DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 18/943,588, filed on 11/11/2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statements filed on o3/10/2025, 04/14/2025, and 11/12/2025 have been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 for each is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10-12, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim 1 is directed towards a system, located on an electric vehicle (EV). Claim 10 is directed towards a computer-implemented method. Claim 16 is directed towards a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and comprising machine-executable instructions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
A claim that recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon is directed to a judicial exception. Abstract ideas include the following groupings of subject matter, when recited as such in a claim limitation: (a) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; (b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
In the instant application, independent claim 1 recites:
“…updating a location database onboard the EV to include the location code.”
Independent claims 10 and 16 recite substantially similar limitations.
These claim limitations, when given their broadest reasonable interpretation, may be performed in the human mind. Therefore these limitations are abstract ideas and claims 1, 10, and 16 are directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception renders the claim eligible under §101. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The following examples are indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
the additional element(s) reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
the additional element(s) that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
the additional element(s) implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
the additional element(s) effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
the additional element(s) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Examples in which the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application include:
the additional element(s) merely recites the words ‘‘apply it' ' (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
the additional element(s) adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
the additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
In the instant application, claims 1, 10, and 16 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception. Claims 1 and 10 recite “at least one processor” at a high level. The specification identifies the processor generically as a general processor, i.e., single-processor or multiprocessor computer systems, minicomputers, mainframe computers, IoT devices, distributed computing systems, as well as personal computers, hand-held computing devices, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, and the like, each of which can be operatively coupled to one or more associated devices.– See specification at ¶ [0307]. The processor(s) is merely a computer used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Additionally, claims 1 and 16 recite a “memory” and “non-transitory computer-readable medium, generically, i.e., can include, but are not limited to, random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM), flash memory or other memory technology, compact disk read only memory (CD-ROM), digital versatile disk (DVD), Blu-ray disc (BD) or other optical disk storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, solid state drives or other solid state storage devices, or other tangible and/or non-transitory media which can be used to store desired information. In this regard, the terms “tangible” or “non-transitory” herein as applied to storage, memory or computer-readable media, are to be understood to exclude only propagating transitory signals per se as modifiers and do not relinquish rights to all standard storage, memory or computer-readable media that are not only propagating transitory signals per se – See specification at ¶ [0310]. Finally, claim 16 recites a generic computer program product. These combinations of elements also merely describe a generic computer that is used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. The processor, memory, and computer program product are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that they are a processor, memory, and computer program product) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014). Therefore, claims 1, 10, and 16 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception.
Claim 1 further recites “…transmitting, in a first communication, a request for a location code, wherein the first communication is transmitted to an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, and the location code identifies a location of the EVSE; receiving, in a second communication, the location code, wherein the second communication is received from the EVSE connected to the EV…” These limitations are a form of extra-solution activity, i.e., mere data gathering. Therefore, these elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception.
Claims 10 and 16 recite substantially similar limitations.
Step 2B
Finally, even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception renders the claim eligible under §101. Examples that are not enough to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea include 1) mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, 2) simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, 3) adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and 4) generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use are not enough to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Examples of generic computing functions that are not enough to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea include 1) performing repetitive calculations, 2) receiving, processing, and storing data, 3) electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, 4) electronic recordkeeping, 5) automating mental tasks, and 6) receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data.
In the instant application, claims 1, 10, and 16 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In this particular application, the same analysis above in determining whether the recited additional elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception is applicable to determine if the additional elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Based on the above analysis, claims 1, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 2 recite “wherein the first communication and the second communication are in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2.” Which further defines an abstract idea identified above. However, the claim does not recite any additional elements and, therefore, does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 3 and 11 recite “wherein the location code is a Subdivision code configured in accordance with ISO 3166-2.” Which further defines an abstract idea identified above. However, the claim does not recite any additional elements and, therefore, does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 7 recite “wherein the first communication is a ServiceDetailRequest message.” Which further defines an abstract idea identified above. However, the claim does not recite any additional elements and, therefore, does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 8 recite “wherein the second communication is a ServiceDetailResponse message.” Which further defines an abstract idea identified above. However, the claim does not recite any additional elements and, therefore, does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 12 and 17 recite “wherein the first communication is a ServiceDetailRequest message, and second communication is a ServiceDetailResponse message.” Which further defines an abstract idea identified above. However, the claim does not recite any additional elements and, therefore, does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton (US 2011/0202217 A1, “Kempton”) in view of Uyeki et al. (US 2013/0131974 A1, “Uyeki”)
Regarding claim 1, Kempton discloses electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles and teaches:
A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: (the electric vehicle contains a system, e.g., EVE 102 – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2)
at least one processor; and (EVE 102 contains microcomputer 210, i.e., a processor – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2)
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (EVE 102 contains memory 212 – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2; the memory contains instructions for microcomputer 210 – See at least ¶ [0046])
transmitting, in a first communication, a request for a location code, wherein the first communication is transmitted to an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, (Referring to FIGS. 1-4 generally, VL 103 may receive EVSE attributes by either: (1) VL 103 querying microprocessor 304 for EVSE attributes stored in memory 306 or (2) microprocessor 304 may determine that EVE 102 has been connected to EVSE 104, e.g., based on a pilot signal from EVE and microprocessor 304 may then broadcast EVSE attributes over one of the lines connected to EVE 102. In either case, EVE 102 attributes are transmitted to EVSE via a reciprocal process – See at least ¶ [0077]) and the location code identifies a location of the EVSE; (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information – See at least ¶ [0034])
receiving, in a second communication, the location code, wherein the second communication is received from the EVSE connected to the EV; and (EVSE attributes may be communicated using a signal encoded by microprocessor 304, sent via input/output port 312, through mating contacts 250d and 350d of mating connectors 250/350 and input/output port 216 of VL 103. Alternatively, EVSE attributes may be sent by a powerline carrier signal through, for example, power contacts 250a and 350a – See at least ¶ [0078])
[storing] a location database onboard the EV to include the location code. (The received EVSE attributes are stored in memory 212 of VL 103 – See at least ¶ [0078])
Kempton does not explicitly teach “updating” a location. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches:
updating a location database onboard the EV (System 100, e.g., database 102, maybe located on the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0022]) to include the location code. (In another implementation, the present invention is a navigation system. The navigation system includes a geographical information database configured to store location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, and a vehicle sensor configured to detect a charging status of a vehicle. The navigation system includes a processor in communication with the geographical information database and the vehicle sensor. The processor is configured to, when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, record a location of the vehicle, and use the location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database – See at least ¶ [0009])
In summary, Kempton discloses receiving and storing EVSE attribute information onboard the EV. Kempton further discloses that the EVSE attribute information includes the location of the EVSE. Kempton does not explicitly teach updating the EVSE attribute data, e.g., overwriting pre-existing data. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches updating the location of a charging station based on the location data of the vehicle, while the vehicle is charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for method and system for improved vehicle navigation, as taught in Uyeki, to refine station locations using robust positional data collected from a number of sources. (At Uyeki ¶ [0019])
Regarding claim 4, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the second communication further comprises one or more grid code parameters defined for the location of the EVSE as defined in the location code, wherein the operations further comprising: (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information. EVSE attributes generally refer to information related to EVSE 104 that is transmitted to EVE 102 of the grid-integrated vehicle. This may include: (1) characteristics of EVSE's physical capabilities; (2) legal and administrative allowances; (3) legal and administrative restrictions; (4) a unique EVSE ID; (5) allowed billing and other commercial relationships (which EVSE and grid-integrated vehicle participate in); (6) grid services that may be authorized (allowed) at this particular EVSE 104 location, and or others – See at least ¶ [0034])
[storing] the location database with the one or more grid code parameters; and (EVSE attributes may be communicated using a signal encoded by microprocessor 304, sent via input/output port 312, through mating contacts 250d and 350d of mating connectors 250/350 and input/output port 216 of VL 103. Alternatively, EVSE attributes may be sent by a powerline carrier signal through, for example, power contacts 250a and 350a. The received EVSE attributes, i.e., location, are stored in memory 212 of VL 103 – See at least ¶ [0078])
facilitating a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation between the EV and the EVSE, wherein the BPT is performed in conjunction with the one or more grid code parameters pertaining to the location code. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150])
Kempton does not explicitly teach “updating” a location. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches:
updating a location database onboard the EV (System 100, e.g., database 102, maybe located on the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0022]) to include the location code. (In another implementation, the present invention is a navigation system. The navigation system includes a geographical information database configured to store location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, and a vehicle sensor configured to detect a charging status of a vehicle. The navigation system includes a processor in communication with the geographical information database and the vehicle sensor. The processor is configured to, when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, record a location of the vehicle, and use the location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database – See at least ¶ [0009])
In summary, Kempton discloses receiving and storing EVSE attribute information onboard the EV. Kempton further discloses that the EVSE attribute information includes the location of the EVSE. Kempton does not explicitly teach updating the EVSE attribute data, e.g., overwriting pre-existing data. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches updating the location of a charging station based on the location data of the vehicle, while the vehicle is charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for method and system for improved vehicle navigation, as taught in Uyeki, to refine station locations using robust positional data collected from a number of sources. (At Uyeki ¶ [0019])
Regarding claims 5, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) discharge operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid attached to the EVSE. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150])
Regarding claim 9, Kempton further teaches:
the operations further comprising:
identifying a grid code defined for the first location code; and (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information. EVSE attributes generally refer to information related to EVSE 104 that is transmitted to EVE 102 of the grid-integrated vehicle. This may include: (1) characteristics of EVSE's physical capabilities; (2) legal and administrative allowances; (3) legal and administrative restrictions; (4) a unique EVSE ID; (5) allowed billing and other commercial relationships (which EVSE and grid-integrated vehicle participate in); (6) grid services that may be authorized (allowed) at this particular EVSE 104 location, and or others)
implementing a vehicle to grid (V2G) discharge operation in accordance with the grid code, wherein the V2G discharge operation is configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid attached to the EVSE. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150])
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, and 13-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Uyeki, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Shin (US 2023/0311700 A1, “Shin”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kempton and Uyeki does not explicitly teach wherein the first communication and the second communication are in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2. However, Shin discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches:
wherein the first communication and the second communication are in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2. (The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller (EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN). The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Uyeki to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting changing apparatus, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user may quickly change the target charging level for economic or other reasons. (At Shin ¶ [0029])
Regarding claims 6, and 15, the combination of Kempton and Uyeki does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV. ("Electric Vehicle (EV)": An automobile, as defined in 49 CFR 523.3, intended for highway use, powered by an electric motor that draws current from an on-vehicle energy storage device, such as a battery, which is rechargeable from an off-vehicle source, such as residential or public electric service or an on-vehicle fuel powered generator – See at least ¶ [0058])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Uyeki to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting changing apparatus, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user may quickly change the target charging level for economic or other reasons. (At Shin ¶ [0029])
Regarding claim 10, Kempton discloses electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles and teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising: (EVE 102 contains microcomputer 210, i.e., a computer – See at least ¶ [0042] and Fig. 2)
transmitting, by a device located on an electric vehicle (EV) and comprising at least one processor, a first communication, wherein the first communication includes a request for a location code and is transmitted to an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, (Referring to FIGS. 1-4 generally, VL 103 may receive EVSE attributes by either: (1) VL 103 querying microprocessor 304 for EVSE attributes stored in memory 306 or (2) microprocessor 304 may determine that EVE 102 has been connected to EVSE 104, e.g., based on a pilot signal from EVE and microprocessor 304 may then broadcast EVSE attributes over one of the lines connected to EVE 102. In either case, EVE 102 attributes are transmitted to EVSE via a reciprocal process – See at least ¶ [0077]; EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information – See at least ¶ [0034]) [];
receiving, by the device, a second communication, wherein the second communication includes the location code, wherein the second communication is received from the EVSE connected to the EV, (EVSE attributes may be communicated using a signal encoded by microprocessor 304, sent via input/output port 312, through mating contacts 250d and 350d of mating connectors 250/350 and input/output port 216 of VL 103. Alternatively, EVSE attributes may be sent by a powerline carrier signal through, for example, power contacts 250a and 350a – See at least ¶ [0078]) [] and
Kempton does not explicitly disclose using the international organization of standardization (ISO) 15118-2. However, Shin discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches:
wherein the first communication is configured in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, and the location code identifies a location of the EVSE (The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller (EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN). The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
and the second communication is configured in compliance with ISO 15118-2 (The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller (EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN). The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting changing apparatus, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user may quickly change the target charging level for economic or other reasons. (At Shin ¶ [0029])
The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach “updating” a location. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches:
updating a location database onboard the EV (System 100, e.g., database 102, maybe located on the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0022]) to include the location code. (In another implementation, the present invention is a navigation system. The navigation system includes a geographical information database configured to store location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, and a vehicle sensor configured to detect a charging status of a vehicle. The navigation system includes a processor in communication with the geographical information database and the vehicle sensor. The processor is configured to, when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, record a location of the vehicle, and use the location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database – See at least ¶ [0009])
In summary, Kempton discloses receiving and storing EVSE attribute information onboard the EV. Kempton further discloses that the EVSE attribute information includes the location of the EVSE. Kempton does not explicitly teach updating the EVSE attribute data, e.g., overwriting pre-existing data. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches updating the location of a charging station based on the location data of the vehicle, while the vehicle is charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Shin to provide for method and system for improved vehicle navigation, as taught in Uyeki, to refine station locations using robust positional data collected from a number of sources. (At Uyeki ¶ [0019])
Regarding claim 13, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the second communication further comprises one or more grid code parameters defined for the location of the EVSE as defined in the location code, the method further comprising: (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information. EVSE attributes generally refer to information related to EVSE 104 that is transmitted to EVE 102 of the grid-integrated vehicle. This may include: (1) characteristics of EVSE's physical capabilities; (2) legal and administrative allowances; (3) legal and administrative restrictions; (4) a unique EVSE ID; (5) allowed billing and other commercial relationships (which EVSE and grid-integrated vehicle participate in); (6) grid services that may be authorized (allowed) at this particular EVSE 104 location, and or others – See at least ¶ [0034])
[storing] the location database with the one or more grid code parameters; (EVSE attributes may be communicated using a signal encoded by microprocessor 304, sent via input/output port 312, through mating contacts 250d and 350d of mating connectors 250/350 and input/output port 216 of VL 103. Alter natively, EVSE attributes may be sent by a powerline carrier signal through, for example, power contacts 250a and 350a. The received EVSE attributes, i.e., location, are stored in memory 212 of VL 103 – See at least ¶ [0078]) and
facilitating a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation between the EV and the EVSE, wherein the BPT is performed in conjunction with the one or more grid code parameters pertaining to the location code. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150])
The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach “updating” a location. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches:
updating a location database onboard the EV (System 100, e.g., database 102, maybe located on the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0022]) to include the location code. (In another implementation, the present invention is a navigation system. The navigation system includes a geographical information database configured to store location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, and a vehicle sensor configured to detect a charging status of a vehicle. The navigation system includes a processor in communication with the geographical information database and the vehicle sensor. The processor is configured to, when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, record a location of the vehicle, and use the location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database – See at least ¶ [0009])
In summary, Kempton discloses receiving and storing EVSE attribute information onboard the EV. Kempton further discloses that the EVSE attribute information includes the location of the EVSE. Kempton does not explicitly teach updating the EVSE attribute data, e.g., overwriting pre-existing data. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches updating the location of a charging station based on the location data of the vehicle, while the vehicle is charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Shin to provide for method and system for improved vehicle navigation, as taught in Uyeki, to refine station locations using robust positional data collected from a number of sources. (At Uyeki ¶ [0019])
Regarding claim 14, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) discharge operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid attached to the EVSE. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150])
Claims 3, 11, 12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Uyeki and Shin, and in further view of ISO (Road vehicles — Vehicle-to-Grid Communication Interface —, “ISO”).
Regarding claims 3, and 11, the combination of Kempton, Uyeki, and Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the location code is a Subdivision code configured in accordance with ISO 3166-2. However, ISO discloses international standards and teaches:
wherein the location code is a Subdivision code configured in accordance with ISO 3166-2. (Any ID that uniquely identifies the EVSE and the power outlet the vehicle is connected to. The format of this message element is defined in Annex H. If an SECC cannot provide such ID data, the value of the EVSEID is set to zero ("ZZ00000") – See at least pg. 66; As shown in Fig. 24 the EVSEID is a subdivision code, e.g., subdivision of SessionSetupResType.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Uyeki, and Shin to provide for the standardizations, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kempton, Uyeki, and Shin does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the first communication is a ServiceDetailRequest message, (8.4.3.4 ServiceDetailReq/Res 8.4.3.4.1 ServiceDetailReq By sending the ServiceDetailReq message the EVCC requests the SECC to send specific additional information about services offered by the EVSE – See at least pg. 75) and second communication is a ServiceDetailResponse message. (8.4.3.4.2 ServiceDetailRes After receiving the ServiceDetailReq message of an EVCC the SECC sends the ServiceDetailRes message and provides details about services. [V2G2-199] Depending on the selected Message Set(s) as defined in subclause 8.6.2, the EVCC and the SECC shall implement the mandatory messages and message elements as defined in Table 104 and according to Figure 28.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Uyeki, and Shin to provide for the standardizations, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
Regarding claim 16, Kempton discloses electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles and teaches:
A computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and comprising machine-executable instructions, wherein, in response to being executed, the machine-executable instructions cause a system located on an electric vehicle (EV) to perform operations, comprising: (Microcomputer 210 is configured and programmed to provide the following functionality: (1) two-way communication with EVSE 104; (2) processing EVSE attributes received from EVSE 104; (3) executing instruction stored in memory 212: (a) to predicatively model the usage of EVE 102 and track interactions with the driver of grid-integrated vehicle; (b) to evaluate grid, battery and vehicle conditions, and (c) to determine whether and when to command EVE 102 to absorb or provide real power or reactive power – See at least ¶ [0046])
transmitting a first communication, wherein the first communication includes a request for a location code and is transmitted to an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) connected to the EV, (Referring to FIGS. 1-4 generally, VL 103 may receive EVSE attributes by either: (1) VL 103 querying microprocessor 304 for EVSE attributes stored in memory 306 or (2) microprocessor 304 may determine that EVE 102 has been connected to EVSE 104, e.g., based on a pilot signal from EVE and microprocessor 304 may then broadcast EVSE attributes over one of the lines connected to EVE 102. In either case, EVE 102 attributes are transmitted to EVSE via a reciprocal process – See at least ¶ [0077]; (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information – See at least ¶ [0034]) [];
receiving a second communication, [], wherein the second communication is received from the EVSE connected to the EV, ((EVSE attributes may be communicated using a signal encoded by microprocessor 304, sent via input/output port 312, through mating contacts 250d and 350d of mating connectors 250/350 and input/output port 216 of VL 103. Alternatively, EVSE attributes may be sent by a powerline carrier signal through, for example, power contacts 250a and 350a – See at least ¶ [0078]) []; and
The combination of Kempton does not explicitly disclose using the international organization of standardization (ISO) 15118-2. However, Shin discloses target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting apparatus for implementing the same and teaches:
wherein the first communication is configured in compliance with International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, and the location code identifies a location of the EVSE (The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller (EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN). The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
and the second communication is configured in compliance with ISO 15118-2 (The SECC 220, which is a high-level controller, may communicate with an EV communication controller (EVCC) 120 in the EV device 110 through power line communications (PLC) or a wireless LAN (WLAN). The SECC 220 and the EVCC 120 may communicate with each other in an application layer, i.e., in an OSI layer 3 and higher layers according to an ISO 15118-20 standard, for example – See at least ¶ [0097])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting changing apparatus, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user may quickly change the target charging level for economic or other reasons. (At Shin ¶ [0029])
The combination of Kempton and Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the location code is a Subdivision code configured in accordance with ISO 3166-2. However, ISO discloses international standards and teaches:
wherein the second communication includes the location code, wherein the location code is a Subdivision code configured in accordance with ISO 3166-2 (Any ID that uniquely identifies the EVSE and the power outlet the vehicle is connected to. The format of this message element is defined in Annex H. If an SECC cannot provide such ID data, the value of the EVSEID is set to zero ("ZZ00000") – See at least pg. 66; As shown in Fig. 24 the EVSEID is a subdivision code, e.g., subdivision of SessionSetupResType.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Shin to provide for the standardizations, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
The combination of Kempton, Shin, and ISO does not explicitly teach “updating” a location. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches:
updating a location database onboard the EV (System 100, e.g., database 102, maybe located on the vehicle – See at least ¶ [0022]) to include the location code. (In another implementation, the present invention is a navigation system. The navigation system includes a geographical information database configured to store location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, and a vehicle sensor configured to detect a charging status of a vehicle. The navigation system includes a processor in communication with the geographical information database and the vehicle sensor. The processor is configured to, when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, record a location of the vehicle, and use the location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database – See at least ¶ [0009])
In summary, Kempton discloses receiving and storing EVSE attribute information onboard the EV. Kempton further discloses that the EVSE attribute information includes the location of the EVSE. Kempton does not explicitly teach updating the EVSE attribute data, e.g., overwriting pre-existing data. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches updating the location of a charging station based on the location data of the vehicle, while the vehicle is charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Shin, and ISO to provide for method and system for improved vehicle navigation, as taught in Uyeki, to refine station locations using robust positional data collected from a number of sources. (At Uyeki ¶ [0019])
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Kempton, Uyeki, and Shin does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the first communication is a ServiceDetailRequest message, (8.4.3.4 ServiceDetailReq/Res 8.4.3.4.1 ServiceDetailReq By sending the ServiceDetailReq message the EVCC requests the SECC to send specific additional information about services offered by the EVSE – See at least pg. 75) and second communication is a ServiceDetailResponse message. (8.4.3.4.2 ServiceDetailRes After receiving the ServiceDetailReq message of an EVCC the SECC sends the ServiceDetailRes message and provides details about services. [V2G2-199] Depending on the selected Message Set(s) as defined in subclause 8.6.2, the EVCC and the SECC shall implement the mandatory messages and message elements as defined in Table 104 and according to Figure 28.)
Regarding claim 18, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the second communication further comprises one or more grid code parameters defined for the location of the EVSE, the operations further comprising: (EVSE attributes are information relating to EVSE such as its status, location, and other information. EVSE attributes generally refer to information related to EVSE 104 that is transmitted to EVE 102 of the grid-integrated vehicle. This may include: (1) characteristics of EVSE's physical capabilities; (2) legal and administrative allowances; (3) legal and administrative restrictions; (4) a unique EVSE ID; (5) allowed billing and other commercial relationships (which EVSE and grid-integrated vehicle participate in); (6) grid services that may be authorized (allowed) at this particular EVSE 104 location, and or others – See at least ¶ [0034])
[storing] the location database with the one or more grid code parameters; and (EVSE attributes may be communicated using a signal encoded by microprocessor 304, sent via input/output port 312, through mating contacts 250d and 350d of mating connectors 250/350 and input/output port 216 of VL 103. Alternatively, EVSE attributes may be sent by a powerline carrier signal through, for example, power contacts 250a and 350a. The received EVSE attributes, i.e., location, are stored in memory 212 of VL 103 – See at least ¶ [0078])
facilitating a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation between the EV and the EVSE, wherein the BPT is performed in conjunction with the one or more grid code parameters pertaining to the location code. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150]))
updating the location database with the one or more grid code parameters; and (In another implementation, the present invention is a navigation system. The navigation system includes a geographical information database configured to store location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, and a vehicle sensor configured to detect a charging status of a vehicle. The navigation system includes a processor in communication with the geographical information database and the vehicle sensor. The processor is configured to, when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, record a location of the vehicle, and use the location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database – See at least ¶ [0009])
In summary, Kempton discloses receiving and storing EVSE attribute information onboard the EV. Kempton further discloses that the EVSE attribute information includes the location of the EVSE. Kempton does not explicitly teach updating the EVSE attribute data, e.g., overwriting pre-existing data. However, Uyeki discloses method and system for improved vehicle navigation and teaches updating the location of a charging station based on the location data of the vehicle, while the vehicle is charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Shin, and ISO to provide for method and system for improved vehicle navigation, as taught in Uyeki, to refine station locations using robust positional data collected from a number of sources. (At Uyeki ¶ [0019])
Regarding claim 19, Kempton further teaches:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) discharge operation configured to discharge electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid attached to the EVSE. (At step 810, EVE 102 provides power to EVSE 104. In an exemplary embodiment, VL 103 instructs PEM 204 to deliver power to EVSE 104, e.g., for powering house in the event of power failure, for example – See at least ¶ [0150])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kempton, Uyeki, and ISO does not explicitly teach, but Shin further teaches:
wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV. ("Electric Vehicle (EV)": An automobile, as defined in 49 CFR 523.3, intended for highway use, powered by an electric motor that draws current from an on-vehicle energy storage device, such as a battery, which is rechargeable from an off-vehicle source, such as residential or public electric service or an on-vehicle fuel powered generator – See at least ¶ [0058])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton, Uyeki, and ISO to provide for the target power transmission amount changing method and power transmitting changing apparatus, as taught in Shin, to allow the EV user may quickly change the target charging level for economic or other reasons. (At Shin ¶ [0029])
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kempton in view of Uyeki and in further view of ISO.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kempton and Uyeki does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the first communication is a ServiceDetailRequest message. (8.4.3.4 ServiceDetailReq/Res 8.4.3.4.1 ServiceDetailReq By sending the ServiceDetailReq message the EVCC requests the SECC to send specific additional information about services offered by the EVSE – See at least pg. 75)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Uyeki to provide for the standardizations, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kempton and Uyeki does not explicitly teach, but ISO further teaches:
wherein the second communication is a ServiceDetailResponse message. (8.4.3.4.2 ServiceDetailRes After receiving the ServiceDetailReq message of an EVCC the SECC sends the ServiceDetailRes message and provides details about services. [V2G2-199] Depending on the selected Message Set(s) as defined in subclause 8.6.2, the EVCC and the SECC shall implement the mandatory messages and message elements as defined in Table 104 and according to Figure 28.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electric vehicle equipment for grid-integrated vehicles of Kempton and Uyeki to provide for the standardizations, as taught in ISO, for the optimization of energy resources and energy production systems so that vehicles can recharge in the most economical or most energy efficient way. (At ISO pg. 6)
Conclusion
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662