Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the method of processing the substrate" in two instances. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of substantive examination, Examiner will consider claim as if first introducing a method of processing the substrate.
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20150170934 A1 to Aderhold
Regarding claim 1. Aderhold teaches a rapid thermal processing (RTP) tool (fig. 1), comprising:
a processing chamber (process area 18);
an edge ring in the processing chamber (edge ring 14);
lift pins (lift pins 22) for lowering and raising a substrate onto and off of the edge ring (para. 19, “Three lift pins 22 may be raised and lowered to support the back side of the wafer 12 when the wafer is handed between a paddle or robot blade (not shown) bringing the wafer into the chamber and onto the edge ring 14.”);
a sensor for determining substrate parameters of the substrate (pyrometers 40, which determine the substrate temperature);
a lamp assembly over the processing chamber (radiant heating apparatus 24); and
a controller (at least first controller 44) for controlling a temperature of the substrate in the chamber (para. 21, “A first controller 44 receives the outputs of the pyrometers 40 and accordingly controls the voltages supplied to the different rings of lamps 26 through a multi-zone lamp driver 60 to thereby dynamically control the radiant heating intensity and pattern during the processing.”),
wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the lamp assembly (via driver 60), the sensor (as seen in fig. 1 and described in para. 21), and the lift pins (it is understood that the lift pins would be automatically raised and lowered via a controller), and
wherein the controller comprises an algorithm for selecting temperature controllers for various temperature regimes based on the substrate parameters determined by the sensor (based on the temperature of the substrate, the controller either uses a closed loop controller or an open loop controller to achieve the steps of fig. 3, paras. 25-26).
Regarding claim 3. Aderhold teaches the RTP tool of claim 1, wherein a first temperature controller is an open loop tuning (OLT) controller for increasing the temperature of the substrate to a first temperature (para. 25, “Until the substrate is at a temperature of about 300.degree. C. to about 400.degree. C., open-loop heating is performed during the first segment of initial temperature ramp 301. Referring back to FIG. 2, open-loop heating takes place between time 120 and 121.”).
Regarding claim 4. Aderhold teaches the RTP tool of claim 3, wherein a second temperature controller is a closed loop controller for increasing the temperature from the first temperature to a second temperature (para. 26, “After the substrate is heated to between about 300.degree. C. to about 400.degree. C., the initial temperature ramp 301 is then generally completed using a closed-loop control algorithm to bring the substrate temperature to a stabilization temperature of about 500.degree. C. to about 700.degree. C.”).
Regarding claim 5. Aderhold teaches the RTP tool of claim 4, wherein the controller selects a recipe to increase the temperature from the second temperature to a third temperature (fig. 2, spike anneal between times 123 and 124, described in para. 28. See also the end of para. 27, which indicates a particular thermal process is selected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aderhold, applied to claim 1, and further in view of KR 20000020758 A to Sam.
Note: Reference is made to the attached translation of Sam.
Regarding claim 7. Aderhold teaches the RTP tool of claim 1,
But fails to teach wherein the sensor is for detecting a dopant concentration of the substrate in the processing chamber,
wherein detecting the dopant concentration comprises sending electromagnetic wavelength transmissions through the substrate,
detecting an absorption of the electromagnetic wavelength transmissions by the substrate with an electromagnetic radiation detector, and
comparing the absorption of the electromagnetic wavelength transmissions by the substrate to a database that includes relationships between intensities and dopant concentrations.
However, Sam teaches detecting a dopant concentration of a substrate in a processing chamber (Background Art, “The present invention relates to an apparatus for analyzing an impurity doping concentration of a thin film for manufacturing a semiconductor device”), wherein detecting the dopant concentration comprises sending electromagnetic wavelength transmissions through the substrate, detecting an absorption of the electromagnetic wavelength transmissions by the substrate with an electromagnetic radiation detector, and comparing the absorption of the electromagnetic wavelength transmissions by the substrate to a database that includes relationships between intensities and dopant concentrations (Tech-Solution, “illuminating means 6 installed so as to be movable in the longitudinal direction within the supporting element 4, and the wafer W from the illuminating means 6; Irradiated), filtering means (8) having a plurality of filters (7) attached to pass only the light of a specific wavelength region of the reflected light, and detects the light passing through the filtering means (8) Measuring means 10 capable of measuring optical data for optical properties including refractive index, absorptivity or reflectance, etc. and transmitting the optical data from the measuring means 10 And a computer 12 incorporating a data processing program for receiving and analyzing the impurity doping concentration.” Where it is further discussed regarding the comparison of the measured value to the back data, “The data processing program embedded in the computer 12 compares and analyzes optical data such as refractive index, absorptivity or reflectance of the thin film measured by the back data and the impurity doping concentration analyzer of the thin film for manufacturing a semiconductor device of the present invention. Analyze doping concentration.
The method for obtaining the back data is as follows. First, manufacturing a plurality of reference wafers having a reference thin film having different impurity doping concentrations, irradiating a light source including a wavelength of an infrared ray region in a deep ultraviolet region on the reference wafer to a specific wavelength region for the reference thin film. Measuring optical data such as refractive index, absorptivity or reflectance, and deriving a correlation between the impurity doping concentration of the reference thin film and the optical data. That is, after preparing a plurality of reference wafers on which the reference thin films doped with impurities having different doping concentrations are formed, the impurities for each of the reference thin films are then continued using a conventional X-ray fluorescence analyzer or SIMS analyzer. After the doping concentration was obtained, each of the reference thin films was irradiated with light having a predetermined wavelength range to measure refractive index, absorptivity, or reflectance, and then the impurity doping concentration, refractive index, and absorptance for each of the reference thin films was continued. Or deriving a series of equations that are correlated to reflectance.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement a suitable dopant concentration measurement of Sam into the processing system of Aderhold. Thus, modified Aderhold would teach measuring the dopant concentration via absorption measurements. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of accurately monitoring the amount of doped impurities to improve semiconductor characteristics, as suggested by Sam in Background Art, “Therefore, precise control of the impurity doping concentration, which influences the electrical properties of the thin film, is increasingly important in the semiconductor device manufacturing process. That is, since the operation characteristics of the semiconductor device are severely changed according to the doping concentration of the impurities, it is essential to accurately monitor the amount of the doped impurities.”
Moreover, as evidenced by US 20200343147 A1 to Rieske in paragraph 34, “By way of example, the dopant concentration affects the absorption and the transmittance.” – cited as a pertinent prior art reference but not relied on in the current rejection, per se. When considering the affect that the dopant concentration has on the substrate’s absorption and transmittance, i.e. opacity, it additionally would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the system of Aderhold to at least partially base the extent (temperature and/or duration) of open loop heating to the first temperature on the detected dopant concentration. This is because the extent of open loop heating in Aderhold is based on the substrate’s thermal properties, including opacity, which at least partially depend on the dopant concentration, paragraph 25, “lamp power is applied to the substrate at pre-determined values for a pre-determined duration in order to heat the substrate to a temperature regime in which the substrate will be substantially opaque … The set points for open-loop heating are generally determined empirically.” This would provide the predictable result and benefit of adapting the treatment of the substrate based on the doping concentration of the impurities, since “the dopant concentration affects the absorption and the transmittance”, paragraph 34 of Rieske.
Regarding claim 2. The claim is rejected using substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 7, where modified Aderhold teaches the RTP tool of claim 1, wherein the substrate parameters comprise one or more of thermal absorption (optional limitation), front side reflectivity (optional limitation), and doping concentration (Sam teaches detecting a dopant concentration).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6. Aderhold, applied to claim 1, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. The prior art fails to teach, “the algorithm … comprises finding deviations in a recipe time of the method of processing the substrate, and correcting the recipe time by adding more controllers to an existing list, wherein the controllers are based on actual data obtained during the method of processing the substrate.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, Aderhold simply teaches selecting either an open or closed loop heating process based on the recipe shown in fig. 2. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find deviations in the recipe time and correct by adding more controllers based on actual data to an existing list, as claimed, based on the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 8. The claim is allowable for the same reasons as claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7112763 B2, teaches a generally similar device to Aderhold. Fails to teach the subject matter indicated as allowable.
US 20200343147 A1, relevance is explained in the rejection to claims 2 and 7.
/KURT J WOLFORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762