DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/942,287. Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are pending in the application. Claims 4 and 6 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The applicant’s amendment filed July 6, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8 are allowable over the closest prior art of Yahata et al (US 2021/0040383) in view of Shirosaki et al (JP 2019-112516, m.t., included in the applicant’s IDS). Yahata et al teaches a quantum dot ink which requires a carboxylic acid component which is excluded by the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the claims include the use limitation "formed utilizing,” which renders the claim indefinite. The claim does not set forth any steps involved in a method of utilizing, therefore, it is unclear what method the applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata et al (US 2021/0040383) in view of Shirosaki et al (JP 2019-112516, m.t., included in the applicant’s IDS).
Yahata et al teaches an apparatus comprising a light source on a bottom plate (a substrate) and a wavelength (color) conversion layer (Fig. 2; par. 85, 127). The wavelength conversion member is a cured product of a quantum dot ink (par. 90). The light source is a light-emitting diode (par. 123). The light source has a wavelength of 430-480 nm (par. 120). The device absorbs blue light and emits red or green light (par. 3).
The quantum dot ink comprises a thiol compound, photo-polymerizable monomer, photopolymerization initiator, quantum dots, and light scatterer (pigment) (par. 132, 197). The amount of thiol compound is 5-50 % by mass, which equates to 5-50 parts per hundred composition (par. 172).
The term “comprises” is construed to mean that the ink can include any additional components.
Yahata et al does not teach that the amount of light scatterer is 2-20 parts by weight.
However, Shirosaki et al teaches an ink composition for forming a color conversion layer (par. 7, 20). The ink comprises light scattering particles (par. 10). The amount of light scattering particles 0.1-60 % by weight based upon the non-volatile content of the ink (par. 92). The non-volatile content excludes the solvent (par. 51). Yahata et al teaches that the ink includes 1-10 % solvent (par. 194-195). The resulting content of light scattering particles in the ink containing 1-10 % solvent is about 0.09-59 % by weight, which equates to 0.09-59 parts by weight. The light scattering particles include barium titanate (par. 10).
Yahata et al and Shirosaki et al are both directed to an ink for forming a color conversion layer. Shirosaki et al teaches light scattering particles which reduce light leakage and provide excellent discharge stability (par. 89-90). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the amount and type of light scattering particles of Shirosaki et al with the ink of Yahata et al in order to obtain reduced light leakage and excellent discharge stability.
Response to Arguments
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information