DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of implied phraseology (i.e., “Provided is”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a gap provided along the circumferential direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads” in lines 13-14 is unclear. The center suction pads and end suction pads are previously provided axially from each other so it is unclear why the gap is provided in the circumferential direction and not the axial direction. Moreover, the claim also requires “an adjustment device that adjusts a length of the gap in the axial direction,” which is again referring to the gap in the axial direction. Furthermore, Applicant’s specification and figures predominantly disclose that the gap is axially provided (Fig. 4: 59a, 59b) (Page 11 lines 16-22; Page 12 lines 5-11; Page 13 lines 3-9; Page 14 lines 5-14), not circumferentially. Additionally, all dependent claims also refer to the gap in the axial direction. Thereby, it is unclear how the gap is intended to be positioned in the circumferential direction and further clarification is requested. For the purposes of examination, the examiner assumes the gap is provided in the axial direction and not the circumferential direction.
Claims 2-3 are indefinite by dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dupommier (US 4634489).
Regarding claim 1, Dupommier discloses a conveyance device (Figs. 1-3, 6: 11) for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Fig. 6: 60) formed on a first drum from the first drum (Figs. 1, 6: C) and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Fig. 1: D), comprising: an annular frame (Figs. 2, 6: 12) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Figs. 1, 6: C) and the second drum (Fig. 1: D); a sucker (Figs. 2, 6: 39) provided for the annular frame (Figs. 2, 6: 12); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: E) that conveys the annular frame between the first drum (Fig. 1: C) and the second drum (Fig. 1: D), wherein the sucker includes a plurality of center suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 13) provided side by side in the circumferential direction to suck a center portion of the tire forming member in an axial direction, a plurality of end suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 15) provided side by side in the circumferential direction to suck end portions of the tire forming member in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-64; Col. 3 lines 65-68; Col. 4 lines 1-9, 18-22, 51-59), a gap provided along the axial direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads, and an adjustment device (Figs. 2, 6: 21, 22, 23; Fig. 3: 23) that adjusts a length of the gap in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-68; Col. 3 lines 1-9).
The examiner notes that in view of the interpretation of the gap provided along the axial direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads, Dupommier discloses every limitation of the claim. However, even if the claim language were to require the gap provided along the circumferential direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads, Dupommier discloses center suction pads and end suction pads, wherein there is circumferential spacing between different sets of center and end suction pads (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Dupommier further discloses the adjustment device (Figs. 2, 6: 21, 22, 23; Fig. 3: 23) moves the end suction pads (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 15) in the axial direction to adjust the length of the gap in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-64; Col. 3 lines 65-68; Col. 4 lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 3, Dupommier further discloses the end suction pads include a first end suction pad provided at one end portion of the tire forming member in the axial direction and a second end suction pad provided at the other end portion of the tire forming member in the axial direction (Figs. 2, 6: 39; Fig. 3: 15), and the adjustment device (Figs. 2, 6: 21, 22, 23; Fig. 3: 23) moves the first end suction pad and the second end suction pad in opposite directions in the axial direction simultaneously (i.e., in synchronization) with each other to adjust the length of the gap in the axial direction (Col. 2 lines 48-64; Col. 3 lines 30-59, 65-68; Col. 4 lines 1-9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-7 of copending Application No. 18/943,021 or US 20250197135 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claim 1 of the instant Applicant is entirely disclosed in claim 5 (which includes the subject matter of independent claim 1) of the copending Applicant. While claim 1 of the instant Application recites “a gap provided along the circumferential direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads” and claim 5 of the copending Application recites “a gap provided along the axial direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads,” case law holds that shifting the position of a component would have been obvious absent a showing that the rearrangement modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144.04. Moreover, the subject matter of claim 2 of the instant application and claim 6 of the copending application are identical, and claim 3 of the instant application and claim 7 of the copending application are identical. The examiner notes that claim 1 is only provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting because the gap is expressly recited in the claim language as being provided along the circumferential direction between the center suction pads and the end suction pads while the copending Application recites it as being provided along the axial direction. However, in view of the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above where the examiner believes Applicant intended for the gap to have been provided in the axial direction, the claims would be provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of the copending Application (i.e., statutory double patenting) if the language were to be amended in line with the examiner’s interpretation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Felten (LU 86110, see machine translation) discloses a conveyance device (Figs. 1-4: 111) for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Figs. 3-4: 160) formed on a first drum (Figs. 3-4: 153) from the first drum and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Fig. 4: 154) ([0032]-[0035]), comprising: an annular frame (Figs. 1-3: 112) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Figs. 3-4: 153) and the second drum (Fig. 4: 154) ([0027]-[0029]); a sucker (Figs. 1-3: 21) provided for the annular frame (Figs. 1-3: 112); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 4: 118, 155) that conveys the annular frame between the first drum (Fig. 4: 153) and the second drum (Fig. 4: 154) ([0029], [0032]), wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads (Figs. 1, 3: 21) that sucks the tire forming member (Fig. 3: 160) and the plurality of suction pads (Figs. 1, 3: 21) is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Figs. 1, 3: 112).
Naedler (DE 2420329, see machine translation) discloses a conveyance device for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Figs. 2, 4-5: 8) formed on a first drum (Figs. 1-2: 4) from the first drum and conveying the tire forming member to a second drum (Figs. 2, 5: 5) ([0012]), comprising: an annular frame (Figs. 1-6: 7) capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Figs. 1-2: 4) and the second drum (Figs. 2, 5: 5) ([0012]); a sucker (Figs. 3, 6: 38) provided for the annular frame (Figs. 1-6: 7) ([0019], [0021]); and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: 6) that conveys the annular frame (Figs. 1-6: 7) between the first drum (Figs. 1-2: 4) and the second drum (Figs. 2, 5: 5) ([0012]), wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads (Figs. 3, 6: 38) ([0019], [0021]) that sucks the tire forming member (Figs. 2, 4-5: 8), and the plurality of suction pads (Fig. 6: 38) is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Fig. 6: 7) ([0019]).
Porter (US 3212951) discloses a conveyance device for receiving a cylindrical tire forming member (Fig. 1: 37) formed on a first drum from the first drum (Fig. 1; 15) and conveying the tire forming member, comprising: an annular frame capable of surrounding outer peripheries of the first drum (Fig. 1); a sucker (Figs. 1-3: 19) provided for the annular frame; and a frame conveyer (Fig. 1: 12, 13, 14) that conveys the annular frame, wherein the sucker includes a plurality of suction pads that sucks the tire forming member, and the plurality of suction pads is provided side by side in a circumferential direction of the annular frame (Fig. 1).
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749