DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 18/943,566, filed on 11/11/2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statements filed on 03/10/2025, 04/14/2025, and 11/12/2025 have been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 for each is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 2023/0311700 A1, “Shin”) in view of Lu et al. (US 2024/0014660 A1, “Lu”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 17, Shin discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches:
A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device – See least ¶ [0081])
at least one processor; and (EVCC 120 is a processor used to control the power transfer amount to the EV – See at least ¶ [0141])
receiving, in a communication, a power limit parameter defining a maximum amount of power that can be transferred during a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation (As mentioned above, the power transfer system to which the method of changing the target power transfer amount according to the present disclosure is applicable may transfer the power from the power grid to the EV 100 to charge the battery 199 of the EV 100 or transfer the energy stored in the battery 199 of the EV 100 to the power grid, i.e., bi-directional power transfer – See at least ¶ [0112] and Fig. 6) conducted between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE); (Referring to FIG. 5, the EVCC 120 may send to the SECC 210 one of an EV minimum energy request (EVMinimumEnergyReq), an EV maximum energy request (EVMaximumEnergyReq), and an EV target energy request (EVTargetEnergyReq) as a charging parameter – See at least ¶ [0121])
implementing the power limit parameter at the EV; and (Next, the target power transfer amount may be set, and a charging schedule may be established (step 406). The setting of the target power transfer amount and the establishment of the charging schedule may be performed by an exchange of a ChargeParameterDiscoveryReq/Res message pair. That is, the EVCC 120 may transmit the ChargeParameterDiscoveryReq( ) message to the SECC 220 to request applicable charging parameters, and the SECC 220 may respond to the EVCC 120 with the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message. Through successive message exchanges, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may set the target power transfer amount and establish the charging schedule – See at least ¶ [0115])
controlling the BPT operation in accordance with the power limit parameter. (After the target power transfer amount is set and the charging schedule is established, the charging may be performed (step 408) – See at least ¶ [0116])
Shin does not explicitly teach a memory with instructions in the vehicle itself. However, Lu discloses determining energy sources to a location and teaches:
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (As shown in Fig. 1B, the vehicle 110 contains system 100 which includes processor 102, memory 104, and instructions 106.)
In summary, Shin discloses a processor in a vehicle that has access to predefined values and settings. The access to these predefined values and settings imply the use of a memory with instructions. But, Shin does not explicitly teach the use of memory and instructions in the vehicle. However, Lu discloses determining energy sources to a location and teaches a vehicle system that uses a processor, memory, and instructions on the vehicle to distribute power to and from the grid.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin to provide for the determining energy sources to a location, as taught in Lu, to provide a blockchain used for storing vehicle-related data and transaction. The blockchain being a decentralized, immutable, and secure storage, where nodes must share in changes to records in the storage. (At Lu ¶ [0043] and [0061])
Regarding claim 2, Shin further teaches:
wherein the communication is in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20, (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097]) and the communication comprises a ChargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message. (As shown in a schema diagram of FIG. 9, the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message may include parameters such as an EVSEStatus parameter indicating the status of the EVSE 210, an EVSEProcessing parameter indicating whether or not the EVSE 210 has finished a processing that was initiated after a latest ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message or a progress of the processing – See at least ¶ [0133] and Fig. 9)
Regarding claim 4, Shin further teaches:
the operations further comprising: receiving a power value in a ChargeLoopResponse message, wherein the power value is a real time measurement of electrical power being transferred between the EV and the EVSE during the BPT operation, and the (Referring to FIG. 12, while the charging loop is in progress in the scheduled control mode, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may exchange a ChargeLoopReq/Res message pair or a ChargingStatusReq/Res message pair to check a meter value measured by the power meter 238 of the EVSE 210 and keep a communication session alive – See at least ¶ [0154]) ChargeLoopResponse message is generated in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20; and (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
in response to the power value equals or substantially equals the power limit parameter, reducing an amount of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (FiG. 5 illustrates a concept of basic energy requirements and limitations in the EV along with energy request parameters that the EVCC 110 may transmit to the SECC 210. The target power transfer amount transmitted by the EVCC 120 to the SECC 210 may be defined in a form of a 'departure time' indicating a point in time to terminate the charging session, a 'charging target' indicating a level of energy stored in the battery at a termination of the charging session, or a 'minimum charging amount' during the charging session – See at least ¶ [0118])
Regarding claim 5, Shin further teaches:
wherein the power value is received from a power meter coupled to the EVSE, wherein the power meter is configured to measure, in real-time, an amount of electrical power being transferred from the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE. (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098])
Regarding claim 6, Shin further teaches:
the operations further comprising: in response to the power value is less than the power limit parameter, maintaining the amount of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (Next, the target power transfer amount may be set, and a charging schedule may be established (step 406). The setting of the target power transfer amount and the establishment of the charging schedule may be performed by an exchange of a ChargeParameterDiscoveryReq/Res message pair. That is, the EVCC 120 may transmit the ChargeParameterDiscoveryReq( ) message to the SECC 220 to request applicable charging parameters, and the SECC 220 may respond to the EVCC 120 with the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message. Through successive message exchanges, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may set the target power transfer amount and establish the charging schedule. After the target power transfer amount is set and the charging schedule is established, the charging may be performed (step 408) – See at least ¶ [0115]-[0116]; Here Shin determines an amount of power to be transferred through the scheduling. The invention provides energy., i.e., maintains the scheduled amount, until that that power is met.)
Regarding claim 9, Shin does not explicitly teach, but Lu further teaches:
wherein the maximum amount of electrical power transferred during the BPT operation comprises a maximum amount of electrical power transferred from a battery located onboard the EV in combination with electrical power generated by a secondary source providing electrical power to the EVSE in conjunction with electrical energy transferred from the battery located onboard the EV. (FIG. 2F illustrates a diagram 265 depicting the electrification of one or more elements. In one example, a transport 266 may provide power stored in its batteries to one or more elements, including other transport(s) 268. charging station(s) 270, and electric grid(s) 272. The electric grid(s) 272 is/are coupled to one or more of the charging stations 270, which may be coupled to one or more of the transports 268. This configuration allows the distribution of electricity/power received from the transport 266. The transport 266 may also interact with the other transport(s) 268, such as via Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) technology, communication over cellular, WiFi, and the like. The transport 266 may also interact wirelessly and/or wired with other transports 268, the charging station(s) 270 and/or with the electric grid(s) 272. In one example, the transport 266 is routed (or routes itself) in a safe and efficient manner to the electric grid(s) 272, the charging station(s) 270, or the other transport(s) 268. Using one or more embodiments of the instant solution, the transport 266 can provide energy to one or more of the elements depicted herein in various advantageous ways as described and/or depicted herein – See at least ¶ [0083])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin to provide for the determining energy sources to a location, as taught in Lu, to provide a blockchain used for storing vehicle-related data and transaction. The blockchain being a decentralized, immutable, and secure storage, where nodes must share in changes to records in the storage. (At Lu ¶ [0043] and [0061])
Regarding claim 10, Shin does not explicitly teach, but Lu further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprising: controlling the BPT operation for vehicle to grid (V2G) discharge of electrical energy from the EV in accordance with the power limit parameter and electrical energy generated by the secondary source, wherein the V2G operation transfers electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE. (FIG. 2F illustrates a diagram 265 depicting the electrification of one or more elements. In one example, a transport 266 may provide power stored in its batteries to one or more elements, including other transport(s) 268. charging station(s) 270, and electric grid(s) 272. The electric grid(s) 272 is/are coupled to one or more of the charging stations 270, which may be coupled to one or more of the transports 268. This configuration allows the distribution of electricity/power received from the transport 266. The transport 266 may also interact with the other transport(s) 268, such as via Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) technology, communication over cellular, WiFi, and the like. The transport 266 may also interact wirelessly and/or wired with other transports 268, the charging station(s) 270 and/or with the electric grid(s) 272. In one example, the transport 266 is routed (or routes itself) in a safe and efficient manner to the electric grid(s) 272, the charging station(s) 270, or the other transport(s) 268. Using one or more embodiments of the instant solution, the transport 266 can provide energy to one or more of the elements depicted herein in various advantageous ways as described and/or depicted herein – See at least ¶ [0083])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin to provide for the determining energy sources to a location, as taught in Lu, to provide a blockchain used for storing vehicle-related data and transaction. The blockchain being a decentralized, immutable, and secure storage, where nodes must share in changes to records in the storage. (At Lu ¶ [0043] and [0061])
Regarding claim 12, Shin further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation comprises discharge of electrical energy from a battery located on the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE. (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device. An EV user may designate or change, in the EV 100, a target power transfer amount to be charged or discharged from or to the charging station 200 – See at least ¶ [0081])
Regarding claim 14, Shin further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprising: receiving, by the device, a power value, wherein the power value is a real time measurement of electrical power being transferred between the EV and the EVSE during the BPT operation, wherein the power value is received from a power meter connected to the EVSE, and the power meter is configured to measure, in real-time, an amount of electrical power being transferred from the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]) wherein the power value is received in a ChargeLoopResponse message (Referring to FIG. 12, while the charging loop is in progress in the scheduled control mode, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may exchange a ChargeLoopReq/Res message pair or a ChargingStatusReq/Res message pair to check a meter value measured by the power meter 238 of the EVSE 210 and keep a communication session alive – See at least ¶ [0154]) generated in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20. (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
Regarding claim 15, Shin further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise in response to the power value equals or substantially equals the power limit parameter, reducing an amount of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (FiG. 5 illustrates a concept of basic energy requirements and limitations in the EV along with energy request parameters that the EVCC 110 may transmit to the SECC 210. The target power transfer amount transmitted by the EVCC 120 to the SECC 210 may be defined in a form of a 'departure time' indicating a point in time to terminate the charging session, a 'charging target' indicating a level of energy stored in the battery at a termination of the charging session, or a 'minimum charging amount' during the charging session – See at least ¶ [0118])
Regarding claim 19, Shin further teaches:
the operations further comprising: receiving, by the device, a power value, wherein the power value is a real time measurement of electrical power being transferred between the EV and the EVSE during the BPT operation, wherein the power value is received from a power meter connected to the EVSE, and the power meter is configured to measure, in real-time, an amount of electrical power being transferred from the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]) wherein the power value is received in a ChargeLoopResponse message (Referring to FIG. 12, while the charging loop is in progress in the scheduled control mode, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may exchange a ChargeLoopReq/Res message pair or a ChargingStatusReq/Res message pair to check a meter value measured by the power meter 238 of the EVSE 210 and keep a communication session alive – See at least ¶ [0154]) generated in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20; and (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
in response to a determination that the power value equals or substantially equals the power limit parameter, reducing an amount of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (FiG. 5 illustrates a concept of basic energy requirements and limitations in the EV along with energy request parameters that the EVCC 110 may transmit to the SECC 210. The target power transfer amount transmitted by the EVCC 120 to the SECC 210 may be defined in a form of a 'departure time' indicating a point in time to terminate the charging session, a 'charging target' indicating a level of energy stored in the battery at a termination of the charging session, or a 'minimum charging amount' during the charging session – See at least ¶ [0118])
Claim(s) 3, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Lu and in further view of VDE (VDE Regulation points the way ahead for the improved network integration of decentralized power generation, “VDE”)
Regarding claim 3, Shin further teaches:
wherein the power limit parameter is a PmonitoringDischargePowerLimit parameter defining the maximum amount of power that can be transferred at a particular moment during the BPT operation, (The EV maximum energy request (EVMaximumEnergyRequest) indicates a maximum amount of energy requested by the EV at any given time during the energy transfer loop and may be calculated as a difference between a maximum level of energy accepted by the EV and the current level of energy of the EV battery as shown in Equation 2 – See at least ¶ [0123]; Examiner notes that the pmonitoringdischargepowerlimit is equivalent in function to the EVMaximumEnergyRequest.)
The combination of Shin and Lu does not explicitly teach: wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. However VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches:
wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
In summary, Shin discloses a variable containing the maximum level of energy accepted by the EV. Shin does not explicitly teach using the VDE-AR-N 4105 standard. However, VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches using the VDE-AR-N 4105 standards to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin and Lu to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Shin further teaches:
wherein the communication is in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20, (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097]) the communication comprises a ChargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message, (As shown in a schema diagram of FIG. 9, the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message may include parameters such as an EVSEStatus parameter indicating the status of the EVSE 210, an EVSEProcessing parameter indicating whether or not the EVSE 210 has finished a processing that was initiated after a latest ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message or a progress of the processing – See at least ¶ [0133] and Fig. 9) wherein the power limit parameter is a PmonitoringDischargePowerLimit parameter defined in the ChargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message and defines the maximum amount of power that can be transferred at a particular moment during the BPT operation, (The EV maximum energy request (EVMaximumEnergyRequest) indicates a maximum amount of energy requested by the EV at any given time during the energy transfer loop and may be calculated as a difference between a maximum level of energy accepted by the EV and the current level of energy of the EV battery as shown in Equation 2 – See at least ¶ [0123]; Examiner notes that the pmonitoringdischargepowerlimit is equivalent in function to the EVMaximumEnergyRequest.)
The combination of Shin and Lu does not explicitly teach: wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. However VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches:
wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
In summary, Shin discloses a variable containing the maximum level of energy accepted by the EV. Shin does not explicitly teach using the VDE-AR-N 4105 standard. However, VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches using the VDE-AR-N 4105 standards to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin and Lu to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Lu and VDE and in further view of ISO (International Standard ISO 15118-2, “ISO”)
Regarding claim 7, Shin further teaches:
wherein the power value is one of a first power value measured on a first phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, a second power value measured on a second phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, or a third power value measured on a third phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098])
The combination of Shin and Lu does not explicitly teach that the charging system contains phases, e.g., 3 phase electrical power. However, ISO discloses Road vehicles – vehicle-to-Grid Communication Interface and teaches:
wherein the power value is one of a first power value measured on a first phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, a second power value measured on a second phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, or a third power value measured on a third phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (EVSEMaxCurrent: This element is used by the SECC to indicate the maximum line current per phase the EV can draw. This element is not included in the message if any AC PnC Message Set has been selected – See at least pg. 101)
In summary, Shin discloses using the ISO standards to implement its systems. While Shin does not explicitly teach the use of a multi-phase electrical system, the ISO standards provide the standards for operating these systems for vehicle charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin, Lu, and VDE to provide for the standardization, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shin, Lu, and ISO does not explicitly teach the use of the VDE specification. However, VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches:
wherein the first power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue parameter, the second power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L2 parameter, and the third power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L3, and the first power value, the second power value, and the third power value are in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin, Lu, and ISO to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Regarding claim 16 and 20, Shin further teaches:
wherein the power value is one of a first power value measured on a first phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, a second power value measured on a second phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, or a third power value measured on a third phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]
The combination of Shin, Lu, and VDE does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the first power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue parameter, the second power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L2 parameter, and the third power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L3, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]) and
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin, Lu, and VDE to provide for the standardization, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
The combination of Shin, Lu, and ISO does not explicitly teach, but VDE further teaches:
the first power value, the second power value, and the third power value are in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin, Lu, and ISO to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Conclusion
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662