Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arikan (US 10,404,291).
Regarding claim 1, Arikan teaches an encoding method (Arikan, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, & Fig. 3), comprising:
obtaining an information bit sequence (Arikan, Fig. 1, input data 110, Fig. 2, data d 201, Fig. 3, data d 301);
encoding the information bit sequence based on a systematic polar code, to determine an encoded bit sequence with the information bit sequence, wherein the systematic polar code comprises a polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, col. 3, lines 60-67, "A systematic polar encoder with data checks includes a data mapper receiving an input data d containing information to be polar coded for transmission and generating a modified data d', together with a nonsystematic polar encoder implementing a transform matrix G that encodes the modified data d' to produce the codeword x such that, for some sub-sequence of coordinates S, xS=d"), N first bit positions and N second bit positions, the N first bit positions and the N second bit positions correspond to the polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, Fig. 6, col. 5, lines 33-35, "FIG. 6 illustrates a polar transform matrix G by which a transform input word u is multiplied to render a transform output z, i.e., z=uG;"; col. 11, lines 66-67, "The polar transform G 430 takes as input the transform input u 406 and produces a transform output z 407"; col. 11, lines 9-17, "The transform input assembler 420 receives the data d 401, the fixed word b 403, the check word c 404, and the inverse puncture word t 405, and produces the transform input u 406. The multiplexing operation by the transform input assembler 420 is characterized by an input partition (F, C, I, T), which is a partition of the index set {0, 1, ... , N-1} of the input vectors of the polar transform G 430. The transform input assembler 420 assembles the transform input u 406 in accordance with the partition (F, C, I, T) so that uF=b, uC=c, uI=d, and UT=t"; the transform input u and the transform output z both have N bit positions), the N second bit positions comprise a systematic bit position set A and a non-systematic bit position set MA (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20, "Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG that includes a punctured part ZP satisfying ZP=p for a puncture word p that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part zJ carrying the data d, zJ=d, and a part zR serving as redundant symbols, wherein the codeword x is related to the transform output by x=zQ where Q=(J, R) is the complement of the punctured part P. The transform matrix G, the input partition (F, C, I, T) and the output partition (P, J, R) are selected such that GI,P=0, GC,P=0, GF,P=0, and GT,P is invertible and preferably selected such that the check generator function f is an affine function, GI,J is invertible, GC,J=0 and GF,J=0"; teaches the transform output being partitioned into data [systematic positions] and punctured positions [non-systematic positions]), the N first bit positions comprise a frozen bit position set B with a frozen bit position subset C and a non-frozen bit position set MB with a non-frozen bit position subset D (Arikan, col. 4, lines 1-8, “a transform input u that includes a part uF satisfying uF=b for a fixed word b that is independent of the data word d, a part uT=t for an inverse puncture word t that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part uI carrying the modified data, uI=d', and a part uC carrying a check word derived from the modified data, uC=f(d'), by a check generator function f, the part uC being strictly non-null”; transform input u contains fixed word b, which equates to frozen bits, and parts uI and uC, which equates to non-frozen bits), a frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and a non-frozen bit position in the nonfrozen bit position subset D are mapped to each other (Arikan, Fig. 3, data mapper 310; col. 10, lines 36-37, “The data mapper 310 is a mapper that maps the data d 301 to a modified data d' 303”), the frozen bit position subset C is determined based on a bit position index intersection set of the frozen bit position set B and the systematic bit position set A (Arikan, col. 6 through col. 8 teaches index set selection and the partitioning of matrices), the non-frozen bit position subset D is determined based on a bit position index intersection set of the non-frozen bit position set MB and the non-systematic bit position set MA (Arikan, col. 4, lines 1-9, “a transform input u that includes a part uF satisfying uF=b for a fixed word b that is independent of the data word d, a part uT=t for an inverse puncture word t that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part uI carrying the modified data, uI=d', and a part uC carrying a check word derived from the modified data, uC=f(d'), by a check generator function f, the part uC being strictly non-null. Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG”; teaches a corresponding output of the input, which includes the non-frozen bits [i.e., the modified data and check word]); and
outputting the encoded bit sequence (Arikan, Fig. 2, codeword x 202; Fig. 3, codeword x 302; Fig 4, codeword x 402; Fig. 5, codeword x 502; col. 24, lines 16-17, “an output in the transmission system for transmission of the codeword x”).
Arikan fails to explicitly teach the systematic bit position set A is determined based on the information bit sequence, however the reference teaches placing data within systematic positions based on index-set selection and matrix conditions, and that the systematic positions are determined based on their relativity to the data being encoded.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arikan to determine the systematic bit position set A based on the information bit sequence, since this determination would represent predictable and routine implementation within the systematic polar encoding structure Arikan teaches.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to ensure correct placement of the information bits in systematic output positions.
Regarding claim 2, Arikan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the systematic bit position set A comprises last K second bit positions in the N second bit positions; and/or the frozen bit position set B comprises N-K first bit positions selected from the N first bit positions based on channel reliability or codeword weights, wherein K is greater than or equal to 1 and less than N. The reference does not explicitly teach the limitation; however, it teaches selecting systematic bit positions from the output positions of the polar transform matric based on partitioning and matrix constraints. Selecting the last position would be a predictable and routine choice when selecting from a set of positions.
Regarding claim 3, Arikan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the encoding the information bit sequence based on the systematic polar code, to determine the encoded bit sequence comprises:
determining a first intermediate encoded bit sequence based on the information bit sequence and a first polarization transformation submatrix, wherein the first polarization transformation submatrix is a polarization transformation submatrix that corresponds to the systematic bit position set A and that is in the polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20, "Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG that includes a punctured part ZP satisfying ZP=p for a puncture word p that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part zJ carrying the data d, zJ=d, and a part zR serving as redundant symbols, wherein the codeword x is related to the transform output by x=zQ where Q=(J, R) is the complement of the punctured part P. The transform matrix G, the input partition (F, C, I, T) and the output partition (P, J, R) are selected such that GI,P=0, GC,P=0, GF,P=0, and GT,P is invertible and preferably selected such that the check generator function f is an affine function, GI,J is invertible, GC,J=0 and GF,J=0"; teaches selecting rows & columns to ensure that the submatrix is invertible, which would inherently require the determination of an intermediate sequence);
determining a second intermediate encoded bit sequence based on the first intermediate encoded bit sequence, a mutual mapping relationship between the frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and the non-frozen bit position in the non-frozen bit position subset D, and a bit position index intersection set of the frozen bit position set B and the non-systematic bit position set MA, wherein a length of the second intermediate encoded bit sequence is equal to a quantity of second bit positions comprised in the non-systematic bit position set MA (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20 teaches an input and output partitions, as well as relationships between index sets, which teaches a mapping relationship between bit positions); and
determining the encoded bit sequence based on the second intermediate encoded bit sequence, a second polarization transformation submatrix, and the information bit sequence, wherein the second polarization transformation submatrix is a polarization transformation submatrix that corresponds to the non-systematic bit position set MA and that is in the polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20 teaches an output codeword that is determined based on transform inputs and transform outputs).
Regarding claim 7, Arikan teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein that the frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and the non-frozen bit position in the non-frozen bit position subset D are mapped to each other comprises: the frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and the non-frozen bit position in the non-frozen bit position subset D are mapped to each other based on a mapping matrix, wherein the mapping matrix is an NC-dimensional full-rank matrix or an NC-dimensional identity matrix, and NC is equal to a quantity of frozen bit positions in the frozen bit position subset C. The reference does not explicitly teach the limitation; however, it teaches systematic polar encoding using invertible submatrices of a polar transform matrix. Invertible matrices are inherently full-rank matrices.
Regarding claim 8, Arikan teaches a decoding method (Arikan, Fig. 1), comprising:
obtaining a to-be-decoded symbol sequence (Arikan, Fig. 1 teaches data being transmitted via a transmission medium to a reception system 40);
decoding the to-be-decoded symbol sequence based on a systematic polar code, to determine an information bit sequence (Arikan, col. 9, lines 13-28, “The reception system 40 generally receives signals from the transmission medium 30 and demodulates and decodes them to extract the output data 195. With more specificity, a receiver 160 of the reception system 40 receives signals from the transmission system 20 and passes the signals to a demodulator 170, which demodulates the received signals. The demodulated signals are then sent to a channel decoder 180, which produces a decoded data as an estimate of the transmitted data, and then the decoded data is sent to a source decoder 190 to decompress (and optionally verify) the data. It will readily be appreciated that the demodulator 170, channel decoder 180, and source decoder 190 perform the inverse of the operations performed by the modulator 140, channel encoder 130, and source encoder 120”), wherein the systematic polar code comprises a polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, col. 3, lines 60-67, "A systematic polar encoder with data checks includes a data mapper receiving an input data d containing information to be polar coded for transmission and generating a modified data d', together with a nonsystematic polar encoder implementing a transform matrix G that encodes the modified data d' to produce the codeword x such that, for some sub-sequence of coordinates S, xS=d"), N first bit positions and N second bit positions, the N first bit positions and the N second bit positions correspond to the polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, Fig. 6, col. 5, lines 33-35, "FIG. 6 illustrates a polar transform matrix G by which a transform input word u is multiplied to render a transform output z, i.e., z=uG;"; col. 11, lines 66-67, "The polar transform G 430 takes as input the transform input u 406 and produces a transform output z 407"; col. 11, lines 9-17, "The transform input assembler 420 receives the data d 401, the fixed word b 403, the check word c 404, and the inverse puncture word t 405, and produces the transform input u 406. The multiplexing operation by the transform input assembler 420 is characterized by an input partition (F, C, I, T), which is a partition of the index set {0, 1, ... , N-1} of the input vectors of the polar transform G 430. The transform input assembler 420 assembles the transform input u 406 in accordance with the partition (F, C, I, T) so that uF=b, uC=c, uI=d, and UT=t"; the transform input u and the transform output z both have N bit positions), the N second bit positions comprise a systematic bit position set A and a non-systematic bit position set MA (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20, "Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG that includes a punctured part ZP satisfying ZP=p for a puncture word p that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part zJ carrying the data d, zJ=d, and a part zR serving as redundant symbols, wherein the codeword x is related to the transform output by x=zQ where Q=(J, R) is the complement of the punctured part P. The transform matrix G, the input partition (F, C, I, T) and the output partition (P, J, R) are selected such that GI,P=0, GC,P=0, GF,P=0, and GT,P is invertible and preferably selected such that the check generator function f is an affine function, GI,J is invertible, GC,J=0 and GF,J=0"; teaches the transform output being partitioned into data [systematic positions] and punctured positions [non-systematic positions]), the N first bit positions comprise a frozen bit position set B with a frozen bit position subset C and a non-frozen bit position set MB with a non-frozen bit position subset D (Arikan, col. 4, lines 1-8, “a transform input u that includes a part uF satisfying uF=b for a fixed word b that is independent of the data word d, a part uT=t for an inverse puncture word t that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part uI carrying the modified data, uI=d', and a part uC carrying a check word derived from the modified data, uC=f(d'), by a check generator function f, the part uC being strictly non-null”; transform input u contains fixed word b, which equates to frozen bits, and parts uI and uC, which equates to non-frozen bits), a frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and a non-frozen bit position in the nonfrozen bit position subset D are mapped to each other (Arikan, Fig. 3, data mapper 310; col. 10, lines 36-37, “The data mapper 310 is a mapper that maps the data d 301 to a modified data d' 303”), the frozen bit position subset C is determined based on a bit position index intersection set of the frozen bit position set B and the systematic bit position set A (Arikan, col. 6 through col. 8 teaches index set selection and the partitioning of matrices), and the non-frozen bit position subset D is determined based on a bit position index intersection set of the non-frozen bit position set MB and the non-systematic bit position set MA (Arikan, col. 4, lines 1-9, “a transform input u that includes a part uF satisfying uF=b for a fixed word b that is independent of the data word d, a part uT=t for an inverse puncture word t that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part uI carrying the modified data, uI=d', and a part uC carrying a check word derived from the modified data, uC=f(d'), by a check generator function f, the part uC being strictly non-null. Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG”; teaches a corresponding output of the input, which includes the non-frozen bits [i.e., the modified data and check word]).
Arikan fails to explicitly teach the systematic bit position set A is determined based on the information bit sequence, however the reference teaches placing data within systematic positions based on index-set selection and matrix conditions, and that the systematic positions are determined based on their relativity to the data being decoded.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arikan to determine the systematic bit position set A based on the information bit sequence, since this determination would represent predictable and routine implementation within the systematic polar decoding structure Arikan teaches.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to ensure correct placement of the information bits in systematic output positions.
Claim 9 is a decoding method with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 2, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, Arikan teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the decoding the to-be-decoded symbol sequence based on the systematic polar code, to determine the information bit sequence comprises:
determining a first intermediate decoded bit sequence based on the to-be-decoded symbol sequence, the polarization transformation matrix, a mutual mapping relationship between the frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and the non-frozen bit position in the nonfrozen bit position subset D, and a bit position index intersection set of the frozen bit position set B and the non-systematic bit position set MA (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20, "Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG that includes a punctured part ZP satisfying ZP=p for a puncture word p that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part zJ carrying the data d, zJ=d, and a part zR serving as redundant symbols, wherein the codeword x is related to the transform output by x=zQ where Q=(J, R) is the complement of the punctured part P. The transform matrix G, the input partition (F, C, I, T) and the output partition (P, J, R) are selected such that GI,P=0, GC,P=0, GF,P=0, and GT,P is invertible and preferably selected such that the check generator function f is an affine function, GI,J is invertible, GC,J=0 and GF,J=0"; teaches selecting rows & columns to ensure that the submatrix is invertible, which would inherently require the determination of an intermediate sequence, as well as teaching an input and output partitions, as well as relationships between index sets, which teaches a mapping relationship between bit positions); and
determining the information bit sequence based on the first intermediate decoded bit sequence and the polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20 teaches an output codeword that is determined based on transform inputs and transform outputs).
Claim 13 is a decoding method with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 7, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 1, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 2, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 3, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the decoding method of claim 8, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arikan, in view of Prinz et al. (WO 2018/192640), hereinafter Prinz.
Regarding claim 4, Arikan teaches the method according to claim 1, and
the encoding the information bit sequence based on a systematic polar code, to determine an encoded bit sequence comprises:
determining the first intermediate encoded bit sequence based on the information bit sequence and the first polarization transformation submatrix, wherein the first polarization transformation submatrix is the polarization transformation submatrix that corresponds to the systematic bit position set A and that is in the polarization transformation matrix;
determining a third intermediate encoded bit sequence based on the first intermediate encoded bit sequence,
T
C
, and
T
B
;
determining a fourth intermediate encoded bit sequence based on the third intermediate encoded bit sequence, the mutual mapping relationship between the frozen bit position in the frozen bit position subset C and the non-frozen bit position in the non-frozen bit position subset D, and the bit position index intersection set of the frozen bit position set B and the non-systematic bit position set MA;
determining the second intermediate encoded bit sequence based on the fourth intermediate encoded bit sequence and
T
A
; and
determining the encoded bit sequence based on the second intermediate encoded bit sequence, the second polarization transformation submatrix, and the information bit sequence, wherein the second polarization transformation submatrix is the polarization transformation submatrix that corresponds to MA and that is in the polarization transformation matrix (Arikan, col. 4, lines 9-20, "Corresponding to the transform input u is a transform output z given by z=uG that includes a punctured part ZP satisfying ZP=p for a puncture word p that is a fixed word independent of the data word d, a part zJ carrying the data d, zJ=d, and a part zR serving as redundant symbols, wherein the codeword x is related to the transform output by x=zQ where Q=(J, R) is the complement of the punctured part P. The transform matrix G, the input partition (F, C, I, T) and the output partition (P, J, R) are selected such that GI,P=0, GC,P=0, GF,P=0, and GT,P is invertible and preferably selected such that the check generator function f is an affine function, GI,J is invertible, GC,J=0 and GF,J=0"; teaches selecting rows & columns to ensure that the submatrix is invertible, which would inherently require the determination of an intermediate sequence).
Arikan fails to clearly teach wherein the systematic polar code is concatenated with a precoding matrix, and the precoding matrix is an upper triangular matrix
[
T
A
T
B
0
T
C
], wherein a quantity of rows of
T
A
and a quantity of rows of
T
B
are determined based on a quantity of nonsystematic bit positions in the non-systematic bit position set MA, a quantity of rows of
T
C
is determined based on a quantity of systematic bit positions in the systematic bit position set A, a quantity of columns of
T
A
is determined based on the quantity of non-systematic bit positions in the non-systematic bit position set MA, and a quantity of columns of
T
B
and a quantity of columns of
T
C
are determined based on the quantity of systematic bit positions in the systematic bit position set A.
However, Prinz, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the systematic polar code is concatenated with a precoding matrix (Prinz, page 4, lines 22-23, “the encoding device comprises a precoder (PC) configured to map a system-input-bit-sequence to them PC-input-bit-sequences”), and the precoding matrix is an upper triangular matrix
[
T
A
T
B
0
T
C
], wherein a quantity of rows of
T
A
and a quantity of rows of
T
B
are determined based on a quantity of nonsystematic bit positions in the non-systematic bit position set MA, a quantity of rows of
T
C
is determined based on a quantity of systematic bit positions in the systematic bit position set A, a quantity of columns of
T
A
is determined based on the quantity of non-systematic bit positions in the non-systematic bit position set MA, and a quantity of columns of
T
B
and a quantity of columns of
T
C
are determined based on the quantity of systematic bit positions in the systematic bit position set A (Prinz, page. 11, lines 16-21, “By the precoder 33, the mapping of the unfrozen bits is inverted to the first encoding step, which corresponds to a matrix inversion operation. To this end, the mapping of the PC 33 comprises an inverse of the mapping of the PC-input-bit-sequences to the PC-output-bit-sequences [output by the FC 11] or to system-output-bit-sequences [output by the encoding device 1 as a whole], respectively”; the reference does not explicitly teach an upper triangular matrix, matrices are routinely mapped in a triangular form).
Arikan and Prinz are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of polar encoding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arikan to incorporate the teachings of Prinz by implementing a mapping matrix in an upper triangular form corresponding to systematic and non-systematic bit partitions.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be that this structuring represents a predictable, efficient implementation of linear mapping within a systematic polar coding system.
Claim 17 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 4, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arikan, in view of Noh et al. (US 11,956,077), hereinafter Noh.
Regarding claim 5, Arikan teaches the method according to claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the systematic bit position set A comprises a position of an information bit and a position of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bit corresponding to the information bit.
Arikan fails to teach wherein the systematic bit position set A comprises a position of an information bit and a position of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bit corresponding to the information bit.
However, Noh, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the systematic bit position set A comprises a position of an information bit and a position of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bit corresponding to the information bit (Noh, Abstract, lines 1-5, “A first device may encode a first bit sequence of length K including a first information block, a second information block, a first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for the first information block, and a second CRC for the second information block, based on a polar code of size”).
Arikan and Noh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of polar encoding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arikan to incorporate the teachings of Noh by including the functionality of CRC bits corresponding to information bits.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to improve error detection capability and decoding reliability of the systematic polar code.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Arikan in view of Noh teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the first intermediate encoded bit sequence comprises a fifth intermediate encoded bit sequence and the CRC bit, the fifth intermediate encoded bit sequence is determined based on the information bit sequence and the first polarization transformation submatrix, and the CRC bit is determined based on the fifth intermediate encoded bit sequence (Noh, Abstract, lines 1-5, “A first device may encode a first bit sequence of length K including a first information block, a second information block, a first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for the first information block, and a second CRC for the second information block, based on a polar code of size”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Arikan to incorporate the teachings of Noh by including the functionality of determining a CRC bit based on an intermediate encoded sequence derived from the information bit sequence.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to enhance error detection and decoding performance in systematic polar coding systems.
Claim 11 is a decoding method with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 5, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12 is a decoding method with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 6, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 5, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is a communication apparatus with limitations similar to the encoding method of claim 6, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (EP 3,579,423) teaches a polar encoding method that implements CRC encoded blocks corresponding to information blocks.
/G.V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112