DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/942,287. Claims 1-7 are pending in the application.
Claims 4 and 6 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The applicant’s amendment filed March 6, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata et al (US 2021/0040383) in view of Shirosaki et al (JP 2019-112516, m.t., included in the applicant’s IDS).
Yahata et al teaches an apparatus comprising a light source on a bottom plate (a substrate) and a wavelength (color) conversion layer (Fig. 2; par. 85, 127). The wavelength conversion member is a cured product of a quantum dot ink (par. 90). The light source is a light-emitting diode (par. 123). The light source has a wavelength of 430-480 nm (par. 120). The device absorbs blue light and emits red or green light (par. 3).
The quantum dot ink comprises a thiol compound, photo-polymerizable monomer, photopolymerization initiator, quantum dots, and light scatterer (pigment) (par. 132, 197). The amount of thiol compound is 5-50 % by mass, which equates to 5-50 parts per hundred composition (par. 172).
The ink comprises a solvent (par. 194). The amount of solvent is 1-10 % (par. 195).
Regarding claim 5, the limitations “the color conversion member consists of. . .” and “the quantum dot ink composition consists of. . .” define the color conversion member and the quantum dot ink. The limitations do not exclude the claimed apparatus from comprising any other element.
Yahata et al does not teach that the amount of light scatterer is 2-20 parts by weight.
However, Shirosaki et al teaches an ink composition for forming a color conversion layer (par. 7, 20). The ink comprises light scattering particles (par. 10). The amount of light scattering particles 0.1-60 % by weight based upon the non-volatile content of the ink (par. 92). The non-volatile content excludes the solvent (par. 51). As discussed above, Yahata et al teaches that the ink includes 1-10 % solvent. The resulting content of light scattering particles in the ink containing 1-10 % solvent is about 0.09-59 % by weight, which equates to 0.09-59 parts by weight. The light scattering particles include barium titanate (par. 10).
Yahata et al and Shirosaki et al are both directed to an ink for forming a color conversion layer. Shirosaki et al teaches light scattering particles which reduce light leakage and provide excellent discharge stability (par. 89-90). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the amount and type of light scattering particles of Shirosaki et al with the ink of Yahata et al in order to obtain reduced light leakage and excellent discharge stability.
Response to Arguments
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment. New grounds of rejection are presented above.
The applicant argues that Yahata et al requires a carboxylic acid which is excluded by the instant claims. However, the claim 5 limitations “the color conversion member consists of. . .” and “the quantum dot ink composition consists of. . .” define the claimed color conversion member and quantum dot ink. The limitations do not exclude the claimed apparatus from comprising any other element such as a carboxylic acid.
Examiner’s Information