DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an adhesive” in line 9, but does not define whether this refers to the adhesive of line 5 or requires an additional adhesive.
Claim 2 recites “a resin” in line 3, but does not define whether this is the resin of line 2 or a separate resin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KURIYAMA et al. (US 2011/0189416).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, KURIYAMA teaches a first coating device 35 with a pair of facing rollers, coating a solventless adhesive on first film 34 by passing between the rollers, laminating a second film 37 superimposed with the adhesive layer (paras. 15 and 131-132; fig. 3), aging to solidify the adhesive (para. 139), and a laminate produced thereby comprising a first and second film attached via adhesive 3, with a layer 7 comprising an aluminum foil (paras. 120-121). KURIYAMA does not explicitly teach duplicating the coating device and lamination step to create the 3-layer structure shown in figure 2, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to duplicate the coating and lamination devices in order to create laminates having a variety of properties, where duplication of apparatus components and method steps has been held per se obvious, and KURIYAMA teaches producing laminates having seven or more different layers (para. 120).
Regarding claim 2, KURIYAMA teaches a first layer comprising polyolefin based film (para. 117), a second film comprising a urethane base (para. 99), both of which are resin-based, and an intermediate layer comprising aluminum foil (para. 121).
Regarding claim 3, KURIYAMA teaches an outer layer comprising polyamide or polyester based resin (para. 110).
Regarding claim 4, KURIYAMA teaches an inner layer comprising a polyolefin based resin (para. 117).
Regarding claim 5, KURIYAMA teaches both adhesive layers 3 comprise solventless adhesive (para. 42; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, KURIYAMA teaches a two-part adhesive with polyester based main agent and an aliphatic isocyanate curing agent (para. 19). KURIYAMA teaches utilizing an adhesive viscosity from 300 to 1000 mPa-s at 70 degrees Celsius (para. 50), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a viscosity from 700 to 2000 mPa-s at 50 degrees Celsius because there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same adhesion (MPEP 2141) and the materials utilized in KURIYAMA are those utilize in applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 7, KURIYAMA teaches applying adhesive in an amount 1.5 to 3.5 g/m^2 (para. 105), such that it would have been obvious to apply adhesive in a range of 0.5 to 3.0 g/m^2 because the range claimed overlaps that of the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745