spreadsheet DTO module 160. For example, a particular menu can allow a user to select a module to be tested (e.g., by specifying the class name of the class from which that module is instantiated; Michelsen ¶ 0022-0024: depending on the type of module being inspected, inspection module 152 can access multiple objects (e.g., additional modules can be identified in response to the target module containing a reference to one of the other objects, and so on) in order to extract the module's structural requirements. Inspection module 152 can then provide information indicating those structural requirements to spreadsheet template generator 162 [shows executing a first set of instructions]; see also constructing a first result in at least Michelsen FIG. 3, ¶ 0062-0063: At 320, the spreadsheet template generator creates a spreadsheet template with fields corresponding to the properties of the DTO. If any of the DTO's properties are hierarchical properties that cannot be represented in a single tab of the spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator creates a tab within the spreadsheet for each such property, as shown at 330 and 340)
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu in further view of Yue et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0111325 (provided in the IDS of 11/07/2024 and utilized in rejections in the parent applications; published May 2, 2013; hereinafter "Yue").
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu teaches all the features with respect to claims 2 and 12 above including:
in response to a first instruction of the first set of instructions indicating a first entry is nested, create the first entry as a nested entry within the first result including data of the first set of collected information identified in the first set of instructions as nested… (Michelsen ¶ 0053-0057: given a list of properties for a DTO such as those shown above, a spreadsheet template generator can create a new spreadsheet for the DTO. Within that spreadsheet, the spreadsheet template generator can generate a first tab or worksheet that represents all of the non-hierarchical properties of the DTO ... For each hierarchical property that cannot be represented in the first tab (e.g., for properties having values that are arrays of non-primitive, non-string values), the spreadsheet template generator can generate a new tab in the spreadsheet)
by copying the first set of collected information into a temporary memory and implementing a recursive call technique that adds fields from the temporary memory into the first entry of the first result… (Tatavu ¶ 0107: When a dynamic group is encountered as a nested group member of a static group during a search of the static group's membership, the dynamic group's query is evaluated by the database manager to determine its members. The results are added to the result set of members already identified. This result set is stored in memory until the process of determining the membership list is complete and then the result set is returned to the requester)
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu does not expressly disclose adding fields “based on a nested set of instructions included within a stack of instructions.”
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu further does not expressly disclose:
in response to the first instruction of the first set of instructions indicating the first entry is singular, retrieving first data of the first set of collected information identified by the first instructions and adding the first data to the first entry of the first result only after completion of the nested set of instructions.
However, Yue addresses this by teaching the following:
Yue teaches adding fields “based on a nested set of instructions included within a stack of instructions.” (Yue FIG. 4, ¶ 0069-0071: At 407, the process continues to determine whether the second-level fragment includes a third-level fragment; At 408, the process recursively performs rendering for the third-level fragment until an N-level fragment determined to include no other fragment is obtained, where N is an integer greater than 3. At this block, rendering is performed recursively for the first-level fragment and the second-level fragment, until an N-level fragment determined to include no other fragment is obtained, where N is an integer greater than 3)
in response to the first instruction of the first set of instructions indicating the first entry is singular, retrieving first data of the first set of collected information identified by the first instructions and adding the first data to the first entry of the first result only after completion of the nested set of instructions. (Yue FIG. 3, blocks 305-306, ¶ 0072-0073: block 305 of FIG. 3, the process of FIG. 3 combines the obtained HTML codes of all the first-level fragments to generate complete content of the first-level fragments of the web page [this combining shows the claimed adding to the first entry of the first result]; Yue FIG. 5, ¶ 0062: FIG. 5 shows representative fragment names of first-level fragments according to one example. The first-level fragments of the web page may include a "description" fragment A, a "navigation" fragment B, a "shopkeeper information" fragment C, and a "store categories" fragment D; see this occurring after step 304 [relevant to the claimed 'completion of the nested set of instructions'], shown in ¶ 0055 "FIG. 4 shows one example process ... as noted generally as part of operation block 304 in FIG. 3" to involve the recursive rendering of FIG. 4; see relatedly ¶ 0067-0068, "At 406, the process performs recursive rendering for the second-level fragment" and ¶ 0071, " At 408, the process recursively performs rendering for the third-level fragment until an N-level fragment determined to include no other fragment is obtained")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the display of aggregated data of Michelsen as modified with the display of aggregated data as in Yue.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen as modified and Yue) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying accumulated or aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen as modified displaying aggregate customized information to a user with similar reference Yue displaying aggregate information to a user but with the added recursive functionality based on local cached or remote retrieved information.
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu in further view of Yue and Zhuang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0171670 (provided in the IDS of 11/07/2024 and utilized in rejections in the parent applications; hereinafter Zhuang).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu and Yue teaches all the features with respect to claims 3 and 13 above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein an indication that the first entry is nested includes the first instruction being a nested set of instructions.
However, Zhuang teaches:
wherein an indication that the first entry is nested includes the first instruction being a nested set of instructions. (Zhuang FIG. 6, ¶ 0243-0249, ¶ 0243: The loading plan 230 can be formed using any suitable structured data format. Exemplary structured data format can include YAML Ain't Markup Language (YAML), JavaScript Object Notation (JSON), Extensible Markup Language (XML), or a combination thereof; ¶ 0248: When the loading plan 230 has the tree structure, a chain of UDFs can be encoded in a nested manner ... the tree structure can be recursive; ¶ 0249: As shown in Table 10-2, a first UD gsql concat can concatenate “usa ” literal with $“title” token. Result of the concatenation can be concatenated with “2015_” prefix, result of which can be concatenated with “movie_” prefix ... The interpreter 260 (shown in FIG. 2) can follow the tree structure and apply the UDFs from a bottom level to the top level in progression to yield a final transformation result; see especially this paragraph of Zhuang in light of p7, Table 3 and p10, Tables 10-1, 10-2 showing nested instructions resulting in a final recursively concatenated result)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the aggregated data of Michelsen as modified with the nested data of Zhuang.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen as modified and Zhuang) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as the management of accumulated or aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen as modified aggregating data based on grouping information with similar reference Zhuang concatenating data based on nested loading plans and with the added functionality of operator-defined loading jobs and mapping to data sources. Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement performance improvement in order to circumvent the significant computation resources and time required to manage data such as loading and querying data (Zhuang ¶ 0008).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu and Yue and Zhuang teaches all the features with respect to claims 5 and 15 above including:
each nested instruction of the nested set of instructions is executed prior to executing a subsequent instruction of the first set of instructions and the subsequent instruction is listed after the nested set of instructions. (Zhuang ¶ 0258: During loading, the loading engine 240 can invoke the reader 241 to traverse line by line in the source data 220. For each line, the reader 241 can be instructed by, and/or can consult, the loading plan 230 for schema mapping, and/or can dynamically loading UDFs from the library 250; see also FIG. 6 referring to a loading plan comprising vertex type configuration, edge type configuration, then global settings, in that order; Zhuang p10, Table 10-2 refers to VertexTypeConfigs in ¶ 0248-0249: When the loading plan 230 has the tree structure, a chain of UDFs can be encoded in a nested manner; the tree structure can be recursive [Zhuang thus teaches nested commands in the form of vertex type configuration within a loading plan, which are followed by subsequent commands in the form of edge type configuration and/or global settings within the same loading plan])
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu and Yue and Zhuang teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16 above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the nested entry includes a plurality of entries identified as corresponding to the nested entry in corresponding nested instructions of the nested set of instructions. (Yue FIG. 3, ¶ 0053: At 304, the process obtains nesting information of the first-level fragments based on the fragment names and fragment parameters of the first-level fragments, and further obtains respective HTML codes of the first-level fragments based on the nesting information of the first-level fragments. The nesting information includes information about whether a current fragment includes other fragments; ¶ 0130: The fragment analysis process includes rendering the first-level fragments based on predetermined nesting information of the first-level fragments, wherein the nesting information includes information about whether a current fragment includes other fragments; see also FIG. 3, blocks 305-306, ¶ 0072-0076: If a first-level fragment recursively includes at least one level of fragment, a rendering result of the first-level fragment includes HTML codes of the at least one level of fragment; At 306, the process displays to the user the complete content of the first-level fragments onto the web page of the client; see this in light of FIG. 5, ¶ 0062: FIG. 5 shows representative fragment names of first-level fragments according to one example. The first-level fragments of the web page may include a "description" fragment A, a "navigation" fragment B, a "shopkeeper information" fragment C, and a "store categories" fragment D. The "shopkeeper information" fragment C may further include a second-level "shopkeeper's credibility" fragment C1 [which would be identified as corresponding to the first-level fragment in the "nesting information" seen throughout Yue and described above])
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu in further view of Evans et al., WO 2018/229499 A1 (provided in the IDS of 11/07/2024 and utilized in rejections in the parent applications; published December 20, 2018; hereinafter "Evans").
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11 above.
Michelsen teaches:
…a plurality of sets of the collected information extracted from forms submitted by users, (Michelsen FIG. 2B, ¶ 0044: FIG. 2B illustrates how a user can enter information into the tab shown in FIG. 2A to create multiple test cases, where each test case represents a particular version of the Customer DTO. Each test case can be converted into a DTO by a DTO generator; Michelsen FIG. 2D, ¶ 0051-0053: FIG. 2D illustrates the values that a user can enter into the second tab of the spreadsheet template ... The first three location data objects are contained in the first Customer data object of the top-level tab)
the first information request type indicates … a version number. (Michelsen FIG. 2B, ¶ 0044: FIG. 2B illustrates how a user can enter information into the tab shown in FIG. 2A to create multiple test cases, where each test case represents a particular version of the Customer DTO ... In this example, three test cases have been entered by a user. The first test case has primary key 1, the second test case has primary key 2, and the third test case has primary key 3)
Tatavu teaches:
wherein the collected information is stored in a remote database configured to a plurality of sets of the collected information… (Tatavu FIG. 4, ¶ 0056-0059: A membership table is a database table including information corresponding to the members of each group represented in the group table ... Record 430 is a variable for a member identifier "Member_ID" to uniquely identify each member of a given group. The "Member_ID" definition in record 430 is a definition for a variable of type integer; Tatavu FIG. 8, ¶ 0097: Record 820 is a variable of type integer for a variable "Member_ID." Record 820 "Member_ID" variable identifies a member in a given group of members, such as member name field 742 in FIG. 7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the data aggregation of Michelsen with the display of aggregated data as in Tatavu.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen retrieving information to dictate data organization with similar reference Tatavu retrieving information to dictate data organization but with added data transmission functionality.
Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu does not expressly disclose the information request type indicating a form number.
However, Evans addresses this by teaching the following:
Evans teaches information from forms submitted by users. (Evans FIG. 5, p18, line 10-p19, line 2: A user then enters data (step 516) using the form. The captured data is encoded as a form data record, referred to herein as a form ticket 518, which specifies the data entered for each form field ... The ticket is transmitted to the database layer where it is stored in a tickets database 520 ... At the databases 513, 520, the form instances and tickets may be stored directly as JSON documents or alternatively they may be stored using a suitable relational data model or in any other way)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the structural requirements of Michelsen as modified with the form retrieval of Evans.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen and Evans) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as scripts operating over data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Michelsen performing creation of scripts to operate over and display data based on a request with the similar functioning in Evans using its forms to display data based on a request but with the added functionality of retrieving or adapting specific forms based on the request.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu in further view of Duncan-Wilson et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0370352 (provided in the IDS of 11/07/2024 and utilized as the primary reference in rejections in the parent applications; published December 5, 2019, prior to the instant application date of March 12, 2020; hereinafter "Duncan-Wilson").
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11 above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the centralized content transmission system is configured to receive respective ones of the plurality of information requests in response to the operator device initiating a process for the first user.
However, Duncan-Wilson addresses this by teaching:
wherein the centralized content transmission system is configured to receive respective ones of the plurality of information requests in response to the operator device initiating a process for the first user. (Duncan-Wilson FIG. 2, ¶ 0041-0045: Upon receiving the graphical user interface instructions 107, the entity computer 115 uses the graphical user interface instructions 107 to generate and display the graphical user interface 109 on a screen, as illustrated in FIG. 3A ... The selectable inputs of the energy information aggregation interface can be used (by a user of the entity computer 115) to define a request to generate a script associated with flexible energy information aggregation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the display of aggregated data of Michelsen as modified with the display of aggregated data as in Duncan-Wilson.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen as modified and Duncan-Wilson) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying accumulated or aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the performance of the computing devices, improve the speed at which the relevant data is identified so that a specified task can be performed, and decrease the resources needed to do the same as seen in Duncan-Wilson ¶ 0005.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Michelsen in view of Yazicioglu and Tatavu teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11 above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the sets of instructions are created using a selection tool configured to receive inputs from an operator to arrange the sets of instructions.
However, Duncan-Wilson teaches:
wherein the sets of instructions are created using a selection tool configured to receive inputs from an operator to arrange the sets of instructions. (Duncan-Wilson FIG. 2, ¶ 0045-0054: the graphical user interface 109 includes multiple input options, for example, a first selectable input 310, a second selectable input 315, and a third selectable input 320, as illustrated in FIG. 3A ... Each selectable input can be a menu comprising a plurality of options, a text input box, or another type of input; see then step 215, ¶ 0064-0066: the controlling module 105 also uses the script generator 140 to generate the script 145, as illustrated in FIG. 3E. The script 145 is generated based upon the energy buckets 135; see also the final results in FIG. 3G, ¶ 0073-0080 and at least ¶ 0074: the graphical user interface 109 can display a first graphical representation 350 of a first set of energy information with the energy dimensions of the request 110 and the energy operations of the request 110. The first set of energy information can be associated with a first type of energy, or a first source of information, for example)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the display of aggregated data of Michelsen as modified with the display of aggregated data as in Duncan-Wilson.
In addition, both of the references (Michelsen as modified and Duncan-Wilson) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as displaying accumulated or aggregated data.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the performance of the computing devices, improve the speed at which the relevant data is identified so that a specified task can be performed, and decrease the resources needed to do the same as seen in Duncan-Wilson ¶ 0005.
Allowable Subject Matter
Upon further consideration, claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0197068; see You FIG. 3, ¶ 0036-0045 describing obtaining an updated current node tree, generating an updated view node, performing re-drawing by generating an updated page according to the original view node and the updated view node, and displaying the updated page on a graphical user interface of the terminal, relevant to transforming a display to complete a set of fields displayed on the display with corresponding entries.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2153 July 10, 2026
/KAVITA STANLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153