Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 32 recites “at least one of the horizontal drive units comprises a direct drive motor” direct drive motor must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Regarding Specification, from pages 45-62 and [¶00302] to [¶00433] contains claims as clauses. Specification is objected under 37 CFR 1.75 and §608.01(k), Claims should not be included in the “Detailed Description” of the specification. They must be presented in a separate section as they creates a confusion as to which is the correct set of claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 24, the limitation “before rotating the drive pulley, clamping the section of the timing belt to couple the refuse loading system to the section of the timing belt” it is unclear. Specially how the section of the timing belt is clamped to couple the refuse loading system to the timing belt prior rotating the drive pulley, and what structure or operation permits such coupling before the drive pulley is rotated. Therefore, claimed step is unclear.
For examination purpose under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the claimed limitation is interpreted as requiring that, during installation of the components, the drive pulley is not being driven and the section of the timing belt is clamped to couple the refuse loading system to the section of the timing belt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-26, 29-31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boivin (US 20230090272 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Boivin teaches a system for loading refuse (14 in fig. 1), the system comprising:
a refuse loading system (10 in fig.1) configured to load refuse into a refuse collection vehicle (14); and
a horizontal positioning system (40, in fig. 2) configured to couple between the refuse loading system (10) and a frame (16 in fig. 1) of the refuse collection vehicle (14), the horizontal positioning system (40) comprising:
a base section (50 in fig.3) configured to couple to the frame (16) of the refuse collection vehicle (14);
a distal section (70 in fig.3) coupled between the base section (50) and the refuse loading system (10) and configured to translate with respect to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 2-4);
a pair of rail systems (¶0038, 61 in fig. 8) coupled between the base section (50) and the distal section (70), the pair of rail systems configured such that the distal section is translatable relative to the base section along an extend/retract axis (it can be seen in fig. 2-5, 8 and 9), wherein the pair of rail systems (¶0033, 51 in fig. 5) is coupled to the base section (50 in fig. 3 and 5) such that an offset is defined between a proximal end of a first one of the rail systems and a proximal end of the other one of the rail systems along the extend/retract axis (it can be seen in fig. 3 and 10); and
one or more horizontal drive units (80) operable to translate the distal section horizontally with respect to the base section along the extend/retract axis (¶0042, it can be seen in fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 26, Boivin teaches at least one of the horizontal drive units (80) is at least partially in the offset (it can be seen in fig.7).
Regarding claim 29, Boivin teaches at least one of the rail systems (See, ¶0033, Fig.5, element 51, ¶0038, fig. 6, element 61) comprises one or more roller assemblies (Fig. 5, element 53, fig. 6, element 63), wherein at least one of the roller assemblies (Fig. 6, element 63) engages on a rail coupled to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 5) or a rail coupled to the distal section (it can be seen in fig.6).
Regarding claim 30, Boivin teaches at least one of the roller assemblies (Fig. 5, element 53, fig. 6, element 63) comprises an in-line double roller (it can be seen in fig. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 31, Boivin teaches wherein the one or more roller assemblies (Fig. 5, element 53, fig. 6, element 63) comprises two or more roller assemblies spaced from one another (it can be seen in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 33, Boivin teaches wherein at least one of the horizontal drive units (Fig. 7, element 80) comprises an electric motor (Fig. 7, element 81).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-18, 22-24, 27-28, 32, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boivin (US 20230090272 A1) in view of Xiao (US 20230211949 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Boivin teaches a system for loading refuse (14 in fig. 1), the system
comprising:
a refuse loading system (10 in fig.1) configured to empty refuse into a refuse collection vehicle (14, in fig.1); and
a horizontal positioning system (40, in fig. 2) configured to couple between the refuse loading system (10) and a frame (16 in fig. 1) of the refuse collection vehicle (14), the horizontal positioning system (40) comprising:
a base section (50 in fig.3) configured to couple to the frame (16) of the refuse collection vehicle (14);
an intermediate section (60 in fig.3) coupled to the base section (50) and configured to translate with respect to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 2-4);
a distal section (70 in fig.3) coupled between the intermediate section (16) and the refuse loading system (10 in fig. 1) and configured to translate with respect to the intermediate section and the base section (it can be seen in fig. 2-4);
and one more horizontal drive units (80 in Fig. 2, which rotates chain drive mechanism of 20 and 40, ¶0035).
Boivin does not explicitly teach a first timing belt system comprising: a first pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section; and a first timing belt coupled in a loop around the first pair of timing pulleys; a second timing belt system comprising: a second pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the intermediate section; and a second timing belt coupled around the second pair of timing pulleys; a first belt attachment device configured to couple the intermediate section to the first timing belt at a first belt attachment location; a second belt attachment device configured to couple the base section to the second timing belt at a second belt attachment location; a third belt attachment device configured to couple the distal section to the second timing belt at a third belt attachment location; and one or more horizontal drive units operable to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys of the first pair of timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section.
Xiao teaches a first timing belt system (see attached annotated fig.) comprising:
a first pair of timing pulleys (¶0063, first pulleys 1251) spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled (it can be seen in fig.7) to the base section (121); and
a first timing belt (¶0063, first synchronous belt 1252) coupled in a loop around the first pair of timing pulleys (it can be seen in fig.7);
a second timing belt system (see attached annotated fig.) comprising: a second pair of timing pulleys (¶0064, two second pulleys 1253) spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled (it can be seen in fig.7) to the intermediate section (122); and
a second timing belt (¶0064, second synchronous belt1254) coupled around the second pair of timing pulleys (it can be seen in fig.7);
a first belt attachment device (¶0065, first connector 1255) configured to couple (it can be seen in fig.7) the intermediate section (122) to the first timing belt (1252) at a first belt attachment location (it can be seen in fig.7);
a second belt attachment device (¶0065, second connector 1258) configured to couple the base section (121) to the second timing belt (1252) at a second belt attachment location (it can be seen in fig.8);
a third belt attachment device configured to couple the distal section (123) to the second timing belt at a third belt attachment location (¶0065, a first end of the telescopic plate 123 is connected to the second synchronous belt 1254 through a third connector);
and one or more horizontal drive units (¶0063, 126) operable to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys of the first pair of timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by replacing the chain and sprocket drive mechanism with a first timing belt system comprising: a first pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section; and a first timing belt coupled in a loop around the first pair of timing pulleys; a second timing belt system comprising: a second pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the intermediate section; and a second timing belt coupled around the second pair of timing pulleys; and by incorporating a first belt attachment device configured to couple the intermediate section to the first timing belt at a first belt attachment location; a second belt attachment device configured to couple the base section to the second timing belt at a second belt attachment location; a third belt attachment device configured to couple the distal section to the second timing belt at a third belt attachment location; and one or more horizontal drive units operable to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys of the first pair of timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section in view of Xiao in order to achieve predictable result of reducing the maintenance of horizontal positioning system. Such a modification would have been a simple substitution of one known drive mechanism with another, to obtain predictable results (MPEP-2143(B)). Particularly because Boivin expressly identifies a belt and pully drive arrangement as an alternative to the chain and sprocket arrangement (Boivin: teaches in ¶0030 that chain and sprockets can be belts and pulleys, and ¶0035 strap and pulley).
Regarding claim 2, Boivin teaches least one of the one or more horizontal drive units (80 in fig. 2) comprises an electric motor (¶0035, 81 in fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Boivin teaches at least one of the horizontal drive units (80) is operable to extend the distal section away from the frame of the refuse collection vehicle (it can be seen in fig. 2-4, ¶0042).
Regarding claim 4, Boivin teaches at least one of the horizontal drive units (80) is operable to retract the distal section toward the frame of the refuse collection vehicle (¶0042, when the motor 81 is powered to move the three sections 50, 60, 70 in the retracted position of the horizontal displacement system 40).
Regarding claim 5, Boivin teaches the horizontal positioning system (40) further comprises one or more pairs of rail systems (¶0038, 61 in fig. 8) coupled between the base section (50) and the distal section (70).
Regarding claim 6, Boivin teaches at least one of the pairs of rail systems (¶0033, 51 in fig. 5) is coupled to the base section (50 in fig. 3 and 5) such that an offset is defined between a proximal end of a first one of the rail systems and a proximal end of the other one of the rail systems along the extend/retract axis (it can be seen in fig. 3 and 10), and
at least one of the one or more horizontal drive units (80) is operable to translate the distal section horizontally with respect to the base section along the extend/retract axis (it can be seen in fig. 2-4, ¶0042).
Regarding claim 7, Boivin teaches at least one of the one or more horizontal drive units (80) is at least partially in the offset (it can be seen in fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Boivin teaches at least one of the one or more horizontal drive units comprises (80) an electric motor (81).
Boivin does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the electric motor is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the one or more rail systems.
Xiao teaches at least a portion of the electric motor (126 in fig. 7) is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the one or more rail systems (it can be seen in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by incorporating at least a portion of the electric motor is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the one or more rail systems in view of Xiao in order to achieve compact structure by reducing the height.
Regarding claim 9, Boivin teaches at least one of the pairs of rail systems (51, 51A-B in fig. 5) comprises one or more pairs of roller assemblies (¶0033, 53 in fig. 5) spaced apart from one another (it can be seen in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Boivin teaches the refuse loading system (10) comprises:
a grabber system (150 in fig.2) configured to engage a refuse container (¶0047, a bin held by the grabber system 150); and
a container lift mechanism (100 in fig. 2) coupled (it can be seen in fig. 2) between the grabber system (150) and the horizontal positioning system (40), and
the container lift mechanism (100) is operable to lift a refuse container held by the grabber system to empty contents of the refuse container into the refuse collection vehicle (¶0047, FIG. 2 to a high or elevated position to lift the grabber system 150, and a bin held by the grabber system 150, above an opening of the truck 14 via which the contents of the bin may be poured in the truck 14).
Regarding claim 12, Boivin teaches the container lift mechanism (100) comprises:
a mast (11,120 in fig. 12) comprising one or more vertical rails (128 in fig. 12), wherein at least one of the vertical rails (see attached annotated fig) comprises one or more guides (see attached annotated fig) configured to guide the grabber system on the mast (it can be seen in fig.12);
a fourth belt attachment device (¶0059, 152 in fig. 15) configured to couple the grabber system (¶0059, 150 in fig. 15) to the third timing belt; and
one or more vertical drive units (¶0047, 130 in fig. 13) configured to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys such that the timing belt pulls the grabber system up the mast (it can be seen in fig. 2, and 12-15, note: Xiao teaches concept of timing belt and pulleys for vertical movement).
Boivin does not explicitly teaches a timing belt system, comprising: a third pair of timing pulleys spaced vertically from one another and each rotatably coupled to the mast; and a third timing belt coupled around the third pair of timing pulleys.
Xiao teaches a timing belt system (¶0047, 33 in fig. 4), comprising:
a third pair of timing pulleys (¶0047, 331 in fig. 4) spaced vertically from one another (it can be seen in fig. 4) and each rotatably coupled to the mast (it can be seen in fig. 4 331 are connected to mast 21); and
a third timing belt (¶0047, synchronous belt 332) coupled around the third pair of timing pulleys (it can be seen in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by replacing chain and sprocket drive mechanism with a timing belt system, comprising: a third pair of timing pulleys spaced vertically from one another and each rotatably coupled to the mast; and a third timing belt coupled around the third pair of timing pulleys in view of Xiao in order to achieve predictable result of reducing the maintenance of horizontal positioning system. Such a modification would have been a simple substitution of one known drive mechanism with another, to obtain predictable results (MPEP-2143(B)). Particularly because Boivin expressly identifies a belt and pully drive arrangement as an alternative to the chain and sprocket arrangement (Boivin: teaches in ¶0030 that chain and sprockets can be belts and pulleys, and ¶0035 strap and pulley).
Regarding claim 13, Boivin teaches at least one of the one or more guides (see attached annotated fig) comprises arcuate guide (121A-B in fig. 12) portion configured to tip the refuse container as the grabber system is raised to empty contents of the refuse container into a receptacle of the refuse collection vehicle (as best understood from fig. 12 121A-B is arcuated guide portion is to achieve tipping or emptying position of the trash bin or container).
Regarding claim 14, Boivin teaches at least one of the vertical drive units (¶0047, 130 in fig. 13) comprises an electric motor (¶0049, 131 in fig. 13).
Regarding claim 15, Boivin teaches the grabber system comprises (150 in fig. 2, 15) a grabber system drive unit (¶0060, 160 in fig. 16) operable to engage a pair of opposing arms (158 in fig. 15) with the refuse container.
Regarding claim 16, Boivin teaches the grabber system drive unit (¶0060, 160 in fig. 16) comprises an electric motor (161 in fig. 16).
Regarding claim 17, Boivin teaches a horizontal positioning system (40) for a refuse loading system (10), the horizontal positioning system (40) comprising: a base section (50) configured to couple to a frame of a refuse collection vehicle (it can be seen in fig. 1);
a distal section (70) configured to couple between the base section (50) and the refuse loading system (10) and configured to translate with respect to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 2 and 3);
and one more horizontal drive units (80 in Fig. 2, which rotates chain drive mechanism of 20 and 40, ¶0035).
Boivin does not explicitly teach one or more timing belt systems, at least a first one of the timing belt systems comprising: a pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section; and a timing belt coupled around the pair of timing pulleys; one or more belt attachment devices, wherein at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices is configured to couple the base section to the timing belt of at least one of the timing belt systems at a belt attachment location; and one or more horizontal drive units operable to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section.
Xiao teaches one or more timing belt systems (see attached annotated fig.), at least a first one of the timing belt systems comprising:
a pair of timing pulleys (¶0063, first pulleys 1251, ¶0064, two second pulleys 1253) spaced horizontally from one another (it can be seen in fig.7) and each rotatably coupled to the base section (it can be seen in fig.7); and
a timing belt coupled (¶0063, first synchronous belt 1252, two second pulleys 1253) around the pair of timing pulleys (1251, 1253);
one or more belt attachment devices (1255, 1258), wherein at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices (1255, 1258) is configured to couple the base section (121) to the timing belt of at least one of the timing belt systems at a belt attachment location (it can be seen in fig.7); and
one or more horizontal drive units (¶0063, 126) operable to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by replacing chain and sprocket drive mechanism with one or more timing belt systems, at least a first one of the timing belt systems comprising: a pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section; and a timing belt coupled around the pair of timing pulleys; one or more belt attachment devices, and by incorporating wherein at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices is configured to couple the base section to the timing belt of at least one of the timing belt systems at a belt attachment location; and one or more horizontal drive units operable to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section in view of Xiao in order to achieve predictable result of reducing the maintenance of horizontal positioning system. Such a modification would have been a simple substitution of one known drive mechanism with another, to obtain predictable results (MPEP-2143(B)). Particularly because Boivin expressly identifies a belt and pully drive arrangement as an alternative to the chain and sprocket arrangement (Boivin: teaches in ¶0030 that chain and sprockets can be belts and pulleys, and ¶0035 strap and pulley).
Regarding claim 18, Boivin does not explicitly teaches at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices comprises a pair of attachment blocks, and one of the timing belts is held between the attachment blocks.
Xiao teaches at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices (1255) comprises a pair of attachment blocks (see above attached annotated fig.), and one of the timing belts is held between the attachment blocks (it can be seen in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by incorporating at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices comprises a pair of attachment blocks, and one of the timing belts is held between the attachment blocks in view of Xiao in order to achieve secure mechanical connection between the timing belt of telescopic sections.
Regarding claim 22, Boivin teaches an intermediate section (60) coupled between the base section (50) and the distal section (70), wherein the intermediate section (60) is configured to translate relative to the base section (50) and relative to the distal section (70, it can be seen in fig 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 23, Boivin teaches a method of loading refuse which utilizing chain and sprocket mechanism to perform the claimed step operating the refuse loading system to load refuse into a refuse collection vehicle. Boivin does not explicitly teach the method comprising: rotating a drive pulley engaged with a timing belt to horizontally translate a refuse loading system coupled to a section of the timing belt.
Xiao teaches the method comprising: rotating a drive pulley engaged with a timing belt to horizontally translate a refuse loading system coupled to a section of the timing belt (it can be seen in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by replacing chain and sprocket drive mechanism with rotating a drive pulley engaged with a timing belt to horizontally translate a refuse loading system coupled to a section of the timing belt in view of Xiao in order to achieve predictable result of reduce the maintenance of horizontal positioning system. Such a modification would have been a simple substitution of one known drive mechanism with another, to obtain predictable results (MPEP-2143(B)). Particularly because Boivin expressly identifies a belt and pully drive arrangement as an alternative to the chain and sprocket arrangement (Boivin: teaches in ¶0030 that chain and sprockets can be belts and pulleys, and ¶0035 strap and pulley).
Regarding claim 24, Boivin teaches refuse loading system which utilizes chain and sprocket drive system. Boivin does not explicitly teach before rotating the drive pulley, clamping the section of the timing belt to couple the refuse loading system to the section of the timing belt.
Xiao teaches before rotating the drive pulley, clamping the section of the timing belt to couple the refuse loading system to the section of the timing belt (as per BRI, it can be seen in fig. 7, during assembling the timing belts on the pulleys is interpreted as a before rotating the drive pulley in order to couple the loading system to the timing belt).
For combination and motivation purpose see rejection of claim 23 above.
Regarding claim 27, Boivin teaches at least one of the one or more horizontal drive units (80) comprises a drive motor (81).
Boivin does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the drive motor is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the rail systems.
Xiao teaches at least a portion of the electric motor (126 in fig. 7) is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the one or more rail systems (it can be seen in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by incorporating at least a portion of the electric motor is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the one or more rail systems in view of Xiao in order to achieve compact structure by reducing the height.
Regarding claim 28, Boivin does not explicitly teach a horizontal drive unit mounting bracket configured to hold at least one of the horizontal drive units and comprising: a first leg comprising an opening through which a drive shaft of the horizontal drive unit passes; and a second leg extending between at least a portion of the horizontal drive unit and a proximal end of at least one of the rail systems.
Xiao teaches a horizontal drive unit mounting bracket (see above attached annotated fig.) configured to hold at least one of the horizontal drive units (126) and comprising:
a first leg (see above attached annotated fig.) comprising an opening through which a drive shaft of the horizontal drive unit passes (see above attached annotated fig.); and
a second leg extending between at least a portion of the horizontal drive unit and a proximal end of at least one of the rail systems (it can be seen in fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by incorporating at least a portion of the electric motor is in the same horizontal plane as least a portion of at least one of the one or more rail systems in view of Xiao in order to achieve compact structure by reducing the height.
Regarding claim 32, Boivin does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the horizontal drive units comprises a direct drive motor.
Xiao teaches wherein at least one of the horizontal drive units (See ¶0063, Fig. 7, element 126) comprises a direct drive motor (Fig. 7, element 126. It can be seen in fig. 7, driven shaft of motor 126 is directly connected to load 1272).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by incorporating at least one of the horizontal drive units comprises a direct drive motor in view of Xiao in order to achieve synchronous rotation of the two telescopic assemblies (¶0067).
Regarding claim 34, Boivin does not explicitly teach one or more timing belt systems comprising, at least a first one of the timing belt systems comprising: a pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section; and a timing belt coupled in a loop around the pair of timing pulleys; and one or more belt attachment devices, wherein at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices is configured to couple the base frame to the timing belt at a belt attachment location, wherein at least one of the horizontal drive units is configured to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section.
Xiao teaches one or more timing belt systems comprising (see above attached annotated fig.), at least a first one of the timing belt systems comprising:
a pair of timing pulleys (¶0063, first pulleys 1251) spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section (it can be seen in fig.7); and
a timing belt (¶0063, first synchronous belt 1252) coupled in a loop around the pair of timing pulleys (it can be seen in fig.7); and one or more belt attachment devices (¶0065, first connector 1255), wherein
at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices is configured to couple the base frame to the timing belt at a belt attachment location (it can be seen in fig.7), wherein
at least one of the horizontal drive units (¶0063, 126) is configured to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys (it can be seen in fig. 7) such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section (¶0063 and ¶0067).
horizontally with respect to the base section (it can be seen in fig. 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Boivin by replacing chain and sprocket drive mechanism with one or more timing belt systems comprising, at least a first one of the timing belt systems comprising: a pair of timing pulleys spaced horizontally from one another and each rotatably coupled to the base section; and a timing belt coupled in a loop around the pair of timing pulleys; and by incorporating one or more belt attachment devices, wherein at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices is configured to couple the base frame to the timing belt at a belt attachment location, wherein at least one of the horizontal drive units is configured to rotate at least one of the timing pulleys such that the distal section translates horizontally with respect to the base section in view of Xiao in order to achieve predictable result of reducing the maintenance of horizontal positioning system. Such a modification would have been a simple substitution of one known drive mechanism with another, to obtain predictable results (MPEP-2143(B)). Particularly because Boivin expressly identifies a belt and pully drive arrangement as an alternative to the chain and sprocket arrangement (Boivin: teaches in ¶0030 that chain and sprockets can be belts and pulleys, and ¶0035 strap and pulley).
Claim(s) 10, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boivin (US 20230090272 A1) in view of Xiao (US 20230211949 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Wolf (US 9347520 B2).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Boivin and Xiao teaches all the limitations of claim 1. It does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the attachment devices comprises an attachment block comprising two or more teeth configured to engage with two or more complementary teeth of one of the timing belts.
Wolf teaches at least one of the attachment devices (Fig. 4, element 50) comprises an attachment block (Fig. 4, element 52) comprising two or more teeth (Fig. 4, element 47) configured to engage with two or more complementary teeth of one of the timing belts (it can be seen in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified combination of Boivin and Xiao by incorporating at least one of the attachment devices comprises an attachment
block comprising two or more teeth configured to engage with two or more complementary teeth of one of the timing belts in view of Wolf in order to prevent the timing belt from slipping or pulling out under load condition.
Regarding claim 19, combination of Boivin and Xiao teaches all the limitations of claim 17. It does not explicitly teach at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices comprises a pair of attachment blocks, and one or more of the attachment blocks comprises two or more teeth configured to engage complementary teeth on a timing belt.
Wolf teaches at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices (Fig. 4, element 50) comprises a pair of attachment blocks (Fig. 4, element 52), and one or more of the attachment blocks comprises two or more teeth (Fig. 4, element 47) configured to engage complementary teeth on a timing belt (it can be seen in fig.4).
For combination and motivation purpose see rejection of claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 20, combination of Boivin and Xiao teaches all the limitations of claim 17. It does not explicitly teach at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices comprises two or more fasteners configured to secure a section of one of the timing belts to the belt attachment device.
Wolf teaches at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices (Fig. 4, element 50) comprises two or more fasteners configured to secure a section of one of the timing belts to the belt attachment device (column 2, lines 62-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified combination of Boivin and Xiao by incorporating at least one of the one or more belt attachment devices comprises two or more fasteners configured to secure a section of one of the timing belts to the belt attachment device in view of Wolf in order to secure the attachment devices on to the timing belt (column 2, lines 65-66).
Regarding claim 21, combination of Boivin and Xiao teaches all the limitations of claim 17. It does not explicitly teach at least one of the belt attachment devices comprises one or more fasteners configured to pass through the timing belt.
Wolf teaches at least one of the belt attachment devices (Fig. 4, element 50) comprises one or more fasteners (column 2, lines 62-64) configured to pass through the timing belt (it can be seen in fig. 4).
For combination and motivation purpose see rejection of claim 20 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other cited references on PTO-892 shows refuse loading system and some other alternatives of timing belt and pulley drive system as well. Specially, Boivin (US 20210122568 A1) teaches refuse loading system which comprises horizontal positioning system, lift system, grabber system (see fig. 2). McNeilus et al. (US 10308429 B2) teaches about lift system with operates by utilizing belt and pulley drive mechanism to operate the lift system (see fig. 4. Element 78 and fig. 5, elements 102, 104). Koide (US 9718617 B2), Goetz (US 20190062135 A1) and Kapust et al. (US 20150081089 A1), also teaches use of belt drive system to operate telescopic mechanism. Wetzel (US 4679999 A) teaches use of timing belt reduces the noise (see column 6, lines 64-67).
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3652