DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “iterative attention module” or “training module” in claims 1-6, 10-15, 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210248421 A1 (Gao) in view of US 20220156939 A1 (Homayounfar).
As per claim 1, Gao teaches a training system, comprising:
an (Gao:
Para 62-63, 66, 69-73, 76-77, 81: determine ordered sets of second features based on first features in input images;
train attention module (AM) to determine ordered second features based on first features); and
a training module configured to:
selectively input pairs of matching images to the iterative attention module; selectively input non-matching images to the iterative attention module (Gao: Fig. 3 (shown above): 312-318;
Para 25: “the distance of positive pairs are encouraged to become closer, and the distance of positive pairs are encouraged to become farther”;
Para 27: “the CIN pulls positive image pairs closer while pushes negative image pairs away via a CCI module, which exploits channel correlations between samples”;
Para 36: “During the training phase, training data (e.g., positive and negative pairs of images) are used to train MLM 138, wherein both SCI module 132 and CCI module 134 are utilized for training the whole CIN.”;
Parad 44, 57, 78, 80: positive and negative image pairs;); and
based on the ordered sets generated by the iterative attention module based on the input pairs of matching images and the input non-matching images, train the (Gao: para 109 (shown above): “contrastive loss”;
paras 44, 79: contrastive loss;
equations 9-10;
para 55: loss, ground truth;
update AM parameters based on one of these loss functions where the inputs to the AM are the matching and non-matching images and the output from the AM are the ordered sets of second features).
Gao does not teach using iterative attention over T iterations (emphasis added).
Homayounfar teaches a training system, comprising:
an iterative attention module configured to, based on first features in input images, determine ordered sets of second features using iterative attention over T iterations, wherein T is an integer greater than or equal to two (Homayounfar: Fig. 4 (shown below): mainly 430, 455, 460 –> 435 –> 470, 355-405: see the recursive arrow on 435;
train iterative attention module (IAM) to determine ordered second features based on first features); and
a training module configured to (Homayounfar: Fig. 9 (shown above); paras 134-135 (shown below)):
selectively input pairs of matching images to the iterative attention module; selectively input non-matching images to the iterative attention module (Homayounfar: Fig. 4 (shown above): mainly 325, 405;
Para 134 (shown below): “image pairs”); and
based on the ordered sets generated by the iterative attention module, train the iterative attention module based on minimizing a loss (Homayounfar: Fig. 9 (shown above): mainly 920-925;
update IAM parameters based on a loss function and the output from the IAM are the ordered sets of second features).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Homayounfar into Gao since both Gao and Homayounfar suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of training an attention model to receive pairs of matching and non-matching image pairs and determine ordered sets of second features based on first features in general and Homayounfar additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Gao in that the attention model is iterative as to “generate a refined correlation volume 470” (Homayounfar: para 93). The teachings of Homayounfar can be incorporated into Gao in that the attention model is iterative. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim 3, Gao in view of Homayounfar teaches the training system of claim 1 wherein the training module is configured to determine whether a pair of images is matching or not matching based on an annotation included with the pair (Gao: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above;
Also see para 44).
As per claim 4, Gao in view of Homayounfar teaches the training system of claim 1 wherein the training module is configured to determine matching first features in an input pair of matching images (Gao: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above; Also see:
Homayounfar: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above; Also see:
).
As per claim(s) 14, 16, and 17, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1, 3, and 4 are analogous, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-13, 15, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Limitations added in dependent claims 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15, 18, and 19, in conjunction with other limitations present in the corresponding independent and any intervening claim(s), distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
Atiba Fitzpatrick
/ATIBA O FITZPATRICK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677