Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsumoto et al. (USPN 2012/0013839).
With regard to claim 1,
Katsumoto et al. disclose a display panel, comprising: a first substrate (161) and a second substrate (191), disposed to overlap along a stacking direction; a liquid crystal layer (116), disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate; a plurality of data lines (SL), disposed on the first substrate; a plurality of scan lines (GL), disposed on the first substrate and intersecting the plurality of data lines; a plurality of pixel structures (Pij), disposed on the first substrate, wherein each of plurality of pixel structures has an active device (131) and a pixel electrode (151), the active device is electrically connected to the pixel electrode (via 134), one of the plurality of data lines (via 133), and one of the plurality of scan lines (via 132); a first common electrode layer (142), disposed on the first substrate and overlapping the plurality of pixel structures; a plurality of bridge patterns (144), disposed on the first substrate and being electrically connected to the first common electrode layer; a plurality of first spacers (194), disposed on the second substrate and respectively abutting the plurality of bridge patterns along the stacking direction; and a second common electrode layer (152), disposed on the second substrate and covering the first spacers to be electrically connected to the plurality of bridge patterns (see fig. 6).
With regard to claim 2,
Katsumoto et al. disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first common electrode (142) layer has a plurality of openings therebetween), and the plurality of openings respectively overlap the plurality of pixel electrodes (151) of the plurality of pixel structures along the stacking direction (see fig. 5).
With regard to claim 3,
Katsumoto et al. disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of bridge patterns (144) and the plurality of pixel electrodes (151) of the plurality of pixel structures are of a same film layer (see fig. 6).
With regard to claim 4,
Katsumoto et al. disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first common electrode layer (144) overlaps the plurality of pixel electrodes (151) of the plurality of pixel structures (see fig. 5).
With regard to claim 5,
Katsumoto et al. disclose the display panel according to claim 4, wherein each of the plurality of pixel structures further has a first transfer pattern (134) disposed between the pixel electrode (151) and the active device (131), the pixel electrode is electrically connected to the active device through the first transfer pattern, a second transfer pattern (143) is disposed between each of the plurality of bridge patterns (144) and the first common electrode layer (142), each of the plurality of bridge patterns is electrically connected to the first common electrode layer through the second transfer pattern, and the first transfer pattern and the second transfer pattern are of a same film layer (see fig. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose nor render obvious, in combination with the other limitations of the claims, a capacitor electrode as claimed, reflective layer with opening as claimed or spacer as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2016/0357286, 2022/0107523, 2019/0064403.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875