DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31, 39, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao et al. U.S. Patent Application 2019/0096734 (hereinafter “Liao”).
Regarding claim 31, Liao teaches an apparatus (i.e. system 40)(fig.3), comprising: a base portion (i.e. wafer table 10)(figs.3 and 1B) comprising a first adjustable base structure (i.e. first base structure in the figure below)(fig.1B) and a second adjustable base structure (i.e. second base structure in the figure below)(fig.1B) laterally surrounds the first adjustable base structure (implicit); a pad portion (refer to pins 16)(fig.1B) comprising a first plurality of contact pads (refer to pin connected to first base structure in the figure below)(fig.1B)(refer also to first pins/base structures/actuators in the figure below)(fig.1A) affixed to the first adjustable base structure (implicit) and a second plurality of contact pads (refer to pins connected to second base structure in the figure below)(fig.1B)(refer also to second pins/base structures/actuators in the figure below)(fig.1A) affixed to the second adjustable base structure (implicit); and a first actuator (refer to mechanism 18 connected to the first base structure in the figure below)(fig.1B) coupled to the first adjustable base structure (implicit) and configured to move the first plurality of contact pads along a vertical plane to adjust a first vertical distance to a wafer (refer to [0020], [0023] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 39, Liao teaches a method, the method comprising: placing a wafer (i.e. wafer 70)(fig.3) onto a wafer chuck (i.e. wafer table 10)(fig.3), wherein the wafer chuck comprises a first contact pad (refer to pin connected to first base structure in the figure above)(fig.1B)(refer also to first pins/base structures/actuators in the figure above)(fig.1A) affixed to a first adjustable base structure (i.e. first base structure in the figure above)(fig.1B)(refer also to [0020]) and a second contact pad (refer to pins connected to second base structure in the figure above)(fig.1B)(refer also to second pins/base structures/actuators in the figure above)(fig.1A) affixed to a second adjustable base structure (i.e. second base structure in the figure above)(fig.1B)(refer also to [0020]); determining a vertical distance between the wafer and the first contact pad (refer to [0020], [0023] and [0024]); and moving the first adjustable base structure along a vertical plane based on the vertical distance (refer to [0020], [0023] [0024], and [0035]), so that the first contact pad contacts the wafer about equally as the second contact pad (refer to [0035]).
Regarding claim 40, Liao teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the vertical distance is determined by providing a first electrical signal to a controller via a sensor (i.e. one or more sensors 62)(fig.3)(refer also to [0023], [0024], and [0035]), and wherein the first adjustable base structure is moved by an actuator (i.e. mechanism 18)(fig.1B), in response to the first electrical signal being outside a predefined range (refer to [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Lin et al. U.S. Patent Application 2007/0236857 (hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 33, Liao teaches the apparatus of claim 31, further comprising a first sensor (i.e. one or more optical sensors 62)(fig.3) configured to determine the first vertical distance (refer to [0023] and [0024]); however, Liao does not teach the first sensor coupled to the first plurality of contact pads. However, Lin teaches the first sensor (refer to first sensor in the figure below)(fig.5) coupled to the first plurality of contact pads (refer to figure 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liao to include the sensors of Lin to provide the advantage of sensing each pin individually to allow for fine control of the vertical height of the pins, thereby allowing for better flattening of the wafer.
Regarding claim 34, Liao and Lin teach the apparatus of claim 33, further comprising: a second actuator (refer to Liao mechanism 18 connected to the first base structure in the figure above)(fig.1B) coupled to the second adjustable base structure (implicit), wherein the second actuator is configured to move the second plurality of contact pads along the vertical plane to adjust a second vertical distance to the wafer (refer to Liao [0020], [0023] and [0024]); and a second sensor (i.e. Lin second sensor in the figure above)(fig.5) coupled to the second plurality of contact pads (refer to Lin figure 5) and configured to determine the second vertical distance (refer to Liao [0020], [0023] and [0024])(refer also to Lin [0048]), wherein the first sensor is configured to generate a first electrical signal that corresponds to the first vertical distance (refer to Liao [0020], [0023] and [0024])(refer also to Lin [0048]), and wherein the first actuator is configured to move the first adjustable base structure based on the first electrical signal (refer to Liao [0020], [0023] and [0024])(refer also to Lin [0048]), and wherein the second sensor is configured to generate a second electrical signal that corresponds to the second vertical distance in which the second plurality of contact pads are vertically spaced from the wafer (refer to Liao [0020], [0023] and [0024])(refer also to Lin [0048]), and wherein the second actuator is configured to move the second adjustable base structure based on the second electrical signal (refer to Liao [0020], [0023] and [0024])(refer also to Lin [0048]).
Regarding clam 35, Liao and Lin teach the apparatus of claim 34, further comprising: a controller (i.e. Liao controller 80)(fig.3)(i.e. Lin length control device 140)(fig.5) electrically coupled to the first sensor, the second sensor, the first actuator, and the second actuator (implicit)(refer to Lin figure 5)(refer also to Liao figure 3), wherein: in response to receiving the first electrical signal, the controller controls the first actuator to move the first adjustable base structure along the vertical plane, thereby changing the first vertical distance (refer to Liao [0020], [0023], [0024], and [0035])(refer also to Lin [0048]); and in response to receiving the second electrical signal, the controller controls the second actuator to move the second adjustable base structure along the vertical plane, thereby changing the second vertical distance (refer to Liao [0020], [0023], [0024], and [0035])(refer also to Lin [0048]).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao and Lin as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Caldwell et al. U.S. Patent Application 2005/0087939 (hereinafter “Caldwell”).
Regarding claim 36, Liao and Lin teach the apparatus of claim 34; however, they do not teach the apparatus further comprising: a first chucking electrode coupled to the first adjustable base structure; and a second chucking electrode coupled to the second adjustable base structure. However, Caldwell teaches the apparatus further comprising: a first chucking electrode (refer to electrostatic pins 21)(fig.4) coupled to the first adjustable base structure (implicit); and a second chucking electrode (refer to electrostatic pins 21)(fig.4) coupled to the second adjustable base structure (implicit). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liao and Lin to include the electrodes of Caldwell to provide the advantage of clamping the wafer to the pins, thereby minimizing deformations between the pins.
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24, 25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao and further in view of Caldwell.
Regarding claim 21, Liao teaches an apparatus (i.e. system 40)(fig.3), comprising: a plurality of adjustable base structures (i.e. linkage 20)(fig.1B) arranged one next to another along a horizontal plane (implicit)(refer to fig.1B) and configured to be movable along a vertical plane perpendicular to the horizontal plane (refer to [0020], [0023] and [0024]); and a plurality of contact pads (i.e. pins 16)(fig.1B) affixed to the plurality of adjustable base structures (implicit)(refer to figure 1B and [0020]), wherein the plurality of contact pads locates at positions that are configured to contact a wafer (i.e. wafer 70)(fig.3)(refer also to abstract and [0023]); however, Liao does not teach the plurality of contact pads locates at positions that are configured to clamp a wafer. However, Caldwell teaches the plurality of contact pads locates at positions that are configured to clamp a wafer (refer to electrostatic pins 21)(fig.4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liao to include the plurality of contact pads of Caldwell to provide the advantage of clamping the wafer to the pins, thereby minimizing deformations between the pins.
Regarding claim 22, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the plurality of adjustable base structures is configured to move independently in both up and down directions along the vertical plane (refer to Liao [0024])(refer also to Caldwell [0022]).
Regarding claim 24, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 21, further comprising: a plurality of actuators (i.e. Liao mechanism 18)(fig.1B) coupled to the plurality of adjustable base structures, respectively (implicit)(refer to [0020] and fig.1B), wherein the plurality of actuators are configured to respectively move the plurality of adjustable base structures along the vertical plane (refer to [0020]).
Regarding claim 25, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 24, further comprising: a plurality of chucking electrodes (refer to Caldwell electrostatic pins 21)(fig.4) coupled to the plurality of adjustable base structures, respectively (implicit); and a plurality of sensors (i.e. Liao one or more optical sensors 62)(fig.3)(refer also to [0023]) that are configured to generate a plurality of electrical signals that correspond to distances between the plurality of contact pads and the wafer (refer to Liao [0023], [0024], and [0035]), wherein the plurality of actuators are configured to move the plurality of adjustable base structures based on the electrical signals (refer to Liao [0023], [0024], and [0035]).
Regarding claim 27, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the plurality of adjustable base structures is configured to move along the vertical plane to compensate for a height difference of the plurality of contact pads (refer to Liao [0023], [0024], and [0035]) so that each of the plurality of contact pads contacts the wafer during a fabrication step (refer to Liao [0023], [0024], and [0035]).
Regarding claim 28, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the plurality of adjustable base structures is configured to move along the vertical plane to compensate for a distance difference between various locations of the wafer and the horizontal plane (refer to Liao [0023], [0024], and [0035]), so that each of the plurality of contact pads contacts the wafer during a fabrication step (refer to Liao [0023], [0024], and [0035]).
Regarding claim 29, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 21; however, they do not teach wherein each of the plurality of adjustable base structures has a thickness between about 25 millimeters (mm) and about 35 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each of the plurality of adjustable base structures has a thickness between about 25 millimeters (mm) and about 35 mm., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liao and Caldwell to include wherein each of the plurality of adjustable base structures has a thickness between about 25 millimeters (mm) and about 35 mm to provide the advantage of optimizing the size of the adjustable base structures to allow for enough strength to properly flatten the wafer while minimizing the size of the structures.
Regarding claim 30, Liao and Caldwell teach the apparatus of claim 21; however, they do not teach wherein each of the contact pads has a height between about 0.5 millimeters (mm) and about 5 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each of the contact pads has a height between about 0.5 millimeters (mm) and about 5 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liao and Caldwell to include wherein each of the contact pads has a height between about 0.5 millimeters (mm) and about 5 mm to provide the advantage of optimizing the size of the contact pads to allow for enough height to conform to the deformations within the wafer to properly flatten the wafer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 26, 32, 37, and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 23 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 23, especially wherein each of the plurality of adjustable base structures has a ring-like shape concentric to one another. Claim 26 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 26, especially a power supply electrically coupled to the plurality of chucking electrodes, wherein the plurality of sensors determine the distances by measuring electrical resistances between the plurality of chucking electrodes and the power supply. Claim 32 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 32, especially wherein the first adjustable base structure and the second adjustable base structure are ring shaped and concentric about a center point. Claims 37 and 38 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 37, especially a first electrical connector electrically coupled to the first chucking electrode, wherein the first electrical connector is configured to provide an electrical connection between the first chucking electrode and a first power supply; and a second electrical connector electrically coupled to the second chucking electrode, wherein the second electrical connector is configured to provide an electrical connection between the second chucking electrode and a second power supply. Claim 38 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its dependency on claim 37.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838