DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 10 – 14, 17 – 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US 20020033378 A1, “Hayashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses (Fig. 1A) a substrate comprising: a core substrate (2) having a first surface (3), a second surface (4) facing away from the first surface, and a cavity portion therein (5, 6); at least one electronic component (10) and a metal post (8, 12) provided in the cavity portion (See Fig. 2A); and an encapsulating material (13) filling the cavity portion and having a third surface close to the first surface and a fourth surface close to the second surface, wherein the metal post is exposed through the third surface and the fourth surface of the encapsulating material (See Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1, wherein the metal post has a shape having a dimension in a height direction parallel to a thickness direction of the core substrate greater than each of dimensions in other directions orthogonal to the height direction (See Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1, wherein the electronic component is a heat-generating component during operation (See para [0014]), and a distance between the metal post (12) and one of the at least one electronic component (10) closest to the metal post is less than a distance between the metal post and a wall surface of the cavity portion (See Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1, wherein the dimension of the metal post (12) in the height direction parallel to the thickness direction of the core substrate (2) is greater than a dimension of the electronic component (10) in the height direction (See Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1, wherein a linear expansion coefficient of the metal post (8, 12) is between a linear expansion coefficient of the core substrate (2) and a linear expansion coefficient of the electronic component (10) (Since parts (8, 12) are made of copper, 2 is made of BT Resin and 10 is made of ceramic; the linear expansion coefficient of ceramic < copper < BT Resin) , and in a cross section orthogonal to the second surface, the metal post is disposed between a wall surface of the cavity portion and the electronic component (See Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1, wherein, in a cross section parallel to the second surface, a top-view shape of the electronic component is a rectangle (See para [0054]), and a top-view shape of the metal post is a round-chamfered polygon with four or more sides, a polygon with five or more sides, a circle, an ellipse, an oval, or a race track shape (See para [0053], [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1, wherein the metal post comprises copper or a copper alloy (See para [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi discloses a module comprising: the substrate according to Claim 1; and a heating element (34) mounted on the first surface of the core substrate (2), wherein the heating element overlaps the metal post (12, 8) in a top view in a direction orthogonal to the first surface, and the heating element and the metal post are directly connected to each other or connected to each other via a first material (18, 24) having a higher thermal conductivity than the encapsulating material (see para [0113]).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi discloses the module according to Claim 10, wherein the first material is a metal material (see para [0113]).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi discloses the module according to Claim 10, wherein a second material (19, 25) having a higher thermal conductivity than the encapsulating material (13) is provided on the second surface of the core substrate (2), and the metal post and the second material are connected to each other (See fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi discloses the module according to Claim 12, wherein the second material is a metal material (see para [0113]).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 2, wherein the electronic component is a heat-generating component during operation (See para [0014]), and a distance between the metal post (12) and one of the at least one electronic component (10) closest to the metal post is less than a distance between the metal post and a wall surface of the cavity portion (See Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 17, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 2, wherein the dimension of the metal post (12) in the height direction parallel to the thickness direction of the core substrate (2) is greater than a dimension of the electronic component (10) in the height direction (See Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 18, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 3, wherein the dimension of the metal post (12) in the height direction parallel to the thickness direction of the core substrate (2) is greater than a dimension of the electronic component (10) in the height direction (See Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 20, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 2, wherein a linear expansion coefficient of the metal post (8, 12) is between a linear expansion coefficient of the core substrate (2) and a linear expansion coefficient of the electronic component (10) (Since parts (8, 12) are made of copper, 2 is made of BT Resin and 10 is made of ceramic; the linear expansion coefficient of ceramic < copper < BT Resin) , and in a cross section orthogonal to the second surface, the metal post is disposed between a wall surface of the cavity portion and the electronic component (See Fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 20020033378 A1, “Hayashi”) in view of Kato et al. (US 20120090865 A1, “Kato”).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi discloses the substrate according to Claim 1,
Hayashi is silent on wherein the metal post comprises a coaxial cable, wherein an outer periphery of a metal wire in the coaxial cable is covered with a resin coating layer and an outer periphery of the resin coating layer is covered with a metal coating layer.
However, Kato discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the metal post comprises a coaxial cable (8), wherein an outer periphery of a metal wire (2) in the coaxial cable is covered with a resin coating layer (4) and an outer periphery of the resin coating layer (4) is covered with a metal coating layer (6b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to incorporate the teachings of Kato and provide wherein the metal post comprises a coaxial cable (8), wherein an outer periphery of a metal wire (2) in the coaxial cable is covered with a resin coating layer (4) and an outer periphery of the resin coating layer (4) is covered with a metal coating layer (6b). Doing so would enhance wettability and reduce interfacial tension (See para [0038], [0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 15 – 16 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847