DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 and 12/29/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the pre-defined time window twice. Claim 19 depends on claim 16, and neither claim 16 nor claim 19 introduces a pre-defined time window; the window is introduced in claim 18, from which claim 19 does not depend. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Before its amendment, claim 19 depends on any of claims 16 to 18, and the window had antecedent basis through claim 18.
For the purpose of examination on the merits, claim 19 is treated as dependent of claim 18, so that the pre-defined time window is the window recited in claim 18. Amending claim 19 to depend on claim 18 would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0105647 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0155398 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses: A terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising:, a wireless device, which is a user equipment, having a processor coupled to a memory, the memory holding the software that the processor runs to carry out the operations that follow: (Lee, para [0302] “a wireless device may be referred to as a user equipment (UE).”; Lee, para [0426] “a wireless device 100 may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106.”; Lee, para [0427] “the processor 102 may be configured to be coupled operably with the memory 104 and the transceiver 106.”; Lee, para [0081] “Firmware or software configured to perform the descriptions, functions, procedures, suggestions, methods and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in the present disclosure may be included in the one or more processors 102 and 202 or stored in the one or more memories 104 and 204 so as to be driven by the one or more processors 102 and 202.”).
Furthermore, Lee discloses: performing measurements related to a first base station while the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or in an RRC inactive state, the measurements comprising at least a first measurement; user equipment performing, while in the idle or inactive state, the early measurements configured for it on the frequencies of the neighbor cells, (i.e., “while the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or in an RRC inactive state” as claimed) which are cells of other base stations, so that each of those measurements is a measurement related to a first base station made in the idle or inactive state: (Lee, para [0407] “UE may perform measurement on frequencies included in the second measurement configuration while in idle state and/or inactive state based on the second measurement configuration.”; Lee, para [0372] “The second measurement configuration may include a configuration of idle mode measurement and/or early measurement.”; Lee, para [0338] “the wireless device may perform the relaxed measurement on the serving cell and/or the at least one of the neighbor cells while in idle state and/or inactive state.”).
Moreover, Lee discloses: and that the measurements do not meet a regularity criterion, the user equipment determining, for each frequency whose stored results are to be reported, whether that frequency was measured with relaxed measurement, and relaxed measurement extends the time period between measurements on the frequency beyond the normal period, so that the determination that a frequency was measured with relaxed measurement is a determination that its measurements were not taken at the regular interval: (Lee, para [0417] “The UE may determine whether each frequency related to the measurement results is included in the selected frequencies for the relaxed measurement or not.”; Lee, para [0390] “when the UE performs the relaxed measurement on a frequency, the UE may extend the time period for measurements on the frequency.”; Lee, para [0419] “the stored measurement results on the certain frequency is output of the relaxed measurement performed in idle state and/or inactive state”).
In addition, Lee discloses: performing an evaluation process comprising: determining whether, at a given point in time or during a given time period, at least one of a first condition or a second condition is met, wherein: the first condition relates to a mobility of the terminal device; and the second condition relates to a location of the terminal device with respect to a cell provided by the first base station; and, the user equipment evaluating whether it satisfies one or more relaxed measurement conditions, the first of which is that the user equipment is stationary or has low mobility, judged over a time period, and a further condition being that the strongest cell of a measured frequency is received below a threshold, (i.e., “the second condition relates to a location of the terminal device with respect to a cell provided by the first base station” as claimed) which is a condition on where the user equipment is with respect to that cell: (Lee, para [0409] “UE may determine whether the UE satisfies one or more measurement relaxation condition (or relaxed measurement condition).”; Lee, para [0308] “The first relaxed measurement condition may be that the wireless device is stationary or with low mobility. For example, the wireless device may be considered as stationary or with low mobility based on that measurement results of a serving cell does not change more than a first threshold value during a time period.”; Lee, para [0347] “a wireless device may select a certain frequency among the serving frequency and/or the at least one of the neighbor frequencies based on that a highest ranked cell of the certain frequency is below a threshold value.”).
Furthermore, Lee discloses: sending, to a second base station, an indication of a result of the first measurement and an indication of a result of the evaluation process., because Lee teaches the user equipment reporting, to the base station of the network, the stored early measurement results together with an indication that the measurement on the frequency was relaxed, and the user equipment relaxes a measurement only when its evaluation finds a relaxed measurement condition satisfied, so that the indication tells the network the outcome of that evaluation: (Lee, para [0423] “UE may transmit, to the network, a measurement report including the stored measurement results and the indication provided in step 1208.”; Lee, para [0418] “if there is selected frequency, the UE may provide an indication which indicates that the measurement on the frequency was relaxed.”; Lee, para [0411] “if the UE does not satisfy at least one of the measurement relaxation condition, the UE may not perform the relaxed measurement.”; Lee, para [0358] “the UE may perform connection release procedure with a base station (BS) in a network.”).
Although Lee teaches a user equipment that performs early measurements in the idle or inactive state, evaluates whether it is stationary or far from the measured cell, relaxes its measurements when it is, and reports the measurement results with an indication that they were relaxed: (Lee, para [0407], para [0409], para [0423]), Lee does not explicitly disclose performing the evaluation process responsive to determining that the measurements satisfy a timing condition.
However, Lee in view of Li discloses responsive to determining that the measurements satisfy a timing condition because Li teaches a user equipment that takes its early measurement before its idle mode measurement timer expires, determines at the user equipment, from the time of that measurement relative to the expiry of the timer, whether its early measurement results are still valid, and reports a flag accordingly, so that what the user equipment does with its early measurements is done responsive to a determination about when the measurements were taken (Li, para [0083], “performing 902, at the UE, a first measurement at a first time before expiration of a timer associated with idle mode or inactive mode measurements, wherein the timer expires at a second time.”; Li, para [0090], “determining, at the UE, based on the first measurement result and the change between the first time and the second time, whether current EMR results are valid.”; Li, para [0062], “the UE may send a flag to the network to indicate whether the EMR results are considered valid.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the user equipment of Lee perform its evaluation of the relaxed measurement conditions, and report the outcome, for relaxed early measurements that Li’s timing check finds to have been taken within the timer window. Lee explains that the network cannot tell from the reported results whether they were taken with relaxed measurement, and that the conditions for relaxing them mean the user equipment is not expected to move soon. Li explains that early measurement results lose their value with time and with movement of the user equipment, and has the user equipment itself judge, when it returns to connected mode, whether its results are still valid and say so. Applying Li’s check to Lee’s relaxed results, and pairing Lee’s condition evaluation with it, gives the network what it needs to judge sparse results that are still within the timer window: whether the user equipment has stayed put. In the combination the user equipment makes the evaluation when it reports, once it has found that the results to be reported were taken with relaxed measurement and are still within the timer window, because that is when the network needs the outcome. This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar reporting procedure in the same way, with the predictable result of a report the network can rely on, and one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references work within the same early measurement reporting procedure and neither is altered by the combination.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Lee in view of Li discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the determining that the timing condition is satisfied comprises: determining that the first measurement is performed within a pre-defined time window., as Li further discloses the early measurement being taken before the expiry of the idle mode measurement timer, whose value the network sets in the early measurement configuration, so that the period of that timer is a pre-defined time window and the user equipment’s determination that the measurement was taken before expiry is a determination that the measurement falls within it (Li, para [0083], “performing 902, at the UE, a first measurement at a first time before expiration of a timer associated with idle mode or inactive mode measurements, wherein the timer expires at a second time.”; Li, para [0046], “the EMR configuration may include target carriers to be measured, a value of the T331 time”). Thus, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 3, Lee in view of Li discloses The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the pre-defined time window is prior to an event responsive to which the sending the indication of the result of the first measurement to the second base station is performed., as Li further discloses the timer window ending before the user equipment starts its connection setup or resume procedure, and the user equipment reporting its early measurement results when it returns to connected mode, so that the window is prior to the return to connected mode, which is the event on which the results are sent (Li, para [0026], “the UE may continue to perform EMR measurement(s) until a T331 timer expires, upon which the EMR measurement(s) stop 112. Then, during an RRC connection setup/resume procedure 106 preparatory to the UE entering the RRC connected mode 108, the UE may start 114 a new measurement.”; Li, para [0022], “when returning to a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, the UE may report the EMR measurement result of the RRM measurement.”).
Consequently, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 4, Lee in view of Li discloses The terminal device of claim 4, wherein the pre-defined time window is prior to an event responsive to which the sending the indication of the result of the first measurement to the second base station is performed; and wherein the event comprises: the terminal device sending a random-access MSG1 message., as Li further discloses the start of the connection setup or resume procedure, on which the results are reported, being the transmission of the first random access preamble, which is the MSG1 message (Li, para [0086], “for both a mobile originated (MO) call and a mobile terminated (MT) call, the third time corresponds to a first random access channel (RACH) preamble (Msg1) transmission”; Li, para [0083], “performing 908, at the UE, a second measurement at a third time when an RRC connection setup or resume procedure starts.”).
For these reasons Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 3, Lee discloses The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the determining that the measurements performed by the terminal device do not meet the regularity criterion comprises: determining at least one of: that a frequency or number of the measurements obtained by the terminal device within at least a part of the pre-defined time window is lower than a pre-determined threshold; or that at least one interval between the measurements obtained by the terminal device during the pre-defined time window exceeds a pre-determined threshold., as Lee further discloses relaxed measurement extending the time period between measurements on a frequency beyond the normal measurement period, so that a determination that a frequency was measured with relaxed measurement is a determination that the interval between its measurements exceeds the normal period, which is the pre-determined threshold (Lee, para [0390] “when the UE performs the relaxed measurement on a frequency, the UE may extend the time period for measurements on the frequency.”; Lee, para [0417] “The UE may determine whether each frequency related to the measurement results is included in the selected frequencies for the relaxed measurement or not.”).
Claim 6 recites its alternatives in the form at least one of, so the claim is satisfied when any one of the listed items is satisfied. The alternative relied on is the recitation that at least one interval between the measurements exceeds a pre-determined threshold, which is the limitation mapped above. No reference is relied on as teaching the remaining alternative, and none is needed to sustain the rejection.
Therefore, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Lee in view of Li discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the performing the evaluation process comprising performing the evaluation process in response to the occurrence of an evaluation trigger event., as Li further discloses the user equipment making its validity determination and reporting it when it returns to connected mode, the start of the connection setup or resume procedure being the event on which it does so, so that in the combination the evaluation is performed in response to that event (Li, para [0061], “the UE 606 provides information about the window 614 to the network when it returns to a connected mode.”; Li, para [0083], “performing 908, at the UE, a second measurement at a third time when an RRC connection setup or resume procedure starts.”).
Accordingly, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Lee in view of Li discloses The terminal device of claim 7, wherein the evaluation trigger event comprises the sending, by the terminal device, of a random-access MSG1 message., as Li further discloses the start of the connection setup or resume procedure being the transmission of the first random access preamble, which is the MSG1 message (Li, para [0086], “for both a mobile originated (MO) call and a mobile terminated (MT) call, the third time corresponds to a first random access channel (RACH) preamble (Msg1) transmission”). Thus, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 7, Lee in view of Li discloses The terminal device of claim 7, wherein the evaluation trigger event relates to activation of a secondary cell for the terminal device., as Li further discloses the user equipment reporting its early measurements, on its request for connection setup or resumption, so that the network can set up a secondary cell or secondary cell group for it, so that the event on which the evaluation is made relates to the activation of a secondary cell for the user equipment (Li, para [0025], “the UE initiates and performs improved measurements when it requests RRC connection setup and/or resumption; and second, after acquiring those improved measurements, the UE subsequently reports those measurements to the network to support SCell/SCG setup.”).
Consequently, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 1, Lee discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the first condition relates to: a speed of movement of the terminal device; whether the terminal device has low mobility; or whether the terminal device is stationary., as Lee further discloses the first relaxed measurement condition being that the user equipment is stationary or has low mobility (Lee, para [0308] “The first relaxed measurement condition may be that the wireless device is stationary or with low mobility.”).
Claim 12 recites its three limitations in the alternative, joined by or, so the claim is satisfied when any one of the listed items is satisfied. The alternative relied on is the recitation of whether the terminal device has low mobility, which is the limitation mapped above. No reference is relied on as teaching the remaining alternatives, and none is needed to sustain the rejection.
Accordingly, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claim 1, Lee discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the second condition relates to: a proximity of the terminal device to an edge of the cell., as Lee further discloses the condition that the strongest cell of the measured frequency is received below a threshold, and a user equipment that receives a cell below the threshold is at or beyond the edge of that cell’s coverage, so that the condition relates to how close the user equipment is to the edge of the cell (Lee, para [0347] “a wireless device may select a certain frequency among the serving frequency and/or the at least one of the neighbor frequencies based on that a highest ranked cell of the certain frequency is below a threshold value.”).
Thus, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 1, Lee discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the sending, to the second base station, the indication of the result of the first measurement and the indication of the result of the evaluation process is performed responsive to a request for the terminal device to report one or more measurement results., as Lee further discloses the network requesting the user equipment to report its available early measurement results, and the user equipment then sending the stored results in its response, the report being the one that carries the indication (Lee, para [0294] “Upon receiving the indication, the network can request the UE to report the available idle mode measurement (or early measurement) results via UEInformationRequest message. Then the UE may include the stored idle mode measurement (or early measurement) results in the UEInformationResponse message”).
Consequently, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites: A method performed by a terminal device, the method comprising: performing measurements related to a first base station while the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or in an RRC inactive state, the measurements comprising at least a first measurement; responsive to determining that the measurements satisfy a timing condition and that the measurements do not meet a regularity criterion, performing an evaluation process comprising: determining whether, at a given point in time or during a given time period, at least one of a first condition or a second condition is met, wherein: the first condition relates to a mobility of the terminal device; and the second condition relates to a location of the terminal device with respect to a cell provided by the first base station; and sending, to a second base station, an indication of a result of the first measurement and an indication of a result of the evaluation process. Claim 16 is analogous to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 16, the claim recites: The method of claim 16, wherein the determining that the timing condition is satisfied comprises: determining that the first measurement is performed within a pre-defined time window. Claim 18 is analogous to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 16, Lee discloses The method of claim 16, wherein the determining that the measurements performed by the terminal device do not meet the regularity criterion comprises: determining at least one of: that a frequency or number of the measurements obtained by the terminal device within at least a part of the pre-defined time window is lower than a pre-determined threshold; or that at least one interval between the measurements obtained by the terminal device during the pre-defined time window exceeds a pre-determined threshold., as Lee further discloses relaxed measurement extending the time period between measurements on a frequency beyond the normal measurement period, so that a determination that a frequency was measured with relaxed measurement is a determination that the interval between its measurements exceeds the normal period, which is the pre-determined threshold (Lee, para [0390] “when the UE performs the relaxed measurement on a frequency, the UE may extend the time period for measurements on the frequency.”; Lee, para [0417] “The UE may determine whether each frequency related to the measurement results is included in the selected frequencies for the relaxed measurement or not.”).
Claim 19 recites its alternatives in the form at least one of, so the claim is satisfied when any one of the listed items is satisfied. The alternative relied on is the recitation that at least one interval between the measurements exceeds a pre-determined threshold, which is the limitation mapped above. No reference is relied on as teaching the remaining alternative, and none is needed to sustain the rejection. As set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, claim 19 is examined as depending from claim 18, so that the pre-defined time window is the window recited in claim 18. Consequently, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites: A computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of a terminal device, cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising: performing measurements related to a first base station while the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or in an RRC inactive state, the measurements comprising at least a first measurement; responsive to determining that the measurements satisfy a timing condition and that the measurements do not meet a regularity criterion, performing an evaluation process comprising: determining whether, at a given point in time or during a given time period, at least one of a first condition or a second condition is met, wherein: the first condition relates to a mobility of the terminal device; and the second condition relates to a location of the terminal device with respect to a cell provided by the first base station; and sending, to a second base station, an indication of a result of the first measurement and an indication of a result of the evaluation process. Claim 20 is analogous to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 10, 11, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0105647 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2024/0155398 A1) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 version 17.6.0.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, even though Lee in view of Li teaches a user equipment that evaluates whether it is stationary or has low mobility over a time period and reports the outcome with its early measurement results once their timing has been checked: (Lee, para [0308], para [0423]; Li, para [0090]), Lee in view of Li does not explicitly disclose the network instructing the user equipment to perform the evaluation and telling it the time period to evaluate over.
Nonetheless, Lee in view of Li and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising: receiving an instruction to configure the terminal device to perform the evaluation process, because TS 38.331 teaches the user equipment receiving, in its RRC configuration, a reporting configuration on which it considers itself configured to report whether the criterion for relaxing its measurements is fulfilled (TS 38.331, clause 5.3.5.9, “consider itself to be configured to report the fulfilment of the criterion for relaxing RRM measurements in accordance with 5.7.4”).
Furthermore, TS 38.331 discloses the instruction including an indication of the given point in time or the given time period; and because TS 38.331 teaches that reporting configuration carrying the field t-SearchDeltaP-Stationary, a time period in seconds (TS 38.331, clause 6.3.4, “Value in seconds. Value s5 means 5 seconds, value s10 means 10 seconds and so on.”).
Moreover, TS 38.331 discloses responsive to receiving the instruction, performing the evaluation process according to the instruction. because TS 38.331 teaches the configured user equipment evaluating whether the stationary criterion is met for the period so configured, which is the period TSearchDeltaP-StationaryConnected that the field t-SearchDeltaP-Stationary sets (TS 38.331, clause 5.7.4.2, “if the criterion in 5.7.4.4 is met for a period of TSearchDeltaP-StationaryConnected”).
Claim 2 recites its two limitations in the alternative, joined by or, so the claim is satisfied when either of them is satisfied. The alternative relied on is the recitation of the given time period, which is the limitation mapped above. No reference is relied on as teaching the remaining alternative, and none is needed to sustain the rejection.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network configure the evaluation of Lee as modified by Li with the reporting configuration of TS 38.331. Lee’s relaxed measurement conditions are the 3GPP relaxed measurement criteria, and TS 38.331 is the 3GPP radio resource control specification that gives the network a standard way to tell a user equipment to evaluate whether it is stationary, over a period the network chooses, and to report the outcome. Using that signalling to configure the evaluation lets the network set the period to suit its own use of the results, and it is the use of a known technique to improve a similar procedure in the same way, with the predictable result of an evaluation performed over the period the network asks for. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since the configuration is carried in the same RRC signaling Lee’s user equipment already receives.
Accordingly, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 7, even though Lee in view of Li teaches a user equipment that performs its evaluation in response to the random access procedure by which it returns to connected mode and reports the outcome with its early measurement results: (Lee, para [0409]; Li, para [0083], para [0086]), Lee in view of Li does not explicitly disclose the network instructing the user equipment to perform the evaluation and indicating, in that instruction, the event on which the evaluation is to be performed.
However, Lee in view of Li and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The terminal device of claim 7, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising: receiving an instruction to configure the terminal device to perform the evaluation process, the instruction including an indication of the evaluation trigger event; and because TS 38.331 teaches the user equipment, when configured to evaluate the stationary criterion, setting the reference value from which it evaluates that criterion when it completes the random access procedure that the reconfiguration with sync in its instruction directs it to perform, so that the instruction both configures the evaluation and indicates the random access procedure on which the evaluation is keyed (TS 38.331, clause 5.7.4.4, pg. 263: “after MAC successfully completes a Random Access procedure after applying a reconfigurationWithSync in spCellConfig while stationary criterion is configured”).
Furthermore, TS 38.331 discloses responsive to receiving the instruction, configuring the terminal device to perform the evaluation process in response to the evaluation trigger event. because TS 38.331 teaches the user equipment, on receiving the reporting configuration, considering itself configured to evaluate and report the fulfilment of the criterion (TS 38.331, clause 5.3.5.9, “consider itself to be configured to report the fulfilment of the criterion for relaxing RRM measurements in accordance with 5.7.4”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network configure the evaluation of Lee as modified by Li with the reporting configuration of TS 38.331, keyed to the random-access procedure the user equipment performs. Lee’s relaxed measurement conditions are the 3GPP relaxed measurement criteria, and TS 38.331 is the 3GPP radio resource control specification that gives the network a standard way to tell a user equipment to evaluate whether it is stationary, starting from the completion of a random-access procedure, and to report the outcome. Using that signaling puts the network in control of when the evaluation is made, and it is the use of a known technique to improve a similar procedure in the same way, with the predictable result of an evaluation made on the event the network names. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since the configuration is carried in the same RRC signaling Lee’s user equipment already receives.
For these reasons Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, even though Lee in view of Li teaches a user equipment that reports its early measurement results together with an indication of the outcome of its evaluation of whether it is stationary or has low mobility: (Lee, para [0423], para [0418]; Li, para [0062]), Lee in view of Li does not explicitly disclose that the indication states whether the condition is met.
Nevertheless, Lee in view of Li and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the sending, to the second base station, the indication of the result of the first measurement and the indication of the result of the evaluation process comprises at least one of: sending, to the second base station, an indication of whether at least one of the first condition and the second condition is met; or sending the indication of the result of the first measurement and an indication of whether the first condition and the second condition are both met. because TS 38.331 teaches the user equipment sending the network an indication about whether the criterion that it is stationary is fulfilled or not fulfilled, which is an indication of whether the first condition is met (TS 38.331, clause 5.7.4.3, “if transmission of the UEAssistanceInformation message is initiated to provide an indication about whether the criterion for RRM relaxation for connected mode is fulfilled or not fulfilled”).
Claim 11 recites its alternatives in the form at least one of, so the claim is satisfied when any one of the listed items is satisfied. The alternative relied on is the recitation of sending, to the second base station, an indication of whether at least one of the first condition and the second condition is met, which is the limitation mapped above. No reference is relied on as teaching the remaining alternative, and none is needed to sustain the rejection.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the user equipment of Lee as modified by Li report the outcome of its evaluation as the fulfilment indication of TS 38.331. Lee’s relaxed measurement conditions are the 3GPP relaxed measurement criteria, and TS 38.331 is the 3GPP radio resource control specification that already defines an indication by which a user equipment tells the network whether the stationary criterion is fulfilled. Reporting the outcome in that form tells the network directly what it needs to judge the results, and it is the use of a known technique to improve a similar procedure in the same way, with the predictable result of a report that states whether the user equipment has stayed put. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since the indication is carried in the same RRC signalling Lee’s user equipment already uses to report.
Therefore, Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 1, even though Lee in view of Li teaches a user equipment that evaluates whether it is stationary or has low mobility and reports the outcome with its early measurement results: (Lee, para [0409], para [0423]; Li, para [0062]), Lee in view of Li does not explicitly disclose sending the report responsive to determining that the condition is met.
However, Lee in view of Li and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the sending, to the second base station, the indication of the result of the first measurement and the indication of the result of the evaluation process is performed responsive to the terminal device determining that at least one of the first condition and the second condition is met. because TS 38.331 teaches the user equipment initiating its report to the network when it determines that the stationary criterion is fulfilled, so that the report is sent responsive to the user equipment determining that the first condition is met (TS 38.331, clause 5.7.4.2, “initiate transmission of the UEAssistanceInformation message in accordance with 5.7.4.3 to indicate that the criterion for RRM measurement relaxation for connected mode is fulfilled”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the user equipment of Lee as modified by Li send its report, carrying the measurement results and the outcome of the evaluation, when it determines that the stationary condition is met, as TS 38.331 sends its fulfilment indication. Lee’s relaxed measurement conditions are the 3GPP relaxed measurement criteria, and TS 38.331 is the 3GPP radio resource control specification that already has the user equipment report the moment the stationary criterion is fulfilled. Sending the report on that determination gives the network the results at the time they are shown to be trustworthy, and it is the use of a known technique to improve a similar procedure in the same way, with the predictable result of a report sent when the user equipment is found to have stayed put. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, since the trigger is one the user equipment already evaluates for its own measurement relaxation.
For these reasons Lee and Li are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 16, the claim recites: The method of claim 16, comprising: receiving an instruction to configure the terminal device to perform the evaluation process, the instruction including an indication of the given point in time or the given time period; and responsive to receiving the instruction, performing the evaluation process according to the instruction. Claim 17 is analogous to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478