DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendments filed 04/30/2026. Wherein, claims 1, 3-11, 13, and 15-20 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statements filed on 03/25/2026 and 07/08/2026 have been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 for each is enclosed herewith.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 04/30/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kempton (US 2011/0202217 A1, “Kempton”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 17, Kempton discloses electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles and teaches:
A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: (Eve 102 contains the system as shown in Fig. 2)
at least one processor; and (They system contains VL 103 which includes microcomputer 210 – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2)
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, (VL 103 further Memory 212 in communication with Microcomputer 210 – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2) wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (Microcomputer 210 is configured and programmed to provide the following functionality: (1) two-way communication with EVSE 104; (2) processing EVSE attributes received from EVSE 104; (3) executing instruction stored in memory 212 – See at least ¶ [0046])
receiving, in a communication, from a controller of an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), (VL 103 may control charging and discharging of battery 202 via VMS 206 and/or may control provision of other grid services. More particularly, VL 103 may: (1) communicate, for example, with a wall-mounted or curb-mounted EVSE 104; (2) receive EVSE attributes from EVSE 104; (3) evaluate EVSE attributes to setup and control charging of the battery, payment for electricity, or other grid services – See at least ¶ [0048]) a power limit parameter defining a maximum amount of power that can be discharged by the EV and transferred during a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation conducted between the EV and EVSE; (EVSE 104 maintains attributes associated with EVSE 104 such as its status, grid location, and other information for used by grid-integrated vehicle via VL 103 to control power flow and to provide valuable grid services. In an exemplary embodiment, microprocessor 304 stores EVSE attributes in memory 306 and selectively retrieves EVSE attributes from memory 306 for delivery to VL 103. EVSE attributes may include static and dynamic attributes. The static attributes may include: grid location information; charging business model Such as provisions for payment or credit for electric energy and electric services, compensation for occupying the physical parking space, and other information; unique EVSE identification (ID); forward flow limit; reverse flow limit; emergency power flag; and/or authorized CAN bus code. The dynamic attributes may include disconnect status, grid power status, vehicle identifier, transformer overload, circuit Switch open/closed, building loads, account authorizations, vehicle capabilities, and vehicle authorizations – See at least ¶ [0051]; a reverse flow limit indicating the maximum allowable flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102 of a grid-integrated vehicle – See at least ¶ [0052])
implementing the power limit parameter at the EV such that the EV is configured to operate as a generator (Electric vehicle equipment (EVE) 102 generally refers to equipment located in the grid-integrated vehicle to enable communication and power flow. In an exemplary embodiment, EVE 102 receives EVSE attributes (described below) and controls power flow and grid services to and from the grid-integrated vehicle based on, for example, EVSE attributes, the state of the vehicles on-board storage, expected driving requirements and driver desires – See at least ¶ [0031]) in accordance with a grid code implemented at a location of the EVSE; and (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information. EVSE attributes generally refer to information related to EVSE 104 that is transmitted to EVE 102 of the grid-integrated vehicle. This may include: (1) characteristics of EVSE's physical capabilities; (2) legal and administrative allowances; (3) legal and administrative restrictions; (4) a unique EVSE ID; (5) allowed billing and other commercial relationships (which EVSE and grid-integrated vehicle participate in); (6) grid services that may be authorized (allowed) at this particular EVSE 104 location, and/or others – See at least ¶ [0034]; Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, in an exemplary embodiment, connectors 250/350 comply with Society of Automobile Engineers (SAE) standard J1772, International Electro technical Commission (IEC) standard 62196-2, or other domestic or international standard to enable grid-integrated vehicle connections to the grid 108 – See at least ¶ [0072])
controlling the BPT comprising discharge of electrical energy from a battery located on board the EV (In an exemplary embodiment, PEM 204, VMS 206, and battery 202 are typical components found in a conventional electric vehicle and VL 103 is incorporated in accordance with the present invention to enable such a vehicle to receive/provide grid services. VMS 206 directly controls battery management, charging, and possibly driving functions under direction of VL 103, in addition to control of VMS 206 by other vehicle controls. The functionality of VMS 206 may be integrated into other devices, such as the PEM 204, or may be performed by one or more devices – See at least ¶ [0043] and [0048]) to the electrical grid operation in accordance with the power limit parameter (Electric vehicle equipment (EVE) 102 generally refers to equipment located in the grid-integrated vehicle to enable communication and power flow. In an exemplary embodiment, EVE 102 receives EVSE attributes (described below) and controls power flow and grid services to and from the grid-integrated vehicle based on, for example, EVSE attributes, the state of the vehicles on-board storage, expected driving requirements and driver desires – See at least ¶ [0031]) by limiting an amount of electrical power discharged from the EV such that the amount of electrical power discharged from the EV does not exceed the maximum amount of electrical power defined by the power limit parameter. (EVSE 104 maintains attributes associated with EVSE 104 such as its status, grid location, and other information for used by grid-integrated vehicle via VL 103 to control power flow and to provide valuable grid services. In an exemplary embodiment, microprocessor 304 stores EVSE attributes in memory 306 and selectively retrieves EVSE attributes from memory 306 for delivery to VL 103. EVSE attributes may include static and dynamic attributes. The static attributes may include: grid location information; charging business model Such as provisions for payment or credit for electric energy and electric services, compensation for occupying the physical parking space, and other information; unique EVSE identification (ID); forward flow limit; reverse flow limit; emergency power flag; and/or authorized CAN bus code. The dynamic attributes may include disconnect status, grid power status, vehicle identifier, transformer overload, circuit Switch open/closed, building loads, account authorizations, vehicle capabilities, and vehicle authorizations – See at least ¶ [0051]; a reverse flow limit indicating the maximum allowable flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102 of a grid-integrated vehicle – See at least ¶ [0052])
Regarding claim 12, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation comprises discharge of electrical energy from a battery located on the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE. (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device. An EV user may designate or change, in the EV 100, a target power transfer amount to be charged or discharged from or to the charging station 200 – See at least ¶ [0081])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Shin (US 2023/0311700 A1, “Shin”).
Regarding claim 2, Kempton does not explicitly teach wherein the communication is in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20 and the communication comprises a chargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message. However, Shin discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches:
wherein the communication is in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20, (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097]) and the communication comprises a ChargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message. (As shown in a schema diagram of FIG. 9, the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message may include parameters such as an EVSEStatus parameter indicating the status of the EVSE 210, an EVSEProcessing parameter indicating whether or not the EVSE 210 has finished a processing that was initiated after a latest ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message or a progress of the processing – See at least ¶ [0133] and Fig. 9)
In summary, Kempton discloses implementing various standards and grid codes to operate its charging systems. Kempton does not explicitly teach the use of ISO 15118-20. However, Kempton discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches using the ISO standards for carrying out the functions of its charging system.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user to change the target power transfer amount even when the EV user is out of the EV. (At Shin ¶ [0028])
Regarding claim 4, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
the operations further comprising: receiving a power value in a ChargeLoopResponse message, wherein the power value is a real time measurement of electrical power being transferred between the EV and the EVSE during the BPT operation, and the (Referring to FIG. 12, while the charging loop is in progress in the scheduled control mode, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may exchange a ChargeLoopReq/Res message pair or a ChargingStatusReq/Res message pair to check a meter value measured by the power meter 238 of the EVSE 210 and keep a communication session alive – See at least ¶ [0154]) ChargeLoopResponse message is generated in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20, (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097]) wherein the power value is received from a power meter couple to the EVSE that measures an amount of electrical power transferred between the EV and the electrical grid; and (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238, and an ammeter (not shown) – See at least ¶ [0098])
in response to the power value equals or substantially equals the power limit parameter, reducing an amount of electrical power being discharged by the EV and transferred during the BPT operation. (Fig. 5 illustrates a concept of basic energy requirements and limitations in the EV along with energy request parameters that the EVCC 110 may transmit to the SECC 210. The target power transfer amount transmitted by the EVCC 120 to the SECC 210 may be defined in a form of a 'departure time' indicating a point in time to terminate the charging session, a 'charging target' indicating a level of energy stored in the battery at a termination of the charging session, or a 'minimum charging amount' during the charging session – See at least ¶ [0118])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user to change the target power transfer amount even when the EV user is out of the EV. (At Shin ¶ [0028])
Regarding claim 5, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the power value is received from a power meter coupled to the EVSE, wherein the power meter is configured to measure, in real-time, an amount of electrical power being transferred from the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE during BPT operations. (VL 103 may include (or may access) an electric meter (e.g., a revenue-grade meter) to measure accumulated energy in each direction to and from EVSE 104. This meter may be integrated into EVE 102 based on current sensor 220, on the building (not shown), or in EVSE 104 based on current sensor 310. The revenue meter can be used to measure grid services or simply accumulated or net charging energy – See at least ¶ [0088])
Regarding claim 6, Kempton further teaches:
the operations further comprising: in response to the power value is less than the power limit parameter, maintaining the amount of electrical power being discharged by the EV and transferred during the BPT operation such that the electrical power discharged from the EV remains within the maximum amount of electrical power defined by the power limit parameter. (EVSE 104 maintains attributes associated with EVSE 104 such as its status, grid location, and other information for used by grid-integrated vehicle via VL 103 to control power flow and to provide valuable grid services. In an exemplary embodiment, microprocessor 304 stores EVSE attributes in memory 306 and selectively retrieves EVSE attributes from memory 306 for delivery to VL 103. EVSE attributes may include static and dynamic attributes. The static attributes may include: grid location information; charging business model Such as provisions for payment or credit for electric energy and electric services, compensation for occupying the physical parking space, and other information; unique EVSE identification (ID); forward flow limit; reverse flow limit; emergency power flag; and/or authorized CAN bus code. The dynamic attributes may include disconnect status, grid power status, vehicle identifier, transformer overload, circuit Switch open/closed, building loads, account authorizations, vehicle capabilities, and vehicle authorizations – See at least ¶ [0051]; a reverse flow limit indicating the maximum allowable flow of power into EVSE 104 from EVE 102 of a grid-integrated vehicle – See at least ¶ [0052])
Regarding claim 14, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprising: receiving, by the device, a power value, wherein the power value is a real time measurement of electrical power being transferred between the EV and the EVSE during the BPT operation, wherein the power value is received from a power meter connected to the EVSE, and the power meter is configured to measure, in real-time, an amount of electrical power being transferred from the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]) wherein the power value is received in a ChargeLoopResponse message (Referring to FIG. 12, while the charging loop is in progress in the scheduled control mode, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may exchange a ChargeLoopReq/Res message pair or a ChargingStatusReq/Res message pair to check a meter value measured by the power meter 238 of the EVSE 210 and keep a communication session alive – See at least ¶ [0154]) generated in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20. (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user to change the target power transfer amount even when the EV user is out of the EV. (At Shin ¶ [0028])
Regarding claim 15, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise in response to the power value equals or substantially equals the power limit parameter, reducing an amount of electrical power being discharged by the EV and transferred during the BPT operation. (FiG. 5 illustrates a concept of basic energy requirements and limitations in the EV along with energy request parameters that the EVCC 110 may transmit to the SECC 210. The target power transfer amount transmitted by the EVCC 120 to the SECC 210 may be defined in a form of a 'departure time' indicating a point in time to terminate the charging session, a 'charging target' indicating a level of energy stored in the battery at a termination of the charging session, or a 'minimum charging amount' during the charging session – See at least ¶ [0118] Examiner notes that the energy transferred is limited – See at least ¶ [0150])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user to change the target power transfer amount even when the EV user is out of the EV. (At Shin ¶ [0028])
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Lu et al. (US 2024/0014660 A1, “Lu”).
Regarding claim 9, Kempton does not explicitly teach wherein the maximum amount of electrical power transferred during the BPT operation comprises a maximum amount of electrical power transferred from a battery located onboard the EV in combination with electrical power generated by a secondary source providing electrical power to the EVSE in conjunction with electrical energy transferred from the battery located onboard the EV, and where the power limit parameter defines the maximum amount of the combined electrical power. However, Lu discloses determining energy sources to a location and teaches:
wherein the maximum amount of electrical power transferred during the BPT operation comprises a maximum amount of electrical power transferred from a battery located onboard the EV in combination with electrical power generated by a secondary source providing electrical power to the EVSE in conjunction with electrical energy transferred from the battery located onboard the EV. (FIG. 2F illustrates a diagram 265 depicting the electrification of one or more elements. In one example, a transport 266 may provide power stored in its batteries to one or more elements, including other transport(s) 268. charging station(s) 270, and electric grid(s) 272. The electric grid(s) 272 is/are coupled to one or more of the charging stations 270, which may be coupled to one or more of the transports 268. This configuration allows the distribution of electricity/power received from the transport 266. The transport 266 may also interact with the other transport(s) 268, such as via Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) technology, communication over cellular, WiFi, and the like. The transport 266 may also interact wirelessly and/or wired with other transports 268, the charging station(s) 270 and/or with the electric grid(s) 272. In one example, the transport 266 is routed (or routes itself) in a safe and efficient manner to the electric grid(s) 272, the charging station(s) 270, or the other transport(s) 268. Using one or more embodiments of the instant solution, the transport 266 can provide energy to one or more of the elements depicted herein in various advantageous ways as described and/or depicted herein – See at least ¶ [0083] Examiner notes that the energy transferred is limited – See at least ¶ [0150])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the determining energy sources to a location, as taught in Lu, to provide a blockchain used for storing vehicle-related data and transaction. The blockchain being a decentralized, immutable, and secure storage, where nodes must share in changes to records in the storage. (At Lu ¶ [0043] and [0061])
Regarding claim 10, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Lu further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprising: controlling the BPT operation for vehicle to grid (V2G) discharge of electrical energy from the EV in accordance with the power limit parameter and electrical energy generated by the secondary source, wherein the V2G operation transfers electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, and the BPT operation is controlled such that a sum of the electrical power discharged from the EV and the electrical power generated by the secondary source does not exceed the maximum amount of combined electrical power defined by the power limit parameter. (FIG. 2F illustrates a diagram 265 depicting the electrification of one or more elements. In one example, a transport 266 may provide power stored in its batteries to one or more elements, including other transport(s) 268. charging station(s) 270, and electric grid(s) 272. The electric grid(s) 272 is/are coupled to one or more of the charging stations 270, which may be coupled to one or more of the transports 268. This configuration allows the distribution of electricity/power received from the transport 266. The transport 266 may also interact with the other transport(s) 268, such as via Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) technology, communication over cellular, WiFi, and the like. The transport 266 may also interact wirelessly and/or wired with other transports 268, the charging station(s) 270 and/or with the electric grid(s) 272. In one example, the transport 266 is routed (or routes itself) in a safe and efficient manner to the electric grid(s) 272, the charging station(s) 270, or the other transport(s) 268. Using one or more embodiments of the instant solution, the transport 266 can provide energy to one or more of the elements depicted herein in various advantageous ways as described and/or depicted herein – See at least ¶ [0083] Examiner notes that the energy transferred is limited – See at least ¶ [0150])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the determining energy sources to a location, as taught in Lu, to provide a blockchain used for storing vehicle-related data and transaction. The blockchain being a decentralized, immutable, and secure storage, where nodes must share in changes to records in the storage. (At Lu ¶ [0043] and [0061])
Claim(s) 3, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Shin and in further view of VDE (VDE Regulation points the way ahead for the improved network integration of decentralized power generation, “VDE”)
Regarding claim 3, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the power limit parameter is a PmonitoringDischargePowerLimit parameter defining the maximum amount of power that can be discharged by the EV and transferred at a particular moment during the BPT operation, wherein the power limit parameter is configured to implement P-monitoring for the EV operating as a generator (The EV maximum energy request (EVMaximumEnergyRequest) indicates a maximum amount of energy requested by the EV at any given time during the energy transfer loop and may be calculated as a difference between a maximum level of energy accepted by the EV and the current level of energy of the EV battery as shown in Equation 2 – See at least ¶ [0123]; Examiner notes that the pmonitoringdischargepowerlimit is equivalent in function to the EVMaximumEnergyRequest.)
The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach: wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. However VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches:
wherein the power limit parameter [] is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
In summary, Shin discloses a variable containing the maximum level of energy accepted by the EV. The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach using the VDE-AR-N 4105 standard. However, VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches using the VDE-AR-N 4105 standards to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Shin to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the communication is in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20, (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097]) the communication comprises a ChargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message, (As shown in a schema diagram of FIG. 9, the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message may include parameters such as an EVSEStatus parameter indicating the status of the EVSE 210, an EVSEProcessing parameter indicating whether or not the EVSE 210 has finished a processing that was initiated after a latest ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message or a progress of the processing – See at least ¶ [0133] and Fig. 9) transmitted from a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) of the (EVSE) to an electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) located on the EV, wherein the power limit parameter is a PmonitoringDischargePowerLimit parameter defined in the ChargeParameterDiscoveryResponse message and defines the maximum amount of power that can be discharged from the EV and transferred at a particular moment during the BPT operation, wherein the PmonitoringDischargePowerLimit parameter is configured to implement P-monitoring for the EV operating as a generator (The EV maximum energy request (EVMaximumEnergyRequest) indicates a maximum amount of energy requested by the EV at any given time during the energy transfer loop and may be calculated as a difference between a maximum level of energy accepted by the EV and the current level of energy of the EV battery as shown in Equation 2 – See at least ¶ [0123]; Examiner notes that the pmonitoringdischargepowerlimit is equivalent in function to the EVMaximumEnergyRequest.)
The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach: wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. However VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches:
wherein the power limit is in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Shin to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Regarding claim 19, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
the operations further comprising: receiving, by the device, a power value, wherein the power value is a real time measurement of electrical power being transferred between the EV and the EVSE during the BPT operation, wherein the power value is received from a power meter connected to the EVSE, and the power meter is configured to measure, in real-time, an amount of electrical power being discharged by the EV and transferred from the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]) wherein the power value is received in a ChargeLoopResponse message (Referring to FIG. 12, while the charging loop is in progress in the scheduled control mode, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may exchange a ChargeLoopReq/Res message pair or a ChargingStatusReq/Res message pair to check a meter value measured by the power meter 238 of the EVSE 210 and keep a communication session alive – See at least ¶ [0154]) generated in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-20; and (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
in response to a determination that the power value equals or substantially equals the power limit parameter, reducing an amount of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation. (FiG. 5 illustrates a concept of basic energy requirements and limitations in the EV along with energy request parameters that the EVCC 110 may transmit to the SECC 210. The target power transfer amount transmitted by the EVCC 120 to the SECC 210 may be defined in a form of a 'departure time' indicating a point in time to terminate the charging session, a 'charging target' indicating a level of energy stored in the battery at a termination of the charging session, or a 'minimum charging amount' during the charging session – See at least ¶ [0118])
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Shin and in further view of ISO (International Standard ISO 15118-2, “ISO”)
Regarding claim 7, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the power value is one of a first power value measured on a first phase of electrical power being discharged by the EV and transferred during the BPT operation, a second power value measured on a second phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, or a third power value measured on a third phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, wherein the first power value the second power value, and the third power value collectively represent total electrical power transferred between the EV and the electrical grid via the EVSE. (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098])
The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach that the charging system contains phases, e.g., 3 phase electrical power. However, ISO discloses Road vehicles vehicle-to-Grid Communication Interface and teaches:
wherein the power value is one of a first power value measured on a first phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, a second power value measured on a second phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, or a third power value measured on a third phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, wherein the first power value the second power value, and the third power value collectively represent total electrical power transferred between the EV and the electrical grid via the EVSE. (EVSEMaxCurrent: This element is used by the SECC to indicate the maximum line current per phase the EV can draw. This element is not included in the message if any AC PnC Message Set has been selected – See at least pg. 101)
In summary, Shin discloses using the ISO standards to implement its systems. While the combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach the use of a multi-phase electrical system, the ISO standards provide the standards for operating these systems for vehicle charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Shin to provide for the standardization, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
Claim(s) 8, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Shin and ISO and in further view of VDE.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kempton, Shin and ISO does not explicitly teach the use of the VDE specification. However, VDE discloses regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation and teaches:
wherein the first power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue parameter, the second power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L2 parameter, and the third power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L3, and the first power value, the second power value, and the third power value are configured to be utilized to determine a total active power transferred between the EV and the electrical grid for P-monitoring in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Shin, and ISO to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Regarding claim 16 and 20, Kempton does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the power value is one of a first power value measured on a first phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, a second power value measured on a second phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, or a third power value measured on a third phase of electrical power being transferred during the BPT operation, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]
The combination of Kempton, Shin, and VDE does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the first power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue parameter, the second power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L2 parameter, and the third power value is defined as an ExternalMeterPowerValue_L3, (The supply-side power circuit 230 may supply the power from the power grid to the EV 100 or supply the power discharged by the EV 100 to the power grid. The supply-side power circuit 230 may include a supply-side power electronic circuit 232, an electric power meter 238. and an ammeter (not shown)… The electric power meter 238 measures an amount of energy supplied to the EV device 110 through the supply-side power electronic circuit 232 or an amount of energy supplied in a reverse direction from the EV device 110 to the supply-side power electronic circuit 232. The ammeter measures a magnitude of the current flowing between the EV device 110 and the EVSE 210 to enable to monitor whether the power is transferred according to a prescribed current profile or not – See at least ¶ [0098]) and
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Shin, and VDE to provide for the standardization, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
The combination of Shin, Lu, and ISO does not explicitly teach, but VDE further teaches:
the first power value, the second power value, and the third power value are configured to be utilized to determine a total active power transferred between the EV and the electrical grid for P-monitoring in accordance with the Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik (VDE) specification VDE-AR-N 4105. (the VDE application guide also describes requirements to be met by a frequency-dependent power control, in order to guarantee in particular system stability in the event of overfrequency – See at least pg. 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Shin, and VDE to provide for the regulation points for improved network integration of decentralized power generation, as taught in VDE, to guarantee safe and reliable network and system operation with a high power supply quality. (At VDE pg. 1)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662