DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a LIDAR reflective device” (Claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 12, 15 the use of multiple “and/or” clauses renders the claim limitation unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 12-15is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 10357062.
Claim 1
DE 10357062 a reflective device (Fig. 4, Ref. 401; micromirror) configured to reflect an incident light beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) to a target (purpose of micromirror is to reflect to some sort of target) comprising a partially transparent mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 402; transmission grating) having a front face disposed so as to receive the incident light beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) and a rear face opposite the front face (See Fig. 4, Ref. 401 has a front face and a rear face), the mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 401) being configured to form a reflected beam (purpose of micromirror is to reflect light) by reflection of a part of the incident light beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403), and to transmit another part of the incident light beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 404-408) by the rear face to form a transmitted beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403), and a detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409, 410) disposed facing the rear face of the mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 401) so as to receive the transmitted beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 404-408) at least when the incident light beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) is correctly aligned with the reflective device (Fig. 4, Ref. 401), the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409, 410) being configured to measure at least one parameter associated with the transmitted beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403), the at least one parameter being chosen a deformation of the mirror (Page 1, measuring tilting of micromirror).
Claim 2
DE 10357062 discloses the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409, 410) is configured to determine a deformation of the mirror (measuring tilting) according to: if the parameter a position of the transmitted beam different from a defined position (Pages 3-4), an incorrect alignment of the incident light beam is determined by the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409, 410)
Claim 3
DE 10357062 discloses the reflective device (Fig. 4, Ref. 401) further comprising a support (Fig. 4, Ref. Si, Glas) and an actuator module (tilting of micro mirror is inherent done by an actuator module so that different angles are achieved) configured to pivot the mirror about at least one axis of rotation (See Fig. 4) with respect to the support (Fig. 4, Ref. Si, Glas) wherein the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409, 420) is secured to the support (Fig. 4, Ref. Si, Glas).
Claim 5
DE 10357062 discloses wherein the mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 401) comprises: a metal reflective layer comprising at least one opening (grating Ref. 402) has openings).
Claim 7
DE 10357062 discloses wherein the detector module comprises a single-element detector (Page 6, one-dimensional photodetector).
Claim 8
DE 10357062 discloses the detector module comprises a pixelated array along two dimensions (Page 6, CCD).
Claim 12
DE 10357062 discloses method for measuring alignment of the incident light beam (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) the mirror deformation (tilting) implementing the reflective (Fig. 3, Ref. 401) device comprising: emitting the incident light beam from a light source (Fig. 4, Ref. 403) to the reflective device measuring, using the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409-410), of the at least one parameter associated with the transmitted beam by the mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 401; micromirror), the at least one parameter being chosen from among: a position of the transmitted beam (measuring tilting), and a shape of the transmitted beam determining the alignment state (Fig. 4, Ref. 404-408) of the incident light beam with the reflective device (Fig. 4, Ref. 401).
Claim 13
DE 10357062 discloses correcting at least one from among the position of the light source and the position of the mirror if, a deformation of the mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 401), an incorrect alignment of the incident light beam is determined (measuring tilting).
Claim 14
DE 10357062 discloses the reflective device comprises an actuator module configured to pivot the mirror (See Fig. 4, Ref. 401; micromirror is actuated back and forth) about at least one axis of rotation (See Fig. 4), and the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409-410) is secured to the mirror comprising a two-dimensional pixelated array (Page 6, CCD) determining an alignment state (measuring tilting) of the incident light beam with the reflective device (Fig. 4, Ref. 401).
Claim 15
DE 10357062 discloses emitting an alert a deformation of the mirror a deformation of the mirror is determined (an alert for determining the tilt of the micromirror; Pages 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 9-11, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 10357062.
Claims 4, 16
DE 10357062 discloses the claimed invention except for the detector module has an acquisition frequency greater than or equal to a vibration frequency of a source emitting the incident light beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify DE 10357062 with detector module above since it was well known in the art that using such a module having a fast enough time resolution, the detector freezes the frame, allowing the system to determine exactly where the beam is at any given instant, therefore improving sensor detection. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claims 6, 17
DE 10357062 discloses the claimed invention except for the detector module is disposed at a non-zero distance from the rear face of the mirror, the distance being between 1µm and 15cm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify DE 10357062 with distance disclosed above since it was well known in the art that Placing the detector module at a non-zero distance (1 um to 15cm) from a mirror's rear face prevents mechanical stress transfer, allows for thermal and structural isolation, and creates room for cooling or active optical adjustment mechanisms. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 9
DE 10357062 discloses the claimed invention except for an optical element configured to focalise the transmitted beam on the detector module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine DE 10357062 with a focal element for focusing on the detector module since it was well known in the art that using a focusing element for focusing a beam on the detector module, reduces background light noise therefore improving the overall detection signal quality. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-know.
Claim 10, 11
DE 10357062 discloses a support (Fig. 4, Ref. Si, Glas) and an actuator module (See rotating Ref. 401) configured to pivot the mirror (Fig. 4, Ref. 401) about at least one axis of rotation (See Fig. 4) with respect to the support (Fig. 4, Ref. Si, Glas), the detector module (Fig. 4, Ref. 409-410) being secured to the support (Fig. 4, Ref. Si, Glas).
DE 10357062 discloses the claimed invention except for the device being a LIDAR reflective device or a laser pointing system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine DE 10357062 with the different uses of LIDAR or Laser pointing system since it was well known in the art that using such device in a LIDAR or Laser pointing they provide incredibly fast, precise, and programmable beam steering without bulky, moving parts. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 May 28, 2026