DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/942,984 filed on November 11, 2024, presents claims 1-20 for examination, has no priority data.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 1, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a system claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 1,
“moving the update corresponding to the software vulnerability from the container layer to a reserved top image layer of the container based on a cache identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer to fix the software vulnerability.”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually move the update as defined in the claim. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, the claim recites the following additional element,
“downloading an update corresponding to a software vulnerability to a container layer of the container;”
Wherein “downloading …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering and transmitting. Thus, the additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to
integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, “downloading …” is insignificant extra-solution activities such as data gathering and transmitting which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. Accordingly, even viewed as a whole, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim 10, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a computer system claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 10,
“moving the update corresponding to the software vulnerability from the container layer to a reserved top image layer of the container based on a cache identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer to fix the software vulnerability.”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually move the update as defined in the claim. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, the claim recites the following additional elements,
“a computer system”, “a processor set”, and “one or more computer-readable storage media”,
“downloading an update corresponding to a software vulnerability to a container layer of the container;”
Wherein “downloading an update …” is insignificant extra-solution activities such as data gathering and transmitting. “a computer system”, “a processor set”, and “one or more computer-readable storage media” are recited as generic computer/software components used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. Thus, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to
integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, “downloading an update …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering and transmitting which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. “a computer system”, “a processor set”, and “one or more computer-readable storage media” are recited as generic computer/software components used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. Accordingly, even viewed as a whole, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim 15, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a computer program product claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 15,
“moving the update corresponding to the software vulnerability from the container layer to a reserved top image layer of the container based on a cache identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer to fix the software vulnerability.”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually move the update as defined in the claim. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, the claim recites the following additional elements,
“a computer program product” and “one or more computer-readable storage media”,
“downloading an update corresponding to a software vulnerability to a container layer of the container;”
Wherein “downloading an update …” is insignificant extra-solution activities such as data gathering and transmitting. “a computer program product” and “one or more computer-readable storage media” are recited as generic computer/software components used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. Thus, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to
integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, “downloading an update …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering and transmitting which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. “a computer program product” and “one or more computer-readable storage media” are recited as generic computer/software components used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. Accordingly, even viewed as a whole, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claims 2, 11 and 16, “further comprising:
sharing, using a union file system, the update corresponding to the software vulnerability with other containers built using a same container image version as the container.” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually create a union file system for sharing the update as defined in the claim.
With respect to claims 3, 12 and 17, “further comprising:
receiving an install update on container command from a client device via a network; and
parsing the install update on container command to identify the container that needs the update to fix the software vulnerability.”
Wherein “receiving …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering and transmitting which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. “a client device via” and “a network” are recited as generic computer/software components used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. “parsing …” is mental process because human can manually perform the parsing as defined in the claim.
With respect to claims 4, 13 and 18, “further comprising:
retrieving a chain identifier of the reserved top image layer corresponding to the container that needs the update to fix the software vulnerability from a local storage in response to identifying the container based on parsing an install update on container command, the chain identifier of the reserved top image layer includes a parent layer identifier, a difference folder identifier, and a cache identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer; and
locating the reserved top image layer within the container based on the parent layer identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer.”
Wherein “retrieving …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data retrieving and storing which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II. “a local storage” is recited as generic computer/software component used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. “locating …” is mental process because human can manually perform the locating as defined in the claim.
With respect to claims 5, 14 and 19, “further comprising:
analyzing a difference folder identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer;
determining whether the difference folder identifier includes a predefined hash value based on analyzing the difference folder identifier; and
responsive to determining that the difference folder identifier does include the predefined hash value based on analyzing the difference folder identifier, downloading the update corresponding to the software vulnerability to the container layer of the container.”
Wherein “downloading an update …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering and transmitting which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II. “analyzing …” and “determining …” are mental processes because human can manually perform the analyzing and determining as defined in the claim.
With respect to claims 6 and 20, “further comprising:
responsive to determining that the difference folder identifier does not include the predefined hash value based on analyzing the difference folder identifier, determining that the reserved top image layer is unavailable.”
Wherein “determining… “, “analyzing …” and “determining …” are mental processes because human can manually perform the analyzing and determining as defined in the claim.
With respect to claim 7, “further comprising:
receiving a generate reserved layer command from a client device via a network; and
generating the reserved top image layer immediately above a set of other image layers in the container in response to receiving the generate reserved layer command from the client device.”
Wherein “receiving …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering and transmitting which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. “a client device via” and “a network” are recited as generic computer/software components used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea. “generating …” is mental process because human can manually perform the generating as defined in the claim.
With respect to claim 8, “further comprising:
generating a difference folder identifier with a predefined hash value for the reserved top image layer that identifies the reserved top image layer for installing the update corresponding to one of a set of other image layers having the software vulnerability; and
generating an empty directory in the reserved top image layer with a cache identifier for downloading the update corresponding to the one of the set of other image layers having the software vulnerability.”
Wherein “generating …” processes are mental processes because human can manually perform the generating as defined in the claim.
With respect to claim 9, “further comprising:
generating a parent layer identifier for the reserved top image layer that points to a previous top image layer of a set of other image layers in the container;
generating a chain identifier for the reserved top image layer that includes a difference folder identifier with a predefined hash value, a cache identifier corresponding to an empty directory, and a parent layer identifier that points to a previous top image layer of the container; and
storing the chain identifier for the reserved top image layer in a local storage.”
Wherein “generating …” processes are mental processes because human can manually perform the generating as defined in the claim. “storing …” is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data retrieving and storing which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II. “a local storage” is recited as generic computer/software component used as tools to implement the identified abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 10-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 20230315678 A1, hereinafter “He”) in view of YANG (CN 113230660 A, hereinafter “YANG”, please refer to attached NPL copy).
With respect to claim 1, He discloses A method comprising:
moving the update corresponding to the software vulnerability from the container layer to a reserved top image layer of the container based on a cache identifier corresponding to the reserved top image layer to fix the software vulnerability (e.g. para [0062], “Processing proceeds to operation 5460, where add image layer mod 310 adds a new image layer to the first container. In some embodiments, the new image layer that is added to the first layer is a newly-added container layer (that is, the new image layer is a newly-added writable layer) that includes information indicating all relevant changes that are stored in the multiple layer file system.” Wherein the new image layer reads on a reserved top image layer, and information indication all relevant changes suggests that update information is moved to the new image layer. Para [0063], “Processing proceeds to operation 5465, where create hard links mod 315 creates hard links between the plurality of files stored in the new image layer and the plurality of files that existed in the original image layers found in the first container (discussed in connection with operation S455, above). ...” wherein hard links suggest a cache identifier).
He does not appear to explicitly disclose
downloading an update corresponding to a software vulnerability to a container layer of the container; However, this is taught in analogous art, Yang (e.g. p9 fifth paragraph, “The method b: the operation data of the cloud game comprises running the application update file automatically downloaded in the cloud game process, …. if the running data does not include automatic downloading application updating file, then using the method a to obtain the application updating file of the cloud game. As shown in FIG. 2, after obtaining the application update file of the cloud game, the cloud game platform background can in the process of operating the cloud game, the top of the cloud game establishing a container layer (game container), the application update file of the cloud game recorded in the container layer, ...” this paragraph suggests downloading an update to a container layer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of He with the invention of Yang because it provides techniques for improving the efficiency of updating application program, and reducing the cost. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for improving the efficiency of updating application program, and reducing the cost as suggested by Yang (see Abstract).
With respect to claim 2, He discloses further comprising:
sharing, using a union file system, the update corresponding to the software vulnerability with other containers built using a same container image version as the container (e.g. para [0073], “Some embodiments of the present invention generate one upper layer by a union mount of all the multiple layers of a given image and creates hard links for some writable files (such as application data/configuration files) ….”).
With respect to claim 7, He discloses further comprising:
receiving a generate reserved layer command from a client device via a network (e.g. para [0061], “Processing begins at operation 5455, where receive container module (“mod”) 305 receives a first container. …” wherein receiving a first container is analogous to a generate reserved layer command); and
generating the reserved top image layer immediately above a set of other image layers in the container in response to receiving the generate reserved layer command from the client device (e.g. para [0062], “Processing proceeds to operation 5460, where add image layer mod 310 adds a new image layer to the first container. In some embodiments, the new image layer that is added to the first layer is a newly-added container layer (that is, the new image layer is a newly-added writable layer) that includes information indicating all relevant changes that are stored in the multiple layer file system.”).
With respect to claim 10, it is directed to a computer system to implement the method disclosed in claim 1, please see the rejections directed to claim 1 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 10. Note that, He teaches A computer system comprising:
a processor set;
one or more computer-readable storage media; and
program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media to cause the processor set to perform operations comprising (e.g. Fig. 1):
With respect to claim 11, it recites same features as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 15, it is directed to a computer program product to implement the method disclosed in claim 1, please see the rejections directed to claim 1 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 15. Note that, He teaches A computer program product comprising:
one or more computer-readable storage media; and
program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media to perform operations comprising (e.g. Fig. 1):
With respect to claim 16, it recites same features as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 3, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of YANG as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 respectively, in further view of XUANYUAN et al. (WO 2015051517 A1, hereinafter “XUANYUAN”, please refer to attached NPL copy).
With respect to claim 3, He as modified by Yang discloses The method of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving an install update on container command from a client device via a network; and
parsing the install update on container command to identify the container that needs the update to fix the software vulnerability.
However, in analogous art, XUANYUAN discloses further comprising:
receiving an install update on container command from a client device via a network (e.g. p18 fourth paragraph, “Exemplarily, the processor 1502 is further configured to: obtain a request message for requesting content, The request message includes an identifier of the requested content, a second container set corresponding to the requested content identifier, and an identifier of the authoritative resolution server. …”); and
parsing the install update on container command to identify the container that needs the update to fix the software vulnerability (e.g. p18 fourth paragraph, “… Correspondingly, the processor 1502 is configured to determine whether the second container set in the request message is empty, if If yes, the communication unit 1 501 is configured to send the identifier of the requested content to the authoritative resolution server; or, the request content is obtained according to the identifier of the requested content. …” wherein the second container set reads on the container that needs the update).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of XUANYUAN because it provides techniques for improving the efficiency of obtaining a container collection. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for improving the efficiency of obtaining a container collection as suggested by XUANYUAN (see Summary of The Invention).
With respect to claim 12, it recites same features as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 17, it recites same features as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, CHEN et al., US 20230091915 A1 teaches Automatic Application Of Software Updates To Container Images Based On Dependencies.
/ZENGPU WEI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2197