DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 18/943,567, filed on 11/11/2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statements filed on 03/10/2025, 04/14/2025, and 11/12/2025 have been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 for each is enclosed herewith.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-3, 8, 11, 14, and 20 of Application No. 18/943,599. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, 11, 14, and 20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/943,599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the immediate application is fully discloses in and is covered by the co-filed patent applications in view of the respective indicated references, as is shown in the table and the description below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the
patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The mapping of Claims 1-20 of the immediate application to claims 1-3, 8, 11, 14, and 20 of the ‘599 patent application follows:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent Application No. 18/943,599
Claims 1/10/17: A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving, in a communication, a control signal, wherein the control signal is received from a system remotely located from the EV and comprises a control setting; and implementing the control setting at the EV to control a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation performed at the EV.
Claim 1: A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving, in a communication, a parameter, wherein the parameter comprises one of a setpoint or a limit; and adjusting operation of the EV in accordance with the parameter, wherein the operation is a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation.
Claims 2/11: wherein the communication is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE).
Claim 8: wherein the communication is in compliance with International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE).
Claims 3: wherein the control signal is received via hardware configured to connect the EV with an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE).
See claim 11: wherein the parameter is received in a digital signal, the digital signal is received via the EVSE or received via a communication from a remotely located cloud server system.
Claims 4/12: wherein the hardware is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851, IEC 61851-1, or a specification defining compliance of hardware implemented to connect the EV to the EVSE.
Claim 3: wherein the parameter is received via an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV or received via a remotely located cloud server system, wherein the EVSE is configured to be in compliance with International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851.
Claim 5/13: wherein the control signal is a digital signal.
Claim 2: wherein the communication is a digital signal.
Claim 6/14: wherein the control signal comprises an instruction to perform at least one of reduce the BPT operation to a defined discharge rate, reduce the BPT operation to a discharge rate of zero kiloWatts-hour (0kWh), initiate the BPT operation, or adjust the BPT operation.
Claim 14: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, wherein the parameter being in the form of a limit defines a value or level that cannot be exceeded during the BPT operation, and the parameter being in the form of a setpoint defines a particular value to be complied with during the BPT operation.
Claim 7/15: wherein the remotely located system is one of an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, a system operated by a distribution system operator controlling operation of an electrical grid configured to receive energy discharged from a battery located onboard the EV, or a cloud-based system.
Claim 3: wherein the parameter is received via an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV or received via a remotely located cloud server system, wherein the EVSE is configured to be in compliance with International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851.
Claims 8: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV.
Claim 14: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, wherein the parameter being in the form of a limit defines a value or level that cannot be exceeded during the BPT operation, and the parameter being in the form of a setpoint defines a particular value to be complied with during the BPT operation.
Claims 9: wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV.
Claim 20: wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV.
Claim 16: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV, and the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV.
Claim 14 and 20: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, wherein the parameter being in the form of a limit defines a value or level that cannot be exceeded during the BPT operation, and the parameter being in the form of a setpoint defines a particular value to be complied with during the BPT operation. wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV.
Claim 18: wherein the communication is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), and the remotely located system is one of an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, a system operated by a distribution system operator controlling operation of an electrical grid configured to receive energy discharged from a battery located onboard the EV, or a cloud-based system.
Claim 3: wherein the parameter is received via an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV or received via a remotely located cloud server system, wherein the EVSE is configured to be in compliance with International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851.
Claim 19: wherein the control signal is a digital signal received at the EV via hardware configured to connect the EV with an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), and the hardware is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851, IEC 61851-1, or a specification defining compliance of hardware implemented to connect the EV to the EVSE.
Claims 2 and 3: wherein the communication is a digital signal. wherein the parameter is received via an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV or received via a remotely located cloud server system, wherein the EVSE is configured to be in compliance with International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851.
Claim 20: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV, wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV, and the control signal instruction comprises one of reduce the V2G operation to a defined discharge rate, reduce the V2G operation to a discharge rate of zero kiloWatts-hour (0kWh), initiate the V2G operation, or adjust the V2G operation.
Claim 14 and 20: wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EVSE, wherein the parameter being in the form of a limit defines a value or level that cannot be exceeded during the BPT operation, and the parameter being in the form of a setpoint defines a particular value to be complied with during the BPT operation. wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 2023/0311700 A1, “Shin”) in view of Kempton (US 2011/0202217 A1, “Kempton”)
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17, Shin discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches:
A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device – See least ¶ [0081])
at least one processor; and (EVCC 120 is a processor used to control the power transfer amount to the EV – See at least ¶ [0141])
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, in a communication, a control signal, wherein the control signal is received from a system remotely located from the EV and comprises a control setting; and (Next, the target power transfer amount may be set, and a charging schedule may be established (step 406). The setting of the target power transfer amount and the establishment of the charging schedule may be performed by an exchange of a ChargeParameterDiscoveryReq/Res message pair. That is, the EVCC 120 may transmit the ChargeParameterDiscoveryReq( ) message to the SECC 220 to request applicable charging parameters, and the SECC 220 may respond to the EVCC 120 with the ChargeParameterDiscoveryRes() message. Through successive message exchanges, the EVCC 120 and the SECC 220 may set the target power transfer amount and establish the charging schedule – See at least ¶ [0115])
implementing the control setting at the EV to control a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation performed at the EV. (After the target power transfer amount is set and the charging schedule is established, the charging may be performed (step 408) – See at least ¶ [0116])
Shin does not explicitly teach A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations. However, Kempton discloses electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles and teaches:
A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: (the electric vehicle contains a system, e.g., EVE 102 – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2)
at least one processor; and (EVE 102 contains microcomputer 210, i.e., a processor – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2)
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (EVE 102 contains memory 212 – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2; the memory contains instructions for microcomputer 210 – See at least ¶ [0046])
In summary, Shin discloses a vehicle system that contains a processor. Shin does not explicitly teach that the processor is coupled to memory located on the vehicle itself. Kempton discloses electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles and teaches an on-vehicle system that contains a processor coupled to a memory and instructions for the processor stored on the couple memory. Kempton further provides for this system to perform the various functions required for obtaining EVSE attributes and performing charging functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin to provide for the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles, as taught in Kempton, to maximize range while again minimizing wear to achieve that range. (At Kempton ¶ [0084])
Regarding claims 2, and 11, Shin further teaches:
wherein the communication is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE). (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
Regarding claim 3, Shin further teaches:
wherein the control signal is received via hardware configured to connect the EV with an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE). (The EVSE 210 may include a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) 220, a supply-side power circuit 230, a power line communications (PLC) module 240, and a gateway 280 – See at least ¶ [0096]; The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller(EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN) – See at least ¶ [0097]; The PLC module 240 may modulate a signal transmitted to the EV device 110 through the power line communications and demodulate a signal received from the EV device 110 through the power line communications. Although not shown in the drawing, the EVSE 210 may further include a control pilot transceiver capable of transmitting a control signal to the EV device 110 through a cable connecting the EVSE 210 and the EV device 110 and receiving a control signal from the EV device 110 – See at least ¶ [0099])
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Shin further teaches:
wherein the control signal comprises an instruction to perform at least one of reduce the BPT operation to a defined discharge rate, reduce the BPT operation to a discharge rate of zero kiloWatts-hour (0kWh), initiate the BPT operation, or adjust the BPT operation. (The vehicle-to-grid server (hereinafter, referred to as 'V2G') 350 allows verifications of identities of the actors in the VGI system and manages all settings and system configuration related to a forward power transfer from the grid to the EV and a reverse power transfer from the EV to the grid. In addition, considering that a power demand and a power factor may fluctuate by time within the grid, the V2G 350 may perform operations for a demand response (DR), i.e., a peak reduction and may perform a frequency regulation (FR) operation to prevent a serious distortion of the power factor. In terms of the DR and the FR, the V2G 350 may adjust supplies of the electrical energy from various power sources including power generation companies, renewable energy sources, and the EVs 100 moment by moment, and may monitor a power supply to each customer – See at least ¶ [0087]; The change of the target power transfer amount may be carried out to maximize an incentive provided by the V2G 350 in terms of the DR and the FR, or may be done to adjust a target charging level for an economic reason or other reasons, or may be done due to other reasons – See at least ¶ [0093])
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Shin further teaches:
wherein the remotely located system is one of an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, a system operated by a distribution system operator controlling operation of an electrical grid configured to receive energy discharged from a battery located onboard the EV, or a cloud-based system. (provided is a method of changing the target power transfer amount, which allows the EV user to change the target power transfer amount by accessing the EVSE from outside the EV through a network or by directly accessing the EVSE while the charging is in progress or in a standby state, so that the power transfer is accomplished according to an updated target power transfer amount – See at least ¶ [0006])
Regarding claim 8, Shin further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV. (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device. An EV user may designate or change, in the EV 100, a target power transfer amount to be charged or discharged from or to the charging station 200 – See at least ¶ [0081])
Regarding claim 9, Shin further teaches:
wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV. ("Electric Vehicle (EV)": An automobile, as defined in 49 CFR 523.3, intended for highway use, powered by an electric motor that draws current from an on-vehicle energy storage device, such as a battery, which is rechargeable from an off-vehicle source, such as residential or public electric service or an on-vehicle fuel powered generator. The EV may be a four or more wheeled vehicle manufactured for use primarily on public streets or roads – See at least ¶ [0058])
Regarding claim 16, Shin further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV, (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device. An EV user may designate or change, in the EV 100, a target power transfer amount to be charged or discharged from or to the charging station 200 – See at least ¶ [0081]) and the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV. ("Electric Vehicle (EV)": An automobile, as defined in 49 CFR 523.3, intended for highway use, powered by an electric motor that draws current from an on-vehicle energy storage device, such as a battery, which is rechargeable from an off-vehicle source, such as residential or public electric service or an on-vehicle fuel powered generator. The EV may be a four or more wheeled vehicle manufactured for use primarily on public streets or roads – See at least ¶ [0058])
Regarding claim 18, Shin further teaches:
wherein the communication is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), and (The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097]) the remotely located system is one of an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, a system operated by a distribution system operator controlling operation of an electrical grid configured to receive energy discharged from a battery located onboard the EV, or a cloud-based system. (provided is a method of changing the target power transfer amount, which allows the EV user to change the target power transfer amount by accessing the EVSE from outside the EV through a network or by directly accessing the EVSE while the charging is in progress or in a standby state, so that the power transfer is accomplished according to an updated target power transfer amount – See at least ¶ [0006])
Regarding claim 20, Shin further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV, (The EV charging infrastructure shown in the drawing constitutes a vehicle-grid integration (VGI) system that supplies electrical energy from a power grid to the EV 100 so as to enable the EV 100 to charge a battery therein as well as provides the electrical energy stored in the battery of the EV 100 to a building electrically connected to the power grid or a specific device. An EV user may designate or change, in the EV 100, a target power transfer amount to be charged or discharged from or to the charging station 200 – See at least ¶ [0081]) wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV, ("Electric Vehicle (EV)": An automobile, as defined in 49 CFR 523.3, intended for highway use, powered by an electric motor that draws current from an on-vehicle energy storage device, such as a battery, which is rechargeable from an off-vehicle source, such as residential or public electric service or an on-vehicle fuel powered generator. The EV may be a four or more wheeled vehicle manufactured for use primarily on public streets or roads – See at least ¶ [0058]) and the control signal instruction comprises one of reduce the V2G operation to a defined discharge rate, reduce the V2G operation to a discharge rate of zero kiloWatts-hour (0kWh), initiate the V2G operation, or adjust the V2G operation. (The vehicle-to-grid server (hereinafter, referred to as 'V2G') 350 allows verifications of identities of the actors in the VGI system and manages all settings and system configuration related to a forward power transfer from the grid to the EV and a reverse power transfer from the EV to the grid. In addition, considering that a power demand and a power factor may fluctuate by time within the grid, the V2G 350 may perform operations for a demand response (DR), i.e., a peak reduction and may perform a frequency regulation (FR) operation to prevent a serious distortion of the power factor. In terms of the DR and the FR, the V2G 350 may adjust supplies of the electrical energy from various power sources including power generation companies, renewable energy sources, and the EVs 100 moment by moment, and may monitor a power supply to each customer – See at least ¶ [0087]; The change of the target power transfer amount may be carried out to maximize an incentive provided by the V2G 350 in terms of the DR and the FR, or may be done to adjust a target charging level for an economic reason or other reasons, or may be done due to other reasons – See at least ¶ [0093])
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Kempton, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 17, and in further view of ISO 15118-2 (Road Vehicles – Vehicle-to-Grid Communication Interface – Par 2: Network and Application Protocol Requirements, “ISO”)
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the combination of Shin and Kempton does not explicitly teach wherein the hardware is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851, IEC 61851-1, or a specification defining compliance of hardware implemented to connect the EV to the EVSE.
wherein the hardware is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851, IEC 61851-1, or a specification defining compliance of hardware implemented to connect the EV to the EVSE. (Any functional safety related risks occurring through overvoltage and overcurrent (accidental or purposeful) need to be addressed by implementing the related electrical safety standards (e.g. IEC 61851 and ISO 17409) – See at least pg. 20)
In summary, Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the hardware is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851, IEC 61851-1, or a specification defining compliance of hardware implemented to connect the EV to the EVSE. However, Shin discloses using ISO 15118, which teaches implementing the electrical safety standards found in IEC 61851.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin and Kempton to provide for the safety related standards, as taught in ISO, to protect against overvoltage and overcurrent. (At ISO pg. 20)
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the combination of Shin and Kempton does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the control signal is a digital signal. (When transmitting V2G messages defined in this standard by using XML all V2G Entities shall use encoding format according to definitions in W3C EXI 1.0. The Efficient XML Interchange (EXI) format allows to use and process XML-based messages on a binary level, i.e., digital signals – See at least pg. 36-37)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin and Kempton to provide for the safety related standards, as taught in ISO, to achieve very efficient encodings for a broad range of use cases. (At ISO pg. 37)
Regarding claim 19, Shin further teaches:
wherein the control signal is [] signal received at the EV via hardware configured to connect the EV with an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), (The EVSE 210 may include a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) 220, a supply-side power circuit 230, a power line communications (PLC) module 240, and a gateway 280 – See at least ¶ [0096]; The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller(EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN) – See at least ¶ [0097]; The PLC module 240 may modulate a signal transmitted to the EV device 110 through the power line communications and demodulate a signal received from the EV device 110 through the power line communications. Although not shown in the drawing, the EVSE 210 may further include a control pilot transceiver capable of transmitting a control signal to the EV device 110 through a cable connecting the EVSE 210 and the EV device 110 and receiving a control signal from the EV device 110 – See at least ¶ [0099]) and []
Shin does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the control signal is a digital signal received [] (When transmitting V2G messages defined in this standard by using XML all V2G Entities shall use encoding format according to definitions in W3C EXI 1.0. The Efficient XML Interchange (EXI) format allows to use and process XML-based messages on a binary level, i.e., digital signals – See at least pg. 36-37)
the hardware is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61851, IEC 61851-1, or a specification defining compliance of hardware implemented to connect the EV to the EVSE. (Any functional safety related risks occurring through overvoltage and overcurrent (accidental or purposeful) need to be addressed by implementing the related electrical safety standards (e.g. IEC 61851 and ISO 17409) – See at least pg. 20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same of Shin and Kempton to provide for the safety related standards, as taught in ISO, to protect against overvoltage and overcurrent. (At ISO pg. 20)
Conclusion
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662