DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 is worded in a confusing manner. Examiner suggests the following changes:
3. (Currently Amended) The vehicle lower body structure of claim 2, wherein have closed cross-sectional shapes when [[are]] cut along the vehicle width direction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 2, the phrase “the first guide portions are configured by some of the energy absorption portions” is confusing. It appears that claim 1 has introduced a term that is narrower (i.e. “guide portions”) than a broader concept that is introduced in claim 2 (i.e. “energy absorption portions”). This causes confusion. Essentially, it is unclear whether an energy absorption portion is different from a guide portion, or whether they are same thing. Another reason for this is that all of the portions of the impact absorbing member perform both functions of absorbing and guiding impact energy. The claim does not structurally differentiate between energy absorption portions and guide portions.
With regard to claim 6, the term “energy absorption portions configuring the second guide portion” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 5 introduces second guide portions, but in a different way. Furthermore, this claim is simply worded in a strange manner, such as the phrase “excluding energy absorption portions configuring the first guide portions.” The claim should be amended to more clearly compare the rigidity of the various elements of the impact absorbing member. Claim 6 is being interpreted to mean that the second guide portions have a higher rigidity than other parts of the impact absorbing member.
With regard to claim 7, the phrase “among energy absorption portions configuring the first guide portions” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear whether the claim is speaking about the guide portions themselves, or other elements that are “among” them.
With regard to claim 8, the phrase “among the guide portions” is confusing, as it is unclear whether the claim is referring to the guide portions themselves, or other elements that are “among” the guide portions.
Claim 4 stands rejected based on its dependence upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamei et al. (US 2022/0379966, hereinafter Kamei).
With regard to claim 1, Kamei discloses a vehicle lower body structure, comprising:
a pair of rockers (73) that extend in a vehicle front-rear direction at both vehicle width direction outer sides (see Fig. 10, which shows rockers 73 at both sides of the vehicle 1);
a crossmember (110A, 110B, 110C) that extends in a vehicle width direction between the pair of rockers and at a vehicle upper side of a battery (10—note that Fig. 14 shows the battery 10 being located below the cross members 110) connected to the pair of rockers, with extension direction end portions of the crossmember being respectively connected to the pair of rockers (Fig. 12 shows the ends of crossmembers 110 being connected to panel 90 of the rockers 73); and
an impact absorption member (120) that is provided inside each of the pair of rockers (Fig. 12 shows member 120 inside the rockers 73), that is disposed so as to overlap the crossmember and the battery as viewed in a vehicle side view (Fig. 12 shows that the impact absorption member overlaps both the cross member 110 and the battery 10. See also paragraph 0167), and that is provided with first guide portions (the “guide portions” are considered to be areas where the walls of element 120 meet, such as proximate numeral 125 in Fig. 12) that guide, to the crossmember, an impact load input from a vehicle width direction outer side (Paragraph 0167, “Herein, since the inside upper vertical wall portion 123 of the side load-transmitting member 120 overlaps the cross members 110, 153 positioned on the floor side and the inside lower vertical wall portion 124 of the side load-transmitting member 120 overlaps the battery case 10, the collision load is dispersed and transmitted to the cross members 110, 153 positioned on the floor side and the battery case 10”).
With regard to claim 2, as best understood, Kamei teaches that the impact absorption member (120) includes plural energy absorption portions (i.e. the wall portions of element 120, such as proximate numerals 131 and 134 in Fig. 12) that are arranged along a vehicle up-down direction and the vehicle width direction and that are configured to absorb impact energy by plastic deformation (the various walls of element 120 perform the claimed function), and the first guide portions are configured by some of the energy absorption portions (as discussed above in the 112(b) rejection, this limitation is unclear. Portions of element 120 both guide impact energy and absorb impact energy).
With regard to claim 3, Kamei teaches that cross-sectional shapes of the energy absorption portions when the energy absorption portions are cut along the vehicle width direction are closed cross-sectional shapes (see Fig. 12).
With regard to claim 4, Kamei teaches that energy absorption portions configuring the first guide portions have a higher rigidity than other energy absorption portions (the joints between webbing elements of member 120 have a higher rigidity than the webbing elements themselves, as the joints are given strength by the fact that multiple walls are coming together).
With regard to claim 5, Kamei teaches that the battery (10) is fastened, via fastening members (141), to the pair of rockers (73), and the impact absorption member (120) includes second guide portions (i.e. the portions of element 120 that are closest to the fastener 141—see Fig. provided below) that guide the impact load to the fastening members.
With regard to claim 6, as best understood, Kamei teaches that energy absorption portions configuring the second guide portions have a higher rigidity than other energy absorption portions excluding energy absorption portions configuring the first guide portions (the guide portions have a higher rigidity than other portions of member 120, given that the guide portions are intersections between webbing portions. These intersection points have a higher rigidity due to meeting of multiple wall sections at a single point).
With regard to claim 7, Kamie teaches that, among energy absorption portions configuring the first guide portions, an energy absorption portion provided at a vehicle width direction inner side is disposed further toward a vehicle upper side than an energy absorption portion provided at the vehicle width direction outer side (see annotated Fig. below).
With regard to claim 8, as best understood, Kamei teaches that, among the first guide portions, at least some of the energy absorption portions that are adjacent to each other in the vehicle width direction overlap each other in the vehicle up-down direction (see annotated Fig. provided below).
With regard to claim 9, Kamei teaches that the first guide portions include a sloping portion (134) that slopes towards a vehicle upper side and a vehicle width direction inner side.
With regard to claim 10, Kamei teaches that an outer end portion at a vehicle width direction outer side of the sloping portion is provided further toward the vehicle width direction outer side than fastening members fastened to the pair of rockers, and an inner end portion at a vehicle width direction inner side of the sloping portion is provided further toward the vehicle upper side than the fastening members (see annotated Fig. provided below).
Conclusion
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676