DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 21st, 2026 to Group 1 (claims 1-12).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, lines 1-6 recite, “wherein the system, when the cryocooler is switched to the non-operative state, is configured to initially vent the helium gas from the cryocooler to reduce the helium gas pressure to a first set threshold, and then the vacuum pump is configured to remove the helium gas until the helium gas pressure is reduced to a second set threshold that is lower than the first set threshold” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the first set threshold and the second set threshold of claim 6 relate to the previously claimed set threshold of claim 2 from which claim 6 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the first set threshold to be less than the set threshold and the second set threshold to be the same as the set threshold. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify the relationship between the claimed thresholds.
Claim 7, lines 1-3 recite, “comprising a pre-evacuated vacuum chamber that is configured to remove helium gas from the cryocooler housing when the cryocooler is switched to the non-operative state” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the pre-evacuated vacuum chamber of claim 7 relates to the configured to remove helium gas from within a cryocooler housing to reduce a helium gas pressure within the cryocooler to minimize a parasitic heat load generated when the cryocooler is switched from an operative state to the non-operative state of claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the pre-evacuated vacuum chamber to be a part of the system of claim 1. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify the relationship between the system and the pre-evacuated vacuum chamber.
Claim 11, lines 1-2 recite, “wherein a cooling medium for the superconducting machine system is any other cryogen” which is unclear to the Examiner as where the meets and bounds of “any other cryogen” begin and end and what “other” refers to (i.e., can the cryogen be helium?). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret any cryogenic fluid as an acceptable cooling medium. The Examiner recommends clarifying what is meant by “any other cryogen”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton.
Regarding claim 1, Clayton discloses a superconducting machine system (Fig. 5; Col. 4, lines 28-35, FIG. 1 shows a schematic cross-section of a known MRI magnet system; FIG. 2 shows a dual recondensing thermal interface in an arrangement such as shown in FIG. 1; FIG. 3 shows another arrangement employing a dual recondensing thermal interface; FIGS. 4 and 5 show embodiments of the present invention, as applied to the arrangements shown in FIGS. 2 and 3), comprising:
a superconducting electrical machine (Col. 7, lines 5-9, In further embodiments, control of the inlet and vent valves 106, 104 may instead, or additionally, be based on the operation of an associated MRI system or similar; in particular, the operation of an equipment located within the cryogen vessel 1);
a cryogenic vessel encompassing the superconducting electrical machine (Fig. 5, cryogen vessel 1; Col. 7, lines 5-9, In further embodiments, control of the inlet and vent valves 106, 104 may instead, or additionally, be based on the operation of an associated MRI system or similar; in particular, the operation of an equipment located within the cryogen vessel 1);
a vacuum vessel wall encompassing the cryogenic vessel (Fig. 5, vacuum jacket 3; Col. 1, lines 18-22, a cryogen vessel 1, containing a cylindrical superconductor magnet (not shown) and liquefied cryogen 16, and is surrounded by one or more thermal shields 2, which are in tum completely surrounded by a vacuum jacket 3);
a cryocooler coupled to the vacuum vessel wall, wherein the cryocooler is configured to cool the superconducting electrical machine (Fig. 5, refrigerator 4; Further, the refrigerator 4 of Clayton has the same structure as the claimed cryocooler and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed); and
a system configured, when the cryocooler is switched to a non-operative state, to remove helium gas from within a cryocooler housing to reduce a helium gas pressure within the cryocooler to minimize a parasitic heat load generated when the cryocooler is switched from an operative state to the non-operative state (Fig. 5, first controlled valve 104; Col. 6, lines 17-19, The first controlled valve 104 leads to a venting arrangement, which may include recuperation of discharged cryogen gas, or may be a simple vent to atmosphere; Col. 9, lines 12-28, A further advantage of arrangements of the present invention allows the sleeve 5 to be evacuated for shipping, and subsequently refilled with cryogen gas upon arrival at site. When not operating, the refrigerator 4 is a major source of heat influx to the system and contributes significantly to the boil-off rate. Re-filling of the sleeve with cryogen gas could be
arranged using an external gas source. Preferably, however, an existing refrigerator transit line/valve (14 in FIG. 2) is used in a different function to backfill the sleeve from the cryogen vessel 1. By evacuating the sleeve 5 for shipping, thermal influx to the cryogen vessel is significantly reduced, reducing cryogen boil-off rate and so increasing the length of time that the cryogen vessel remains cooled by liquid cryogen before it boils dry. This increases the length of time allowed for shipping, potentially saving costs by allowing more flexible logistical arrangements).
Regarding claim 2, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the system comprises a vacuum pump that is configured, when the cryocooler is switched to the non-operative state, to remove the helium gas until the helium gas pressure is reduced to a set threshold (Col. 7, lines 46-60, Typical venting systems receive boiled-off cryogen gas at about atmospheric pressure. A vent direct to atmosphere will of course be at atmospheric pressure, and cryogen gas recuperation arrangements typically operate a cryogen gas inlet at about atmospheric pressure. While this may be expected to be a sufficiently low pressure for operation of the present invention in most circumstances, a vacuum pump may be connected to the vent valve 104 to reduce the pressure of cryogen gas within the secondary recondensing chamber 8 to below atmospheric, if required. A very low, sub-atmospheric, pressure of cryogen gas within the secondary recondensing chamber will result in a very low thermal conductivity of the secondary recondensing chamber, resulting in low cooling power delivered to the recondensing surface exposed to the cryogen vessel).
Regarding claim 6, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the system, when the cryocooler is switched to the non-operative state, is configured to initially vent the helium gas from the cryocooler to reduce the helium gas pressure to a first set threshold, and then the vacuum pump is configured to remove the helium gas until the helium gas pressure is reduced to a second set threshold that is lower than the first set threshold (Col. 7, lines 46-60, Typical venting systems receive boiled-off cryogen gas at about atmospheric pressure. A vent direct to atmosphere will of course be at atmospheric pressure, and cryogen gas recuperation arrangements typically operate a cryogen gas inlet at about atmospheric pressure. While this may be expected to be a sufficiently low pressure for operation of the present invention in most circumstances, a vacuum pump may be connected to the vent valve 104 to reduce the pressure of cryogen gas within the secondary recondensing chamber 8 to below atmospheric, if required. A very low, sub-atmospheric, pressure of cryogen gas within the secondary recondensing chamber will result in a very low thermal conductivity of the secondary recondensing chamber, resulting in low cooling power delivered to the recondensing surface exposed to the cryogen vessel; Further, the teachings of Clayton at least imply that venting alone can only reach atmospheric pressures and that a vacuum pump is required to achieve a vacuum state below atmospheric pressure since it has been held it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding claim 8, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the superconducting electrical machine comprises a superconducting magnet (Col. 1, lines 18-20, a cryogen vessel 1, containing a cylindrical superconductor magnet (not shown) and liquefied cryogen 16).
Regarding claim 9, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the cryocooler is oriented at an angle when coupled to the vacuum vessel wall (Fig. 5 of Clayton depicts refrigerator 4 to be oriented at what appears to be a perpendicular angle to the vacuum jacket 3).
Regarding claim 11, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a cooling medium for the superconducting machine system is any other cryogen (Col. 1, lines 8-13, In order to achieve stability it is common to use a superconducting magnet system which operates at very low temperature, the temperature being maintained by cooling the superconductor, typically by immersion in a cryogenic fluid, such as liquid helium, liquid neon, liquid hydrogen or liquid nitrogen; as best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton in view of Jonas et al. (US 7,665,312), hereinafter Jonas.
Regarding claim 3, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Clayton does not explicitly disclose wherein the set threshold is below 0.1 bar and is above 10-10 millibar.
Jonas teaches wherein the set threshold is below 0.1 bar and is above 10-10 millibar (Fig. 3, block 3; Col. 6, lines 36-57, Returning to FIG. 3, the method can further include changing a pressure within the vessel 140 to be closer to atmospheric pressure, at block 344. During normal operation, the pressure within the vessel 120 may be in a range of approximately 10 to 28 KPa (approximately 1.5 to 4 pounds per square inch or "psi") gauge. Referring to FIG. 1, the manual valve 290 may be opened (partially or completely) to allow some of the cryogenic gas within the transitional space 264 to flow to the exhaust. In one embodiment, the pressure may be less than 9 KPa (approximately 1.4 psi) gauge. In a particular embodiment, the pressure may be in a range of approximately 0.1 KPa to 0.2 KPa (approximately 0.01 to 0.02 psi) gauge. In other embodiment, the reduced pressure may be higher than 9 KPa or lower than 0.1 KPa. The pressure within the transitional space 264 may be lower than the pressure within the interior space 160 to reduce the likelihood that too much warm cryogenic gas (near or at room temperature near the flange 230) would flow into the interior space 160. In a particular embodiment, positive pressure (i.e., the pressure within the cryogenic region is higher than the pressure of the ambient 162) may be used to reduce the likelihood that air enters the cryogenic region; Further, it has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.) MPEP § 2144.05-I.).
Clayton fails to teach wherein the set threshold is below 0.1 bar and is above 10-10 millibar, however Jonas teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocooler control to include wherein the set threshold is below 0.1 bar and is above 10-10 millibar. This is strong evidence that modifying Clayton as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. achieving desired heat transfer characteristics within the cryocooler to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clayton by Jonas and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of achieving desired heat transfer characteristics within the cryocooler to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton in view of Takahashi (US 2024/0376877), hereinafter Takahashi.
Regarding claim 4, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Clayton does not explicitly disclose wherein the vacuum pump comprises a roughing vacuum pump.
Takahashi teaches wherein the vacuum pump comprises a roughing vacuum pump (Fig. 5, roughing pimp 59; Pg. 7, paragraph 80, The cryopump system is provided with a roughing line 58 separately from the exhaust line 50. The roughing line 58 connects the rough valve 18 of each cryopump 10 to a common roughing pump 59).
Clayton fails to teach wherein the vacuum pump comprises a roughing vacuum pump, however Takahashi teaches that it is a known method in the art of evacuation of cryogenic spaces to include wherein the vacuum pump comprises a roughing vacuum pump. This is strong evidence that modifying Clayton as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a vacuum state to achieve desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clayton by Takahashi and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a vacuum state to achieve desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton in view of Johnson et al. (US 2004/0050327), hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 5, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Clayton does not explicitly disclose wherein the vacuum pump comprises a turbo-mechanical pump.
Johnson teaches wherein the vacuum pump comprises a turbo-mechanical pump (Fig. 1, system 50, vacuum pump 256; Pg. 3, paragraph 34, Vacuum pump system 250 includes vacuum pump 256, such as a turbo-mechanical pump of the kind typically used in plasma reactor systems, and a gate valve 258 arranged between chuck base 130 and the vacuum pump for controlling the vacuum level in interior region 65).
Clayton fails to teach wherein the vacuum pump comprises a turbo-mechanical pump, however Johnson teaches that it is a known method in the art of evacuation of cryogenic spaces to include wherein the vacuum pump comprises a turbo-mechanical pump. This is strong evidence that modifying Clayton as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a vacuum state to achieve desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clayton by Johnson and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a vacuum state to achieve desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton in view of The “Good” Vacuum (Low Pressure) Processing Environment, hereinafter NPL-1.
Regarding claim 7, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Clayton does not explicitly disclose comprising a pre-evacuated vacuum chamber that is configured to remove helium gas from the cryocooler housing when the cryocooler is switched to the non-operative state.
NPL-1 teaches the use of pre-evacuated vacuum chambers instead of vacuum pumps (Pg. 110, The pressure in a vacuum system is partially reduced (“roughed”) by rapidly evacuating the system using high throughput mechanical pumps, or in some cases is partially “roughed” using a large-volume evacuated ballast tank; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Clayton fails to teach comprising a pre-evacuated vacuum chamber that is configured to remove helium gas from the cryocooler housing when the cryocooler is switched to the non-operative state, however NPL-1 teaches that it is a known method in the art of evacuation of cryogenic spaces to include the use of pre-evacuated vacuum chambers instead of vacuum pumps. This is strong evidence that modifying Clayton as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a vacuum state to achieve desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clayton by NPL-1 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a vacuum state to achieve desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton in view of Miki (US Patent No. 9,709,313), hereinafter Miki.
Regarding claim 10, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Clayton does not explicitly disclose wherein the cryocooler is a single stage cooler.
Miki teaches wherein the cryocooler is a single stage cooler (Fig. 2, refrigeration device 20; Col. 4-5, lines 65-67 and 1-2, In the present invention, specific shapes and structures of the refrigeration device that is used are not particularly limited to certain shapes and structures. For example, a single stage refrigeration device (such as one including only the second refrigeration stage 28) may be used).
Clayton fails to teach wherein the cryocooler is a single stage cooler, however Miki teaches that it is a known method in the art of cooling a superconducting machine to include wherein the cryocooler is a single stage cooler. This is strong evidence that modifying Clayton as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a desired amount of refrigeration capacity to the superconducting machine to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clayton by Miki and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a desired amount of refrigeration capacity to the superconducting machine to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. (US Patent No. 8,327,650), hereinafter Clayton in view of Ri et al. (US Patent No. 9,612,062), hereinafter Ri.
Regarding claim 12, Clayton discloses the superconducting machine system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Clayton does not explicitly disclose wherein the superconducting electrical machine comprises a superconducting generator.
Ri teaches wherein the superconducting electrical machine comprises a superconducting generator (Fig. 1, superconducting device 12; Col. 2-3, lines 63-67 and 1-3, The superconducting device 12 is a device in which a superconducting state need be maintained for operation and is exemplified by a superconducting magnet, a superconducting motor, a superconducting generator, etc. Alternatively, the superconducting device 12 may be a system including elements that utilize superconductivity. For example, the superconducting device 12 may be a magnetic resonance imaging device).
Clayton fails to teach wherein the superconducting electrical machine comprises a superconducting generator, however Ri teaches that it is a known method in the art of cooling a superconducting machine to include wherein the superconducting electrical machine comprises a superconducting generator. This is strong evidence that modifying Clayton as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing cryogenic cooling to a superconducting electrical machine). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clayton by Ri and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing cryogenic cooling to a superconducting electrical machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mitsubori (US Patent No. 9,410,725) discloses a similar system configured to remove helium gas from within a cryocooler housing to reduce a helium gas pressure within the cryocooler to minimize a parasitic heat load generated.
Arman et al. (US Patent No. 7,263,841) discloses a similar system configured to remove helium gas from within a cryocooler housing to reduce a helium gas pressure within the cryocooler to minimize a parasitic heat load generated.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 August 25th, 2026