DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-6, 5-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dillman et al. US2022/0159878.
Per claim 1 Dillman et al. teaches a pluggable module (see fig.34; [0074], [0081], “115 and the plug module not shown together are the pluggable module”) for a network device (322; [0003]-[0004], [0092], see fig.3), the module comprising: an enclosure comprising: a top surface; a bottom surface facing opposite the top surface; first and second side surfaces that connect the top and bottom surfaces; a front end; and a rear end (see fig.34-35; [0075]); a module PCB (printed circuit board) (124, see fig.35), wherein at least a portion thereof is disposed within the enclosure (see fig.34-35); the bottom surface having a first heat dissipation element (192, see fig.35) formed therewith to absorb heat generated, when in operation, by electronics disposed on the module PCB and to dissipate the heat to an exterior of the enclosure ([0074]-[0081]).
Per claim 2 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 1, wherein the first heat dissipation element (192) comprises a plurality of longitudinal spaced apart fins (208, see fig.34-36) that define airflow channels ([0082]), wherein the heat is dissipated when air flows along the airflow channels ([0081]-[0082]).
Per claim 3 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 2, wherein the fins create vertical separation between the pluggable module and a bottom side of a cage when the pluggable module is received within the cage to facilitate the flow of air along the spaced apart fins (see fig.5-6, 11-13).
Per claim 4 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 1, wherein the first heat dissipation element is set back from the front end of the enclosure and extends along a length of the enclosure from the set back position to the rear end of the enclosure (see fig.9, 11 & 13-19).
Per claim 5 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 1, wherein the first heat dissipation element extends along a substantial length of the enclosure between the front end of the enclosure to the rear end of the enclosure (see fig.9, 11 & 13-19).
Per claim 6 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 1, wherein the top surface of the enclosure comprises a second heat dissipation element (150, see fig.35).
Per claim 8 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 1, wherein the front end of the enclosure is closed off to an interior of the enclosure ([0081], “Examiner asserts that the plug module would close off a front end of the enclosure).
Per claim 9 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 1, wherein the module PCB extends past the rear end of the enclosure (see fig.36).
Per claim 10 Dillman et al. teaches a pluggable module (see fig.34; [0074], [0081], “115 and the plug module not shown together are the pluggable module”) for a network device (322; [0003]-[0004], [0092], see fig.3), the module comprising: an enclosure comprising a first frame (150 & 158, see fig.35) and a second frame (192 & 156, see fig.5; [0075]); and a module PCB (printed circuit board) (14) disposed within the enclosure (see fig.34-36), the second frame (192) having a first heat dissipation element (202) formed therewith to absorb heat generated during operation of the module PCB and to dissipate the heat ([0081]).
Per claim 11 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the first frame (150) is a top portion of the pluggable module (see fig.35-36) and the second frame (192) is a bottom portion of the pluggable module (see fig.34-36).
Per claim 12 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the first heat dissipation element comprises a corrugated surface that defines a plurality of spaced apart fins, wherein the heat is dissipated when air flows along the spaced apart fins ([0081]-[0082], see fig.34-46).
Per claim 13 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 12, wherein the fins vertically separate the pluggable module from a bottom side of a cage when the pluggable module is received within the cage to facilitate the flow of air along the spaced apart fins (see fig.11-13; [0082]).
Per claim 14 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the first heat dissipation element is set back from a front end of the enclosure and extends along a length of the enclosure from the set back position to the rear end of the enclosure (see fig.9, 11, 13-19 & 34-36).
Per claim 15 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the first heat dissipation element extends along a substantial length of the enclosure between the front end of the enclosure to the rear end of the enclosure (see fig.9, 11, 13-19 & 34-36).
Per claim 16 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the top surface of the enclosure comprises a second heat dissipation element (166, see fig.34-36).
Per claim 18 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein a front end of the enclosure is closed off to an interior of the enclosure ([0081], “Examiner asserts that the plug module would close off a front end of the enclosure).
Per claim 19 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the module PCB extends past a rear end of the enclosure (see fig.36).
Per claim 20 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 10, wherein the pluggable module is an OSFP (octal small form factor pluggable) module ([0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 7 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillman et al. US2022/0159878 in view of McColloch et al. US2012/0182688.
Per claim 7 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 6,
Dillman et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first heat dissipation element comprises a material different from a material of the second heat dissipation element.
McColloch et al. however discloses wherein the first heat dissipation element comprises a material different from a material of the second heat dissipation element ([0030], claim 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have different materials for the first and second heat dissipation element, because it allows varying degrees of heat dissipation from the top and bottom surface of the enclosure, thus ensuring effective thermal dissipation based on the generated heat.
Per claim 17 Dillman et al. teaches the pluggable module of claim 16,
Dillman et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first heat dissipation element comprises a material different from a material of the second heat dissipation element.
McColloch et al. however discloses wherein the first heat dissipation element comprises a material different from a material of the second heat dissipation element ([0030], claim 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have different materials for the first and second heat dissipation element, because it allows varying degrees of heat dissipation from the top and bottom surface of the enclosure, thus ensuring effective thermal dissipation based on the generated heat.
Email Communication
3. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Little US2018/0368283 discloses a plug module comprising: a metallic case including an upper part and a lower part assembled to each other to commonly define a receiving space; a printed circuit board retained in the receiving space, the printed circuit board defining a front mating portion exposed in a front mating port of the metallic case.
Khazen et al. US10320113 discloses a cage receptacle assembly configured to receive a cable connector, the cage receptacle assembly comprising: a cage body defining a first end and a second end, wherein the cage body comprises: a top cage member defined by a top portion and two side portions, wherein the top cage member defines a top opening, and a bottom cage member attached to the top cage member via the two side portions of the top cage member.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841