DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 12-13 do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is software per se, since it is directed to a stacked system with no recitation of hardware.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because it is directed to a computer program product which is software per se or computer program without reciting any structure.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 14 recite limitations that been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it they use a generic placeholders “unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claim have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach computer implemented method for performing a check of a stacked system comprising: receiving input data (see fig. 1, 2, ¶ 87); applying a first function to the input data to generate an intermediate output data (see fig. 1, 2: body part detection read as first function; alternatively, performing phase classification or performing liver detection may be read as first function); and performing a check based on the intermediate output data and if the check is positive (see fig. 1, 2: result of body part detection is checked if it is a body part of interest; alternatively, result of phase classification is checked if it is single phase or result of liver detection is checked if it satisfies a minimum amount), providing the intermediate output data to a second function at least as part of an intermediate input data, applying the second function to the intermediate input data to generate an output data, and providing the output data (see fig. 1, 2: if it is a body part of interest, then second function of performing phase classification is performed; alternatively, if it is single phase a second function of liver detection is performed; alternatively if the minimum amount is satisfied, a second function of lesion detection is performed).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein if the check is negative, the method comprises: providing a warning message (see ¶ 94: cause of rejection may be communicated to user via interface, i.e., rejection being no liver present in the image, not a single-phase input volume, not enough liver present in the image, etc.).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first function comprises a first trained function, or the second function comprises a second trained function (see ¶¶ 47-49: trained artificial intelligence).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the providing the output data comprises: providing the output data as final output data to at least one of a user, a database, or an imaging device, or providing the output data as second intermediate input data to a third function after performing the check (see fig. 20: results are communicated to user through a display interface; see fig. 1, 2: results output to medical imaging viewer or downstream computing system).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach method of claim 4, further comprising at least one of if the output data is provided as final output data: acquiring medical image data with a medical imaging system based on the final output data, automatically including the final output data in a patient record, or providing a diagnosis based on the final output data (see fig. 1, 2: list of lesions with classifications output).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the check is rule-based (see fig. 1, 2: checks are inherently rule-based).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the input data comprises a medical image data (see fig. 1, 2, abstract: medical image data).
With regard to claims 12, 14-16, see discussion of claim 1.
With regard to claim 13, see discussion of claim 6.
With regard to claim 17, D1 teach method of claim 10, wherein the input data comprises a medical radiology image data (see ¶ 45: radiology image).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 11, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teach method of claim 6, wherein the performing the check comprises: providing the intermediate output data to a user (see ¶ 94: cause of rejection may be communicated to user via interface, i.e., rejection being no liver present in the image, not a single-phase input volume, not enough liver present in the image, etc.), but fail to explicitly teach and receiving a user input based on the provided intermediate output data, wherein the user input indicates whether the check is positive or negative. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that providing an result to a user and receiving feedback from the user is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable results. The motivation for incorporating feedback from the user would have been to incorporate expert opinion of trained medical professional to check whether the evaluation or classification of medical images is correct and provide a correction if necessary.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teach method of claim 7, wherein the intermediate output data is provided to the user if the rule-based check is negative (see ¶ 94: cause of rejection may be communicated to user via interface, i.e., rejection being no liver present in the image, not a single-phase input volume, not enough liver present in the image, etc.).
With regard to claim 9, D1 fail to explicitly teach method of claim 7, wherein the user input comprises one of: an agreement of the user with the intermediate output data, the agreement indicating a positive check, a disagreement of the user with the intermediate output data, the disagreement indicating a negative check, and a correction of the intermediate output data, wherein the corrected intermediate output data replaces the intermediate output data during a following procedure, the corrected intermediate output data indicating a positive check based on the corrected intermediate output data. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that providing a result to a user and receiving feedback from the user is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable results. The motivation for incorporating feedback from the user would have been to incorporate expert opinion of trained medical professional to check whether the evaluation or classification of medical images is correct and provide a correction if necessary.
With regard to claim 11, D1 teach method of claim 10, wherein the input data comprises medical image data of a spine and the intermediate output data comprises at least one of: a position of at least one
With regard to claim 18, see discussion of claim 7.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teach method of claim 7, wherein the input data comprises a medical image data (see abstract, ¶ 45: medical image data).
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2022/0139531.