DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of implied phraseology (i.e., “Provided is”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dupommier (US 4634489).
Regarding claim 1, Dupommier discloses a conveyance device (Figs. 1-3, 6: 11) for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Fig. 6: 60) formed on a first drum from the first drum (Figs. 1, 6: C) and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Fig. 1: D), comprising: an annular frame (Figs. 2, 6: 12) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Figs. 1, 6: C) and the second drum (Fig. 1: D); a sucker (Figs. 2, 6: 39) provided for the annular frame (Figs. 2, 6: 12); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: E) that conveys the annular frame between the first drum (Fig. 1: C) and the second drum (Fig. 1: D), wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39) that sucks the tire forming member (Fig. 6: 60) and a plurality of movement mechanisms (Figs. 2, 6: 42) that moves the suction pads in a radial direction of the annular frame (Figs. 2, 6: 12), and the plurality of suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39) is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Figs. 2, 6: 12), and adjacent ones of the suction pads in the circumferential direction are moved in the radial direction by different ones of the movement mechanisms (Figs. 2, 6: 42) (Col. 4 lines 44-50; Claim 14: wherein each suction cup is independently operated by its respective actuating means).
Regarding claim 2, Dupommier further discloses the sucker includes a lock mechanism (Figs. 4-5: 45, 47, 48) that fixes positions of the suction pads (Figs. 4-5: 39) in the radial direction and unfixes the suction pads (Col. 4 lines 18-43: wherein the radially inward movement of the cup 39 can therefore be altered by adjusting the position of the sleeve 47 relative to the sleeve 45, the sleeve 47 is maintained in its adjusted position by a spring 48, this adjustment allows the travel of the cup 39 to be set for different diameter carcasses).
The examiner notes that the claim limitation “a lock mechanism that fixes positions of the suction pads in the radial direction and unfixes the suction pads” is very broad and does not expressly recite a specific structure for the lock mechanism. Accordingly, the “lock mechanism” of Dupommier that fixes positions of the suction pads in the radial direction and unfixes the suction pads as discussed above satisfies the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Dupommier further discloses the suction pads include a plurality of center suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 13) provided side by side in the circumferential direction to suck a center portion of the tire forming member in an axial direction and a plurality of end suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 15) provided side by side in the circumferential direction to suck end portions of the tire forming member in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-64; Col. 3 lines 65-68; Col. 4 lines 1-9, 18-22, 51-59), and the sucker includes a gap provided along the axial direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads and an adjustment device (Figs. 2, 6: 21, 22, 23; Fig. 3: 23) that adjusts a length of the gap in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-68; Col. 3 lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, Dupommier further discloses the adjustment device (Figs. 2, 6: 21, 22, 23; Fig. 3: 23) moves the end suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 15) in the axial direction to adjust the length of the gap in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-64; Col. 3 lines 65-68; Col. 4 lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 7, Dupommier further discloses the end suction pads include a first end suction pad provided at one end portion of the tire forming member in the axial direction and a second end suction pad provided at the other end portion of the tire forming member in the axial direction (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 15), and the adjustment device (Figs. 2, 6: 21, 22, 23; Fig. 3: 23) moves the first end suction pad and the second end suction pad in opposite directions in the axial direction simultaneously (i.e., in synchronization) with each other to adjust the length of the gap in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-64; Col. 3 lines 30-59, 65-68; Col. 4 lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupommier (US 4634489) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of any one of Klopper (US 4007080) and/or Zevenbergen et al. (US 9205558).
Regarding claims 3-4, Dupommier further discloses that each suction pad is independently operated by its respective movement mechanism (Claim 14), and that each is connected via a central passageway (Fig. 4: 43) to a vacuum source (Col. 4 lines 44-50). Moreover, Dupommier also discloses the plurality of suction pads includes a first suction pad, a second suction pad, a plurality of third suction pads, and a plurality of fourth suction pads (Figs. 2-3, 6: 39).
However, Dupommier does not expressly recite that the plurality of suction pads includes a first suction pad and a second suction pad having weaker suction force of sucking the tire forming member than that of the first suction pad, or that the plurality of suction pads includes a plurality of third suction pads and a plurality of fourth suction pads that releases the tire forming member in advance of the third suction pads.
Klopper also discloses a conveyance device for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Fig. 1: 8) formed on a first drum (Fig. 1: 9) from the first drum and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Col. 1 lines 6-14), comprising: an annular frame (Fig. 1: 3) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Fig. 1: 9) and the second drum; a sucker (Fig. 1: 4) provided for the annular frame (Fig. 1: 3); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: 1, 2) that conveys the annular frame between the first drum and the second drum, wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads (Fig. 1: 4) that sucks the tire forming member (Fig. 1: 8) and a plurality of movement mechanisms (Fig. 1: 14, 18) that moves the suction pads in a radial direction of the annular frame, and the plurality of suction pads is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame, wherein at least one end portion of the tire forming member is engaged and carried by the suction pads which are selectively connectable to a vacuum creating device whenever desired (Abstract; Col. 2 lines 37-40). In other words, it is generally known in the substantially similar art to selectively connect and use different suction pads in a conveyance device for a tire forming member. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Dupommier in order to selectively use suction pads as desired on the tire forming member, such as to provide a first suction pad and a second suction pad having weaker suction force of sucking the tire forming member than that of the first suction pad and/or to provide a plurality of third suction pads and a plurality of fourth suction pads that releases the tire forming member in advance of the third suction pads by connecting/disconnecting to the vacuum source as desired, as is generally known in the substantially similar art as taught by Klopper.
Additionally or alternatively, Zevenbergen discloses a suction gripper that includes a plurality of suction cups (Col. 1 lines 22-24), wherein a vacuum pump may be controlled to apply suction to an object through one or more active suction cups of the suction gripper in order to cause the gripper to grip the object (Col. 1 lines 24-27). Zevenbergen further discloses a suction gripper may include multiple suction cups that are capable of attaching to an object, wherein, in order to grip an object, the suction gripper may apply suction to the object through one or more active suction cups that are adjacent to or connected to a surface of the object (Col. 3 lines 15-19). In some examples, different subsets of available suction cups may be activated to grip a particular object while other suction cups are deactivated (Col. 3 lines 21-23). By deactivating one or more suction cups, the gripper may apply greater suction force to a gripped object through the remaining active suction cups (Col. 3 lines 33-36). Zevenbergen also discloses that, in some examples, the control system may deactivate a certain number of suction cups with the lowest vacuum pressures from the group of active suction cups (Col. 3 lines 50-62). In additional examples, the control system may deactivate one or more of the suction cups in an effort to maximize the overall gripping force applied by the suction gripper to the object (Col. 3 lines 63-66). Additionally, Zevenbergen discloses the suction gripper may be used to convey objects, such as tires (Col. 5 lines 24-28). While the suction gripper of Zevenbergen may be different in structure than the suction gripper of Dupommier (i.e., robotic arm gripper versus annular ring gripper), Zevenbergen discloses various advantages for a suction gripper in general having varying levels of suction force in the plurality suction pads and varying times of deactivating (i.e., releasing) suction pads in the plurality of suction pads that would also be applicable to and advantageous for the suction gripper of Dupommier. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Dupommier in order to provide the plurality of suction pads includes a first suction pad and a second suction pad having weaker suction force of sucking the tire forming member than that of the first suction pad and the plurality of suction pads includes a plurality of third suction pads and a plurality of fourth suction pads that releases the tire forming member in advance of the third suction pads for the advantages discussed above as taught by Zevenbergen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Felten (LU 86110, see machine translation) discloses a conveyance device (Figs. 1-4: 111) for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Figs. 3-4: 160) formed on a first drum (Figs. 3-4: 153) from the first drum and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Fig. 4: 154) ([0032]-[0035]), comprising: an annular frame (Figs. 1-3: 112) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Figs. 3-4: 153) and the second drum (Fig. 4: 154) ([0027]-[0029]); a sucker (Figs. 1-3: 21) provided for the annular frame (Figs. 1-3: 112); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 4: 118, 155) that conveys the annular frame between the first drum (Fig. 4: 153) and the second drum (Fig. 4: 154) ([0029], [0032]), wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads (Figs. 1, 3: 21) that sucks the tire forming member (Fig. 3: 160) and a plurality of movement mechanisms (Figs. 1, 3: 10) that moves the suction pads in a radial direction of the annular frame (Figs. 1, 3: 112) ([0029]-[0031], [0034]-[0035]), and the plurality of suction pads (Figs. 1, 3: 21) is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Figs. 1, 3: 112), and adjacent ones of the suction pads (Figs. 1, 3: 21) in the circumferential direction are moved in the radial direction by different ones of the movement mechanisms (Figs. 1, 3: 10) ([0029]-[0031], [0034]-[0035]).
Naedler (DE 2420329, see machine translation) discloses a conveyance device for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Figs. 2, 4-5: 8) formed on a first drum (Figs. 1-2: 4) from the first drum and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Figs. 2, 5: 5) ([0012]), comprising: an annular frame (Figs. 1-6: 7) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Figs. 1-2: 4) and the second drum (Figs. 2, 5: 5) ([0012]); a sucker (Figs. 3, 6: 38) provided for the annular frame (Figs. 1-6: 7) ([0019], [0021]); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: 6) that conveys the annular frame (Figs. 1-6: 7) between the first drum (Figs. 1-2: 4) and the second drum (Figs. 2, 5: 5) ([0012]), wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads (Figs. 3, 6: 38) ([0019], [0021]) that sucks the tire forming member (Figs. 2, 4-5: 8) and a plurality of movement mechanisms (Fig. 6: 39) that moves the suction pads in a radial direction of the annular frame ([0020]), and the plurality of suction pads (Fig. 6: 38) is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Fig. 6: 7) ([0019]), and adjacent ones of the suction pads in the circumferential direction are moved in the radial direction by different ones of the movement mechanisms (Fig. 6: see how each pad 38 is associated to a different segment 34 that is moved by a different piston 39) ([0017]-[0020]: wherein suction cups 38 are provided circumferentially in support ting 7, which is formed by radially moveable segments 34, and wherein the segments 34 are supplied with respective pistons 39 to move radially inwards and back).
Porter (US 3212951) discloses a conveyance device for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Fig. 1: 37) formed on a first drum from the first drum (Fig. 1; 15) and conveying the tire forming member, comprising: an annular frame capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Fig. 1); a sucker (Figs. 1-3: 19) provided for the annular frame; and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: 12, 13, 14) that conveys the annular frame, wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads that sucks the tire forming member and a plurality of movement mechanisms that moves the suction pads in a radial direction of the annular frame (Fig. 1), and the plurality of suction pads is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Fig. 1), and adjacent ones of the suction pads in the circumferential direction are moved in the radial direction by different ones of the movement mechanisms (Fig. 1: 16, 18).
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749